(2013/06) June 2013

mabelths, haha you so funny. Yah I doubt I can reach forward to my toes anymore... But sideways on the bed still can lah.

I think my bump quite big leh, but most people say like 3 months. Guess there will be a surge at the end for some of us! Whenever I eat a lot my belly feels sooooo stretched like the skin is going to burst >_<"

kone, mummync
I think i might buy new one, cos the stain at the base is quite disturbing.
If steriliser is not clean, then it quite pointless to sterilise the bottles already.

Do you guys get braxton hicks when you walk? I need to walk about 10min from mrt station to office, keep getting cramps and contractions halfway there..

For steriliser I bought the avent microwave one. Am thinking it could be quite convenient to use and maintenance is easier ie. won't rust?

Not sure if I should standby some formula milk, just in case. I understand it could also take a few days for breast milk to come in?

Some small items which I think i need to get: nail clippers, meds dropper, wipes, wash cloths, detergents, etc.

absentmama: i'm still ok when i walk...i walk 10min from home to MRT each morning, then 20min from MRT to my office..so far so good

on steriliser, i'm thinking if it is absolutely necessary? i may go by the traditional method of steaming/boiling at the end of each day

I delievered my baby on Jan 2013 and I had stop breastfeeding due to low supply and due to busy with my #1. I would like to selling away following items. All my breast pump was pretty new as i hardly use it. Please pm me here or call me at 93622319 if you are interested. Thanks

1)Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump (with warranty)
2)Pumpin pal set included:
Premium Breast Pumping Flanges (super shields -M size)
Hand-free Breast Pumping Strap
Air Dry Accessory Bag
3)Avent Manual Breast Pump - SCF 330 (with warranty)
4)Avent Per-sterilized Cup 5pcs &amp; Cup Cover 5pcs (brand new)
5)Avent Ultra Comforatable Breast Shells (hardly use)
6)Pigeon Sillicon Nipple (brand new)
7)Lansinoh 25 pcs milk storage bags (Brand New)
8)Sacred Tea for Nursing Mother 1pack (brand new)
9)Lemongrass Confinement Shower Gel 1lite (brand new)
10) RPR Dry Shampoo Powder Spray (brand new)
11) Pureen Sterilising Tablets 56 (brand new)

Lilac
Think this is our #3 so hubby wanted to save money. For what i think is getting a new steriliser and use for more than a year is quite worth it already. No choice will need to see hows the condition of my SIL steriliser first than see if there is a need to get a new one or not.

Birdbird
I don't use microwave at home so will not be able to use for sterilise.

Birdbird - yah microwave steriliser is good, won't rust and very easy to store or even pass on to the next user as the parts are all plastic

absentmama- yes i do get bh as well.. usually when i walk for about 10-15 mins or so.. But i also noticed that bh comes faster when i walk back to office after lunch- prob just a couple of mins walk only. So for me i suppose after meal + walking triggers it faster?

absentmama - yes i do get BH too..nowadays at least 2-3 times n it happens when i walk v quickly to go buy bkfast in the morning n when im rushing to my car in the evenings...

hmmm now come to tink of it..i do haf a microwave steriliser...but i tink rather small n maybe can fit abt 2 bottles only? now im jus wondering..given tt i will haf a maid..she can help to wash bottles n sterilise more often so i wont really need a steriliser to do 6 at one go? hmmm..hahah trying to save money..realise spending alot..sigh..

Haha mummync I think you can try using the microwave steriliser first? Esp since first month with CL around I'm sure they will wash up the bottles asap, same goes for maid. Probably can wait to buy the bigger 6-bottle steriliser when you really see the need bah.

Like you I was looking after my eldest alone. Didn't even get CL so that time I would just leave all the bottles in the sink and my hubby wash and sterilise them at one go when he's back from work. if doing that way definitely need the bigger one. But with a helper around should be ok bah.. They have hardly anything to do esp if Elijah still going to childcare.

