(2013/11) November 2013

Dun forget towels to dry the baby aft bathe.

There is a shop near si ma lu yuan yin miao that sells quite alot of towels, hankies and baby clothes. Can chk it out.

And steriliser to sterilise bottles/teats/pump's tubes bleah bleah.

Hi Fuzzybear .. round ligament pains iszzit like cramp cramp ard our tummy? i had that. and wonder why?

sorry first tym mom- blurr

On round ligament pains, I have that as well. I read online that the pain is usually on the lower right abodmen. Like cramp cramp. Its normal to have that. No worries abt it!

Xuan, sometimes when Maclaren is on sale, the sale price of their stroller is cheaper than Combi! If i m not wrong, Combi Miracle Turn is abt $400? Maclaren only has 2 strollers for infants, Techno XT and XTR. XT can go as cheap as $359-399. It is abt 8kg which means it is stable enough for u to hang things on the handle without the stroller toppling over. Combi is rather light.. abt 4.2kg. i have Maclarens and i love them cos they are so sturdy. folding wise, Maclaren folds more compactly (like golf bag) while Combi really takes up boot space. I cannot comment on Capella though.
As for Quinny, the new one is able to fold without the need to remove the seat. apparently the old one can't.

As for pump, i strongly believe that we all have milk. it all depends on how hardworking the mom is. if cannot latch, then u pump. the more u stimulate ur boobs the more milk u have. plus there are food and herbs (even meds)to take if u want to boost supply.
so yes i feel a pump is critical but i would only recommend 2 models. if u buy from overseas spree it is abt $400-550. so not too bad. If u are determined to bf, i will personally strive to make u succeed. haha..

Lynn, Piggie, yes round ligament pain is normal and common.. i have it on my left. just very annoying..

I'm practically lazy to do too much research, i went to baby hypermart or Taka baby fair to ask the person to recommend based on my budget. then shortlist a few and go home research on the particular models to narrow down my choice.

for strollers if u have a car, can get a heavier one coz it can last till the bb is older. but if u use public transport a lot then get a lightweight one or has one hand closure for convenience (i think capella has). my stroller is about 8kg and i keep it my car boot. when bb is small still can use sling/carrier when going nearby. once they are too heavy for u to carry, u can consider getting a lightweight one for nearby places and they usually cost less than $100.

For breastpumps, i think can buy after u deliver? first few days i fully latch on, but i assumed i would have supply because i was leaking since 4th mths preg.

wow, so many things to prepare. i have preloved babypen, yaolan and high chair from a fren. will be buying baby cot in may's motherhood fair cos when hubby starts classes in aug, he will hav no time to shop with me liao.
but for sterilizer and breast pump, tink hav to wait till later stages den buy izzit cos once u buy, do we hav to register warranty?
i just bought a Fisherprice preloved cot mobile from buzzytots. keke. first time mummy veri kiasu...

for the si ma lu shop at bugis, i just went last sat to take a look. the clothes are selling quite cheap. the shopkeeper said for nb clothes, tops (short sleeve) selling at 6 for $12, tops (long sleeve) selling at 6 for $13. cloth napkins selling range from $15 to $17 (12 pieces)

for strollers, my fren say if got pte sale like isetan or robinsons, its cheaper den fairs. mayb can go compare.

Yap, a bit too early to buy stuff but can go baby fair and see what's available. I love looking at baby stuff lol!

xuan, I have a super old hand-me-down combi from SIL that I'm still using for my 4yo. Still sturdy. For the first year, my #1 didn't like to use the stroller so I just sling her when we go out. You may also want to get a stroller with a big bottom basket, more stable to dump your bags in the basket than hang on the handlebars.

On pump, you can consider getting a manual pump to standby... less investment but good in case of emergency if you need to pump. I still have my Avent manual pump and planning to fully latch on during maternity leave. Will get a duo electric pump when I go back to work after that

There shd be a Taka baby fair sometime in Aug. Can buy during that time too.

Everybody will have the comments on each brand or type of baby goods. more importantly is u need to see if they suit ur lifestyle or not. If u buy a heavy stroller > 10kg but don't drive, i think u will also find it sian to carry it out.
so go and look around and see see lor.

Like me, i personally don't like playpen or yao lan. I also think i will die if i have a manual pump cos i can't get letdowns with manual and i take 40 mins minimum to empty my boobs. have to say for some things, u need to have to have some experience before u can decide what's better.

Kitkat, sounds like round ligaments to me..
can check with ur gynae when u next see him. for me, my motto is no blood no worry!

