(2013/08) August 2013

Little devil: that's weird. Why not ask ur gynae for mc. Doesn't sound right that u r still working n not resting...u hv to take care leh.

My first pregnancy was really smooth...but this #2 seems a little scary..red spotting at 6th week...I hv been taking things too lightly... I still hv 34 weeks to go... Such a long time... Now I just wish I can tide over this tri....

Hi all, my EDD is at 12 Aug. Congrats to all mum to be.
Just wondering when do we go for hospital maternity tour? Any advise? Tia.

Hello everyone.
My EDD 25 Aug, #2.
Experience fatigue, nausea and crampy feeling ard abdomen area. Can't stand or walk for long.....

Nice to meet everyone here.

Hmm..still having sex as usual.

I felt uglier like more bo chup with my dressings now. Last time with #1 I often make up n dress up.. now I so sloppy lor. I don't even bothered to go threading anymore with my unkept eyebrows, no pedicure, no Brazilian waxing, no wax legs, no makeup just specs and go out le..aiyoh totally look like a cavewoman now.

Garlic smell is ok. I still try to do cooking but fishy smell makes me sick. I don't like KFC now..yesterday went out with my colleagues for lunch, I refused to eat.. only had cheesefries and 2 cups of pepsi... I love sweet things now which before this I seldom drink gassy drinks and don't really like sweet stuffs.. now I love all the sweet stuffs. I already put on 1kg plus in one month. I even asked the gynae to do a glucose test during the Oscar test... Hee hee

TGIF everyone!
cant wait for wkend to come!! hope everyone gets a seat on public tpt today!! haha

i've been eating a little better this wk, just cross fingers i/we can all get better so we can eat cny goodies too!! looking fwd to my first visit next wk too! cross fingers for that too!!

Had a high fever at 39 degree last nite. Went to kkh & got anti vomiting jab & took medication. This morning go TMC as scheduled for Oscar test + blood test.

The scan result is good.. But worried my blood test will be terrible due to the virus in my body.
will high fever have impact on the baby? Hmm... V scared sia...

catherine, dun think too much. our babies are rather resilient, so trust that whatever you do , it is for the best of baby!

Diorly, the sex thing is bcos doctor advised...just to be safe. She said avoid for first tri. I def keep taking sweet stuff too though I used to dislike sweet stuff. Maybe u can make healthier choices, like instead of Pepsi take fruits and juices.

I guess when u don't feel good alrdy, also no mood to dress up? I dunno what to wear. Normal clothes getting tight. Maternity clothes big and pregnant. Hahaha. I don wanna waste $ on unnecessary stuff like for beauty cos no. 3 is unprepared for and I'm not reali working so muz reali manage $ well.

Catherine, fever shouldn't affect much. During pregnancy, I think the scariest is when you have stomach pains. Like that time I had stomach flu and they put me in hosp for hours to monitor. Also some skin infection can lead to eye problems in the child. Anw get well soon!

Pray the nauseated feeling can go away soon... Makes me very tired and unhappy.

OSCAR Test - actually is it really necessary to take it? When I was a new mum, I just did whatever tests the doctor suggested. Later on I realised that even if the baby has a high risk of downsyndrome, I'm not gonna abort it anw, so what's the purpose of doing the test?

Good morning ladies~

Just went for a 2nd hormone jab this morning, this time my butt really sore laaa.... Literally limping back home lol

Just wanna check - can drink coke/Pepsi?

Princessgx: actually I was wondering on the same question as you... If gonna keep the baby anyway, in case the test result no good, you will be more worried and stressed?

Ellen, the older folks believe if u drink cold drinks yr baby will have weak lungs. I didn't believe previously but anw later on I realised women esp should reali avoid from TCM pt of view. It causes us aches and weakness. So I did avoid until now cos I feel nauseated and cold sweet juices make me feel good. I think caffeine is not too good so be it cofffee, tea or coke, should reduce.

Hormone jabs expensive right? Yr fren took everyday? So far two gynae visits alrdy cost me $400+.

Ya I decided not to do OSCAR Test alrdy. Anw I'm considered low risk and I will keep the baby anw.

Serene & Ellen: I lodged a report with tafep.sg ytd.. on discrimation in workplace.. they replied quite fast n asked me to lodge a report in MOM.. I'm trying to get more evidence on his bad intentions n actions to support my feedback.. sian...

Ladies, u must protect urself at work.. remember this "nothing is more important than our baby n our health, work is just work, u can find another job"

I am feeling very hot, like i stood under the sun for a very long time and am retaining the heat. I am feeling very hot although i am in a aircon room. But i took my temp and its 36.5.. But i like much hotter than that!!!

This is the 2nd time in this pregnancy that i feel like that.. Hot flush? Arent hot flushes only in menopause?

