(2013/11) November 2013

for #1, I was woken up by this bird that goes "oooh ooooh" around 6am everyday at my parents' place. I went to pee and realised that I was having a bloody show. So bathed, eat some bread and milo and then reached hospital at around 8am. was only 1cm dilated. didnt feel any contractions at all and straight away took epi. after that I just watched TV and tried to nap. Gave birth at 2.02pm. haha. considered very relaxing. Since this time it's gg to be C-sect, I guess it will be just as relaxing since already knew the date and time to admit. Just praying no early labour before scheduled date.

sounds like all the maids put on weight after working in singapore haha. but all maids have this impression that working for caucasians is better. like my bro's ex-maid wanted to work in canada and was actually doing some preparation (not sure visa application or what) on her own. In the end, my bro sent the maid back to agency cos her heart is not with the family anymore and also cos his son claimed that the maid beat him but the maid said no. they have cctv but it was not captured. the parents believed their son of course, but i tend to think that my nephew could be lying cos he is really a spoilt brat.
my friend shared with me although Caucasians employer pay well, but if they don't cook meals at home, the maid have to pay with their pocket money for their own meals, and the maid cannot complain about their children, even if the children are naughty, or beat the maid, they can only keep quiet about it.

phonecard - hb bought for my ex-Myanmar those dialing card to call home previously, she only called once a week fm our own home and we were ok coz she is a widown with 2 young kids, will def miss her kids lor. this time round, my Fil helper told me that day she has a hp so she will call fm her phone, she will buy her own card but she did mention at times, her ex-mdm bought for her. we do have some left over dialing cards at home (not sure if expired), will pass to her else maybe buy for her once in a while as incentive? she said she will email home too (no need to write letters coz take very long). we told her we wld require her to use her hp only at night, she said she is ok not to use it in the day. anyway, we have cctv so will mtr lor. will also be setting some house rules to make things clear from the start.

jasumine, need to be a csc member to book?

fuzzybear, 13 maids in one house, omg! btw, you allow your maid to eat anything in the house or what? actually, i find that marital counselling does help. hb and i were seeing one too previously (from my ex-marriage then) and we are still in contact with her now. sometimes, a different perspective allows us to see more. :)

when i was researching for house rules for maids, i came across this list which i think is from a caucasian family. the whole list had like 50+ rules (while my maid only has 8 basic rules). And their list mentions things like
- no spanking or scolding of their children. if children are naughty, maid can report to them and they will handle.
- maid supposed to standby at the house gate when the employers return from work to greet them.
- maid must ask for permission to go to bed every night. and she must ask whether they have anything else for her to do before she can ask to go to bed.

Yawn, finally back here. Val, I salute u ah. I spent last week at home with #1 since it was school hols, plus hubby and in laws werent in singapore, got driven up the wall. You have two kids with u 24/7 at home, how do you do it, especially if hubby is away?

Xu4n, I also hope u get better fast, but seriously so funny to read your post that you dreamt about having diarrhea lol.

Aiyo, see some of you around my height all so lightweight pre-preg. I started off this pregnancy at a weight heavier than some of your full term weights! So so very paiseh. My bb better drink lots of BM to help me get rid of the fats! Wow, if can hit below 50kg one yr after delivery think my hubby will be too eager to get me a brand new wardrobe hehehe.

Lxb, don't worry about baby's weight. You also don't want to deprive bb of nutrients, must let him/her reach full potential. If tall genes run in your family then most likely your bb will come out long, and therefore heavier. Both hubby and I are short, but because tall genes run on both sides of the family, my #1 came out 51cm and 3.32kg. According to my friend a bit longish and on the heavier side. Pushing #1 out was very easy actually. Few good pushes and she came out. It was the pain before delivery that was not so easy!

Ytd went to see gynae. Bb gained 1kg within last 4.5weeks! At this growth rate I'm going to topple over before I give birth! Still another 6+ more weeks till EDD.

SN, hehe, your non-doctor friend with two maids, guess the parents are in charge of playing with the kids? Sometimes I wish I had a maid (or two also can!) See some of my friends/cousins at gatherings, so free and easy cos the maids are looking after the kids. But then I see my #1 being more independent, feels a bit more gratifying. Cos this mummy is lazy, so the kids had better pick up after themselves :)

Febie, hopefully your hubby needs a few more years to mature, or when #1 starts being independent and interacts with him a whole lot more. Some men are just like that. Like fuzzybear, I used to think of my hubby as only the sperm donor, cos other than that, he hardly chipped in with caring for #1. I was the one who fed her, showered her, wiped her butt for 5+yrs, read to her, played with her etc. And if i fell very sick, he'd just bring #1 to his mum to take care. Duh. This yr #1 is quite independent and suddenly hubby finds her fun to spend time with. They can go out for meals, go exercise together, basically let mummy rest. Before that think hubby just scared/unsure how to take care of her.

