(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Sade, thks for asking. He seems better by appearance but still waiting for BT results to know the level. Just did review yesterday. Think still hasn't cleared tho.

How's ur gal?

luv glad to hear that. he should be fine sin his appearance looks better now.
my gal is going for her hep b injection tmr.

Sade - u switch PD already?

I'm puzzled abt the terms 6 in 1 and 5 in 1 immunization. PD told me during the hep b. Jab that next appt, there will be 2 jabs plus 1 oral vaccine.wondering how come it is not 1 jab only? Anyone knows?

Ladies - pls take care. Got flu virus going around.

Hi Usagi, I bought 4 from expo, 2 from Mothercare. I bring home compare is exactly the same packaging.

Hi WhiteClover, I didn't get the mailer on Robinsons private sale leh - strange. Can check with you pls - is this Thurs start at 1030 right? Is there any voucher inside the mailer like $5 off toiletries those kind?

Whiteclover: depend on ur pd schedule. Normally 1st mth jab hep b 2nd dose. 3rd mth is 5in1. Optional jab is rotavirus is orally + peumococcal also give at 3rd month

Sade: if Tmr ur baby already 6wks old can also take rotavirus togather with hepb jab. Is oral medication prevent diarrhea.

Hi ladies who had done confinement, do you all wash your face with warm water or just tap water?
My aunt said not to wash hair for 1st 2 weeks or at least 1week, do you all follow? She also said no plain water can only drink LRD tea, even use this to make MILO. No bread can only take biscuit for snack or breakfast, oh I'm a bread and cake person... No fruits too... Seems so many restriction, confinement life sounds miserable.

Hi Usagi, should be 50% - I doubt I would have bought if only 15% discount. Receipt with my mama cos I split bill to use her DBS card for lucky draw (1 chance per customer). I bought on 28th VIP sales day n was first few customers in.
Lil Ponyo also bought the swaddle plus on Fri (non VIP sale) - maybe she can help confirm the amt of discount?

I double checked with 2 diff staff. Is 15% off. 50% is the swaddle for 2 pierce at 55+. I only realized after I paid. Heart pain. The one staff told my mum the Egg maternity dress got 50% but actually only 15% off. All make me heart pain.

Thanks for the clarification. in that case, then I think the pd meant with additional vaccine, that's why additional jab and oral vaccine.

Znatasha - I washed my hair daily (but blow dry after washing) and drank warm water and also take bread for breakfast from day 1. It depends on whether u want to follow dos and donts of confinement strictly.

Hi Usagi, I got the swaddle plus at 50% but to be honest I think it could have been a mistake. This is because it wasn't on their brochure or signage. I took it thinking its just 15% off but the cashier rang it out at 50%. I remember thinking the 4pk at 15% works out cheaper than 2pk at 50% (if I bought 2pk x 2). I didn't even realise until you and Mofmm mentioned it and I went to check my receipt that I was given 50%.

This morning I was googling for the difference between the A&A 2pk swaddle and the Aden by A&A Swaddle plus. The 2 pack one is bigger (47x47cm) while the swaddle plus is only 44x44cm. Some reviews also mentioned that the Swaddle plus is not as soft but I can't feel the difference. I even gave my DH a blind test and he couldn't tell the difference either.

Been swaddling my bear bear today, hee hee. He looks like a popiah/burrito
very cute.

Sade, my boy had his Hep B done at the review too. Thinking of going to KK privat clinic for the rest of the jabs. U went to poly clinic?

You are lucky then, Little Ponyo. Lucky I only bought one packet and one for my friend overseas. Damage $20 more. But the dress. Haiz. If I know is 15% not 50% as the sales girl said, I might not have buy. It cost 70+ after 15%, end up my purchases cost 291. It certainly exceed my budget, making me didn't sleep well the whole night.

luv Ya going polyclinic for jab. nearer than kkh.

Babysmurf Ya I rem u telling me that. will check it out later.

Znatasha I had been drinking warm water n eating whole meal bread during confinement. nursing is a v thirsty job hence I can't survive on LRD only. n I bath everyday n washed hair on alternate day. will feel very hot every day.
Ya I agreed with Whiteclover.

Hi WhiteClover, thanks! I didn't get my mailer - this Thurs got to go customer service n get.also need to check if I can get an use 2 of the vouchers since I buying 2 carseats, each more than $180. Wonder if this can b done?

Hi Usagi, pat pat. Sometimes we can't win them all - I bought 10 bibs at expo for $2.5 each. came back to find on qoo selling for $1.9 each. Sometimes best to just not think about it anymore when cannot be undone and wear the dress as much as you can to get best mileage out of it. I'm sure you look fab in it else you would not have chosen it!

