(2013/05) May 2013

Welcome all new comers. Morning mummies..

Yes fb is now very happening. But I am sure very soon u gals will be added very soon.

Mummies I thinking to dye or highlight my hair now leh. Do u think I shd go ahead. I highlight before in ard week 16. Now black coming out, thinking confinment I can't do my hair so wan meimei during full mth celebration.

2ks, how come ur levy is $30? Not $170?
Then $30 is off days compensation?

sleepyskies: so fast??!! One mummy pop le.. omg.. When is her EDD actually? Congrat to her!
I am getting anxious.. LOL

2Ks: can wax now ah? okok.. I think i better get it done before end of next week..

Suddenly I feel like so near yet so far.. Is getting exciting now.. My BB cot will only arrive early May for installation.. I haven washed all my handme down items, only sorted.. but already packed my hospital bag.. Hehe..

Wondering, do you ladies washed new item too eg bb bedsheet, cot bumper, mittens, booties and handkerchiefs etc.. I dunno if I want to wash before letting bb use...

oh...one mummy already pop...must ber very busy with newborn now.

I dont have piles so not very sure...sorrrie.
I bought the herds for confinement in case earlier...but hoping nt so soon as b=hubby flying off soon for a week...need his presence to cut the cord.

bbkk: i think u shouldnt do the highlight now...esp bb coming soon.
mine also black coming out.

u dunno meh...Govt reduced the levy leh...from $170 to $120 couple of months back.
yes...$30 is for no off day

The mummy edd is 1 may, she pop in her 35 weeks I think. She discovered tiny streak of blood so dr ask her admit hospital.

2ks, really ah reduced.. Haha I didn't know. My maid is going on home leave soon. And I am going to stop the levy for one month.
How come off day only $30. I tot they must have 4 days off in a week? Each off is $20. Is it she planning to go for some off days?
Cos I just renew my maid and I am sorting out those levy, we, salary yesterday. I wanna make sure.

bbkk: the agent told me just top up $30 for no off day once a month. not every week leh. think indo then every week rite?
my maid said she ok with no off day. dunno la...see how lor.
u going to give birth leh still let yr maid go home leave?

bbkk: FYI

LATEST ANNOUNCEMENT

As announced by Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam in the 2013 Budget Statement, the concessionary Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW) levy rate will be reduced from $170 to $120. There is no change in the qualifying criteria. For more details on the concessionary FDW levy rate change, please refer to the FAQs [please click here for FAQs: http://www.mom.gov.sg/Documents/budget2013/FAQs%20on%20Enhanced%20Foreign%20Domestic%20Worker%20(FDW)%20Levy%20Concession.pdf] issued by the Ministry of Manpower.

wah.. then will be alot to wash and pack.. think i should start soon liao.. suddenly feel alot of things haven do..

my confinement items i leave it to my mum to settle for me cos I really dunno what to buy.. I am getting a CL but I asked my mum to help me settle items needed..

Cutting of Cord; If c-section does hubby get to cut as well? I am thinking if I should just go straight to c-section choice cos I scare I cant tahan natural pain..

Good Morning mummies!

Great to see that this thread becomes more active again.

Maid-
I am quite envious mummies who are 'brave' enough to get a maid bcoz hubby and I 'bu fang xin' to let maid stay at home alone with baby.

Present for elder one-
Heard that the elder one (my girl) will get cranky when she notices 'new member' in our family, quite worried that i will be exhausted then...some said buying a gift for her on behalf of baby works, any mummies tried the tricks?

FB-
2Ks & Rejoy, no worries....fully understand that we have to post more

Preparation-
miracle_bing, I also have packed my hospital bag, even washed all newborn clothes as I am quite 'gan cheong' type:p Will install playpen and get my air-cons cleaned this weekend...

*It's better to wash all new items as they are from factory, might not be clean while packaging...my 2 cents lah...

2ks, I called up agency yesterday, they told me new rules now all maid regardless nationality all got to go off days weekly. If dun wan off then compensate $20 for that off day. Salary divided by 26 days is their one day off pay. So my maid dun wan off so I got to give $68 compensation.

At first, my maid not renewing, her work permit expiry 3 may. So I buy tix for her go home. Then after that told me wan to work again. So I gave her one mth home leave lor. Anyway that period CL is here, no place for my maid to sleep. I also no need too many ppl in the house. When she bk is when my CL leave. Just nice. Haha

miracle bing: the after pain after c-sec is much more pain than natural recovery. thats what i heard from my few friends that went thru both.

bbkk: my agency told me different stories leh. they just said 1 off day per month. just give them extra $30 lor. so i just stick to it lor.

that means u got to buy her 2 way tickets? if she dont come back how???
tot home leave only 15 days required rite?
ya i cant imagine next month i have so many ppl in the house. but its good to have a maid to help me with misc things la.

Hi 2Ks, can you send my regards to the mummy who has already delivered?

By the way, i wonder if her hubby can get the paternity leave of one week then.