Kayliz, the 50 rules set by the Caucasians seem even fussier than tamarind's rules! Anyway, good your maid is working well.

phonecard - hb bought for my ex-Myanmar those dialing card to call home previously, she only called once a week fm our own home and we were ok coz she is a widown with 2 young kids, will def miss her kids lor. this time round, my Fil helper told me that day she has a hp so she will call fm her phone, she will buy her own card but she did mention at times, her ex-mdm bought for her. we do have some left over dialing cards at home (not sure if expired), will pass to her else maybe buy for her once in a while as incentive? she said she will email home too (no need to write letters coz take very long). we told her we wld require her to use her hp only at night, she said she is ok not to use it in the day. anyway, we have cctv so will mtr lor. will also be setting some house rules to make things clear from the start.

jasumine, need to be a csc member to book?

fuzzybear, 13 maids in one house, omg! btw, you allow your maid to eat anything in the house or what? actually, i find that marital counselling does help. hb and i were seeing one too previously (from my ex-marriage then) and we are still in contact with her now. sometimes, a different perspective allows us to see more. :)

littleprince, eh, they did not ask for the csc member. i just go ahead to email them lor. but if they need, my uncle & auntie are members. if u are interested, i can give u the email address and u can contact him. the person in charge is quite a nice guy. The place is quite convenient, 5 mins walk from mrt station.

jasumine, is the rate provided for weekday or weekend? I called to enquire last friday and was told $80/hr for 60pax and $60 for cleaning fee...The guy you speak to is it Louise?

ankh, haha. i was wondering where you disappeared to already. my non-doctor friend was really kind to her maids. there was once, she asked the maid to do something and the maid said that it's her bedtime already, she will do it tomorrow.......Got once she came home cos she forgot something and she realised that there were so many pple in her house! her maid invited her other maid-friends to party at her house daily. anyway, her kids are slightly older now so she recently let go one of her maids. She kept the one that can do housework haha.

kayliz, aiyoh, the list of rules sound very what leh. Why must stand at the gate to greet? And ask for permission to sleep? sounds so military!!!

jasumine, is the rate provided for weekday or weekend? I called to enquire last friday and was told $80/hr for 60pax and $60 for cleaning fee...The guy you speak to is it Louise?

Hi, my husband contacted Louis Ang. he just stated is my uncle who suggested CSC for bb shower, but neva say my uncle name. initially we quoted 80pax, so he gave us two rooms: Chargeable/ FOC Setup/ Vacate Time: $90/hr x 3hrs = $270.00 + $50 (Cleaning fee) = $ 320.00.
But we went down to c the venue and decided tat two rooms are too big, so we taking only one room, so its $160.
Chargeable/ FOC Setup/ Vacate Time: $45/hr x 3hrs = $135.00 + $25 (Cleaning fee) = $ 160.00.
Our booking is for weekends. Just to let u know, the buffet can onli be held outside the function room. inside are all chairs and tables onli. probably scared got fire hazard?

Hello my dear mummies!!

I didnt gone missing lah. I kept following the thread but just didnt contribute... became silent reader.. keke...

Littleprince, yea u r right. My report time is 8am! haha.. cos finished my breakfast den do some surfing. Recently, busy searching this n that and buying alot of stuff from taobao. So didnt have e extra time to post in this thread.

Everyone seems to be doing good! That's great! Good that u all get a good maid...Is better to change maid when contract end. Is really hard to find good maid that last long. I got a auntie's maid is really v good. The maid with the family for more than 10 yrs? Now the maid aldy 34 yrs old or older and thinkin gg back le. My auntie family really v sad cos they treated her like own daughter.