Xuan,

Capella pros:
1) Bigger wheels, good for going on escalators (I know, not supposed to, but sometimes cannot find lifts or the lifts are full)
2) Ample storage space underneath
3) think it's cheaper?
Capella con: heavier

Combi pros:
1) light
2) Breathable material
Combi cons:
1) not a lot of storage space
2) no way am I risking it on escalators
3) generally was more ex in 2007

Perhaps go for a Capella or similar make first, get hubby to lug it around. When bb can sit up, u can switch to another also cheap but very super light, breathable model. Like what u see grandparents use with grandkids at markets kekeke.

Pump: I know back in 2007 at TMC parentcraft dept, pumps could be rented out for 6 months at $300 plus. It was medela Pisa model I think.

thanks mummies! ya those mentioned above all sounds familiar cos similar to most feedbacks on reviews n forums... haha

fuzzybear i also believe the theory of all mummies have milk. just not sure how much i will have, n how long i can bf. tho of cos i will try to hold on as long as i can, hopefully. haha..

for strollers i am looking for one that can be used for infants up till they reach 18kg (i read tt most strollers can tahan till tt weight). that's y i'm a little not sure if i shld get the 8kg type or light weight type. 8kg type is prob too heavy if i'm bringing bb out alone. but lightweight type may not be stable esp if i want to hang my things on the stroller (big bottom basket dunno enuff for me anot. haha). i guess we need to decide which factor is more impt for us, tough to have the best of both worlds..

Aiya, all this talk just reminds me how much hard work there is just before n after bb pops out. I think I be ostrich today and hide my head in the sand zzzzzzzzzzz............

haha thanks ankh for the list of pros n cons! my hub still doesnt want to start on stroller shopping so i can only just try to read up n get more info for now.. but yea, how compact the stroller is after folding is also 1 of my considering factor. so i guess the final decision can only be made during the shopping itself. but the feedbacks above are all very useful! thanks so much! worse case scenario, i'll just bomb hub with the pros n cons n get him to decide. lol...

Ankh, actually after listing all these down, i realised how much money is needed to buy all these things! then there's another set of stuff that comes in when baby starts solids. And clothes! forever have to buy clothes!!

Xuan, oh one thing i didn't say, strollers with bigger wheels are easier to move about.
hehe..

ok fuzzybear will take note. but bigger wheels like more bulky after folding also? haha... dunno lah will see how when we go do the actual shopping. shall fold n bend the strollers ard. as long as my hub say he carry i'm fine. =P

Xuan,
I used an electrical pump for the 1st mth of my bfeeding journey. Subsequently i hand expressed. Beginning can be tiring n tough but once i got the hang of it i can clear both sides in 20-30mins and get a gd supply.

I have a Peg Perego SI stroller. I think it's about 8kg. Lighter than the P3 Peg Perego which is 11kg? I think if you have a car, it's better to get a sturdy stroller as I have witnessed a stroller toppling backwards with the toddler/baby still in it! Gosh! Everyone in the restaurant got a shock of our lives!

My hb and my fav stroller is actually the Bugaboo Bee+ but it's too expensive. should have bought it during #1's time, then two kids would be cost divided by two. now seems too late to invest in it already.

wow so many mummies thinking about what to buy already!!
I shld be going to the expo to gain some experience and take a look at what's there for us to choose from then from there slowly research and all?

was thinking of buying the big items like cot etc when approaching 3rd trimester hee..

for pram lucky me will be getting a joolz hand me down pram..

btw any mummies experiencing dry skin?
my skin been feeling dry ard our belly area and actually the top of the boobs...not sure why, been applying a lot of moisturizer but doesn't seem to help,

SN, agree with you. manduca carrier is one of the best thing i bought for my #1. i bring it for vacation, shopping trips, etc. better than stroller esp at stroller unfriendly country. just before i found out that im preg im still carrying my 13kg #1 in it to HK.

rmb just after my confinement me and my hub bought #1 to supermarket. me pushing stroller, hub pushing trolley with all the purchase. so proud that we are doing this all on our own. halfway through the shopping #1 woke up crying, so no choice but to carry her. so imagine me carrying bb on one hand and trying to push the stroller along, which is quite a difficult task for a new mummy. so we try to load the stuff on the stroller and return the supermarket trolley. very siong day. lesson learn, always bring a carrier with me.

Hi xuan: for strollers i like Aprica.. they are very light and durable.. but depending on your main preference la.. they have strollers from 3.6KG to about 6KG.. but actually i'm not sure.. how many strollers do we need? some of my friends told me i will buy more than 1 stroller as time passes.. but i really don wish to do that as my house is super small..lolz! don wan to take up space by storing big bulky stuff..

I also prefer to use a carrier when bb is small, seems safer than a stroller in crowded places and don't need to wait for the lift! I used a MIM sling for #1, very convenient to bf discreetly while shopping :p This time also thinking about getting a Manduca since there are some good reviews about it and it's easier for hb to use.

