(2013/09) September 2013

Msblur,

you started shopping already
Me too but am asking around for hand me downs!! :p very kiam hor... but things are so ex these days.... yesterday go shop'n'save buy a few things already >$50. *faint*

Ekellycheng,

Dun stress yah, your baby can sense it. you can't do anything about the gender, you know. not like you and your hubby can decide which sperm gets to the egg right? Your baby will be happy and blessed as long as he/she gets unconditional love from mummy and daddy.

Mirai,

yesterday my baby did a streeeetch and stuck his foot under my lower ribs. I went "Ow!" Aiyoh, just like his older sis who used to do that, except not so early!

mirai, update us after your scholl trial! I also had rather bad cramps during 1st pregnancy...thinking of drinking more milk this time to prevent...but guess will try the magnesium supplement too. Basically will try anything that can prevent! leg cramps r unbearable...

msblur, why does ur gynae advise against epidural? can share?

weiwei, oh yes...ytd hubby wanted to go Electronic fair mah, so i just pop by the bb fair to take a look at what they hav. In fact alrdy started shopping during my short trip to Melaka last wk. Hubby bought 5pcs of rompers there, and ytd i bought 2pcs more at the bb fair. Cant resist loh, they are all so cute! I saw some $3 Carters rompers, thot of getting some unisex colors but cant, coz' all were like boys colors or those 'daddy's gal' & 'princess' wordings!
I signed up Cordlife too since they hav a booth there too.

Ekellycheng, yes dun stress yourself ya. Enjoy your pregnancy as at now. Im in the same situation as you actually. I have 2 elder gals, and everyone was hoping it will be a boy this time. I knew my FIL felt that way too, coz' intially when hubby told him im pregnant, first ting he said was 'hope its a boy this time'.
And also coz' my SIL has 2 gals too, so he's hoping for a grandson this time. Hmm...but i also cant help it if its not right? I just want my bb to come out healthy with no sickness can alrdy.

winter79, oh coz' i told him abt the bad experience i had when i delivered my elder gal at KKH. As its my first pregnancy, so i opt for epidural the moment i entered the delivery suite, thinking that the whole labour will be painless! But im nt sure what did the midwives do, i was so pissed off all thru & nearly wanted to pull out the needles and ran off! I was in pain thru out the whole labour, even stitching was painful, i can actually feel the needle! Asked them why i still feel so painful even though they inject the epidural alrdy! They said it doesnt work on me coz' i have stubborn veins! Thats when i told myself i wont go KKH again for my 2nd pregnancy! My frens they told me the midwives might hav injected the epidural late, thats why i still feel the pain.

So my current gynae advised me for my 2nd pregnancy, why nt i try without epidural this time since the epidural does not work on me previously. I was frightened at first, coz' im afraid of pain! But he reassured me, said dun worry everything will be very fast & that painful. And he said there are actually some side effects of epidural which some gynae dun say, its nt 100% no side effects de. Like backache etc. Im glad i listened to his advise. My younger gal came out after 3rd push!

me went to the bb fair at expo ydae too.. agree that they have very cute rompers! but tahan-ed din buy haha

i also hope to deliver without epidural! but what is the degree of pain like?

Angelic^Soul, oh u went too?? I was there ard 1 plus. Yes their rompers are all so cute. Luckily my younger gal was there to stop me. Kept telling me dun buy so much lah, still duno didi or meimei yet! Haha..

Can I check if its ok to eat cut fruits /fruit juice outside? Cos my doc advised against eating salads so I'm so wondering if pre-cut fruits also falls into same category?

Any of you who were prescribed Utrogestan or Duphaston for spotting / stabilizing pregnancy? Are you still currently on the meds or have stopped already?

Hi mummies to be

I have the following items to let go. Please pm me or contact me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Philips Avent (Brand New)
1 X 6 piece Breast Shell Set

1 X Moisturising Nipple Cream

2 X 260ml/9oz classic feeding bottles with 1m+ teat

2 X 125ml/4oz classic feeding bottles with 0m+ teat
1 X 125ml/4oz classic feeding bottles with 0m+ teat

2 X classic bottles nipple 1m+

2 X classic bottles nipple 0m+ (2 sets)
4 X classic bottles nipple 0m+ without box

10 X Breast Milk Containers 180ml/6oz

Pigeon (Brand New)
2 X Peristaltic Nipple for Standard-neck Bottle Size S

2 X Peristaltic Nipple for Wide-neck Bottle Size S

2 X Peristaltic Nipple for Standard-neck Bottle Size M (2 sets)

Pumpin’ Pal (used less than 5 times)
Handsfree Breastpumping Strap

Medela (used less than 5 times)
PersonalFit Breastshield - S (21mm)
PersonalFit Breastshield - M (24mm)

viiv, yes i ate alot of fruits too, esp rock melon & pineapples. Juz avoid eating watermelon & bananas can alrdy. In this hot weather, sometimes its nice to eat some fruits, feel more cooling.

