(2013/09) September 2013

ferendipity, u better call to ask them properly. You pay such a high price, the payment for the work permit might be included inside, you ask them for the breakdown.
My cousin still need to give 2 ang baos to the CL, which are not inclusive in the $2050 she paid too.

viiv, not sure if your $2.3 includes applying of the work permit. Yes its compulsory to apply for work permit for all Malaysian CL. Its a permit for them to work here mah.

$2.3 is expensive for freelance CL. Levy for permit is $130 now. Got revised from MOM.

I book mine through agency is $2050. Levy is always excluded from all package. That will be billed separately by MOM to the applicant.

I have tried to engaged free lance thru phone before for #1. But found them unrealiable. always asking for more money. Give up n go to agency n never look back.

Cheaper than freelance at least I know the Cl are trained n most importantly they are vacinated.

It's best to apply work permit because MOM has a blacklist - in case your CL was involved in something illegal previously and was reported, MOM will know. Also, if they are here on a social visit pass, they have to go back malaysia every 2 weeks to chop passport. If their passport has too many chops, they may get detained on suspicion of illegal working. The you just lost your CL in the middle of your confinement. Lastly, it's illegal to hire malaysian CLs without work permit. If nothing happen, well and fine. If something happen (like theft or they run off with your deposit etc), you cannot even report police without implicating yourself.

Some CLs I know have children working and living in Singapore, so they can be here longer than a social visit pass. So they tell the MTBs no need work permit. But that's still illegal lor.

Are the CL's you ladies contacted asking for deposit? I called up a couple and all asked for deposit and don't want to do marketing. One even told me to give formula at night on the phone. That one I mentally put an X; don't need someone to discourage me when breastfeeding. Last time not like that one, everything based on trust. I have not even seen their faces, got no record, gotto put deposit. Run away how?? Makes me feel that this industry more and more about money.

The angbao is a formality only. When they come give one, and when they leave another. The amt is at the discretion of the giver, usually about $50-$60 for the arrival one and below $100 when the leave. If the CL I contact specifies a big minimum amt (some ask $200!!) for any angbao, my alarm bells go off. Likely got character problem, I won't let her touch my baby or stay in my household. The previous CL I had told me any amt, she say not important. And she turned out so easygoing and loving to my baby. I ended up giving her big angbao when she left cos she was such a blessing. BUT, she fully booked. Sigh.

I hired a day-time CL from Singapore instead. She interviewed me instead LOL. Signed a proper contract with her IC number on it :p Got receipt for deposit. At least feel safer....

Ms Blur,

Yes, I booked through PEM for my # 1 and this coming # 2. So i have stressed to them what at the dos and don'ts I want for the 2nd CL.

So they do accomodate to my request. at least, I can change CL half way if not happy.

Cos for my #1, I called up many free lance.. They only want more $$. and can't confirm until you are agreeable to the price.

My Fees to PEM in 2010 was $1950, 2013 is $2050. inflation is 3% per year and is reasonable.

The best part is. they bring the CL to your house. and your hubby do not have to pick them up from the causeway, and worried of run away CL.

Cos I read up quite a few CL horror stories for free lance.

My close friend had a premiee and her CL is unable to commit to her due date cos also having job at the same time. so in the end, unable to take back deposit, can't get CL in short time. Therefore no choice but to tingkat the confinement food, and get laundry company to come pick up the solied clothes for washing on daily basis.

But I have also close friends who are lucky to have found good CL. and those CL are usually highly sought after.

So is all about LUCK!

weiwei, ya the ang bao wise, one of my fren told me the CL she contacted actually ask for $250 for arrival, and $250 when she leave! Thats too much!

So $$$? That CL is so @#$#%.

The market rate for this year is $30 arrival $50 departure.

you can adjust higher but not lower depending on your level of satisfaction.

yesterday i check a few CL
they all told me the prices does not include work permit...

I called aunty sabrina, her charges are 3k which does not include work permit too....

