(2013/08) August 2013

U are talking abt weight gain and I don't really dare to go weigh myself. Last weight a week ago I gain 4kg and I m abt 18 weeks along. I very scared to weigh again though I was underweight previously. Haha. My target is not to be over 13 kg till delivery. Keep fingers crossed.

Just went Eu Yang Sang to use my 20% voucher to buy birdnest. Spent nearly $400. Super heartpain though it was paid by hb. Everything also $$$.

Vinette: sure sure I will update later okie

vinette: same my tummy feels very bloated always after breakfast T.T

diorly: you are FTM or second time mum? i'm to my 19 weeks..i have already started to feel BB moving in my tummy sometimes strong some time weak...it started during 18 weeks..maybe by next week you will feel something already...but my doc say its normal that we can only feel it after 5 months...

Hmm..i did put on weight around 4+ KG...doc say i am growing normally...but i feel ugly now..>.< If i stare at my legs in the mirror i have so many cellilute...my bum also looks bigger....sigh...

Annual leave: I have 18 then plus a few more days roll over from last year. I'm not too worried about dec cos my edd should be end aug and my office is close last 10 days of dec so shouldn't be a problem. I will probably just go back to work in 2014 jan. I have used up some days of mc, maybe 3 - 4 days or so this yr cos I kept falling sick in my first trimester. I'm actually more worried for my hubby's leave cos he has less days and later after I deliver, he probably will need the leave too just in case. Although by then he will get some child care leave and paternity leave la. just wondering, if our kids born in aug, daddy's childcare leave will be pro-rated or what?

Anyways we wanted to go for baby moon but I don't know if he can afford the leave now too.

My green phlegm : I was on antibiotics and completed the whole course. So I think the phlegm might be remnants of that major flu virus I had. But they are just v tiny pieces. Just irritating cos I just have to expel them out bit by bit and they just don't go away completely.

Sueann: wah you are one interesting case. Gained no weight but w huge tummy! Did your gynae say anything?

Amanda: i also gain no weight but huge tummy... my friends thought i'm 5 months liao -_-" your gynae dun work after office hour is it? cos we will go during evening... save leave la.

my gynae clinic opens till 7:30pm on weekdays. ok la in this case next time i try for weekday evenings. force my hubby to knock off early haha. we stay in the north and my gynae also in the north so can be quite rushed. but anyway i will try.

ellen: wah good lor, i gained 2 kg but my tummy still not obvious yet. haha. no one will give up seat to me de!

anyway just to check, any comments on reusable diapers? came across some and thought maybe can use when at home, then ask maid to wash next time. go out then use disposable. more environmentally friendly la, and i think newborn use a lot of diapers too. http://list.qoo10.sg/item/MUMMY-BABY-ALVA-BABY-CLOTH-DIAPERS-1-FREE/405841012?sid=661

any experience to share?

Amanda- my gynae also clueless, where all weight goes to? Lol, its like yo-yo, last check-up gained 2 kg n today check-up lost 1 kg..

My bb still dun want to open his/her leg leh.. Thats means hv to wait for detailed scan on 4 apr.

My gynae drop a bombshell today on me, saying that i will be likely induce on 37wk becuz of my elevated liver enzymes value.. Dats abt 20 more weeks to go..

Sue-Ann: oh no...WK37? So is the gyne going to induce or will you be doing ceserian? Does anybody know if detail scan are we still needing to take blood test?

Sue ann: so early do ogtt?

My dr insist On ogtt, standard test for him. I dread it.. I dont like sweet things, cant even finish a cup of efferverscent c easily cos its too sweet!

BY 37 weeks, full term liao lah.. no problem inducing. i also induce at 37 plus weeks for my #1. that time was due to fluid in waterbag getting lesser and lesser.

Its Oral Glucose Tolerance test to check ur sugar level. becuz they detected sugar in my urine each time check- up so my gynae just wanna check.

Damn sweet until i almost puke

How's everyone tdy?

I was down with either food poisoning or stomach flu last week. GP didn't say exactly what it was. Anyway I had a jab on my butt to stop the vomiting. So suay lah. Realized this pregnancy I'm more weak n easily fall sick compared to prev time. Maybe old Liao bah....

Started eating birds nest on Sunday. My mum said now cheaper so she cook more for me. And my dad see me look so pale n thin, bought durian to beef me &amp; baby up! I gained total 9kg during #1 n she weighed 2.99k at wk40d1. Hope to put on a bit more weight coz I'm opting for c-sect so want to beef bb up by wk37.

I received my Oscar report on Monday. Everything ok but my blood count was low. I hear Liao blur n didn't ask Gynae the impact on me or baby. But he seemed relaxed n told me eat more red meat (but I dun take beef) &amp; salmon.