Msblur, so eating fruits from outside is ok right? I'm referring to those cut fruits stalls in hawker Ctr/ food court.

It's ok to eat pineapples too?! I thought the old wives tale is to avoid pineapples. I love pineapples!

viiv, yes i bought from hawker centres fruit stalls too. Pineapples can eat, but eat the Sarawak type. U know those semi-circle kind? Its more juicy. I dun like those long kind, scare unripe and sour. Gynae said pineapple contain lotsa Vit C.

Previously, my MIL oso kept reminding me nt to eat pineapples. So in order to nt make her unhappy, i will eat it outside wont bring it home & eat in front of her loh.

Lately the weather is so hot, I'm thinking of packing a sandwich from home for lunch. But then I got paranoid and was thinking, is it ok that I prepare my sandwich at home with ingredients like cooked ham, cheese, sliced tomatoes, cucumbers etc? Cos that will mean cutting the veggies hours earlier in the morning and only consuming it during lunch?

Cos I was advised to avoid salads outside, so just wondering if its ok if my sandwich is self-prepared so hygiene -wise should be ok but just worried if bacteria will breed nonetheless. I had a Subway sandwich last week and I felt so guilty after that! Cos it's like raw ham, plus raw veggies from outside haiz.

ekellycheng, that's what I don't really like in TMC!
Some of the Sonographer are just not good enough!

For my #1 I have an appointment at 11 AM in the morning for detail scan, and because of the baby position head down and very low, the sonographer cannot scan the measurement of baby head. I was being asked to come back for a few more times (maybe 5 times), until 6 PM already almost closed then the more senior one handled me!! Why don't they did that at the first place??

In the end it's just a rough estimate as well. Becoz the sonographer changed, the senior one is the one choosing the pictures. The junior sonographer took more than 1 pict for each body parts I guess and in the end, the last sonographer handled me only choose roughly and most of them I saw are very blur and not so clear!

Wasted $$ and time. haha..

For my #2 in Mt A, same thing happens, baby head down and very low! Dunno why all my babies are like that. But she only asked me to wait 30 mins and come back later. I told her it's same thing as my #1. After 30 mins, I came back, no queue, and she can get it scanned (she said also roughly becoz I told her my experience in TMC already). haha..

The sonographer totally only took 1 picture each for each body parts and even label them clearly. Not sure if it is because nicer USG machine in Mt A as well or not. Also becoz printed in X-Ray sheet so it was super clear. totally very happy. And it is very very clear girl girl also.

viiv, if your sandwich come with sauces etc maybe you dun leave it till lunch time then eat loh. Scare will turn sour mah. And oso avoid cucumbers ok. Other than that, eat everything in moderation should be fine. I ate salmon sashimi too! But will only eat in restaurant and not those prepacked in supermarket type.

Yes! I love Sarawak pineapples! If you are afraid, eat it after the 1st trimester. But most of us should be in our 2nd trimester alrdy lah. Hee...

viiv,

The doc is afraid of bacteria may cause diarrhes in case the people handling it dun wash the salad properly. Dehydration can happen if you have diarrhea.

But I eat salads outside anyway, just not all the time, and I eat all fruits (at least the ones I wish to eat) and that includes bananas and watermelon LOL!! I even have coconut (since I eat a lot of indian food and Ayurvedic medicine actually recommends fresh whole coconut from 1st trimester). I just make sure everything in moderation, nothing in excess. And I take probiotics supplements everyday to have a strong gut and immune system (since cannot take meds wor..)