One of the Malaysia CL auntie which i called said that Work permit is $200. But not sure if i have to apply for her or pass her the money to apply herself?

So agree with you Eino! I also called up PEM, planning to get them, till I found my singaporean daytime CL. She's about the same price as PEM day time CL but she has TCM background, experienced and is willing to help take care of my husband's and #1's laundry and meals at no extra charge. PEM wanted to charge extra for that plus $400 extra for accomodation for daytime CL (since they are from malaysia).

Msblur, I'm so very uncomfortable when there's too much focus on $$ with the angbao. When there is already a fair wage paid and the angbao is still being picked on, it is no longer the amount lor. if I undergive the angbao, am I going to "get it" during the entire confinement? If I give $200+, I will also not be happy, like kenna forced. Beginning of a potentially bad relationship LOL... Have to think carefully whether to let someone like that into my house at a time when I'm going to be tired and stressed and need peace!

hui, yes heard from my cousin sounds ok. She is a first time mummy, so she duno anything, thats y she said let them settle everything loh. Just that marketing all that nt included & the CL only stay for 28 days. Tink some CL stay for exactly 1 mth.

weiwei, precisely! I also feel that the amount is way too much! Imagine having to fork out another $500 more for the ang baos!
Though i nv engage a CL before, i was shocked when my fren told me that.

hui,

$3k! Wow, that's really ex. Most of the time it is 28days. Work permit has to be applied by employer because MOM mails directly to you for payment, and can be done online. Beware CL who tell you to pay the money to them. This is what PEM told me.

I dun understand why the CLs don't do marketing now. Price goes up, list of duties go down. I'm an old mummy; I remember my same age friends who have babies early telling me that their CLs help with housework, marketing, family laundry etc. Then, maids are not so common. I don't have any help, no MIL, no maid and my own mum has passed away. If she don't help me with marketing, should I do my own marketing then? Previously my CL did marketing for me. In any case, it only makes sense that the person who is cooking should do the marketing. If it is a payment problem, then go supermarket and have receipt and then no more dispute.

weiwei, ya some of my frens who engaged CL long ago oso said previously the CL will help them with laundry, hubby or the older kids' meals, ironing & even help take care of bb during the nite. Most even do marketing for them, coz only the CL themselves know what they wana cook & buy mah. Nowadays the CL will list down what they can or cannot do & their price now are so ex.
Which is why my cousin said also duno hw to do marketing. Cant expect her to go down market buy during her confinement bah, and cant expect her hubby to buy loh, coz' they wont even hav any idea of what to buy! Sigh..

today is 16 weeks and my gynae confirmed my baby to be a princess!

though both my hubby and me thought that the eldest being a boy would be ideal, but now i am super excited about all the pretty things i am going to buy for my lil princess! =)

Clarise Chan, congrats on knowing your bb's gender! Mine can only know on the next visit which is 11th Apr. Still a long wait....

Clarise,

Congrats, girls are lovely! I've got one and she just reminds me of the relationship I have with my own mum. It's very nice to have a little girl to do things with.

I know of someone who said her hubby was stressed at the thought of having girls cos they are more ex to maintain LOL.... My husband was stressed the minute he knew because his first thought was how to handle the potential boyfriends LOL!!!

weiwei, i am also scared of handling girls to be honest. seems to have to protect them more but yet don't want them to feel restricted.. but i'm thinking too much! also was scared that a girl can't handle the stress of being the eldest. but later i thought of my girlfriends who are eldest, they are actually very mature, responsible and loving towards their family. i am really looking to having my girl now =) ya like what u said, to do things with and that special mum-daughter relationship =)

Msblur, that's why when I started looking for a CL, I had such a headache... I just needed someone to cook, handle the marketing, hang up the laundry and bathe the baby. The rest I can handle. If the CL don't do the laundry and the marketing, then hiring one is pointless... At one point, I was thinking of catering in and sending the laundry to a laundromart!!!