Hi Lil Ponyo, I couldn't help smiling when I read about you swaddling your bear hehe. Must have been quite a sight! I haven't opened my purchases yet. Waiting till this Thurs after I hit all the sales at Robinsons n Taka. How is your preparation coming along? Seems like u made good progress at the Mcare fair!

Hi Usagi, that's a nice stylish white n blue stripes dress! Can use even after u pop for bfeeding! You mentioned the $2 bottles - are you using all tomee tippee bottles for feeding? I have avent newborn starter kit but wondering if I can use more than 1 type of bottles brand - do u know?

Znatasha, I took water (warm n normal temp), LRD, whole meal bread n biscuits during confinement. My first shower was a wk after birth. Thereafter twice wkly. luckily for me, the last 2 wks was raining n cool hence I was able to endure. Else I wld go crazy hahaha..... Do blow dry hair. Wash face with tap water. It's up to your comfort level whether u want to flw the dos n dun.

Mofmm, bibs comes in so many designs... Luckily you have 2 to share. Dh yet to know ow many i buy..even i also not sure. But if mum and dh knows, sure say i kiasu. Haha. Luckily my mum said she will get the daily wear for baby, else i think i will be overstocking. Hahaha

Doubt dh will let me go Robinson and taka fair. I have nothing much to buy, and feet will get swollen if walk too much. Haha but on the other hand, once i remind him walk expedite delivery...he will think otherwise. Hohoho

Today going to wash my swaddles.... So happy!!!

lakigal,
yes, i did go for acupuncture after ET... if you are with raffles tcm, they do acupuncture before and after ET.

znatasha,
i think u have lots of relatives who are giving you suggestions and the dos and don'ts... ultimately it's you who is doing confinement... frankly, confinement can be quite a stressful period so do make things comfortable for yourself... if u can't bathe in this hot weather then u are going to make urself miserable... i also bathe everyday with the boiled herbal water... i even wash my hair everyday cos i sweat a lot after taking confinement food and breastfeeding... i think if i can't bathe i'll end up with post natal blues... hehe... those who don't bathe for 2 weeks or more are for ppl who live in climate countries like china where they have 4 seasons... dun bathe for 2 weeks during winter is ok but not in sg lah...

btw, i also take wholemeal bread sometimes.... for variety sake... i take bread, oatmeal or mee sua soup for breakfast.... sometimes i also take bread or cakes for snacks in between... why biscuits but not bread?! wouldn't bread be more nutritious than biscuits?

Usagi, the stuffs from egg quite ex leh..... I got a top as a gift n went to exchange for berms, need to top up n that pair is over $100+. My eyes nearly popped out lor! End up din get to wear cos bb came shortly.

reiki,
go shop when u still can.... like me now in confinement can only look at the sales going on and can't do anything abt it kekeke :p

Eskimobaby, I also wonder y not bread leh..... Actually it was MIL who asked me dun eat bread, but I did lah. Else, nothing much to eat for breakie hehehe

Eskimobaby, yah lor, shop while i can still....haha

Hope, Koirc, Znatasha, do your nipples feel very sore the whole day? Been having this sore nipple feel for days. So uncomfy. Also had a false contraction alarm few days back. Was contracting every 15mins for abt an hr. each contraction about 1-2mins. Dh thought time liao...so happy, end up everyting sop after an hour. Haha...bb doing a trial run bah.

Chevy how's ur bb? I m fine.

Ya I agreed with Eskimo baby. I will also kenna post natal blues if I dont bath.

Dian_tang - Reikibaby, Hope and I are around the same time so it can be anyone of us.

Reikibaby, I didn't have sore nipples but I have false contraction too. In fact, while I was walking back from lunch, I could feel the pull in the centre of my belly. Aiyo, I think I'd better go on leave earlier. Don't want to have any drama at work!

Koirc, yah better go on leave soon. Im nt working n a week behind u and im already so tired. Just now washing 4 out of 7 muslin cloths, i end up left leg cramp.and tummy pulling. Now lying dwn. Seems like ive ran a marathon and done lots of ecercise. Hahah

Hi Reikibaby, glad to know you are happy with the swaddles! How did you wash them? Handwash in baby laundry detergent? Better get your hubby be with you all times if you go to the taka/robinsons fair since walking brings on delivery...it's so exciting for you to be so close to the finish line of delivery! Jia you

Mofmm, i read somewhere that first wash use cold water to wash. So i just wash with running water. I intend to wash and dry it 2x with just water. Then use baby detergent to wash. I feel so happy by just looking at the cloths while they are hanged to dry. I lover the giraffe and brown monkey prints. Hee...going to use 1 as nursing cover cos realli big to cover. Then the plain one will be the 'pillow' and rest as blankets or swaddles. Definitely nicer to have prints then the traditional ones. Haha next time sale hv more designs..will definitely stock up.