I also know my bb gender Liao. My gynae very confidently say it's a boy. Showed us bb's rocket, jokingly asked me big or not! Think my FIL prob the happiest altho we haven't told him gender. We only told him last Mon that I'm preg. He Thot I'm still in early stage so didn't ask gender.

Started to brainstorm for names Liao. Surf all the Chinese sites until blur. My hb surname is "Zhu". Hard to find name that sounds nice with it w/o sounding like a joke about pigs.

Usaginoko: my 3 male cousins and a bunch of 5 newphews and 2 nieces also surname Zhu. can one lah! don't call Zhu Xiao Di can already. :p

haha usaginoko, u got a hao

my appetite is usual as per norm. in fact eating less than usual. where can get nice durians ah? hahaha

Amanda: my hb's 3rd sis called yu-ying. Nice name but when call in Cantonese, it becomes Zhu yok ying = sounds like pork seller ying! Hahaha! Ya, no Zhu xiao di! No Zhu ba jie!

Diorly: ya, got 好 package. Since no more pressure for a grandson liao , maybe next time try for #3!

my dad buys durian from duno 717 or emicake durian stall. It's along those shophouses at upp Serangoon. He regular there so they always pack very gd durian for him.

I only get to feel baby's movements when I'm week 19. Today is my first day of week 20! Going for detailed scan tomorrow!! Finally!! :D

Dennis: so what is this package all about? Im also seeing at KKH TPS. I haven asked the doctor about the admission details. Now planning to do so on my next visit so that i can prepare whatever extra cash in advance.

Hm, apparently now if u visit TPS, they only have the primeiere package for delivery, meaning ward A1, there's no more ward B1 alr...

So i abit headache, coz i dun really wanna spend so much, so thinkin of changing to Clinic A/B , but dunno can retain my gynae at TPS anot...

Ops, i just called KKH again, now they say got class B1, just that no more premier/classic package, only standard package..

actually they vv confusing..i called 2-3 times, each tiem say different thing..

Amanda: luckily my gynae's clinic opens till 9pm so no issue about rushing down...

disposable diaper means those cloth one? well i know a few pple who tried to be environmental friendly but gave up cos they went crazy washing them... and end up all the detergent and water you used to wash may do more harm to the mother earth than using disposable diapers...

Sue-Ann: don't worry~ my friend just gave induced at wk 37 too cos she has high blood pressure... baby is good

usaginoko: congrats~ at least now no need to worry about FIL's nagging... hee hee

it's a headache to find a good Chinese name... not only meaning must be good, also need to make sure it sounds good in Mandarin AND dialect(s)..............

Last year i give birth at kkh still can choose A1 (one bedded) or B1 (4 bedded). Now i m seeing gynae at TPS so is it true that can only choose A1?

My colleague had to follow the family name of books. So her grandchildren's name will have to start with the character 大.. So we were joking, called 大哥 ,大姐 ,大头.. Dont call da bian..

She got such headache thinking of names.

confusing on the package too.. but i guess i wont be bothered too much so long as the little one can be delivered smoothly..

BTW, went to taka fair today and checked out the ameda pump for those keen. $399 for double pump, bump handle, nursing wrap and 3 bottles. For medela, cant remember the price but i think is 700 plus for the frestyle and PISA.

the fair seems quieter compared to mothercare sale! haha

Medela freestyle is $789
Medela swing maxi + city style tote bundle = $599
Pisa I didn't check cos no interest haha..
I was at taka fair today too.
Taka fair is quiet cos it stretches very long, till 24 march. Especially weekday, good time to go check things out cos not many ppl n the sales rep will have all the time to answer your qns...

Usaginoko:u eat bird nest already? I tot they say should eat bird nest during the last 2 months instead...so BB will have good skin... so lucky know ur BB gender already....

diorly: if you are staying at the east maybe you can check the Tampines round market there..there got a durian seller...lol...I also crave for durian but i can't eat much cos i get very heaty once i eat durian >.<

I think got people selling the pumps online. Quite affordable. Freestyle is less than 450 for new set but i think no warranty.

Everyone got to take the OGTT? I cannot stand sweet stuffs recently. I cannot even eat chocolates now without having the urge to puke cos of my phlegm. I have been coughing 2 months on and off le.

I have been coming up with names for baby but all the selected ones, my parents can come out with nicknames. Then i must choose again. Haiyo!!

not everyone taking OGTT, i think. i didnt take it for my #1 and current pregnancy.

hmm.. My hubby and I have been having v bad diarrhea for past 3 days. but no fever, vomitting and other symptoms. yesterday, got blood in my stool.. is it better to visit GP or KKH? wonder got any injection to stop the dirrahea or not.

Good morning mummies...

regards to the packages at KKH, ive got a friend of mine who is working at KKH Admission office to check out the details for me (benefits of working in hospitals for so long). As patients of TPS we are allowed to choose subsidized and private class bedding. its just that we cannot haf our our gynae to deliver for subsidized.