Anyone expericing the same?

Ellen: can why not. Only chinese r more particular i think.. world wide u can see preggie women drinking coke n pepsi.

Rachyo: what happened? im working as a insurance sales manager but my time is flexible. My boss is also very supportive tell me wanna take leave is anytime. Like today i staying at home. lol

Rachyo: wat did ur boss do to u?

Ellen: if u wan to keep the baby regardless of Oscar outcome, you can decide not to do the test.

Today I begin to feel nausea, maybe the hormones pills are taking effect on me?

Anyone knows if it's possible to have spotting thoughout the first tri but still hv a healthy n safe baby? All these blood came from the menstrual lining isist? If it keeps flowing out, wouldn't the baby be affected? Or doctor is jus preventi the baby fr shedding out together with the lining...? Sorry ar,,,, maybe it's silly questions...

coco69, are you on bedrest already? suggest u take bedrest, lie down as much as possible. Dun think too much, but get lots of rest. i can't help you with the questions as i din have that experience. But please stay positive!

princessgx: yea each jab is $50 before GST (i'm doing at NUH). My friend one is Mount A so i dunno how much it costs... should be about the same ba? but i think doing the jab everyday is really very expensive!

I also think some TCM theory somehow really works. I will just follow whatever i know la.

Rachyo: it must be really bad... hope whatever the outcome will be fair and just to you... it must be really stressed to be pregnant and at the same time meet this kind of boss.... :/

diorly: oh cos coke/Pepsi has caffeine and its recipe was originally for use as cough syrup, hence my question of whether can drink or not....

coco69: i have spotting everyday... but the doc said so far so good, so i will just be positive and think that everything will be fine
what did you doctor say?

i know someone who had spotting throughout her ENTIRE pregnancy... now the daughter in primary school liao...

My body temp is 37.2, higher than my usual of 36.5. I feel exceptionally cold everyday so I stopped using aircon and always wear jackets. Dr says its normal to feel cold in first tri.

My hormone jab was $80. Do hormone pills cause nausea? I'm feeling horrible everyday. So nauseated I don't feel like doing anything.

I am really sorry to hear about the losses. It has happened to me before too so I am really worried this time round but trying to stay positive.
Am now in week 10. And like the previous time, my symptoms are not so strong at the moment and I am scaring myself. Will be going to see my gynae 2 weeks later. I guessed I worry too much. Haha..
All the best to all of us..

I am resting at home today ...yesterday was a tough night for me, suddenly i was shivering in
the midnight and serious migraine ,,,i thought that is something wrong to my blood pressure . luckily my BP did not increase , actually decrease abit as doc said preggie normally have lower BP . is that true?
any over-age mummy here? I am at late 30 so abit worried for this preganancy

Anna: my gp said the same thing, that when preggy, bp will be lower in the beginin, sometimes also why we may get giddy. Towards mid pregnancy will stablize back to normal..

Can we drink bubble tea? Can we eat pineapple tarts? Can we eat bak kwa? Omg... CNY goodies, i gonna miss u again!

I feel cold during first trimester but feel extremely hot during 2nd n 3rd trimester.

Regarding oacar scan, it is to test for down syndrome. If u decided to keep the baby, then it is not necessary to do. However, it happen to my friend that lucky she did oscar scan. If not, she won't know her baby organs are not in position and 3mths is still small so juz do a dnc. If 5th mth den discover, then will hav to go thru normal delivery.

CNY coming so most impt dun anyhow move furnitures in the house. Dun anyhow knock on walls.

haiz.. counting down to see a gynae finally. Seems like I will return to Adrian woodworth.

cant wait for 22nd Jan 2013.

Base on my calculation. shd be in my 7wks now.

Hi coco69: As what Ellen has said, daily spotting is ok, but not bright red stain. There are some incident that spotting stop and baby's heart beats stops. So it depends. thats what my gyaen told me. Stay positive....

Hi princessgx : your jab is ex. I had mine for $47 after GST.

Qin, I think can still eat la just not too much. Btw I don reali understand what u said abt yr fren's OSCAR scan.can elaborate? If it helps in other things then I may wanna take it.

Littledevil, wah yes mine is reali ex but for that day she waived my ultrasound cos pills plus jab alrdy $240+

Qin: hahah i have been looking at pineapple tarts for the past week since the goodies are up at supermarkets! but i remember pineapple cause contractions?!?!!? but got craving also, how leh? hahah..

bubble tea i dun drink cos i dun fancy cold drinks anymore. i wont mind drinking if got craving, but maybe a bit only.

bak kwa why cannot?! if cannot eat this CNY will be very sad!!

rach,
totally agree with u on bb is more impt than work. unfortunately, i learnt my lesson too late. was unexpectedly preg when #1 was less than 18nths. having prb at home n v stressed at work. my senior even though know i was preg, also carry on work load n carryin of stuffs as usual. In the end, i miscarriage. on the 2nd day after dnc, my senior can even called me to go back to work regardin to work issue!!