In the end we sent our maid back after just 3weeks plus cos she really got attitude problem, sigh. And i found that she always hurry through the jobs end up not enough things for her to do so she goes to bed at the rodiculous time of 7.30pm!!!! Even after we spoke to her she refused to change her habit and I'm so pek cek with her all the time. Better that she leaves and we get a part-time cleaner.

My hubby can handle the 2 girls alone on his own anyway so we will just try and cope on our own when baby comes

Mummync and MsE,

Are your gynaes concerned about the BH? I'm only seeing mine next Sat so haven't had a chance to ask her.. Just thought its a bit early to be experiencing BH already. I only had them in last trimester for both no.1&amp;2

absentmama - so u sent ur maid back alrdy? n not getting a replacement? wow...mine only coming in end Apr so we shall see..as for the BH, my nxt appt is the following Sat..2 Mar..so I guess i might ask but i have a feeling he will say normal n jus take it easy..i tink i got them quite early on w Elijah too n he wasnt too concerned..

can i check what the market rate for new maid now? are u giving them 4 days off or compensate them to stay in?
mine is 430 indo. Thinking of changing when contract is up but not sure yet. Very scare to get a worst off one

i am giving the 4 days..but 3 days will be wk days while 1 day is wkend...i can deal w the 3 days of wkday coz my kids will b in childcare so its fine..ours is a filipino n we r paying..450 or 480..hmmm crap! preggers brain..totally forgot if its 450 or 480..most likely 480..

I'm going to buy a new sterilizer. My old one is still in use but like some mummies said, the base is yellowish and I feel mine is even oily. Yucky...

Please update if baby fair has good promo for Philips? I want to get the 4-in-1 but not sure if should wait until Philips fair for a better deal

Lilac
Mine is Filipino $450. I intend to compensate her with 1 off day if she is ok with it.

Yes, if good promo for Philips. Pls do update here. Can see if need to get any things from the promo if have.

Today spent $200++ on my princess's clothings and some small items!! Gona go baby fair see the big items pricing see if cheaper if not buy at elsewhere.

absentmama, I have been experiencing BH quite frequently especially when walking and after a heavy meal. I was prescribe nifedipine to help relax the womb. I take that when I feel that BH is more than 3 times a day. Plus, since this is our third pregnancy, BH usually starts earlier. And because I had a premature delivery before, doc wanted me to rest as much as possible and just take the medications for precautions' sake.

Lilac, thanks for sharing. I did wonder if its normal to have BH so early in 2nd trimester, esp cos mine is accompanied by period-like cramps with the contractions. Will see what gynae says at next sat appt.

How early was your no.2? Were there any warnings signs or symptoms?

So far my two girls were 40 and 39 weeks respectively so I think this one will probably be somewhere there at birth. Just find it a bit worrying that how come BH started so early this time.

Is the medication you take to relax the womb safe for long-term consumption? Any side effects? Did your gynae monitor the contractions before prescribing then?

Absentmama, I have yet to speak to my gynae yet.. Will be seeing him on thurs so will ask him. Mine was just tightening and harden stomach.. No pain or cramp symptoms. U should give ur gynae a call and see what they say since its still almost 10 days to ur nx appt.

Morning mommies
Long time nvr log in. Been busy nursing my sickness n at work. Its mid week alr hope everyone s doing well.

Regarding mommies not able to sleep well, I have the same problem last 2nights. Sharp pain felt at the rib cage where the under wired line is. Dun think its the bra I wear but haven chk what caused it.any mommies any idea?

Morning.

Anyone know where to look for nice rompers? I went to kiddy palace and look for it but all not to my liking. Wanna get a new set for my gal discharge.

Kome - can try H&amp;M, Zara kids and Baby Gap?

In the UK Marks &amp; Spencer carries very beautiful baby and kids clothing and the prices are pretty cheap too, not like Sg..

Generally the Ang Moh brands have very nice and irresistible baby girl clothing

Hi absentmama, I have been having on and off BH also, just 1-2 per day. I'm 24 weeks now. My gynae gave me muscle relaxer (ventolin) and told me only take if necessary like when the contractions become more regular. If stays at this rate it shouldn't be a problem. She didn't seem too alarmed, just mentioned that it's a bit early to start BH. She didn't make a big fuss out of it so I'm assuming it's ok.

