(2013/06) June 2013

mabelths
received it. Thanks for sharing. Hopefully this book can really help me out this time round.

birdbird
Although this is my #3, but i still quite excited about all the shopping. Hehe.....i got the cloth diapers also, some long cotton pants, 1 new sling and handkerchiefs. The rest will be getting them after CNY already.

Now have to settle my wisdom tooth.

Mabelths - you should buy the stroller in the US. Cos Baby Jogger is a US brand and will definitely be cheaper there. I've been eyeing the City Versa model (single) where you can collapse the stroller with one hand no matter which direction the seat is facing. Do check it out!

MsE - the price seems to be for a single seat, you may want to email the Oz company and check?

Bird bird - bebeconfort is a good brand! But not well-known here.

Mabelths - think the Japanese stroller is probably Aprica? If so then Combi is a comparable brand, the functions are almost all the same. We have a Combi for my oldest when she was born here. The Jap strollers are good if you need to take a bus often (must collapse stroller to bring up the bus)

absentmama.. yeah, i better! dun see them selling the seat itself too.. else even if i get the additional seat in sg which is abt $350+-, total will still be much cheaper..

Oh plus I bought a Boba wrap too, it's recommended by a pro-baby wearing friend. We tried it with my Bro-in-law's newborn and she loves it! She's constantly sleeping securely in it, even at home.

Thermometer -
Mummies, would you have any recommendation on which type of thermometer to buy? I know the simple rectal type is probably most accurate but I'm not comfortable doing rectal reading when the baby gets older... I'm looking at an in-ear type, any comments?

i got the ear thermometer when i had my first.. and he was squirming away whenever we use it. then i was tinking of getting those infrared type but heard it was not advisable so drop the idea..

Overall i tink the ear one is good, anyway didn't really used it often, so just grab my boy's head whenever we had to take his temperature.. hehe..

birdbird
Is it easy to use the boba wrap? Its seems like very complicated to me.

As for thermometer, i have tried a few different brand but still prefer braun.

Kome - I have 3 wraps similar to the Boba, (from different brands). There's quite a steep learning curve and it can feel very hot cos you're wrapping 5.5m of cloth over you and the baby.

But it is indeed very comfortable for both mummy and baby just that Singapore not the best weather to try it unless you're in aircon environment all the time :p

Kome - which type of Braun thermometer did you use?

The Boba wrap is actually quite easy to use. We watched the video on youtube once and could grasp it
In fact I gave one to my Sis in-law and she's gotten the hang of it now. Because it's soft and elastic it doesnt hurt the mom nor baby when used. Hope my bub will take to it!

absentmama: thanks much! i'll go check it out. i'm looking at ultra portable and easy to use coz i'm a very mobile person and travels alot...so next time i intend to bring my baby overseas even at a young age..and being alone in a foreign place i need something very easy to use

Ms E: my sis says the thermometer that reads by 'swiping' across the forehead is easy...haha...paisey i'm very bad with brands..need to ask her what brand is that.

absentmama - yes! On super hot days I wonder if I can tahan the wrap, much less the baby! Guess it's nice for both when it's air-conditioned.

Bird bird - haha you must be very adept at following instructions then. I passed my wraps to two friends to try, together with DVD and I also showed how to tie it on. None managed to get the hang of it. One even have difficulty with the ring sling which I thought was quite idiot-proof since my hubby could use it without instruction.

But at least in Sg most places are air conditioned so its ok to use the wrap as long as you're indoors. I only used my wraps from autumn to spring in Switzerland - couldn't stand the heat of it when the weather got warmer.

Our babies will be born in June though.. Wouldn't it be very hot?

Kome - I think you will find the Boba even hotter than Beco.. :p

I'm those ppl who naturally cannot stand the cold and even in temp of -5 deg I felt like I'm boiling with the baby plus wrap on me.. Which is why if you cannot tahan heat then prob not a good idea to get a wrap :p

hi all, my sis actually recommends the baby bjorn synergy..she says light weight, airy and wont cause strain on the lower back.. she had a wrap (dont know what brand though) which she said was really hot in non-air-con places.

absentmama: yea, pray that june this year will be airy and cool..hehee

Kome - thanks for the recommendation on the Braun thermometer. I may consider getting one from the seller too, the price is very reasonable.

absentmama
Thanks. I just brought the suppori brand from BP. The sling is quite airy but too bad not suitable for newborn, so think will just stick to my beco for first few mths. Think will seldom use carrier unless i will be going out by myself. Mostof the time will be using stroller instead.

birdbird
This seller sells the cheapest as compare to the others and collection can be done at alot of places which i find it easy for me.

mabelths- i have a baby bjorn for my first and i love it so much until i realized that it's putting a strain to my boy's crotch area and inner thigh because that's where the pressure goes to when they sit in there..
Not sure if it will work better for baby gals but i am thinking if it will increase the risk of urinary tract infection since the diapers will be pressed up against the v area instead of them sitting on the bum?

but one thing about the baby bjorn that i agree is that i felt that it gave quite good support on my back. My mum love it and she's still keeping it. She insist she wanna use the bjorn for my 2nd one even though i'm gonna get another carrier.

