(2013/06) June 2013

I agree with mummync..

Nb is more of trial n error..u got to try every mean n ways to find a suitable one for ur nb..my boy also refuse to latch on in e hospital..pout his lip..dunno to laugh or to b sad..

Discharge fr hospital,I also fear e itch n biting part where I did not bf him..just pump..but e output was very low..my mum gave him fm 80% n 20% bm..asking mi to rest(I have tear till anus)...if u r determined to bf,dun listen to all sort of rubbish(u have no milk,fm better n fuller,y make urself so tiring).. Bm is e best for ur bb..

I was very lucky tt my supply did not stop naturally..he kept having diarrhea n e pd advises mi to go totally bfeed..I heed his advise n practice latch on until success(no sore or bleeding nipple)

Tbf fr 3.5 mth to 12 mth..headache comes..my boy refuse to drink fm..we started trying when he was 10plus mth..give every brand of fm sample..just refuse to drink.. I think that's e main headache u have if u go totally bf via latch on..

We fought all e way till 2am..he rather go hungry then drink fm..end up buy this super cheap brand call dumex dugro chocolate flavor fm.. He drank..we r so happy.. Slowly transit him to gain iq..

B determined n preserved if u wanna bf..e journey is tough..I have few supportive Frez who bf which motivate mi to continue..my mum n sis nvr bf..kept asking mi to stop...

Thanks mommies for the advices!! I think I will try latching first before buying the pumps. Think breast milk is still the best for baby n good for mummy. If cant latch successfully then get hubby to go buy the pump for my little princess.

Any recommended brands for diapers and formula milk? Think oso have to get these ready before birth.

I was exclusively pumping for 9-10 months until supply fell due to pregnancy. There is a lot more washing to do than latching. Esp in first few months where you are literally pumping around the clock. Need to wash and sterilize the shields and parts. I had 3 sets of parts used in rotation. Also, my CL and helper help to wash else I think my whole life would be spent with pump and washing parts. Pumping also takes time away from your baby. When baby is crying while you are pumping, someone has to look after baby.

Also ebm is cold and your baby will be crying for that extra few minutes as you try desperately to warm up the milk as fast as possible. For direct latching, no such problem... instant ma...

I was using milk bags and had to get an additional freezer to freeze excess ebm, then I started using glass bottles cos it's more eco-friendly. I have more than 150 pcs at home... happy to recycle for next round

I simply could not latch my baby and had a lot of chafing and pain. I think I did 2-3 hourly pumps for 1-2 months, then spread it out to 4 hours (3rd month), then 6 hours (4th month), then 8 hours and 12 hours (6th month). It's not as flexible as latching cos I needed to plan my time to be home when I needed to pump. I was lucky to be able to work from home for most of last year, so this worked out.

For #2, I will try to latch first... but pumping allows hubby, parents and in laws to help with feeding as well. So I will probably also pump since I'm planning to go back to work after 4 months. Will be getting an extra pump to leave in office.

Initially I was worried about the 'bonding' factor cos every reading material online talks about how bf gives you that extra bond with your baby. I can say I'm just as close to my #1 as any bf mum is although I have never successfully bf before.

Other than saving on fm, #1 has been in good health and only had fevers due to vaccinations *choychoy* Not sure if it's due to bm or what, but hope she continues to stay healthy as it's very cham to see little babies falling sick.

Whether you should buy pump now or later, I'm kiasu kind, so I will buy now cos I believe if cannot use, can still sell it off. I can take the next 4 months to slowly hunt for a good deal. But if I wait until need to use, then probably buy off the shelf is more expensive. Take note that you are not just buying pump, you need pump parts as well and these can come up to more than $100 total if you buy from retail. It's so much cheaper online.

Kome, thanks a lot for the review. I will go send in my order!

happymok, I will be ordering Nepia diapers after delivery (www.nepia.com.sg). They have free delivery to doorstep. If Merries is having good promo, I will try Merries. Not getting any formula cos will be trying for tbf again

Yah I agree with mummync, kis and chewie -

Actually formula is just as good, if not better. If the mother is run-down and not eating well it does affect baby too.