Hullo moms, had lunch? what did u guys eat? Nausea seems a bit better today though i did puke yesterday.

I heard a lot of rave reviews abt Manduca carriers. How abt Beco? I love the prints on Beco.. but i doubt i will get a carrier. I have 2 that ppl pass to me and i didn't use it at all.

Winkle, after 5 yrs, i only have 1 stroller. nv changed it cos i love my Maclaren. in fact i recently just went to change the whole seat and canopy.. Just $150 for a brand new stroller! that's one thing gd abt Maclaren, everything, including the wheels can be changed.

i heard abt the manduca too, from 1 of my mummy friend. but my hub doesnt like carriers tho i feel it's more convenient than lugging a stroller. have to try to convince him...

Xuan,
Depends la. If both kids wanna sit in stroller some may buy a twins stroller or buy another stroller for the younger one. For me, only have my 1 and only quinny since my #1 time. Troublesome to bring 2 strollers out.

Sei,
I am using pouch too. Pouched my boy till 2yo n i am still pouching my gal now (although getting more unconfortable but nt for long time). Like tat its leave me hands free and i can use the pouch as nursing cover when latching outside. My hb even pouched my boy when he was younger.

Just went for my Oscar this morning @ TMC! I think it only took 10mins for the scan. Was hoping it can be longer..
But it's such an amazing feeling to see baby being so active to flip from back to belly then to the side!

The sonographer was so tight lipped. Refused to tell me NT measurement & keep saying must wait for blood test results on Sat. So nervous now!

Hoping the clinic don't call me over next few days. No call means good news!

Hi Sheepsdream, usually sonographer will not say anything... but i was very attentive throughout the whole scan so i can see the measurement when she's doing it..plus i filmed down the whole process on my phone..my baby never flip up and down de lei...
it was the sono who was tilting the scanner so that she can see the top, bottom & side view of my baby..

mine is private gynae but i was assigned to do my oscar at NUH and the sonographer was good! she explained during the scan to me such as nasal bone, neck thickness, etc.. then end of the scan i was given a copy of the report for my gynae that shows info like "NT: NORMAL, NASAL BONE: PRESENT" and told me scans showed baby is fine, but gotta wait for blood test result.

Winkle> you're so lucky! I wanted to film too but she said no hp/camera/recording allowed. So sian.. Still thought I can record & show my parents & in-laws. I vaguely saw her key in the NT as 1.9mm. Is that alright?

My baby very active like flipping roti prata like that lor. Heng 1st few mins lying on back can do all the proper measurement coz after that baby start 'performing' le.

Did you manage to see the gender?

Kayliz> your sonographer really very good! So detailed & informative. I need to ask her whether nasal bone present or not then she say yes. Think I don't ask, she won't tell me anything lor. My report is just 1 very small pic of the ultrasound, that's all.

Sheepsdream: i'm not sure about measurements... but should be considered normal coz mine was 1.2mm - 1.3mm.. don worry too much.. will be fine!

i did asked the sonogragher whether that's the umblical cord or penis.. she said looks like penis, 1 week later went to my gynae and she said 95% boy lor...

My hb also tried to use the sling before... basically he just stand there like a tree while I arrange the sling on him and put the bb in lol...

The sonographer at KKH pointed out the nasal bone, stomach, heartbeat, umbilical cord, arms and legs as she was scanning. Mine was 1.7mm and it's normal, so don't worry. We got a copy of the report to keep as well as 3 photos.

ohh yaa.. now then i remembered she did tell me the NB, bladder, arms and legs.. that's about it onli.. not much info too.. but results are fine..

Winkle> that's so nice lor! Mine said cant tell.. Somehow it seems TMC Oscar's sonographer like not so friendly like others..

Sei> mine only point out the limbs & heartbeat, that's all. Like v chop chop no talk one... I heard Oscar takes about 20mins. Mine was done in 10. So fast..

Piggie> all the best to you! Hope you can see the gender! Do you have any preference? =)

Sheep - No preference. But my instinct tells me its a boy. My oscar was less than 10mins. maybe only 7mins. I wanted to see my baby longer.

Piggie> I know how you feel.. I also wanna see baby longer. Good thing going back to gynae this sat for review of results so gynae will take her own sweet time to show me baby moving & give me more pics too. =)

Congrats to mummies who already know the gender of their bb.

I have to wait till the next scan which is on 21 May and hopefully can see the gender of the bb.

Any mummy who prefer not to know the gender of the bb until delivery? I am just wondering only. Maybe there are mummies who like surprises.