For me, oscar scan is for a piece of mind. If there is really something worryin, i rather know it early than late. if anything can b done to remedy or prevent, hv to do early rite? if really hv high risk of DS. It really a serious discussion whether to keep or risk it. IMHO

2 more days, will b start of 11th wk. but stil pukin daily. so sian. the pkin mark like never goin to go away.... look so ugly!!!! urgh....

princessgx
didnt know that there sciatica. my symptoms same as describe. all along tot was slipped disc. cos that was wat the NUH doc told me. now i wonder mine is sciatica or slipped disc. it usually happen when i start to get overweight. then it occurs v often. thus a good way to remind me to keep my weight in healthy range. although not slim, as least not too high IBM. =p but when comes to pregnancy. nothin i can do to control the weight. thus it occur v frequently from 2nd tri onwards. dreadin it. -_-"

Morning! Going for my 10am gynae appt to check for bb's heartbeats.. Am so nervous and worried that I couldn't sleep well and woke up at 4+am! Hoping for the best and can't wait to see the little one!

poky, actually my sciatica is self-diagnosed. Haha. It's like either the bones or flesh sits on the nerves causing the pain. Yea I guess it's definitely due to overweight or maybe also old injury for me cos I had this feeling since young after over-exertion. For me the wt gain seems uncontrollable. Even if I don eat too much, every time the gynae sees me she will be shocked.

Hi Amanda, good luck! It's quite exciting seeing the heartbeat!

Poky: I've slipped disc n it presses on my nerves causing sciatica. I've it for past 18yrs. With proper care backaches can be prevented. Try to bedrest more if u start to feel backache. I was fine throughout my 1st pregnancy. Only had a relapse 4 mths after delivery caused by a stupid hard sneeze while sitting up at same time. Tat was a miserable period coz I still had to care for my bb alone even tho I could hardly walk with the pain.

Qin: I think avoid pineapple tarts la, but I dun see why bak gua cannot~ yum yum... As for bubble tea, you dun drink a lot rite, once in a while should be okie ba~

Bbreeze: sharetea got this hot bubble tea, very nice... Lol

Diorly: I was just thinking whether I should just throw my pack of flour away, cos the thought of baking already makes me tired... Hahaha

Thanks princessgx, yes finally got to hear baby's heartbeat so it was a relieve. Edd from the scan says 28 Aug

Anyways I asked my gynae if can eat pineapple tarts and he said its ok. Bak Kua also ok. Yays!

Bak Gua should be fine. I ate that during wk6-7 coz MS made me lose appetite. So my mum bgt it for me to eat with bread for meals. Yum yum. She said pineapple tarts ok since pineapple cooked already. I drank quite a lot of bubble tea during #1 so I guess it's fine bah.
Finally I feel my MS ending altho I still get bloated easily if I ate until I feel full. So happy i could finish a plate of char siew rice ydy w/o the wana-puke feeling. Now I'm constantly hungry! Finished half a baguette for bkfast n still hungry!

Usaginoko: I count myself lucky that I dun have MS, but I found that now I have to eat much slower, else will feel uncomfortable... Read that pregnancy hormone slows down stomach activity, dunno if it's related lol~

hi ladies, how are u all feeling on a Saturday afternoon? Hav you ladies start shopping for cny clothes already? For our stage now is quite headache to buy cny clothes? Should we wear normal clothes or maternity clothes for cny? sigh.. guess we should be around 12-14 weeks during cny season. n our tummy is not really protuding out yet. i haven start shopping but already worry wat to wear for cny.

speaking of cny goodies, yesterday bought a tin of cny goodies to munch already. cant resist the craving. keke..

hi Amanda, congrats to u. 1 more hurdle has passed. now can relax abit : )

Ellen u very heng no ms!
Ya, the hormones slow down our digestive system. Tats y I can't take heavy meals. Too oily too fatty also can't eat much.

Serene: I haven't thought of CNY clothes yet.. But I already can't fit into some of my jeans liao ahhh..

Usaginoko/diorly: yea very heng.. I can eat normal amount but have to eat really slowly. I agree on the fatty part: used to LOVE chicken skin but now I can't take it anymore~ hahaha

Oh, didnt know pregnancy hormones slow down stomach activity. Last week i still had like super big appetite. This week no appetite and so bloated. So extreme.

My ETD is on 27 aug 2013.
I have also filled up the google doc!

To anna, I have migraine too! According to my gynae, it is due to the drop in blood pressure. If the pain is unbearable, you can take paracetamol. And try to avoid any migraine inducing food. Hope this helps!