Now, i got a problem. The elders said cannot shift furniture inside my room cos not good for bb becos pan tang. Then currently staying at 3-room flat which we need to do a major shifting in order to fit the playpen & bb stuff inside e room. Now headache whether to go ahead or leave to last min when i in hospital den hubby will rush home to do e shifting since we are not allowed to shift the furniture accordingly to e elders. Seems like we cannot do anything now except the washing clothes part... >.<

jasumine, yes pls. can PM me with the email address/ctc details and i will find out more? thks.

pinky, so you were busy shopping! i wanna shop too but office notebook too slow to surf in office and by the time i reach home at night, only have energy left to coach #1 in HW and then go to bed. wanna buy the FP musical mobile fm Amazon (the one that was shown in FB) but am thinking if i can attach it to playpen.

eh, can shift furniture so long as you are not in the house? if can shift furniture when you are in hosp, then can also shift furniture when you are out of the house? same logic ma. i don't have elders that lecture me on such stuff so i just do what i like .. LOL!

haiz, gave #1 a long lecture last night and this morning. he wasn't paying attention during home tution and tutor wasn't very happy (I also think her expectations are high lor coz i already pre-empt her #1 is hyperactive and lose focus easily). and #1 came up with excuses to tutor that he is tired coz he had Sci tuition earlier blah blah blah (his Sci tuition is tonight, not Mon or yesterday lor!). i think he is tired yes (he runs about too much in school during recess/CCA), but there really isn't much pockets of time for him to have tuition on wkends (he will then complain no time to play!). and i hv to sit with him to make sure he does his work properly, while i still have my own work to do.

then hb said his biz trip to HK fm 6-10 Nov is confirmed, asked me if its ok. of course not ok la, I will be in my 38th wk by then, how would i know whether baby is going to come out earlier or not? if he is not around and baby decides to come early, i will be stuck to arrange for school logistics for #1 and admit into hospital by myself leaving maid at home. argh!

Hello my dear mummies!!

I didnt gone missing lah. I kept following the thread but just didnt contribute... became silent reader.. keke...

Littleprince, yea u r right. My report time is 8am! haha.. cos finished my breakfast den do some surfing. Recently, busy searching this n that and buying alot of stuff from taobao. So didnt have e extra time to post in this thread.

Everyone seems to be doing good! That's great! Good that u all get a good maid...Is better to change maid when contract end. Is really hard to find good maid that last long. I got a auntie's maid is really v good. The maid with the family for more than 10 yrs? Now the maid aldy 34 yrs old or older and thinkin gg back le. My auntie family really v sad cos they treated her like own daughter.

Now, i got a problem. The elders said cannot shift furniture inside my room cos not good for bb becos pan tang. Then currently staying at 3-room flat which we need to do a major shifting in order to fit the playpen & bb stuff inside e room. Now headache whether to go ahead or leave to last min when i in hospital den hubby will rush home to do e shifting since we are not allowed to shift the furniture accordingly to e elders. Seems like we cannot do anything now except the washing clothes part... >.<
pinkyloving,
Just wanted to share my own experiences, while pregnant with #1, we were doing some renovation in the house, I did some painting myself, when some old folks said painting may gives birth marks to the baby, however, my #1 doesn't have any birthmarks. I think these myths passed from ancient times, when maybe coincidence, or maybe due to some other things. Maybe you can start asking the elders, what exactly is not good for the unborn, rather than just believing without any logic?

Or maybe you can stay out of your house, like go to your mum's place etc, while the others help you with the shifting so you and your baby are not involved, if you are really concern.

Past 2 weeks, I also did some shifting & moving of furnitures in my bedroom, to fit in the cot & changing table, with the help of my #1 and helper, I gives instructions mostly, didn't really move the heavy items, #1 helped me fixed the ikea cot & changing table. As I am tired waiting for hubby to do it, have asked few times, but he did nothing. After all these years, knowing what kind of person he is, I don't expect things to happen, if I don't expect, I take it as a bonus if he does something to surprise me.

Last Wed, I met another 5 months pregnant mummy, she's from Philippines, was telling me, her colleagues , mostly aunties, told her she cannot buy anything for the baby, until she's 8 months pregnant, she cannot drink any cold drinks, cannot eat crabs, cannot bath during confinement, ultrascan is harmful for the baby etc, so she was asking me for my opinion. Then she also told me there's one pregnant colleague did not use any chemicals(shampoo & bath foams) during the entire pregnancy, only water to bath herself, and after baby's born, she got depression, did not allow anyone to touch her newborn, very protective over the baby.

jasumine, yes pls. can PM me with the email address/ctc details and i will find out more? thks.

pinky, so you were busy shopping! i wanna shop too but office notebook too slow to surf in office and by the time i reach home at night, only have energy left to coach #1 in HW and then go to bed. wanna buy the FP musical mobile fm Amazon (the one that was shown in FB) but am thinking if i can attach it to playpen.

eh, can shift furniture so long as you are not in the house? if can shift furniture when you are in hosp, then can also shift furniture when you are out of the house? same logic ma. i don't have elders that lecture me on such stuff so i just do what i like .. LOL!