I noticed that mummies here discussed about it previously, and so I also got a letter from my gynae stating that my EDD is actually in May but have to deliver earlier due to low placenta...Not sure whether it's enough to apply for paternity leave....

Any advice? Thanks in advance

2ks, ya lor end up I buy 2 tix instead off 2round trip. More ex thou. Their home leave cannot more than 3 months.
I have keep her salary $1000 for deposit. Already told her if she nv come bk we will confiscated her salary.

I love babies,
Regards to paternity leave, u can't take if bb born before 1may. Not even appeal.
But if baby bonus etc, yes u can appeal if bb is born before may. Cos they based on edd

C-Section more after-pain? Haiz.. So contradute.. But I heard people in labour pain like 24 hours and more during prenatal class.. so scary.. I think let the BB decide which way.. Haha.. No point planning so much end up she want it at her own agenda.. LOL

I love babies: u very fast sia.. My hubby is gan cheong and I am the one always delaying.. I think time to start doing liao.. I never thought of cleaning air-con lohz.. u are very detailed..

ooh the thread is moving fast today!

Re: baby items
I will wash all bb items (new or hands-down) including bedding set etc...ppl tell me better wash lehs so just wash lor. Plus bb's clothes are so small..hehe, shld be easy to dry. Will start the washing this weekend! My bb cot will only be delivered on 27 April...shld be in time for bb's arrival in late May. haha.

Re: Waxing
Just went waxing a few weeks back...will book another session maybe 2/3wks before edd. 2Ks, how come will get infection closer to edd? I scared wax too early then during confinement the hair all grow out! haha

Karen - If you have piles, the specialist should be able to give you a pill/tablet to insert? Unless that pill is not safe for pregnant women. If not, you can get some medication from your gynae to soften the stools..I dont have piles but had constipation (with sign of blood) earlier on in the pregnancy, after gynae gave me the liquid medication, I had softer and more frequent stools. Now I just take Yakult and yoghurt (with kiwis) every other day...it helps me go to the toilet quite regularly.

Bbkk, I feel like rebonding my hair.....hahaha! After tahan-ing for 8+ mths, I think better wait till confinement is over hor. But I am just afraid the smell of the rebonding (coz cannot wash hair for at least 2days and the chemical smell is pretty strong) will affect bb when I breastfeed her. Maybe will ask PD after bb is out...scarly cannot rebond again, I will really faint. haha.

Bbkk: REALLY? NOT even appeal??? sian liao then....

Charliebrown: Congrats on the arrival of your precious one! I presume you might not be able to surf net but if you do, do you mind sharing the info about paternity leave? Thanks ya...

Breastfeeding after c-section: No problem, it won't affect breastfeeding. However, breastfeeding is not as easy as we imagine, i juz managed to breastfeed my girl for 3 months last time...i think i wasn't determined enough and i got infection. Considering pumping out is very troublesome during working hours, i stopped it by drinking coffee...(felt guilty to my girl...

This time round, I hope I can breastfeed my boy longer. I am now looking for some tips to promote supply.

Cleaning air-con:
miracle_bing, I plan to do so bcoz last time my air-con didn't function well (not cooling) during my confinement, then my baby became very cranky as she felt too warm. What's more, some technicians are not willing to come to service during confinement...a bit 'superstitious'...

2ks, can keep as deposit. A lot of ppl doing it. But I am not sure is it legal anot. Will be writing down as agreement.

miracle_bing, there is 2 types of C sec. Epi or GA, if u taking GA, ur hubby is not allow in the theater room. If u chose Epi, then yes, hubby allow to cut the cord.

i_love_babies: the money confirm have one but what i understand is the appeal is for the paternity leave, is if u can get it anot.

i started BF right after i come out from the theater room.

Morning everyone,

Wow there is so much conversation in already~ Thanks fabbie and rejoy28

Hippo16: I am not eating alot, just my normal portion because the bb are pressing on my lungs and stomach. Alot of ppl keep telling me tat you have twin, shld eat 3 ppl portions.. =_="

Fabbie: Yes it is exciting to see them grow together.. everything really have to buy double cos they cant share the things.. heehee.. but the challenging part has yet to come, so feeling jitters..

rejoy: urs is c-section? GA or Epi?

Wax: initially i also worry will grow if do too fast but I think 2Ks say also right.. think we better do before the wat G strep test.. so at least we know we are safe in case go into natural loh..

Appetite: mine also decrease recently and feel nauserous easily.. so now i break down my meals...

Aircon servicing: huh? y they like that.. so weird.. anyway i also intend to ON aircon for my nb cos my area got BTOs going on.. worry she cant cope with the pollution..

Paternity Leave: cant appeal even edd is May? why like that.. not fair.. As if we want it early..

Congrats to the new born mother,m she must be excitied to c her bb..

Maid: Last year i was assisting to look for a maid for my grandma. The agency mentioned that the ruling is going to change. Regardless any nationality, they get to have off day weekly (like what bbkk mentioned), but i didnt follow up after getting a maid for grandma.