What you really have to be very very careful about is the listeria bacteria because this bacteria can kill the baby in your womb. The rest just gives you diarrhea. It lives in smoked, cured products and preserved products. Like cold cuts, ham, smoked salmon, smoked duck, unpasterised soft cheese that have active mold (brie, camembert etc). I make sure if I eat ham at home, I cook it again thoroughly and I toast all cheese til bubbling. So I strictly don't eat ham sandwiches from outside, even though I eat salads! And my hubby forbids me to eat smoked salmon and smoked duck *SAD!* , cos he's in the food industry

Wei wei: im also feeling the movements earlier this time ... my #1 was in wk 17+ n then she had such strong legs that she nearly kicked the ultrasound handle off the gynae's hand during one of the visit nearing labour ... even now I still say my #1 has got thunder thighs! Haha

Winter79: I tried for 2 days so far so good ... but maybe still early if no cramps then I wun take anymore supplements le ... very lazy to take so many pills ... cux still sick nw n taking med ... I had alot of stretchmarks on my tummy, calves, thighs, arms n breasts for my #1 n its much lighter nw compared to those angry red veins ... hoping that the stocking can prevent abit of the veins from appearing again ... n I hope I dun gain ajnother 27kg like my #1 ... =p

I really think we should listen to our bodies, cos everyone different.

For me, I cannot take crabs and cow-milk related products. Sure ultra super major diarrhea. Strange right, since everyone say must drink milk!!!

weiwei, i actually hav a craving for Indian rojak last wk, but tahan loh. Told hubby i scare coz' of the previous Geylang serial incident. So in the end i chose nt to eat. Ah...u like smoked salmon & smoked duck?? I dun eat these de, nt even salad. For the first 3 mths, no matter how much i love crabs, i tahan nv eat at all too. Coz' read that its nt advisable to eat crabs during the 1st trimester. So i die die oso LUN! Hee...

mirai,

My #1 kicked the ultrasound handle too! I think it must either very loud or the doctor was pressing hard to get a clear image. I still remember that the doc was taking a lot of time to scan cos she got the machine tech in to see some of the problems with the machine. I was ok with that cos I got to see more of my baby but my baby got irritated LOL

I juz called my gynae clinic to ask abt my Oscar scan results....Scan & blood test everything's fine! Phew!!
The nurse told me my gynae's practice is no news means gd news!

Weiwei: for mine its cuz during the later wks she dun like me to sleep on my bck but ultrasound check confirm must slp face up de mah ... my tummy from round become pyramid n doc say shall see what part is that ... lolz ... so while she was scanning my gal gave a real big kick! So notti

Yayy!! ms blur, congrats.

I also dun dare to eat indian rojak haha... I love smoked salmon (especially with scrambled eggs on toast!) and smoked duck but abstaining lah. I tell myself dun eat won't die. besides I enjoy eating so many other things.

It's just that it's so hard to find time to make a good lunch when I don't even have enough time to sleep! And I spent my last pregnancy worrying about everything I ate or feel guilty and I've always regretted a little that that robbed me of some of the joy of carrying my #1. So this time round, I decided to just try my best and not worry and eat and enjoy my food...

Last pregnancy kimchi also gave me diarrhea but this time round seems ok. But I really stay away from crabs now. Just looking at it gives me tummyache....

Great news msblur!

im experiencing painful rib cage and stomach pain.. for the first time.. any of u feeling the same too? im at 14wk plus now. why so early pain...

i did ate indian rojak.. why cannot?

weiwei, thanks!

Yeah...hubby was telling me wana eat then buy & eat loh. He was surprised when i told him lets go lah, think dun eat liao. Coz' i always must eat whatever i hav strong cravings for, even b4 im pregnant. After i told him abt the Geylang serial incident, then he said huh...then better dun eat that!

ferendipity, i actually wanted to go Robinsons sale after that de, but think my gals cant walk much liao so hubby said lets go hm loh.
Wanted to get some Carlson wipes actually for own use. But its ok lah, i can still get them in cartons when bb's out.

twentyseven, hmm....nt for me. Maybe ask the other mummies see if anyone of them encounter those pains too. Oh no lah...i read the Geylang Serial news abt the pregnant lady who are indian rojak from a stall there & got a miscarriage mah, so am quite frightened. I think too much liao....

yah, I love robinsons sale.

I stock up on the wipes and the bottle washes there. $6 for Pureen bottle wash, very cheap!! :p

They also sell nursing bras there BTW. I used to pick them up at about $7-$10 each. Basic ones for everyday use, not the lacy kind tho but hey only wear it for the breastfeeding period.

twentyseven,

I used to have a lower rib pain. My masseuse said it was swollen due to an old injury. The lymphatic couldn't drain very well, hence the swelling and the pain. Plus our ribcage also expanding. The massages helped a lot to control the pain. This pregnancy, so far the same spot hasn't hurt yet but I'm beginning to detect some tenderness as well. So, thinking of starting massage soon :p excuse for TLC haha.

weiwei, oh ok. Im gonna stock up wipes, kodomo detergent, softerner at a later time. I usually stock up the Carlson wipes in cartons loh. If nt i will just buy Kodomo wipes when they have the $2 promo.

