(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Sade - I ordered the board book version. Also order other board books especially those under eric carle and dr suzz abc board book

Hello everyone, I've been a silent reader so far. Dare not join in this thread till the 12 weeks is over.

Just wanted to share that I bought the book "What to Expect When You're Expecting" at Kinokuniya for $24.10 - one of the rare times that I think cheaper than book depository.

Hope to join you all officially on this thread soon!

Hi bb Welcm to join us here
btw who's ur gynae n which hospital r u with?

I also finish my support medication on week 12. Today finally start drinking 1st cup of soya bean milk so shiok. I thk my tummy is expanding can feel the stretching n feels uncomfortable do you gals feel the same too? Really ve to endure it n kept reminding myself bb is growing. N I m aching all over

Bbahower, tks for the welcome! But I'm only at 10wks 4 days..I wait till after Oscar scan on 25th Sept then I join you gals officially? Just a bit pantang la

Bbshower, cannot drink soya bean milk too? Why am I feeling that I'm doing all the wrong things now?
My mum and MIL didn't really mention leh!

Koirc, yah everything in moderation. I have gf, conceived via ivf too, had sashimi, kimchi, soya bean milk throughout, even in 1st trimester. She lagi worse. Only these food gives her no ms. So imagine the amount she takes in.

Ok, apart from Sashimi, I had taken everything... cold drinks, soya bean milk, yong tau foo, kimchi, sushi (no raw stuff)... I hope my baby will be fine. Counting down 2 more days! :D

Sade- the wait was short for the detailed scan.

This round, I went at 8 to get queue no. Luckily I did that. By 830, already a lot of ppl.

For my oscar, I was silly - went at 830 which was the printed opening time on the oscar paper, and I had to wait for abt 3 hours.

Scan went well and I was happy to see baby wriggling and kicking

I asked alice yesterday abt the ward and she said book in end nov also ok. But I wasn't convinced cos my friends in other clinics were able to book earlier. Will go check it out again.

Oh, sisters... I have something about pantang stuff to ask. That day at my parents' place, I was lying down with my hands stretched above my head. My mum told me not to put my hands so high up. I forgot to ask her why. Does anyone know the reason?

I always stretch my body when I wake up. And even more so during pregnancy...

Koirc, looks like my meals hv been very boring. My mum is the modern kind. Everything can eat but in moderation. Dh is the no this no that. Haha...mayb i input too much 'knowledge' to him liao.

Wah going see baby in 2 days time!!! I regret not asking dh to video the whole scanning process. Haha... Told him detailed scan must video. Then i can see daily.

Do you gals have cravings? I find eating a chore daily...cos have no cravings, so duno what i want to eat. And with this hot weather, the only cravings i have is cold drinks. Few days back, bought Pokka carrot juice, non cold, and i feel so great drinking it even its not cold. Haha....think i'm desperate liao. So this weekend goign to stock up more of such canned drinks,

Talking about soya bean milk. I cant drink those from Mr Bean. Will feel giddy after that. But can take those canned drinks soya bean. Got difference meh? But then again, dun take too much soya bean cos it cause may infertility in baby next time. Especially affecting the boys.

Whiteclover, you mean detailed scan we also have to walk-in? Cannot make appt? Cos when i was there for oscar, i saw some ladies book their detailed scan. But the counter lady din ask me to book. Do you think we can call in to book ourselves instead wait for O&G?

Koirc, my mum told me that too!!!! But she told me not to stretch at later stage of the preg. So tell me if can, try to go salon wash hair.... Cos usually after a wash at salon, can last for few days.... The reason she gv was that by raising hands above head, can cause umblical cord to tangle round bb's neck.

Koirc, I hope to eat wat u ate! DH controlling leh! However, at times he does let me take cold drinks n a bit of cooling food

I have a habit of putting my arms up when I sleep & stretch a bit once in a while wo. Shln't be any cause for concern lah......

Reiki, I have absolutely no cravings too. Food to me now is to fill my tum n provide nutrients to bb. Used to luv food......

Chevy, i used to have lots of cravings. But now that im preg, all cravings gone. And yes, food is now to fill tummy and provide nutrients for baby. If given a choice, i wish i can dun eat. Just pour into my tummy and close up.

Reikibaby, o&g will make appt for u. Mine was originally today, followed by appt with dr loh in afternoon. But cos last min dr loh move appt to yesterday, that is why I got to go and queue instead.

Whiteclover, oops silly phone, posted same msg twice. Was saying good that bb is cooperative during scan. I read in jan 2013 forum that some of the ladies had alrdy booked their ward. So thou can book. But alice din do it for you? Hmmm, me going to pester her during my next visit. haha. Maybe they are new so they might not know that can book the ward now.

Heard before abt the hand raising issue from other threads, but with no reason given. Come to think of it, when doing prenatal yoga, there is hand raising too.

As for craving, i had lot of craving during first trimester. But now, not much. just eat whatever is available. haha.