My husband and I are still looking for nanny / babysitter after my 16wk maternity leave. If we cant find one, we plan to hire a maid.
2Ks & bbkk: which maid agency are you using?

I went google just now, seem like only shared paternity leave can appeal. Never state paternity can appeal anot.

azel,
I got my helper 2 yrs back from bukit timah shopping centre. Agency vcare. A lot of aggenies there. Depend on luck lah

azel: i am using the same agency as my SIL. cos i short of time and i lazy to go recee around. its PEM maid agency. the same agency that do the CL one. they just opened a subsidiary so quite new in the market.
so far still ok with the service. we interview the maid thru facetime and then i dont have to go down to their agency one.
they will do everything thru email and meet up at my house.
i met the guy at 9pm at home when i make the 1st payment.

i am too lazy to go around looking and comparing...so just take the same agency that my SIL is using lor.

wow...the thread is very active today...cant catch up..come back later..working now...hee...interesting post.

I have washed bb clothes using bb detergent as cant use normal washing agent. I standby everything already so that wil not panic...

Morning mummies!!! Welcome all newcomers!!!

Bbkk: same here! I have been wanting to changey hairstyle but have been putting of my plan. Cos worry during confinement, of hair short, den I can't tie up.. The feeling must be irritating. Think will most probably get my hair done after confinement.

Dreambig: hihi!!! Nice seeing you ard here.. Wow.. So fast you're in your 37 weeks.. Bet you're very anxious abt you baby.. Have you done and finish preparing all your stuffs and baby's stuff?

Re: paternity leave.
I think should be able to appeal. I think I read from somewhere from the net. Say if you edd is may but you give birth early like on apr. You can go to mdis to appeal. But you'll need your gyne's letter to prove that your edd is on May so as to entitle the benefits. Can go mom webby to check out more details.

i love babies: for paternity leave, that depends on your husband's company. Quoted from MOM: "employers may offer the paternity leave, on a voluntary basis, to employees with children born on or after 1 Jan 2013. The Government will reimburse the employers from 1 May 2013."

miracle_bing: I guess the pain for c-sec is the wound. it takes longer to recover than the natural birth.

Bbkk, thanks for your info, so sad that can't appeal

HR of my hubby's company also reluctant to check the details, just reject to grant it directly....

Thanks for the info. Ya i understand getting a good maid depends on luck.. hopefully i can find a nanny / babysitter (but not sure she is good or not).. alot of uncertainly :s

Welcome all the new comers and silent readers here. hope u get to know u gals well too! ^___^

Miracle_bing: yes my below also very pain. is like i cross my leg to lift up leg also pain. if u choose c sect wont having a problem to BF babies.. but why u want to c-sect? if can natural just go for natural. natural faster heal. ;)

BBK: wah lau.. u ging to dye ya HAIR?! u serious? u are tempting me lor.. but im trying my best not to think about it.. u know xiaxue the famous blogger? she dye her hair then a lot of people bad comments cursing here n there.then i think think better don't.. since its not right.

BBK: baby bonus still need to appeal before bb born before may? i tout now Born on or after 26 Aug 2012 (for each child) have baby bonus and our 2nd kid before may come out we will have 6k right? as for the paternity leave u need to submit the details to them to approve then the company will let u take leave right?

heres the link for paternity leave - http://www.heybaby.sg/worklife/paternity_leave.html

LOL now is not i kan cheong cus im not working is my hub more kan cheong keep asking me to get cert from doc haha so he can submit. but need to wait for bb to be out then can take cert from doc right?

Karen: I'm also on hospitalization leave for a week because of false contraction. Doc worry that it will lead to real contraction, so wan me to rest @ home.

Fabbie, oh ya no need appeal for baby bonus. U are right.
Yes I read about xia xue dying her hair before delivery. Why not right? Sad leh.

Recently I go toilet pee, after peeing stand up, I got sharp pain leh. Does anyone feel that too? Is not cb pain but I think is cervix sharp pain

BBK: it was on newpaper mah.. everyone cursing her lor. she color her hair back gold before that was pink. not good for baby ba.. thats why.. haiz i seriously i also wana dye.. sighz but i think i will ren ren till CNY! LOL

cervix it he side of the cb? ya i also pain.. but maybe u try getting up slowly?

Babbies: I also loh.. seat long stand up also pain.. any remedy?? I really wanna cry with this pain especially when sleeping (sometimes can hear crack sound loh, so scary).. I thinking c-section is becuase i see some mothers in intense labour pain for more than 12 hours then in the end also go c-section, pay 2 side money loh.. I scare I also go into such situation loh.. Think gotta talk to my bb nearer to date ask her "He Zuo Yu Kuai" with me.. LOL..

Bbkk: How u know is cervix and and cb..?

Bbkk: eh i also that side pain leh... I thought that is the pelvics area? I got that always especially after i seat very long or slp at a position v long.. Sometimes still can hear crack sound loh at night..

BBK LOL hahaa

miracle: if u scare u can get EPI for natural ah. usually pple will go for natural rather than c-sect wor. hehe