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>baby #</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Location</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Shan991</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Le-N</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northwest</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Zoers</TD><TD>1-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>North/ West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Angel Ho</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Cel109</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wanling</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE / Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>sf8</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Girl^Girl</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Khoo CK</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>KIS</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>PL (babybp)</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>yveyve18</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>ica</TD><TD>3-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>wy_june</TD><TD>4-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Jessica Tham</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>pinkberries84</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Ang</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Purplebook</TD><TD>5-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>och</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>My-Angel-Is-Back</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Choo Wanling</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE/ Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Estherlss</TD><TD>6-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Blurdopey</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Tricia</TD><TD>9-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>may</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>MofMM</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan HH</TD><TD># 1 &amp; 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl / Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>birdbird</TD><TD>10-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>June</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>valerie chen</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Han</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>kris (krishojw)</TD><TD>11-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>FL</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Yeoh</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Jessica (jessica84)</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Fefe</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Ms E</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Beh Suan Tiong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>pillow4</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan TC</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>SHARON</TD><TD>13-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>chewie</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phin</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>KL84</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>rosellecz</TD><TD>14-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Kome</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Jen SW</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>missy</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>fudgecake</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Sim LN</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>grace82</TD><TD>15-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Windyrain</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>mummy_relle</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Tangbai</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Northwest</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>happy_gal</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Cynthia Kew</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Gigi Soul</TD><TD>16-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Su Ling Ling</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>jasmine</TD><TD>17-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr TM Chua</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Qayn</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>xp</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>mabelths</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>happymok</TD><TD>18-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>corinang</TD><TD>19-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>mummync</TD><TD>19-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>estaefran</TD><TD>20-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>absentmama</TD><TD>21-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>55</TD><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>22-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee K. W</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>56</TD><TD>bbleolim</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr C. H Koh</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>57</TD><TD>Janiz</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>58</TD><TD>lilac</TD><TD>23-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>59</TD><TD>hope4baby</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>60</TD><TD>PSP</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>61</TD><TD>Nmm</TD><TD>24-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Su Ling Ling</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>North/ West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>62</TD><TD>chloe_ng</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>63</TD><TD>dolliepollie</TD><TD>25-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>64</TD><TD>ST</TD><TD>26-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lawrance Ang</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>65</TD><TD>jassie</TD><TD>26-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>66</TD><TD>Chevelle</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Koh Cheng Huat</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Northeast</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>67</TD><TD>gymie</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>68</TD><TD>Gwen</TD><TD>27-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Thomson</TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>69</TD><TD>Vivi</TD><TD>28-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>70</TD><TD>Chloegal03</TD><TD>28-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>71</TD><TD>wendy (w_w)</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD># 2 &amp; # 3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>72</TD><TD>Ann C</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr John Yam</TD><TD># 1</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>73</TD><TD>jamie</TD><TD>29-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Weun</TD><TD># 3</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>74</TD><TD>Joanne Au</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Kang Wee</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>75</TD><TD>cherry</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>76</TD><TD>jazz</TD><TD>30-Jun-13</TD><TD>Dr Hii</TD><TD># 2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD>Girl</td></tr></table>

Bird bird..I use the Braun one too coz I find it more accurate but bear in mine they dint recommend to use before 3m coz for young babies not as accurate..I still use it as a gauge n then use my own discretion

Wyjune...mine is maxi cosi Ermm not the pebble but the either range tt is similar to pebble..can't rem the name now...

On the topic of baby carriers, please do a little research on this. Those front facing types are not good for baby's spinal development. It's important for baby's spine to be in a C-shape (meaning baby faces you) and baby's legs to be in a M-shape where the knees are higher than the butt, more like sitting rather than hanging by the crotch. The better known brands out there are Ergo, Manduca and Beco, just to name a few. Actually based on my experience with my #1, no need to buy the carrier so early coz baby is still very light. Once baby is ready for a carrier, can go down and physically try the carriers to see which one your baby likes and whether it's comfy for you also.