haiz, gave #1 a long lecture last night and this morning. he wasn't paying attention during home tution and tutor wasn't very happy (I also think her expectations are high lor coz i already pre-empt her #1 is hyperactive and lose focus easily). and #1 came up with excuses to tutor that he is tired coz he had Sci tuition earlier blah blah blah (his Sci tuition is tonight, not Mon or yesterday lor!). i think he is tired yes (he runs about too much in school during recess/CCA), but there really isn't much pockets of time for him to have tuition on wkends (he will then complain no time to play!). and i hv to sit with him to make sure he does his work properly, while i still have my own work to do.

then hb said his biz trip to HK fm 6-10 Nov is confirmed, asked me if its ok. of course not ok la, I will be in my 38th wk by then, how would i know whether baby is going to come out earlier or not? if he is not around and baby decides to come early, i will be stuck to arrange for school logistics for #1 and admit into hospital by myself leaving maid at home. argh!
my hubby also supposedly travelling end of Sept - Early Oct, then he ask me if I don't want him to go, of course I said, if possible, don't go, I don't know when her daughter wants to arrive, then I was planning, who can I ask to drive me to hospital, if he's not here, I remembered hearing mummy driving themselves to hospital to give birth.

Past few weeks very hard to sleep, sleep on the left is most comfortable, but left leg numb after some time, then have to sleep on the back, but back ache, some how don't feel comfortable sleeping on my right ( whenever scanning , shows that she's always on my right side), maybe that's the reason that stops me from sleeping on the right side.

Goes to the toilet more often to pee, hard to get out of bed in the morning, feeling tired again, like in the 1st trimester, wondering when the baby is going to come, but yet I want her to be full term, didn't know being a thirdtimemum also has stress, knowing more or less what to expect, and what's going to happen

thirdtimemum, how old is yr #1 and #2? for me, i personally think all these are myths lor. there are also pregnant mummies who didn't do or eat what is not allowed to and in the end, also experience those issues they are avoiding. its all in the mind ... but for those who have elders around, then no choice but to listen and prevention where possible lor. but i cannot imagine if i were to wait till last min then can prepare my stuff or wait till i deliver and someone else to prepare for me, i think i will be likely to sink into depression.

hb said his boss did say if i am not comfortable then he can don't go, but knowing him, he is very dedicated to work wan. i know he is going not because he doesn't care abt me la but he doesn't really "understand" EDD is not accurate (his ex-wife gave birth to both daughters via C-sect last time) and he thinks its very easy to fly back and rush to hospital. anyway, i told him we will wait to see what gynae says at later weeks before deciding, he said he will let his boss know if last min he cannot go then cancel his air ticket lor. and yes, it looks like i will be one of those mummies who will have to drive myself to hospital if hb is not around.

in terms of sleep, think most of us are facing the same problems now. we will just have to comfort each other along the way till we deliver lor. if sleep deprived then maybe take leave once or twice a week to rest more. i may do that nearer to EDD, my office work is stressing me out. :(

Pinky, your folks like my mum, super pantang lol. Anyway what you're facing now is exactly what I had to deal with for my first pregnancy. Since my mil also a bit pantang, I was ok lor, when I go deliver, just shift the furniture to my specs can already. Not me shifting anyway hehe. Good thing my hubby has two younger adult brothers to help, cos there were heavy pieces of furniture to move around. Aiyah, leave it to the elders to handle the issue la, just make sure they know when you're back from hospital with bb, the furniture should be where you want them, cos if mummy is happy, bb will also be happy. Everyone wants what's best for the bb right?

good morning mummies....
seen my gynae yesterday and it so happened that she has to delay seeing me cos of deliveries.
First time I encounter such conincident since I see her for my first pregnancy...
Everything seems ok and we had a real fast scan that's all... need to go for the week 32 scan in 2 weeks time.

little prince, I forseen I might be like you. I either drive to the hospital or take a cab there.
Hubby will be travelling 17 Nov and back on 23 Nov 2013. IF baby choose to arrive earlier than his schedule EDD on 25, then for sure hubby going to miss it.
last yr, due to he has to travel, I went for the ops myself due to a miscarriage... have to pretend to be strong so that he dun have to worry for me...

Pinky, my mum told me so long as u r not in the same room during the shifting then ok.