Clarise,

1st borns are usually mature and responsible, if the family is loving and supportive and of course depends on their inborn character too. Don't give her stress lor!! My girl is outgoing and independent. Your girl will do just fine.

My husband shakes his head at the way we poke each other now actually. I really look forward to being friends with my daughter when she grows up.

Clarise, oh yes...very excited. I have 2 elder gals alrdy, so of course hoping for a boy this time. But nt putting high hopes lah. Hubby also ask if i have any feelings it will be a boy or gal? Told him no leh...

When i had my elder gal, i have the strong feeling it will be gal even b4 gynae told me. I even started shopping & buying pink clothes & stuff.

Oh...and my elder gal is definitely more mature than my younger gal. My younger gal behaves like a small kid even though she is 10 yrs old alrdy, everytime play like crazy with my 7yrs old niece.

look at e shape of ur belly loh! haha like e folks like to say, if sharper - boy, if round - girl... since u have 2 gers b4, u shd be able to tell if theres a diff? =D

oh! and also they say for boy belly button will pop out? hmmm

Angelic^Soul, sad to say this is not at all accurate for me.
When i had my younger gal, gynae told me 60% its gal, so i was still hanging on to the 40%. But then coz' my tummy was very sharp and smaller compared to my 1st pregnancy, so most of my relatives all say should be boy what, maybe the gynae is wrong! Even my belly button was popped out one. So u see....

ahhhhhhhhhhhh so its not trueeee haha..

what kinda gut feel? haha
i dun seems to have strong feel to whether is it a girl or boy.. maybe coz i've no pref! as long as got bb happy le! =D

Angelic, i'm having a boy now and my tummy is round and belly button is not popped out.. hahaah...

this is my 1st baby so no means of comparison.

weiwei/Angelic^Soul, dunno leh. Still no strong feeling now. Feel that it might be a boy lah, but nt carrying too much hope. Hubby after seeing bb during the Oscar scan, he said seems like a gal gal. Frens oso told me if i like spicy stuff might be a bb boy leh. But then....think dun listen too much i wont feel that stressed. Hee..

Eino, so what shd be the rate for a freelance CL? Since you mentioned 2.3k is expensive? I'm abit confused here, I thought that most hire freelance CLs for around that price?

So is agency cheaper or more reliable?

I checked w my SIL who previously engaged this CL n it seems no permit was applied for her. Argh.

All my friends guessed its a gal.. They say its very obvious! Their reasons is I had breakouts and I didn't have a glow on my face.. And also my tummy is round.

I also had a feel will be a girl.. Turned out really to be gal hehe.

Hello viiv, I have no idea what rate does free lance CL getting now. If they are getting more than agency has to provide for the same job, then I consider over charge. I can see lots of rates over the thread. But thing is for sure. Applicant which is the employer need to pay MOM the levy. Not agency or CL.

Agency more realiable , again depending which agency u engage. I have no issue with PEM. Aunty are clean, hygienic , good w babies. Just that the cooking may not be that fantastic. So I let them know my preferences for the next one.

Aunty always clean herself up after cooking, before handling my #1. And I know that they have medical checkup n up to date training with local hospital which I think is mount alvernia if I am not wrong. U can check their website. Cos some old wives tales of method don't match my style cos it don't make any sense to me.

Weiwei, u are getting a day time CL. So its good u that u have engage locally trained.

the CL only takes care of me n new born. So my hubby n son will settle their own. Cos is true that CL are not domestic maid. And they should focus on me n baby instead.

But the hong bao $500 is too much. I rather spend it on my post natal massage or milk powder. Even my boss don't give me that much hong bao...

tink in terms of CL, better to use one that frens, or relatives used b4.. at least they know whats the standard like..