Kome, I buy from qoo10 cuz I don't believe in buying expensive baby clothes.. the rompers are cheap and decent quality but prob at that price is not real Carter's brand

Morning mummies..

Kome > I look at Qoo10 &amp; Carters/Osh Kosh. I feel is kind of worth it for Carters as the cotton is soft. I ordered some last wk when there is a Buy1Get1Free deal. Carters/Osh Kosh is having 50% discount now and you might want to check it out..

Mummies.. I am looking at swaddles now but have yet to do more research on products / reviews. Do you have any swaddle brands to recommend or you are using muslin towels to wrap? The brands I saw at the moment are SwaddleMe &amp; Woombie.. TIA!

absentmama, for my second pregnancy, I started having BH at 20 weeks. Gynae was a little concerned but didn't feel that it was alarming as some women experienced it earlier. Somehow, my waterbag broke at 25 weeks, stayed in hospital to tahan for another 3 weeks and baby born at 28 weeks. Thankfully, he is one very healthy boy now. So for this pregnancy, she is very cautious. I'm very cautious too! Rest when I can. According to her, gynae usually prescribed nifedipine to mummies who are expecting twins whether or not they experienced as BH/contractions. There aren't any proven side effects to unborn babies. However, mummies who take nifedipine may experience headaches and heart palpitations. I didn't experience headaches though one of my friends did and she had to take paracetamol for the headaches. I did have some heart palpitations but that's just me cos' I do already have some form of mild heart condition. I take nifedipine as and when I feel that the frequency of the BH is too much. Like more than 5-6 times and when I feel very uncomfortable with the BH/contractions. I think the best is to check with you gynae.

Lilac thanks for the info. Must have been a harrowing time for you when your baby came so early, thankfully he is fine and healthy now. I guess it's good that your gynae is taking more care this time round. Try not to exert yourself too much and rest more.

My BH so far isn't very frequent, just a few times a day with some pain but after seeing your experience, will definitely be more careful. So far they don't feel like actual labour contractions so hopefully its nothing serious.

Just don't feel like going back to kkh again so soon as we've been there several days each week for the past 2 weeks.. For checks and stuff after my detailed scan detected heart problem in the baby and then my no.2 had to be admitted for flu.. Now life finally back to normal

been out of action on FB n forum for more than 1 week...been out of town ..today went for yoga after 1 wk plus break...feel so good..baby was kicking vigoruously durinig final breathing n relaxation time..hahaha..

i am crazy..but super love being preggy..hahaha..

i normally buy bath towel, blanket from babymallonline.com..
any one keen i can spree for u on next month..they have luvablefriend rompers still get new hooded bath towel, blanket for baby...

i stay near farrer park mrt /city sq mall , n work n raffles place if wanna spree with me for collection..i'll be using vpost..pm me here or FB (jaime chan)..prob ordering in march or so..

Hi mummies, long time no see!

I used lovable friends' hooded towels for my no.1. Its v soft n the material is gd. I saw metro selling some of their stuff too but of coz its cheaper to buy online. I stocked up so much for my no.1, now no need to stock up for No.2 already! Still have some spares. They have cute rompers too. Go check it out

Y no mummies discuss abt post natal massage huh? I juz booked mine yday. Some of the massage ladies can b quite popular, so better to book earlier ok!!

And as i am typing this post, my bb keeps kicking me non stop. In fact she kicks me regularly throughout the day! I'm not complaining though, i'm loving it! Probably she is complaining that i nv give her much attention coz i am focusing on my no.1 now

Been really bz today as my son is sick sigh..anyway the rompers set fm carters r really comfy whether they r real or fake
I also buy stuff frm us n ship back one shot...replenish for my son n get up to 12m for the baby then orderd other stuff for hubby n me n ship one shot thru vpost

A friend of mine helped me book her post natal masseuse. This Malay lady, will do wrap aka bengkung. Have booked for 7-day service.