Yes cos is right..it is impt to b facing inwards to achieve tt 'frog' position which is gd for the spine esp for baby boys it is v bad time hang from the crotch...there r some brands which don't allow front facing at all..manduca n rose n rebellion r to of those..not sure which other brands coz I only use tt to brands...now w my boy heaviest my hubby wants to try carry on the bag..also coz he is bigger n can understand better now n may not wanna look inwards...also facing inwards he can slp better coz will lean in to ur chest but yes I only bought at 3m when I brought him to try..as for sling u can buy early..but dint give up...keep trying n trying coz it may not b easy to get the hang of it the first time..but once u do its v easy to use..I rewatch vids over n over againn try to improvise coz mth baby refuse to slp in cradle position..think claustrophobic for him..so I did a semi kangaroo position..where he 'sits' in the pouch but leaning into my armpit or chest so his head didbt flop forward n I haf a hand to support in case la...but tt was 3m n also coz my boy progress quite quickly w his sitting up n crawling etc

So far the most famous front-facing carrier is the Baby Bjorn. The Boba wrap that Birdbird mentioned puts baby in the exact same position as the Manduca, Ergo carriers. Both of which I have as well..

Hahaha absentmama n I r both sling n carrier siao hahaha...

Chloe - I like.pupsik...I haf 2...so can wash..I wanted more but husband stop.me...lol..I dont like peanut shell..find it too thick so difficult to adjust..not v flexible..pupsik..more u wash more.comfy n softer

I used pupsik when baby is still very small and started using Ergo when baby is bigger and heavier. Both are quite good for its respective age range.

Windy, can update my details (I'm #58 on the list) I confirmed plus guaranteed having a boy =) Went for detailed scanning on Monday and very thankful that baby was in very good position. So the sonographer just click click click and everything was done in 20 mins.

ChloeNg - yah i have the Pupsik its good as long as you get the correct size. I ordered size M cos I followed the sizing guidelines in terms of weight - i just hit the minimum wt recommedation for M size but it ended being far too big so I hardly used it. Preferred the ring sling as its about the same (ie one shoulder bears the weight) but infinitely adjustable. I got another 2 more pouch slings later on but by then I was already used to the ring slings so I'm prob more biased lah. Best if you can try the Pupsik sling on before buying.

And haha mummync and I both own several carriers for just one baby. I collected more with each kid that came along. Now I'm a looking for a reason to get my hands on the Roses N Rebellion ones that mummync has! Lol

Morning mummies..

malbeths > Thanks! Will drop an email to you later..

Ms E > May I know where did you go to check out Baby Jogger City Select? I was surfing online and don't see it on Mothercare &amp; Baby Hyperstore..

absentmama > Thanks for the recommendation! Was looking at City Select and it seems really good if there is planning for #2..

For pupsik, you ordered size M based on pre-pregnancy weight? Hesitant in getting but not ruling out after we chatted.. Thinking of getting size S but am just afraid that it might be a bit tight for my mum &amp; husband even though they are also a small build..

Wyjune - if you get the pupsik sling you can't share with other users as its not adjustable. So i doubt you can get to fit your mum and hubby as well.. If its meant to be shared amongat multiple users why not consider a ring sling? i saw a grandma wearing her grandchild in the ringsling at Tanglin Mall the other day, so cute.

and Yes I ordered based on pre-pregnancy weight. Cos most ppl do eventually lose the pregnancy weight :p
My normal weight is ard 44-46 but I'm also quite tall (164) so i took a gamble and ordered the M size as its supposed to be from 45kg and upwards i think. But then I forgot that my frame is small (usually wear xs) so maybe based clothes sizing may be more accurate bah.

As for the Baby Jogger strollers you can see the full range at MothersWork @ great world city, and I think Tanglin Mall.

I've seen it at some Mothercare stores too.

absentmama > I will be getting the TBS ring sling that u recommended as well.. Intending to get 2 pieces so we still have spare to use while I wash the other piece. I am tempted by Pupsik due to fabric design haha! Alternatively, I might just either get another ring sling from Snuggy Baby or R&amp;R carrier..

Thanks! I will check out at the mentioned places. I have been so lazy to go out since pregnant and have only been surfing online..

Haha yah I have 3 ring slings to wash and alternate cos we basically used it nonstop everyday for the first 6 months after my oldest was born. She was very colicky, cried non-stop and only settled when we pop her into the sling.

After that I bought another 3 pupsik (one wrong size, one ok, and one for hubby as he is v big-sized) cos I liked the fabrics but by then my hubby much preferred the ring sling over any other carrier. So he only used the pupsik once.

The good thing about Ringsling is that it is very versatile so even though my hubby is like 20cm taller than me he can still use it easily and comfortably. Whereas my mum was quite short 155 and she used it with my girl too, when she was still ard.

I also found it easier to breastfeed in the ring sling, couldn't quite manage to get baby in the position with the pupsik cos you cannot tighten/loosen/lift baby higher etc.

But pupsik is very easy to use for hip carry after the babies are able to sit up on their own.

Morning. Now having my breakfast and will go for my check up. Too bad this is my last pregnancy, if not I sure go and get another carrier or sling.

Kome, precisely because its last pregnancy so should buy another carrier.. Last chance to snuggle with a newborn le..