As for the kid falling sick, it's only avoidable if your child doesn't go to infant care or you don't have an older toddler in preschool. Otherwise no matter how you try to prevent the second child will definitely fall sick more easily than the first.

exclusive pumping is a lot of work cos its extra time and effort. Direct latching is definitely easier but then even though my eldest was bottle-fed I don't feel any less attached to her than to my second girl who latched almost exclusively for 8 months.

In fact due to the 2nd kid's breathing issues we were advised by several PDs and hospital doctors to bottle-feed her (easier for her to breath while feeding, doesnt expend as much energy compared to latching)

But my stubborn, stubborn girl just absolutely refused all bottles and pacifiers. I must have spent hundreds of bucks trying different brands and teats, we were so desperate.

So it's very hard to say at this point whether each baby can latch well or feed well. They may be tiny but have very strong personalities right from the start!

As for buying pumps now, if end up not using and selling off, also have to sell at a loss right. So not much diff between waiting to buy when needed or buying cheaply earlier and then selling at a lower price

chewie.. haha ya i agree..seems like a breeze..but my gdness..alot to wash lol..so of coz if can latch then v gd..i will also try again w #2 but ive also learnt to not be so hard on myself..

i agree w KIS, if u are determined to do it then dont let anyone tell u tt u dont haf enough milk etc etc..its all in the mind..tt being said..i also tink tt mummy's mental well-being is v impt so also dont let wat others say affect u..works in both situations...when i chose to stop..pple will be like oh u not bf-ing alrdy ah..or u bf-ing still right..huh no ah..y ah..pple tend to judge no matter wat u do...i tell myself tt my mental well-being is more impt for my child..if i go into depression..who will care for my baby..we want the best tt we can offer our child..n for me coz no family to help me out n after first mth it was jus baby n me frm the time hubby go work till he comes hm...i much rather do wat is within my means n focus on other ways of bonding w my child n make sure all his needs r met..didnt want to force the bf-ing n then i end up resentful of him..so everyone..try to chill..deep breathes..its supposed to be a beauftiful time ;)

I chose to latch on cos my output was very little 30-50ml..I keep telling myself tt my Frez can do it..I can too..

Slowly my mum become supportive for mi to continue bfeeding..I stayed with my family till my boy turns 7mths(my Hb is studying in aus)..my mum just happily pass my boy to mi says he is hungry..she dun need to prepare fm,feed,burp n wash bottle,sterilize e milk bottle..

My mum helps mi out in e morning..I took e night shift fr confinement onwards..it was very tiring as he kept regurgitate milk n had colic..coming to 2.5mths,I took over 24h..my mum just oversee over look.she has high blood pressure,can't stay up at night..latch on is a better choice for mi cos I just latch him n dun need to wash..can cat nap while he latch on..

weight e pro n cons..my mil is super unsupportive with mi bfeed..cos she can't bond with grandson..partly I m stubborn and insist to continue bf till 12 mth..everytime see mi,still bfeed,y bfeed?

I have decided to exclusive latch on this time round. Same as KIS, my output was very little also. Scare will waste money if i go and get a new pump. Hopefully this time round i will have the determination not to be influence by what my mum says and can bf at least 6 mths to 1 yr old.