Normally is it one hour massage?

Estaefran - yah the baby clothes at marks and spencer uk are classy and understated, isn't it? The prices are quite ok too, considering the quality of the clothing. I love the dress and tights outfits for baby girls, and the rompers and sleepsuits.

You should wait for the spring/summer collection, the dresses will be even more adorable!

absentmama, can't wait!! >.< tonight will go back add items to wishlist first.. lol!

by the way, should i be buying clothes for newborn, 1 month, 3 months or 3 to 6 months? i reckon the first couple of months, baby should be wearing simple white plain outfits coz she will be feeding and sleeping most of the time?

So fun! Am expecting a boy so all I've bought are rompers, pyjamas, trousers, Tshirts. And more Tshirts! I love pinks and girlie prints but I can only admire.

Chevelle, i've booked mdm ida who is highly raved in this forum. She did for me when i delivered my no.1. Find her ok lah, maybe my expectaion too high after reading all the positive reviews lol. I find her too talkative to my liking. I'm those who dun wanna b disturbed during facial or massage etc hehe. She's using those long binders though, find it abit hard to tie. But i must say her massage is effective lah. I have no other lobang so i booked her again.

Birdbird, mine is also 1 hr. shld b standard rite? But i only booked for 5 days hmmz

I think 5 days enough le. I'm sure you can ask to extend few more days if you later like
my friend says traditional massages will reduce fluid retention and help unblock milk ducts. For another friend her masseuse massage until she has plenty of bm!

Birdbird
Ya.....girls clothes have much more variety. Just brought from qoo10 2 newborn rompers and another 5 seya of mittens n booties lor. Money flying away.

Janiz
Can I know what is her charges? I have not book mine. Got no lobang for thia at all.

Oh assuming your baby will come out around 3kg then don't need to buy newborn-sized. Just get from 3mths, then 6mths, and skip ahead to 12mths.

On the other hand if toward end of the pregnancy gynae says the baby is on the small side (ie around 2.5kg) then just buy a few newborn sized outfits.

My first kid estimated to weigh 2.4 at 40wks, came out 2.7kg and was drowning in the 3mth clothes. But by the end of first month had already outgrown the 0-1mth so you won't get much wear out of those. She lived in the 3-6mths range the longest time.

2nd baby came out at 3.65kg and directly wearing the 3th clothing le..

So if you're buying or ordering ahead just get the bigger sizes, you can always buy the smaller outfits later at Mothercare etc if there is a need

hi all mummies..can i check wi you all- for those who is gg to leave your bb wi either ur in law or mother to take care n they are not staying wi u..do u have to buy 2 sets of everyting huh? eg baby cots, steriliser etc.

m facing wi this prob now. hai. n these items are nt really tat cheap. if buy 2 sets..seems quite unncessary but yet essential.

I booked traditional and holistic massage center... seems to have good reviews but more expensive than the free lance ladies.

missy... no choice cot must have 2... but other thing like steriliser I will not buy... just use hot water to boil the bottles

missy
I brought 2 sets last time. Initially my mom use to boil the bottles to sterilise but in the end she always over boiled them and damage the bottles. Even milk bottles, i got about 6 bottles at my mum house but my house i just get about 3 or 4 bottles as my sons stay with my mum longer time. I did not get any baby cot as we let them sleep on the 3 fold mattress at both houses. Their clothes did get quite alot. Since need to get 2 sets, so that time i just looked for a cheaper type of steriliser instead.

thks gals for the replies.

headache now lor..whether to buy 2 of everything. tis weekend may go to babyfair at expo to chk out those big items stuffs. hope to find some cheaper stuffs, though hubby say go expo fair oso wont save much. just tat it's more convenient where things are housed under one roof).

kome: need so many bottles ah? i thot of getting 2 small n 2 big 1. 2 sets of such. (1 set at hme, 1 set at mum's plc) as intend to bf as long as possible. save $. ha. so thot may not need so many milk bottles.