For Private class:

A1 - Normal delivery - Estimated $4333. Medisave claims $2100. Cash to pay upon admission : $2234

B1 - Normal delivery -Estimated $3265. Medisave Claimable $2100. Cash to pay upon admission : $1165.

Hope that info helps..

cloth diaper - i used nappy on #1. #2 use those inserts type. But my preference is use it only when mil take care... cos during infant, their ass is too small... wear til so high... pooo n pee so often. especially durin tis stage their poo is still so sticky n murky.... not worth the effort to scrub n wash the inserts/nappies...

when they grow bigger. poo also easier to manage n clean. frequency not as high as infant changin rate. then i will start. cos my mil will forgot to change disposable till it overly soiled.. so by insert, bb cry, she will change faster/earlier.... =p

Usha, thanks!! That's very helpful info! Looks like bb bonus is just enough for this and bn charges, and the confinement that follows thereafter.

I've been on medication recently, dun feel bb that much..dunno if bb is drowsy cos mine is drowsy medication.. Sigh..

I've been busy takin care of my girl who had viral fever till 40 degrees for the past 4 days.

While she's ok now, i'm tired from the lack of sleep at nite cos takig temp, stretching over to sponge her etc.

My tummy occasionally hurts also, dunno is it cos of the physcal toil from the past few days..

p (bbreeze): agreed. In singapore, everything is just $$$$$!

I am at week 19 now and i feel the baby movements getting a little too stronger not to notice. i don feel the kick but rather bouncy like feeling, like as though there's a huge bubble inside my tummy moving. Was telling my mum bout it yesterday and she said that's really fast for first baby.

Catherine: you need to drink 100% to replenish your fluid..if diarrhea for long, you need to hydrate your body..this is what my Gynae told me...

Usha: wah...KKH seems to be almost as expensive as private already...i just checked the package on Eastshore..its around 3K...but the problem right now is that my MIL told me to call them up to check if got hidden cost...cos baby infant stay also should charge...not sure if its part of the package anot....

BabyS: Better get some rest...its very tiring for us mommy if we dont get some sleep...you need to pamper urself...have good food and sleep...

Usha: same experience...like something is pushing and turning ^.^ so exciting...i usually feel it first..then i will get my hubby to touch my tummy..then if BB move..i will turn to my hubby...did you feel it? then he look at me...and say abit...waahhaah..but mummy can feel it better compare to daddy...

Recently called the maid agency and checked on the maid fees..its freaking expensive and crazy...last year due to FIL was sick we wanted to get a maid....maid salary quoted by my agency was $450 (without weekend off) then now agency quote $520 (without weekend off). On top of that, their admin fee also increase...I was like O.O from $788 to $888...the worst thing is that government only lower down the levy from $165 to $120 if i am not wrong..but the fees are increasing....its like #$@#$@#$%#....decrease a few bucks but everything else have an excuse to increase...its a sad sad world that we live in T.T...not only that, the levy only starts after BB comes into this world...so if those mummies who need the maid to come to clean the house early and prepare for the BB, need to pay $165 for levy...

wlilian: Oh i also just realised i didn check if the package includes infant stay too.. I think i'll reconfirm when i go for my appoinment next tuesday.

My husband still cannot feel the baby movements so everytime i just disturb him, the baby loves me thats y he or she doesn move when he places his hand on my tummy. Hahh.. sometimes he'll try to place his ear on my tummy and try to hear sounds.. I oni laugh at him. But it's cute to see his curiosity.

Looks like be it maid or infant care, the charges just looks similar now.. $$$$$ for everything. Gone are the days where a family of 5 survived with only $2000. Now $5000 oso not enuf for a family of 3!

Anyone experience pain around the belly button area?

Yeah nursery charges and injection charges r nt included in admission package. Admission package is only for mummies stay. I heard some hospitals now, to encourage breastfeeding, they charge $1 per bottle of formula milk. The bottle
Contains 150mls of milk, baby take 30ml. Balance is thrown.

Wlilian: yeah i decided to take mc and rest. Baby is more important than work.

BabyS: is pain due to stretching of the skin due to the baby's growth? My belly button is growing out soon, and i can see the old stretch marks clearly again. I had a scare that day cos i almost dropped a glass bottle so i stretched very fast to catch it.. ended up with pain on my left pelvic area after that.. told myself not to do anymore stunts after that..

Usha: A few people also commented that too fast for us to feel baby movement. But i think its pretty obvious. My first 2, i didn't even feel it at this stage..

Im pretty sure the bill doesn't include baby's neonatal charges.

Sigh, not a good feeling to be sick.. after all that medication, i lose appetite, and feel nauseous again.. tsk tsk...

Just had my detailed scan. Its so amazing!
Baby's very active. Wave at us also we saw her yawn. Haha
Gender confirmed. It's a girl!!:)