Littleprince, pls dun take the risk of driving to hospital! Call for a cab! Dun even bother abt hospital bag, yr hb can bring later.

ankh, my boy can really talk etc but hubby still refused to spend more time with him...
wonder if I muz give birth to a girl then he will wake up... haiz...

febie, pls take cab and dun drive! can be quite dangerous if you r having contractions and still have to watch out for traffic!

littleprince, i have pmed u liao.. :)

Hello! finally can log in now.. office internet was down the whole am.

Pinky, ah u busy shopping. shopping is more impt than checking the forum! hahaa.. As for shifting things, like Thirdtime3mum, i moved house at 34 wks preg with #2. like i said before, if u believe in something, u will attribute whatever happens to the things u already did lor.

Febie, pat pat.. i think u are very strong as a person.. and i think deep down inside, u put ur kiddo first. but sometimes i feel the kid can feel the tension btw their parents. also i think life is too short to live so unhappily. but nonetheless i salute u. cos i can't do it...

Re: driving oneself to hospital for delivery
I did that when i had contractions for #2 at 35 wks.. :p but for 2nd time moms, do rem ur time is much shorter so get to the hospital ASAP. but i do admire how 'dense' men can be.. really lor, ur wife is gonna pop they still have the heart to go overseas.. zzzzz

Ankh! *wave* how's ur curry craving?

ya attigal, muz see scenario too... my first pregnancy I went for a nice bowl of noodle then took a cab to hospital to induce...
hubby only visit me ard 8 plus after his course end and pack dinner for me in case I can eat...
nothing happened on the first night lor... hope this round can be natural birth as in I feel contraction coming etc...

good morning mummies....
seen my gynae yesterday and it so happened that she has to delay seeing me cos of deliveries.
First time I encounter such conincident since I see her for my first pregnancy...
Everything seems ok and we had a real fast scan that's all... need to go for the week 32 scan in 2 weeks time.

little prince, I forseen I might be like you. I either drive to the hospital or take a cab there.
Hubby will be travelling 17 Nov and back on 23 Nov 2013. IF baby choose to arrive earlier than his schedule EDD on 25, then for sure hubby going to miss it.
last yr, due to he has to travel, I went for the ops myself due to a miscarriage... have to pretend to be strong so that he dun have to worry for me...

febie, no chance to ask your hub dun travel around that area or maybe come back earlier? i feel its better if hub is around for delivery.. at least can give some morale support.. hugz..

febie, eith ur edd, there's very high chance ur hub wont be ard went u deliver. he really have to go for his trip? i seriously cant understand why some men can still have the heart to trip when their wife is abt to deliver his baby. i have friend hub travelling all the time, end up missing my friend delivery. my friend went hospital with her mom. i feel very sad for her lor.... can ur hub not go for the trip?

pinky, take a staycation with ur friends then ask ur hub to shift when u are not ard. i think its similar as shifting when u r at hospital. at least u get to see and make adjustment before bb is out. imagine carrying a bb then ur hub is there shifting furniture till satisfaction. not very wise isn't it?

talking abt shifting, im actually doing house hunting now. so many research to do. really no mood to work now....

thirdtimemum, how old is yr #1 and #2? for me, i personally think all these are myths lor. there are also pregnant mummies who didn't do or eat what is not allowed to and in the end, also experience those issues they are avoiding. its all in the mind ... but for those who have elders around, then no choice but to listen and prevention where possible lor. but i cannot imagine if i were to wait till last min then can prepare my stuff or wait till i deliver and someone else to prepare for me, i think i will be likely to sink into depression.

hb said his boss did say if i am not comfortable then he can don't go, but knowing him, he is very dedicated to work wan. i know he is going not because he doesn't care abt me la but he doesn't really "understand" EDD is not accurate (his ex-wife gave birth to both daughters via C-sect last time) and he thinks its very easy to fly back and rush to hospital. anyway, i told him we will wait to see what gynae says at later weeks before deciding, he said he will let his boss know if last min he cannot go then cancel his air ticket lor. and yes, it looks like i will be one of those mummies who will have to drive myself to hospital if hb is not around.

in terms of sleep, think most of us are facing the same problems now. we will just have to comfort each other along the way till we deliver lor. if sleep deprived then maybe take leave once or twice a week to rest more. i may do that nearer to EDD, my office work is stressing me out. :(
#1 is 13 years old, and #2 is 5 years old, so #1 is able to manage most things adult do, like fixing cot, and he loves construction toys like lego!