Reikibaby, I dont think that can record the detailed scan, cos in the room there are 3 signs one of which is no recording.

Reikibaby, for milk, must be pasteurised then can.

Vitagen ok. Sade - I also think they may be clueless. Let me know if u manage to book in your next appt.

Btw, I was quite surprised when I saw got patient at o&g clinic yesterday doing iui and blood test. I thot supposed to do these at tfc instead at o&g.

whiteclover, ok will keep u updated.

only ivf need to be done a ivf fertility clinc, iui can be done by gynae in their own clinc.

My hubby is as clueless as me lor. Only that time when I told him I ate sushi, he scolded me. But I say sushi ok what. It's cooked mah. I didn't eat the raw stuff. :p

Reikibaby, I still can't seem to reconcile how stretching affects the umbilical cord. :p Anyway, I think it's ok to take vitagen. I take that every day to help with digestion. Eh, hope I'm not doing something wrong again.

Btw, Reikibaby, I also find it a chore to eat. Eat until don't know what to eat... I had cravings only for a very short period of time but it wasn't strong...

koirc, i understand, i also eat till dont know what to eat. hehe. That's why i ended up eating junk food.

Wah vitagen good sial. I drink and my tummy start churning and bowels cleared. Lolz. Like hving a cleanup for my intestines.

Sade, oh cannt record ah. Btw hw many weeks then you gals get the package from dr loh? If get package means we cant request to see him every 2weeks?

Reikibaby, I think it is week 16 onwards. Before u sign, the recep will ask u to sign off on a form that the package
- can only be used on scheduled doctor's visit
Aso for emergency or last min scan or scan that we request for- cannot be used.
- covers consultation, the urine test and simple scan
3d and 2d scan not included
- non refundable

But point 1 - I am not sure if we request thru dr loh that we want to see if every 2 weeks, if it is considered scheduled dr visit. By right, should right? If u call and request thru nurse, sure cannot.

whiteclover, so u signed up the package?

Guess during 2nd trimester, dont have to go every 2 weeks since it's more stable. Anyway, it's not so good to have ultra sound everynow and then.

Sade- yes I signed up yesterday.
recep actually discouraged me from signing. I think they don't volunteer this info abt the package unless u ask them abt it.

Ladies im glad to hear you ladies find it a chore to eat too. I HATE eating now!!!! Ladies in 2nd trimester, are u enjoying food now? I used to love food. Now eating to fill tummy ....

Tutu, I just crossed into 2nd tri liao......but still.....luckliy had quite a nice lunch earlier. black pepper beef + some sushi

whiteclover, i got the same feeling too. She dont really encourage too. and said unless bb or mum has problems, then will use up the 10 visits. aiya, y talk like that!

Ya she asked me to sign a form and she din give me a copy of what i had signed. so secretive.

Hey, I asked my friend who's now in US to check out BabyPlus for me. Wah, it costs US$149 for that small thing leh!

My friend who bought in SG said it costs $300+ here... I'm still thinking whether to buy it or not.

I thought usually clinic will ask to sign package? Maybe cos they dun earn as much? The package is $750 right? On top still hv gst?

I also intend to tell dr loh i want see him every 2weeks. Then if he schedule it, considered as dr scheduled appt. Heee

Hi Koric,

my MIL and aunts also mentioned abt the hand raising issue but I've no choice cos need to hang clothes on the ceiling hanger, been doing that...

Did OSCAR test today. Baby refused to get into position and very active, got to shake my body, cough and finally finished the US scanning after 1 hr ... But my doctor said I need not do the blood test as IVF case usu the hormone level will be slightly off...Did you all do the blood test?

tried to make the home-made chicken essence today. I look at the black chicken and almost cry out... I dare not cut it, it's scary. Still need to remove the organs inside
I stared at it for some time before I pluck up the courage to cut it up. After that my legs were wobbly.... haha to think I'm a bio student...I told my hb, this is the last time to use whole chicken...

Znatasha, my mum usually uses kampong chicken breast portion. I dun like use black chicken cos feel theres a smell and soup color not nice. Lolz

I did the blood test. Wow you get to see bb for an hour!!!

Znatasha, did u get your black chic from wet market? If so - do u know you could ask them to skin n cut into pieces for u? That will save u all these trouble. I like black chic soup.. It's bu too.

Znatasha its better to buy at market. You can ask them to remove the skin n cut into smaller pieces. It's only $5. Or if u buy at supermarket u can also ask them to cut into pieces for u.
Black chicken is more bu than white chicken.
I also feel gross when cleaning the chicken but no choice..we r all promoting to be mum so have to learn.

Hi Reikibaby,

No leh the sonographer, face the monitor screen to her and I can't see anything except her face...
But she did let me see once after she was done..
was charged $300+ for the test...got to wait almost 1mth before I know the result from my gynae

znatasha, i did the BT too.

I can't really think of a scientific basis for not raising our hands leh... Maybe can ask the doc.