Now im looking to get a cot organiser to put those creams n wipes.

Anyone here uses gaia soothing lotion for baby buttock?

went for checkup and strep B test too, oh my cervix dilated but still not ready. So happy that BB put on more weight within a week. Doctor said can induced birth by next week if i want... Hmmm.
Ya all my relatives and friends give me diff suggestions for confinement. The consensus point is no plain water as it'll cause bloatedness. But my gynae said ok to have, he said squeeze lime juice inside then tell them it's not plain water anymore hahaha.

MofMm, I myself got 3 types of bottles. Medela, pigeon and this. Actually I also not sure. If possible I will let bb latch on. But can try n see which one bb likes. I thought the small bottles can contain water.

Chevy, yes. Egg is ex. That's why I thought got 50% can buy. But see, even Egg sells cheaper than mothercare for this dress. I super heartpain. You try for 2nd bb. Lol. If possible, I want 2nd bb too.

Znatasha, oh can dilate and still not ready ah.... hmm did you ask hw many cm dilate?
Luckily my mum dun have so many restrictions for confinement....

Usagi, but baby dun need drink water. So if latch then the bottles can wait till you wean them off...

znatasha, ya everyone will have all sorts of advice for expectant mothers. When my aunties and mum give me advice such as don't raise arm too high otherwise baby will drop out, or don't stretch too much, don't drink cold drinks etc, etc, I just tell them in a nice joking way that I will only listen to someone with a medical degree (i.e. my doctor). Ha ha! Maybe you can try that approach

Reiki, how many swaddles do we need? I want to buy more but DH says it's enough. We have 6 right now. Talk about containers/organisers, I was just at Muji at lunch time looking at some. I like those nice and plain ones. We also bought the A&A baby sleep bag and then realised how and when should we use it if we are swaddling our baby? Can't do both! Scratch head!

Usagi, ya in hingsight, I was lucky with that discount! But like Mofmm said, you win some you lose some. I cannot tell you how many times I've paid more than necessary for something. Your dress is very very cute! You will get a lot of wear out of it so don't worry and lose sleep over it!

Mofmm, ha ha, when I go home tonight, I will take a picture of my bear bear to show you
My preparation is picking up speed after Friday evening at Mothercare. On Saturday, we organised a remover van to transport the cot and changing table from my friend's house and spent the day assembling them. Now the stuff outstanding are stroller, toiletries, diapers, mattress, bedsheets and decorations for the room. Still quite a bit to do but glad that I finally got started

Reiki, Hope, Koirc and Znatasha, very very soon now! Getting excited about your graduation
More and more sisters from this thread are graduating!!

Lil, i hve 7 but i think 6 is sufficient. When i say stock up means for future use if the current ones have any wear n tear...haha
Some babies dun like to be swaddled. Thats where u can start letting them wear the sleep bag. So that somehw they associate wearing sleepbag means bedtime. As bb gets older they wont like being swaddled esp when they can kick. With the sleep bag you dun have to worry abt letting them have blankets covering their face or kicking off the blankets.
I yet to get my sleepbag...

) Re: sleep bags
I bot 3 n ine the end, didn't use any cos baby don't like. Also refused to be swaddled since she ccame back from hospital.

Sade - how many hrs apart does your baby latch? Mine starts wailing every 2 hrs and I am very tired and nipples sore.

Whiteclover, for last week n this, my bb nurse every 3hrs. Previously abt every 2hrs or so. Sore nipples happened if the latching is incorrect.

I realised that swaddling is very important for bb to sleep well. Cos I din swaddle my bb on 2nd n 3rd week as she dont like to be swaddle n she became a light sleeper. Will wake up every 15min or so. She can't really sleep well. But ever sin I started to swaddle her again, she can sleep for 1-2hrs in aft, n 2-3-4hrs at night. N also she kept on nursing cos can't sleep well n became v fussy. So do swaddle bb. Trick is swaddle aft bb fall asleep if she don't like to be swaddle when awake.

Thank you all for the kind words. Maybe because we are pregnant, tend to be more emotional. Haha. Blame the hormones. My bb cot also arriving this sat. My mum is starting to help washing bb stuff. Partially diapers washed. My swaddles, security blankets. Nursing dress too. Once cot arrived, then can decorate room le. Then just pack hospital bag N wait for bb to pop out. This wed also taking maternity shoots.

Whiteclover, introduce the sleepbag when bb older a little. I was told by many tat bb nowadays dun like to be swaddled. But mayb u can try sade's suggestion. Cos indeed bb sleeps longer if swaddled cos they dun get startled or awaken easily.