Some myths are really unbelievable, I am born in the year of ox, so maybe very 牛脾气, stubborn, lol, I do what I think its right, my parents listen to most of my explanation, rather than asking me for follow myths, parents are about 19-23years older than me, so still quite young, not really old fashion

Still remembered my MIL asked me to cover myself with long blouse & long pants, with sock during my confinement, I only does that if she visits, other than that, I am in shorts & sleeveless t-shirts, so warm in Singapore, how to do that for 1 month? during #2, I did what I want.

Ya, we cannot estimate when baby is coming, even gynae can't, just have to wait.

talking abt shifting, im actually doing house hunting now. so many research to do. really no mood to work now....
Mummychua, u have decided to move hear ur MIL? house hunting can be really tiring! gd luck in ur search. how abt the maid issue? have u spoken to her about it?
Some myths are really unbelievable, I am born in the year of ox, so maybe very 牛脾气, stubborn, lol, I do what I think its right, my parents listen to most of my explanation, rather than asking me for follow myths, parents are about 19-23years older than me, so still quite young, not really old fashion

Still remembered my MIL asked me to cover myself with long blouse & long pants, with sock during my confinement, I only does that if she visits, other than that, I am in shorts & sleeveless t-shirts, so warm in Singapore, how to do that for 1 month? during #2, I did what I want.it.

Wah u still can accomodate her! My SIL is like u.. wear long pants and long sleeves but hide in aircon room.. she is those very vain person so she said she must follow all the confinement rules.. she also chose not to bf cos she said she cannot take the stress etc.. zzzz.. anyway my MIL nv dares to comment on what i do cos she knows i will bite her head off.

morning mummies! thanks for all the concerns, am back to work today but woke up with a sore throat. -.- stomach is still sick, no appetite for dinner yest, n feels abit pain today although the diarrhea has stopped. puked a little (mostly water) after drinking a glass of water before bedtime. argh sickening.

RE: shifting furnitures
my mum also pantang, but we shifted some cabinets n she din say anything, so i assume she's ok with it. lol.. but she did say no drilling in our room, hence we cannot mount the new tv that we bought a few mths back. but that day singtel came to install the fibre optics thing at my hse n we din know they needed to drill the walls! i hid in my room when they drilled, n told my sis not to tell my mum. hahaha... then i "covered" my tummy n tell baby "see no evil, hear no evil". wahahaha.... just in case lah... i know i'm being kinda stupid lah. lol..

RE: full mth packages
by the way, i came across this website which provide full mth packages. babyinlove.com.sg. i shared the link with the fb mummies, they are delivering free samples now, just need to pay delivery fee. i'm checking to see wat's included in their sample. i find them affordable n packaging is nice too. mummies who are still looking around can consider.

RE: beansprout pillow
while on mc yest i went to look at various websites selling customised beansprout pillows. feels like buying more than 1 leh! cos i have a fetish n special fondness for beansprout pillows since young. hahaha... =P

Mummychua, u have decided to move hear ur MIL? house hunting can be really tiring! gd luck in ur search. how abt the maid issue? have u spoken to her about it?

Wah u still can accomodate her! My SIL is like u.. wear long pants and long sleeves but hide in aircon room.. she is those very vain person so she said she must follow all the confinement rules.. she also chose not to bf cos she said she cannot take the stress etc.. zzzz.. anyway my MIL nv dares to comment on what i do cos she knows i will bite her head off.
you are so cute! I will still reason with her, if she's not right, but don't want to have her nag, so just listen, sometimes, old folks just need listening ears

Febie.. hats off you able to take this in.... My husband cancelled all his trip in Oct and Nov inorder to see his first bb... This opportunity will only come once in a lifetime....will you be able to talk to him about how you feel if you really want him to be beside you?

Sometimes is not being strong or not, its a responsibility as a parent and parent also to be beside mummy and baby... being present will also bring responsibility to the family in times of need. Work can always come later.

Xuan, hope you are feeling better? Can share with me the website on the beansprout pillows?

for confinement rules - i am definitely not sticking to those ridiculous ones. I will also bite that person who stands in my way. Already very stressful with newborn.. don't come and disturb me..

thirdtimemum, wah the woman who didnt use any soap or shampoo throughout her pregnancy, wont she end up with BO or what. aiyoh, so gross. Some people really believe in myths until super ultimate.

Febie - sounds like you have been through alot, since #1's delivery and your previous miscarriage, you had to go to the hospital on your own. *Hugz*. At least now you will have a maid to handle your household chores, otherwise it will be tough to handle 2 kids if hb is so hands-off.

xuan - ahhh.... i dread to recall the puking episodes in first trimester. Glad that you are better now. Thanks for sharing all these deals with us. hahaha.

pinky - I don't believe in such myths also. it will be a mad rush to arrange everything after baby is born leh. so many people went ahead to do those "unallowed" things and their babies are also perfectly fine.