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>baby #</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Location</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Shan991</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Le-N</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northwest</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Zoers</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>North/ West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Angel Ho</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Cel109</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wanling</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE / Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>sf8</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Girl^Girl</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Khoo CK</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>KIS</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>PL (babybp)</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>yveyve18</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>ica</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>wy_june</TD><TD>4-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Jessica Tham</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>pinkberries84</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Ang</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Purplebook</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>och</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>My-Angel-Is-Back</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wanling</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE/ Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Estherlss</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Blurdopey</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Tricia</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>may</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>MofMM</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan HH</TD><TD># 1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl / Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>birdbird</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>June</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>valerie chen</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Han</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>kris (krishojw)</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>FL</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Yeoh</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Jessica (jessica84)</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Fefe</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Ms E</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Beh Suan Tiong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>pillow4</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan TC</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>SHARON</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>chewie</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phin</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>KL84</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>rosellecz</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Kome</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Jen SW</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>missy</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>fudgecake</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Sim LN</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>grace82</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Windyrain</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>mummy_relle</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Tangbai</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Northwest</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>happy_gal</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Cynthia Kew</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Gigi Soul</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Su Ling Ling</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>jasmine</TD><TD>17-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Qayn</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>xp</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>mabelths</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>happymok</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>corinang</TD><TD>19-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>mummync</TD><TD>19-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>estaefran</TD><TD>20-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>absentmama</TD><TD>21-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>55</TD><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>22-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee K. W</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>56</TD><TD>bbleolim</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr C. H Koh</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>57</TD><TD>Janiz</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>58</TD><TD>lilac</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>59</TD><TD>hope4baby</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>60</TD><TD>PSP</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>61</TD><TD>Nmm</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Su Ling Ling</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>North/ West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>62</TD><TD>chloe_ng</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>63</TD><TD>dolliepollie</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>64</TD><TD>ST</TD><TD>26-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>65</TD><TD>jassie</TD><TD>26-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>66</TD><TD>Chevelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Koh Cheng Huat</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>67</TD><TD>gymie</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>68</TD><TD>Gwen</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Thomson</TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>69</TD><TD>Vivi</TD><TD>28-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>70</TD><TD>Chloegal03</TD><TD>28-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>71</TD><TD>wendy (w_w)</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 2 &amp; # 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>72</TD><TD>Ann C</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Yam</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>73</TD><TD>jamie</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Weun</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>74</TD><TD>Joanne Au</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>75</TD><TD>cherry</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>76</TD><TD>jazz</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Hii</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Windy
Take care. I am no better. Whole lot of work and my 2 kids fall sick at the same time lor. I am so tired even though got a long holiday break.

hi mommies!

how do you deal with your back pain?
i have not been able to have restful sleep for past 5 nights. last 2 nights were so bad that i can only sit up right, can't even lean back.
i was told to use pillows, heat pad, to help but seemed not working on me. doctor can't do much except prescribing painkiller which i can't take any at all....
-__-|||

Tangbai - not much they can do for back pain besides giving painkiller / mc.

I had back pain (sciatic nerve pain) with first pregnancy, given hospitalisation leave to rest at home.

Second pregnancy was referred for physiotherapy and massage (this in Switzerland). They don't believe in giving painkillers over there... Physio helps a bit but ultimately just have to bear with it until birth.

This pregnancy also been having back pain whether I'm lying down or sitting or walking. Just bear with it lor.

Yh anyway with breastfeeding like what mummync says no need to give ourselves too much stress lah. Can feed, feed. Cannot feed, just give formula lor. The baby will still grow. Ultimately milk is milk and honestly your kid won't care where it comes from. I was completely formula-fed too, and I don't think my IQ or health suffered ;)

The post-birth period is hard enough without stressing about all these stuff.. Just go with the flow and do what we can. No point stressing out

Agreed, don't stress yourself out over milk! It's supposed to be a beautiful time and spending those sleepless nights with our little ones is worth it. In fact I love watching my girl sleep... so cute

About milk coming in, my CL tried to psy-cho me to give fm on Day 1/2 night cos baby was waking up v frequently and I was not latching well. I told her I didn't buy and persevered on, pumping and pumping...

One thing to prepare beforehand are fenugreek tablets from drugstore.com!! I'll also ask for domperidone, that's what my gynae prescribed me from Day 1

absentmama, I was referring to those $899 Medela breastpumps which can be bought for half the price online, even cheaper from US... anyway if research properly and make a good buy, can usually sell at cost at least lah

KIS, for me, I insisted on bm only and nothing else for 6 months. No water even. Some online sites advocate that... Everyone keep asking me to give water when baby hiccup but I firmly told them no. Am curious to see how #2 turns out cos jiejie might be going to school in Sep or so, and like what absentmama says, the younger one might be more prone to catching stuff from older siblings...

tangbai, try out prenatal massage? It might help relieve your pain. My friend recommends a javanese massage place. I get sharp pains once in a while and try to remind myself to sleep on side

Windy, take care and get well soon!!

Anyone interested in getting a Philip Avent Baby Monitor (Audio)- US Set. I am letting go of mine and it has served me very well for 1 yr, in v gd condition
Let me know if u are interested..