Re sonographer: I was quite lucky the sonographer at TMC last Friday was very friendly. She would explain what she was doing along the way, e.g. looking at that bb heartbeat, capture some screenshot, compare which screenshot is better to take for the measurement, etc. After the session, I was surprised she printed the 4 scan pictures of my bb as she said the result would not be out after blood test so she printed the scan pictures for me to bring home. She told me everything looks perfectly fine from the scanning but cannot be sure as the overall result need to be read with the blood test result.

Sei,
Hb with pouch is nt a common sight as compared to hb with carrier. He attracted quite alot of looks from passerbys. Gd thing is he dun mind and in fact he quite enjoyed pouching my boy then =)

Wenny,
Me!! This rd we are choosing nt to know gender till birth. #1 is a boy and #2 is a gal so #3 we opt for surprise =) be it a boy or gal can wear hand me down at hm from the older siblings. just have to find time to shop or order online for new clothes for baby shower and some nicer clothes for going out. How abt u? Are u opting nt to know gender too?

Wenny, think my sonographer very niao. The paper is A4 size but she only printed 1 pic out of the 10 she took & that pic takes up less than 1/4 of the paper lor.

Actually when she was doing the measurement, she turned the screen away from us so we couldn't see a thing. Is it normal?

oh winkle so you found out the gender of your baby already!!

piggy your next apt is at 15 weeks?
hmm cos mine is scheduled at 16 week plus which is 25th may..then thought of bringing forward by 10 days since I will be on leave on that day..but scared cos will only be 15 weeks plus then maybe cant see gender..
so now abit stuck duno if shld wait till 16 weeks plus then go as scheduled to play safe..or being impatient, bring forward..ahha..

damn sian loh now preggie my boss still like to ask me to drive her ard ...super sway just cos i'm like one of the rare few who drive in the company....AARGH

Wenny, I'll want to know the bb's gender. If girl, at least I've been thru one round, no worries. If boy, I'll want to be prepared on how to change his diaper without getting wet from his shooting gun! And how to keep his private parts clean eeks!

Fuuzzybear, yeah, good thing u made the list today. I gave away most of my #1 items to my coz. She's expecting again too, so doubt I'll be getting them back. I need to restart building my baby inventory. So much stuff, phew.

Kayliz, haha, don't think I'll be starting my shopping till end of 2nd trimester. So know gender later also ok. And my home can be less crowded a little while longer!

Silver- yah lor 15 weeks. Suppose to go at 16 week but I not free that week so brint forward one week. 15 weeks cannot see gender ma??

Urgh I'm bleeding again!! More than spotting. Turn from dark brown to dark red. Urgh!!! Gynae wants me in now. Later still got my Oscar at NUH. Why me??

good morning mummies

so happening over the last 3 days for all of you, i could read but could not participate coz i was attending a training.

breast pump - when i had my #1, i invested in a Medela pump as i was determined to bf for 6 months. but after giving birth, i was very sick for the first two weeks and could not bf. i was very down (coupled with a very non bfg supportive MIL) then thinking no more chance to bf but my jamu massage lady came in and encouraged me to start to try again. in the end, my milk supply grew fm a miserable 10ml to 4 full bottles a day to feed my boy. i continued bfg as much as i could for a full 6 mths as i was very determined to at least utilize my pump to its full mileage before selling away. so for mummies who are determined to bf, pls invest in a good pump prior to giving birth so tt you can concentrate fully on building milk supply after giving birth.

great to see shopping list, i got to refresh my memory on what is required again. had given away all my baby stuff few years ago.

fuzzybear - hope everything will be fine for you. take care and keep us posted!

morning ladies!

fuzzybear> better go c yur gynae now. mayb u walked to fast and strained yourself. dun worry. take care and update us later okie?

morning ladies...

fuzzybear, take care, quickly go to see gynae.

Oscar, im scheduled for oscar tmr. appt 8.30am. should i get to TMC earlier than 8.30am? should i call to confirm my appt? hope that i wont have to spend the whole day there.

xuan - my hb doesnt use the manduca carrier at all, he also feels that carriers are for mommies to use. So what we usually do is that, i will manduca my boy and when im tired, i will just pass him to my hb and he will carry by hand loh. the best thing is that almost all babies can sleep very soundly in the manduca. so it's perfect for travelling.

fuzzybear, oh no, hope it's nothing serious for you. you are already 12 weeks by now so should be very stable already. as for Beco, I love the prints too! nicer than manduca but as for the usability, im not too sure cos not too many people rave about beco.

mummychua, we cant use manduca now right? I'm going on holiday end of this month, gotta lug the stroller along now. since pregnant cannot use manduca anymore and my hb will not be willing to use manduca. think of bringing the stroller along also sian.