And mommies who have to drive yourselves to the hospital, please take a cab. Can't imagine how to concentrate on the road with contractions or a leaking water bag.

hahhaah. im another one of those DIL who will bite MIL if she comments on things that i do. But she never learns and still comments, so i just continue to "bite" loh.

SN: actually i din have ms in my 1st tri, so i was kinda scared that i'm those rare ones who start puking in 3rd tri. =x

How pregnancy weight breaks down.jpg

Febie you another superwoman! Uh, dunno if having a bb girl will wake any hubby up. My #1 girl, certainly my hubby didnt really wake up until this past yr.

3xmum, my mum is 21 yrs older than me, sooooooo superstitious and traditional. Think it's more of our parents attitude that determines whether they're forward thinking or not. Thankfully mil is more open minded. But this round I did directly told my mum no need buy the herbs for showering. Sure I'll be getting remarks from her and mil about me being so bo chap about the confinement practices hehehe.

Aiya, there is absolutely no logic to not being able to renovate or shift furniture/homes during pregnancy. If there was, the western world wouldn't survive. All the babies would have come out with physical issues. Personally I think these rules are just to prevent pregnant mummies from physically exerting themselves.

Fuzzybear, my curry craving has worsened! Ytd had mee Siam and Kim chi, now contemplating da bao-ing more mee siam. Oh no............. My taste buds got so adventurous during this pregnancy.

SN, I won't be a biting mummy. I'll be a roll my eyes head off mummy ha!

Xu4n, were u the one who posted your tummy photo in FB with p**n! p**n! I laughed so hard!

hmm... 3xmum, i dun think my breasts weigh 1-1.3kg. i wish though! lol!

ankh: no that xuan is not me... i'm the other xuan who posted abt the beansprout pillow yest n babyinlove today! lol... i'm the xuan who is jealous of other mummies' pretty tummy photos! hahaha...

febie, you are so understanding! *hugz* but hor, yr EDD is really very close to yr hb's return date leh. where will he be travelling to? my hb says he is only in HK, fly back very fast wan. argh! he thinks its from JB to SG? but, i agree with fuzzybear that your child will be able to sense what is happening btw yr hb and you. and true, life is too short to spend unhappily for a long time, this was why it was very painful for me to had a divorce then but i did it anyway and i am much happier now compared to the past.

attigal, cannot forget abt the hosp bag coz if hb is not around, then no one to fetch hosp bag for me! sob!

jasumine, thks! i will chk later coz many meetings today!

LOL about all the p**n p**n! :p

*looks at own chest*. Erm, don't think my breasts will ever hit 1kg even when loaded with BM.

Xu4n, ah, okie. Me too, also looking enviously at the pretty tummy photos. How come can't see any stretch marks?! Sob, my tummy had horizontal stretch marks from #1, now I've got NEW stretch marks growing vertically from #2.

SN, Thirdtime3mum, correct mah.. my MIL talks no logic one.. if u don't have anything gd or sensible to say, then keep ur mouth shut. it is already stressful enough handling a newborn, let alone handling 3 kids! my MIL also bloody one kind one, she will nag at the stupidest thing. then keep saying we don't love our #1 (she favours #1). she can make such comments in the 2-3hrs she sees them once every 14 days! argh.

Ankh, ur #2 is a la mei! hahahaha.. u don't get heartburn meh?

What's this abt p**n p**n boobs? what? what?

I think our boobs do gain some lah.. u just don't see it cos u see them daily.. hahhaha...

Kayliz,
Middle of nite pro is ni traffic jam and u can arrive in hosp quickly. Con is, hosp may have to make many calls before u get ur epi coz no one wanna come in the middle of the nite to jab u.

Yunnz,
Mine is kkh. Previous 2 times they provided disposable panties chargable to our bill. If used up they will replenish for us, chargable still.

Ankh,
Think i am used to it? My hb was away for 5mths when my #2 just turned 6mths so i kind of got trained up since then. I got driven up the wall often too. My kids hear my nagging n scoldings often =P its def nt easy single handledly and during tat 5mths i cried at times. When i nd to do housewk i get the kids to play tog. If #2 slps, then i get #1 to do hmwk. My #1 5yo nw so he can help me out like keeping toys and stuffs.