Can always give away or sell them off when you don't need the carriers anymore.

yeah pupsik not adjustable so cant really share...but if u got the right size n used to it then easy to use..n yeah i transferred my #1 to carrier ard 6m coz he didnt like me carrying him in carrier..altho he was ok with hubby carrying him in carrier right from infant age..grrr.. so hubby uses manduca while i use rose n rebellion n i haf 2 rose and rebellion..one smaller size n one slightly bigger..customised by the UK site..its an in btw their small size n their toddler size..so when my kid was abt 10mths or so i swop him over..coz the thigh part was from padded so didnt 'cut' into him coz he was heavier by then..

absentmama - haha i help u geng for a reason..u can try mine also then u will be so in love w it..u will confirm buy ahahha

Mummync - don't tempt me.. *evil* Lol.
Every time I ask hubby to check things out on the computer screen ie the rose &amp; rebellion he's not interested cos he's the type who must see things in real life.. I think if I can try he will relent and let me buy yet another carrier.

But just wait for the amnio results first.. I'm so antsy this week keep waiting for hospital to call with bad news that I totally cannot concentrate in office.. So keep checking the forum

Hi Kome, is the suppori good for older children? I was wondering if I should get for #1 as I was previously using Ergo with much success. But with a protuding tummy now, I don't think the Ergo can adjust to my waistline. I also saw the BP and it's not cheap, so must think carefully

I only started #1 on Ergo after she could hold her head steady around 4-5 months. There are infant inserts for the Ergo but I did not get it. We also used the Infantino which fits smaller kids better when she was younger, for short trips to supermarket etc. I have the pupsik as well, but she didn't like it one bit. I'm suspecting cos she's very active kind, we stopped swaddling her once discharged from hospital. The pupsik is a bit like a swaddle where the baby is packed very close to you esp. when baby is very small and you have to pack them inside the pupsik.

I heard Baby Bjorn is not so good for posture due to how it sits the baby inside the carrier. There's quite a lot of info online about this

Chewie, the Manduca can be used directly from infant stage cos the infant insert is incorporated into the design.

I think the insert for Ergo is too thick and hot

Yah agree that some babies don't like the swaddled feeling of being in a sling carrier

ya the manduca comes w the infant insert alrdy..in fact my son used it for v v long..haha even when i was carrying normally in the rose n rebellion..my hubby kept using the infant insert in the manduca..

absentmama - elijah was one of those babies..hated being in the cradle position so i had to let him sit in the kangaroo position(stage 2 position) and improvise so he is sort of being cradled in the crook of my arms but no lying in the folds of the sling..ahha i tink he claustrophic or super kaypoh lol..he wld cry bloody murder!!!

oh n i can let u try my rose &amp; rebellion to convince ur hubby ;) or can pass u the contacts from the lady i bought frm..she does house demo

My sis in law give me her avent steriliser which has been kept away for a few months already. Quite dirty on the outside, I wonder if it is still usable?

wy_june
I saw it at motherswork great world city. I remember seeing it at one of the mothercare outlet.. i think it's the one at paragon.

The manduca is pretty exp leh. Think I will try the pupsik on #2 first and if he likes it, hurray! Else grow up then use Ergo. Hope Kome can comment on the suppori as it looks quite good...

Zoers, uring prenatal class, Mrs Wong did advise against using too old sterilizer as it might be rusty. You definitely need to descale it first, and also run a few cycles to make sure there is no rust bursting out with the steam. Although my own sterilizer used for 1 year only, I'm already planning to buy the new model Philips 4-in-1 for #2 cos this is something we use several times a day and despite descaling once in a while, I still find brownish stuff at the bottom of the sterilizer.

I booked my prenatal course quite late I think, only starting first class on 26th March (I'd be 29weeks then!) Anyone else attending Mrs Wong Boh Boi's course commencing then?

chewie
I am not able to tell you is the suppori good or not. Coz my 2 boys already quite big. But it is really very light, so light that its light you never have it at all lor. I will find 1 day and try it on my nephew when i go over to my house.

I wanted to get the Avent 3 in 1 steriliser but SIL said wanted to give me. The 3 in 1 or the 4 in 1 looks quite good.

absentmama
Pls don't tempt me also leh. :D

Update on my check up today. Gynae said i never gain alot of weight. He did quite a thorough scan on my gal like her lungs, liver, heart chamber, lips, nose, head circumstance, toes, legs, fingers etc. Have already told him also that i will be doing ligation and he agreed to it immediately. Haha.....not like last time he rejected my request.

Chewie
Some aunties including my mom all suggested to do ligation since i already going for my c-sect.

Chewie.. I'm trying to descale it using water + white vinegar. But how to tell if it is good for use a not? My SIL only used it for 2 moths then she kept it away. Need to check on the price first cos dunno is it a waste to throw away.