27, i also have the same problem. last few days i was experiencing an aching feeling on a particular spot on my back and ytd somewhere on my right rib cage just under my bra experienced some pain on and off.

i told hubby abt it and he went to google it last night. apparently it's nothing too serious. some mummies also experienced this before - pain in the rib cage and sometimes the pain will also affect the same spot on our back. so qiao that the aching spot on my back is exactly the same spot as the pain in my rib cage.

it is due to the growth of our baby and expansion of the uterus. the uterus is pressing against our rib cage, that's why we experience the pain.

the suggestions given was to lie down more often, sit with a correct posture, put a pillow behind our back for support when we sit down, etc.

27, try also to avoid unwire bras. The wire presses against the ribcage when we sit and may aggravate your pain.

Msblur,
$2 kodomo wipes promo? Lemme know when k! I go and swipe it too :p I don't bother with laundry softener for babies or even our laundry these days. it may leave chemicals/scents behind that irritate the skin. You can try 1 cup of white vinegar (I use the cheapest I can find) at the final rinse. It softens as well, takes away stinky smells, removes static and whitens whites at the same time. And it washes off cleaner than softener ;)

weiwei, sure! Will post here when i saw the promo. Its $2 each pack and buy 10 pack free 1 pack. Other than kodomo wipes, i used Carlson wipes for long time too. Like it coz' its made from purified water & safe for use on mouth and face. Most important its cheap too!

You mean u only use white vinegar to wash ur clothes? Previously i use baby powder detergent, but thinking of changing to the liquid form nw.

ms blur,

I use normal detergent to wash my girl's clothes. Initially used baby detergent cos a fren gave me a bottle :p. I just use much much less and not load the machine to full so that the amt of residue is minimal (abt 1/4 recommended). There's just so much fragance in the detergents. White vinegar can be used in place of softener.

Yea, used Carlson before. I liked it but not always available.

weiwei, ic. As for Carlson wipes, yes they are nt available anywhere loh, only ar john little/robinsons. i organised the bp before here in SMH so usually i will order in cartons straight from the distributor & ask them deliver. I still use wet wipes out everyday though my gals are big alrdy.

ferendipity, im ok with it if you gals are ok to collect from my plc at Hougang. If not, i will pass you all the contact, then those who stay nearby to one another can get one mummy to consolidate & send to that mummy's hse. The supplier will do delivery for 4 cartons & above. If not will be self collection at Mandai rd.

msblur, good idea too. since we have given our details initially in the spreadsheet, we will know where each other stays or works.. then we can arrange to consolidate and meet up to collect.

Does anyone here have mild stretching lower abdominal pain/cramp. I am moving to 16 weeks tomorrow and been feeling it since late last week. But I can feel my uterus moving up now and there’s sort of a “step” above my belly button.
And yes, I can now feel some fluttering movement inside. Amazing…

What’s the good thing about Carlson wipes? I have never heard of this brand before. Is it very good?
I have been using pigeons and kodomo for my #1.

is it value for money or the "cleaning" effect is really good. for my no.1, I stopped using wipes for diaper changes since he was 3 mths. I will use running water to clean him up.

So wipes are usually for hands after food.

i did experience the similar pain as you when i woke up this morning, but at the lower part.
however, its only for a short while and bearable
I am going to 13 wks

eino, Carlson wipes is cheap and value for money. Previously only can find in John little/robinsons & Suntec Carrefour. Other than that i will use Kodomo. As for Pigeon wipes, i've stopped using them coz' find that the wipes are nt as gd as last time. It seems very dry nw & ex.

Carlson wipes are selling outside at $5.90 nw for the 80pcs(bundle of 3 packs), and $3.30 for the 30pcs (bundle of 3 packs).

Hi all, what's the average rate for hiring a stay-in CL for this year? Also, do we need to apply a work permit for them? Thanks!

viiv, range should be $2k to $2.5k. If the lady is from Malaysia then you will need to pay for their permit here. My cousin just confirmed 1 CL for $2050 excluding levy of $160 to be paid to govt. CL will be staying for 28 days only.

me also just got a CL from m'sia through a fren reccomendation.. $2.3k stay-in for 28 days.. need to apply work permit for her..

hmm not sure of the levy tho..

huh? we need to apply for work permit for CLs? i confirmed mine for $2.8k. paid $500 deposit already. she didnt mention anything about work permit to me. and she is a malaysian.