Pinky,
Just exercise urself when they are shifting furnitures ba. During #1 time, my hb was assembling the cot and i was there looking at him and taking photos. Hahaa. This sat, my kids new beds are arriving. Think i bring the 2kids dwn for a walk and hb supervise so the kids dun get in the way and dust.

Third3timemum,
Hmm..i didnt suffer from depression but i also dun like ppl touching my kids =p esp rubbing their faces. there are a few instants passerbys think my kids v cute n rub their faces which i think is v rude n gross. Who knows hw dirty their hands are and my kids are nt public property for them to touch as n when they like. N nb are v sensitive. One of the reason why i pouch my nb is also cos no one can rub the face =p

Re: how to go hosp if hb nt ard
Both previous time, i self chk myself to delivery suite. I took a cab. My hb also had to travel in my 35-38weeks for #1. I told him to go ahead as i know he really wanna go for tat work trip and i didnt wan him to have any regrets or blame me in future for it. All we cld do was to keep telling baby to wait for the daddy to be back.

I argue with hubby for not moving furniture in the house. he wanted to wait till delivery. In the end , I try to reason with him (I do not like last min, and we have other things to care & worry about after delivery)as such he gave in half way.. Every furniture can move without me in the house except the master bedroom. Our Master bedroom have to wait till I deliver. He heard from his friend cannot move master bedroom furniture even if I am NOT in the house.
oh well, close one eye....

Lucky I have arrange baby cot & etc to be deliver end oct...if not it will be a total mess. Imagine can't assemble the cot & etc till I deliver. I will go mad.

My friend recommend me this website for the bean pillow: http://www.beansprout-pillow.com/
I am still considering to buy or not .Bean pillows will still grow moulds & worms inside the pillow right? must sun it most of the time after use.

Mummies can I know if its okay to add chia seed in our meals? Because I heard chia seeds are rich in omega 3.. So thinking of trying..

Val, yea, i dont like it when passerbys just touch my kid's face or head either. Even relatives, i am yin gim about it. There was once during cny or dunno which other gathering, my MIL was wearing this thick lipstick and went to kiss my son's cheek. wah lao, my son was only few months old and the lipstick stain was on his face. grrrr. i tried rubbing it away as quickly as i can before he develop any rashes. There was another time, the aunty-in law was carrying her dog and after that went to carry my son, when my son went home, there were some rashes on his face. GRRRRRR.

Bad thing I inherit from my mum... too independent... to my hubby, his work always come first...
Sometimes, in life he needs to have some regrets to wake him up I guess.... I'm not going to comment much and he shall adjust to his trip lor since
he tries to accompany me on my gynae visit whenever he can...

I used to diam diam dun bite my mil... now recently, I dun give face. hahahaa... bite when got chance...
and this time round purposely still do confinement at my mum pl so she cannot come visit... :p
muhahahaa.... and BB muz arrived on 28 Nov hopefully... can skip her birthday dinner in DEc.... hahaha

Mummies, when do your gynae start to require you to visit them more often?
I'm at 28+weeks and they gave me an appointment 1 month later..then another 3 weeks later from that and 2 weeks later for CTG and like 3 days later I will be scheduled for delivery. What is the normal practice? When are we supposed to have closer visits like every 2 weeks?

hello mummies! it's been a while since i last logged in but i have been following the thread..din log in coz i have nothing much to contribute esp when it comes to maid issues..
the kiddo hit 30 weeks ytd and i am starting to feel the jitters coz it's less than 10 weeks away! *gasps*

wow, u gals are really strong.. i tink i will be very lost if i were to head to hospital alone..

totorodino and felval> i oso dun like the idea of strangers touching my kids..but i am still tinking of how to fend off these people..hahhaa..

Mummies, when do your gynae start to require you to visit them more often?
I'm at 28+weeks and they gave me an appointment 1 month later..then another 3 weeks later from that and 2 weeks later for CTG and like 3 days later I will be scheduled for delivery. What is the normal practice? When are we supposed to have closer visits like every 2 weeks?
The gynae's clinic told me weekly appointment starts after 36 weeks, I have been seeing him bi-weekly since week 28. He has not mention CTG yet, however, for my #2, I remembered having done a number of CTG before EDD

already: i am seeing a different gynae for this baby, his pkg charges are like 3 times cheaper than my 1st gynae. For my 1st child i used to see the gynae once a month but after 1st trimester it became 3 weeks once, after 2nd trimester 2 weeks once, and from 36 weeks onwards it was weekly checkup. But my current gynae has been seeing my once a month until my 32nd week then i am starting to see him once every 3 weeks. :(