Oh yah domperidone - mummies giving birth at kkh must remember to ask gynae to prescribe it for you before discharge. It is VERY cheap at kk. Around 5 bucks or less for 1 mth supply, 3 tabs a day.

You can also buy it at the outside pharmacies ie Guardian or Unity etc under the brand name "Motilium" but iirc the cost is around $20 for 16 tabs

hi all! been a super busy day! haha

Wnidy: hope u're feeling better!

absentmama: hm...would domperidone or fenugreek be better? i've read that domperidone may not be the most ideal supplement to help in breastfeeding as it's main purpose is to curb nausea and gastic issue? pardon my ignorance as i am not sure :X

btw, just to side-track a little, i'm heading to US (San Diego) in March for a conference, just wondering if anyone of u needs to get anything from the US? i shld have 1-day to do abit of shopping, but no guarantee if i can find it though..haha..also, just FYI tax in SDG is 8.5% too.

for me i did an order online for the 'Praise Baby Collection CD' - which is much cheaper in the US than in SG...so if anyone of u who are keen can let me know so i can tap onto my order and collect it there.

Malbelths, one of the side-effects of domperidone is that it increases the hormones you need to produce milk. Which is why it is prescribed by doctors to boost supply. Not so much for the anti-nausea treatment

Fenugreek is more gentle, some ppl see little to no effect but others will see a dramatic increase in output so its difficult to say whether it will work for each individual. I guess the main thing about domperidone is that its been tested and proven scientifically?

If I remember correctly, there's a mention of domperidone in the breastfeeding ebook you have.

absentmama: yup it is mentioned, but not sure which is better..hahaa...i have colleagues in US who are quite against Domperidone, so just checking..but then again i know alot of drugs seem to be banned in the US

thanks for the insight!

the doctors prescribed me Domperidone when I had my second one to boost up my supply (cos he was premature and doctors wanted me to have BM for him). I ended up with a very good problem i.e. oversupply of milk. But one must continue to be consistent in pumping even after taking Domperidone. It works hand-in-hand; demand and supply.

morning all!

Done checkup ytd. BB at 735g at w24....haha cheeky gal still in breech position...no wonder she keep kicking my lower tummy area....

mummies, don worry about the milk supply. Just latch and pump regularly, the milk supply will come in. I have low milk supply, my second pregnancy, i manage to latch #2 and what i pump out, i use to feed #1 mixed with formula. Just don't give up.

Girl^Girl: wow~ so fast! i wonder how heavy would my bb be at 24wks...hehe..my 24wks scan on 5 March...cant wait!

Kris: i do get leg cramps at night too...now even until morning the 'aching feel' is still there...i try to keep my legs warmer, but not sure if that helps

mabelths> ok lar..heehee...my next apptment on 18 March...again in 4 weeks time...sianz.

ytd i ask doctor for the GD test. He dun want to put me on the test coz me still not overweight yet. As of ytd my weight stands at 58.5kg... fat by 2kg since last mth...

BB gal kicking and doing dancing ytd...guess she is excited also...lolxxx

Kris: hm..i dont think it's the walking...i think maybe our babies getting heavier? i'll ask gynae on my next visit.

Girl^Girl: what's GD test?

tangbai: hope your tailbone area feeling better! i'm getting more aches too..trying to keep walking about during office hours...i'm hoping i can last thru my upcoming flights...

Morning mummies..

Kris > I am also having bad cramps too.. What I do is to massage the area, wear socks and alleviate my feet using a pillow.. This only helps a bit (though better then nothing) since it's been raining a lot lately. My mum says it will get worse so gotta be prepared of sleepless nights..

yes, i am also feeling leg having the jellylike feeling, can't walk for too long else will feel tired. Not sure if it because our tummy is getting heavier.

Morning.

Me too cannot walk for too long. Will feel breathless and tired. My walking speed think can compare with the snail already. I intend to let my company know that by end Mar, i will like to work half day only. Coz my office requires me to climb up the stairs in order to get to the toilet which is hard for me by 3rd tri.

mableths - GD test is gestational diabetes test..pregnant women have a risk of getting tt during pregnancy..normally if u gain too much weight or ur baby on the big side they might worry u haf tt n test u for it so tt if tested positive then u will hafta control ur diet to control the diabetes if not can b dangerous for u or baby...but tt being said..doesnt necessary mean u haf it if u heavy or baby heavy..

for my #1 i didnt gain much weight but my baby was v big..always measure 2 wks ahead..so had to do the test even tho all my urine test usualy v normal..in the end..i didnt haf GD n dr ruled it as baby jus big lor..genetics..