Clarise, is ur breakout bad? and din noe about the pregnancy glow and the relationship with expecting boy/girl haha

Clarise, you mentioned this is your first bb right? Most probably its due to hormones change. When i had my elder gal, i had very bad ezcema at the side of my face & i cant put on make up at all. Looks so bad without my make out. Was so sad with my looks that time loh.

eino,

glad that you have good experience with PEM
because i heard from my friends who used them,
Some said good, some said Not good at all.
so it really depends on Luck

Angelic^SouL, it was quite bad a few weeks back, alot of pimples and it was always either very dry or very oily! now it is much better already and i can put make up easily. i already before that baby girls will "steal" our beauty so we look uglier.. but boys will make us look prettier, hehe.

msblur, ya this is my first baby =) now that i am slowly getting out of morning sickness, i also can invest more time and energy to look after my skin. during my worse morning sickness days, i couldn't really be bothered with all the acne and changing skin conditions (sometimes very dry, sometimes very oily).

Clarise, yes...mine was so bad that time till i dun feel like going to work! Coz' cant make up.
In the end i have to see skin doc. He ask me to use Cetaphil as my facial wash & it really worked! ;)

can we do massage? i'm in my 16 weeks already. next week is 17 weeks and i am going to bangkok for babymoon, so i am not sure if i can indulge in a bit of massage? my gynae says it is ok, as long as they don't do on my tummy. plus, he mentioned that it also depends if i subscribe to the belief that foot massage can cause indirect harm to other "connected" organs...

msblur, me too lor.. during that time either i don't go to work or go wear makeup to work. haha! i used to need to makeup all the time, so my colleagues kinda suspected i was pregnant when i started to be less bothered.. i also used cetaphil, it's really good for sensitive skin =)

Morning mummies ...
I just went to the doc for the 3rd time for my cough yesterday ... been coughing badly for 2wk+ already ... so bad that I coughed til I vomit ... yesterday lagi worse ... coughed til I vomit on myself ... so disgusting loh ...

Just booked appt for chiropractor next sat ... looking forward for that to ease my backaches ...

By the way ... I think breakouts nt necessary is cux of baby's gender cuz my fren is having a boy n she's having breakouts as well ... just try to use milder facial wash n less makeup I guess ... I didnt have breakouts for my #1 or now thou diff gender ... but I kept my makeup to minimal cuz lazy haha ... I only use bb cream, concealer n eyebrow pencil .. easier to clean when hm also ... =p

Clarise, think they wont dare to massage for you if they knew you are pregnant. Coz' the other time, my SIL went BKK for massage, but coz' she was on the plump side and has a big tummy, the massage lady asked if she's pregnant?? My SIL insisted NO, the lady still ask sure or nt? Coz' they dun dare to massage for her.

Yes...that time when i had ezcema, at times i oso die die put on my powder coz' really cant do without make up to work. Worst my ezcema is on side of the face, made me look like 'Zhong Wu Yan'!

hubby and i are thinking of going for cruise during june for our babymoon. luckily i checked with the agent for the cruise's pregnancy policy. it turns out that the cruise will not allow you to board the ship if you are already or going into 24 weeks. and no refund will be given.

if i intend to go in june, i will definitely be more than 24 weeks. so sad. i really wana take a break and relax. but hubby is tied up with work from now till end may.

mirai, oh dear....hope you recover soon! I can feel you, coz' this time is the time when we cant take any med.
Do drink more water ya.

My hubby too ask if i can go for massage coz' i kept complaining of pain at both sides of my thighs and butt. But told him i dunno leh.

actually when we are sick, just check with gynae what meds are safe. i was recently down with flu, my gynae say panadol flu and the yellow pill that u can get from pharmacy for flu (i forgot the name) is very safe. i took them and recovered in 2 days. being sick during this time is quite terrible.. i dunno why but i felt worse than before.

ferendipity, how about a weekend trip with your hubby? or staycation? i wanted to do a staycation initially cos i was still having ms, but later i got better and my hubby wants to make shirts that's why we chose bangkok, still not very far to fly to.

msblur, so far i checked 2 cruises (royal caribbean and coasta altantica) and both have the same policy. i would suggest that if any mummies are thinking of travelling, better check with the airline / cruise their pregnancy policy first.