I've read that stretching before bedtime can help prevent waking up in cramps. If the cramp usually happens on the calf, stretch by holding your toes towards you (like stretching hem string). Also up your intake of Potassium and Magnesium as these minerals help relax and prevent muscle cramps.

mummync: thanks for the input!

i wonder how's baby growing...do u all suddenly feel ur bumps getting bigger? i do these few days!

birdbird: haha..i doubt i can reach my toes anymore

Just to share, food high in:

Potassium: Potatoes, bananas, avocadoes, salmon
Magnesium: Almond, cashew, sunflower seeds, dark choc, sesame seeds

mabelths
I do feel that my tummy suddenly bigger but alot of friends said that for a 5mths pregnant, my tummy still looks small.

I feel so much bigger and clumsy nowadays. And my walking speed also slow down a lot. Seems that I need to used a lot of energy to walk just a short distance.

I am also have backache and leg cramp problem. My feet feels cold n numb at times especially at night when i sleep in aircon room.

Kome: same here, i feel my tummy suddenly expend alot..but some of my colleagues just notice that i am pregnant..so they ask me..'past first trim ah?' hahaa

Chevelle: for me energy to walk is still there, just that my leg start cramping at night (though i dont sleep in aircon and wear compression socks) my lower-back and tailbone also aching more and i feel somehow my chair seems harder than before..haha..have brought 2 pillows to the office and also in hubby's car already so i can sit longer

i do get more tired after a long day (last time i can last from 6am until 12mn-1am) but now my 11pm i am dead tired..as in really unproductive

ya lor...that is why at night i wear the stockings to zzzz....

dunnoe leh... i can feel like my tummy stretching but some ppl say my tum looks small... hahaha...but i guess if BB is growing well, i dun worry that much...

seems that BB likes to eat softmeal bread with kaya ...:p

Girl^Girl: ^5! my baby seem to love bread, toast..haha..everytime i walk past a bakery i find it hard to resist...and i keep thinking of kaya toast too..but too bad havent had time to have kaya toast though i've been thinking abt it for some time already

heehee...ya my guess is that the nice smell...BB likes bengawan solo cakes... aiyoo see lar...all the sinful stuff...

i go KKH for apptment hor, always ordered the walnut bread (if they have), and they tasted heavenly. Hubby say walnuts are good but expensive...

ytd night dunnoe wat happen, sleep at 10plus, suddenly wake up at 11plus ....grrrr

Chevelle, I think no side effect... it's fenugreek that apparently makes milk (&amp; baby) more gassy. Not sure if domperidone has the same problem. My gynae prescribed to me from Day 1 and milk kicked in pretty quickly for me. Didn't need to supplement

me too, i think i put on 2kg over the cny period :S

have u gals started buying the baby stuff yet? thinking of starting to buy some fast, then later stage don't have to go shop with the big tummy

question, do you re-use steriliser or buy new one?
i still have the steriliser for my son but the bottom seem a bit yellowish and can't remove. not sure if need to change a new one already

Lilac
I have started buying. Initially i wanted to get a new steriliser but SIL said wanna give me hers. Some mummies said its not safe to use 2nd hand steriliser so in dilemma now.

i wanted to reuse my steriliser coz bought abt a yr ago n have been using it all along until 3 mths ago stop coz he turned 1 but even before we stopped we alrdy notice the base plate started rusting which disturb hubby a lot...so he said we shld go buy a new one..i tink avent one can get for abt 150? he said gonna use it for at least a yr..dont be so mean/ bias n dont give mei mei what we gave kor kor haha...so guess will buy new one...

Kome - depends on condition i suppose..if mine didnt rust then i will use..my SIL also pass me hers when i first had #1 n spoilt within first mth..everytime i press the switch to on the steriliser it wld electrocute me...scary!