(2013/05) May 2013

bbkk: congrats!

shirley: i went for my granny funeral when I was preggie with my #1 cos really cannot bear not to go cos I was very close to my granny. The elders ask me to wear a red string/ribbon/belt around my tummy to sort of "protect" my baby. But I was not allowed to follow the group for the cremation.

fabbie: is not my baby overweight is me! LOL. baby 30 weeks 1.2kg gynae say gd. but I put on 4 kg in 4 weeks not good. So must watch my diet. But I just snacked on a subway cookie. Hard to control man.

Xuan: you are tempting me for the manduca! I already got 2 diff model of BECO but I know manduca is good and always keen to try. But I shall control my spending. diaper bag I got a KS one which I used during #1 time. Pretty good. Spacious and comes with a nice changing mat.

JCYP: wow ya baby so chubby! must be so cute ahhh b

sleepyskies, xuan: ah for me i think i don't wan to buy liao maybe will just go for ergo ba. cannot waste too much money.. but save as more as i can. LOL

JC, xuan, sleepyskies: eh im very craving of chocolate one leh.. I CANNOT STOP eating lor.. LOL i can eat one 4-5 ferraro rocher and i cannot stop eating mardain oranges till that day so hard to poo i stop =(

reddish, 2ks: u think my fatty hub can wear Ergo carrier? cus i remember asking my hub to try Bjorn hahaha he CMI! he only can carry his tummy lor

Shirley: for me im a lazy SAHM cus im staying with my mum and my mum always take care of my no.1 so now im relaxing shaking leg doing my kids online clothings which takes up a lot of time lor. im like more busy at home then working outside. haha but u ask me to stay at home and take care of a kid i would rather go out and work. at least go out to work still got income. since my mum is taking care. i no choice have to be SAHM cuss kana sack mah for being pregnant remember? LOL but i think when no.2 is out i will spend maybe 9-12M at home before i find a job. ^^

fabbie -if your kids online clothing business doing well then might as well continue than finding a job, at least got freedom, can take care of your kids right? ;)

bbkk - good news!! you dont have to worry so much, everything is good.

dian_tang, Xuan - the Braun thermometer is it the ear one? I cant decide whether to buy from the seller whom I will be getting my breastpump (think its $65, not as cheap as your seller but at least I can save on postage if I buy together with breastpump).

IFC
- I registered my bb at a Safra IFC..think its NurtureStar or something? Its the only one with vacancy so immediately just put down deposit. But its abit inaccessible without car so rainy days more jialat.

Diaper bag
- haha, like 2Ks said..women forever not enough bags. Wld like to get a kate spade one coz v.colourful and nice...but after the 'wallet bleeding' at Babyfair, i think i will wait first. See if its necessary. Must control spending! haha

Irene - hows your Beco?? Good?

Fabbie - How much is the Ergo carrier? Cheaper than Manduca ah? I thought price abt the same de..

Food
- haha, we all have our own soft spots (chocs, mandarin oranges etc) but I think so long as we eat in moderation, not everyday eat 10 oranges or 10 ferraro rochers and nothing else, its ok. Although this is my #1, I find that I nv really 'jie kou'...I eat what I like/want...nv really make extra effort to eat things supposedly good for baby like birds nest, fish, salmon etc. Feel abit bad for baby sometimes..like I'm not doing my part. Now just hope baby is growing well and healthy.

I no eat mandarin orange throughout CNY. Even normal Orange i also don't dare to eat. Guava has been my best friend since i am pregnant.

i love chocolate too but really limit myself.

Shirley: I did not tie any red string cos I also din know what to do. Maybe to play safe, u should follow their advice but I think if you will regret if don't go then just go lah...

2Ks: is it a must to buy diaper bag? I found a brand new back pack at home and thot of using it. Can?

After hearing all of u washing nb clothes I also went to see if I have enough clothes for this little fella. Can someone advise actually how many pieces of clothes they need har? Like one day they change many many times?

Amazed that some of u gals put on 5 kg only.. I put on more than 10kg already. Plus going official trip, lugging heavy weight around
hope no food poisoning overseas... Thinking
maybe not go...

Shirley: it depends from what you are shopping for- my shopping for bb then was mainly things like toys/clothes. Toys I bought quite alot cos I liked shopping for toys that time. Then I also spent on playgyms, cab fares. I also let my boy attend music lessons. I paid for all these. For grocery shopping for bb like diaper/ milk powder, I would go on weekends with my hubby, so sometimes I paid, sometimes he paid. That time my hubby did not give me allowance. If you intend to be SAHM, maybe you have to ask him if he is giving you any allowance or if he can top up your CPF account ( I heard can wor).

2Ks: LOL. But will save $$, I cannot be tempted to buy another carrier or another diaper bag. But I really love Beco now!! So nice the designs.

Sleepskies: I also never bu much. Bird nest only drank once. The only thing I think I am very healthy thruout my pregnancy is to try to eat more fruits. After dinner at least one fruit. And not fogetting the supplements.

I think before we give birth and before confinement, we should treat ourselves and eat all we want! ice cream, chocs, etc.

mmm. people already asking me to take chicken essence. But I so scare bb later too 'bu' liao. They said drink liao then I got energy to PUSH when give birth.

Anyway a silly question, if water bag broke, can have some food before admitting myself? LOL!!! It's like we also don't know how long the labour is gonna last. Can't be 12hrs never eat right?? LOL!

Xuan: I also heard before, to drink chix essence before giving birth so got more energy. And to start drinking coconut water at week 37? But I never do all these for my #1 leh..

wai wai: no la...not necessary...just swee only..
hiao also..
like can hang/clip the diaper bag to stroller lol.
diaper bags can be heavy!

charliebrown: beco now designs very pretty lor! but i got one already. so will continue using that.
but i am so tempted to change my diaper bag.
i also itchy backside one la...buy sell buy sell...

xuan: ppl said what drink chicken essence before give birth...aiya...no effect one la..
just drink for the sake of drinking.
i even had a bar of chocolate before labour...also like that..
when u got the urge to push...your energy hor...will come automatically. unless its a long labour la...like 20 hours kind.

jill, charliebrown: yah. my mom also ask me drink coconut drink few weeks before giving birth. I scare drink chicken essence later bb become big size eh. Will a not uh? LOL!

JC: I love guava too (before and during pregnancy) but it seems to give me constipation
nw my new fave is kiwi! and it seems to help me go toilet almost everyday! hahaha

Jill: I have been wearing maternity bra since awhile ago. Haha find the normal wire bra v.uncomfy in the 1st tri..Beginning I bought frm Spring Maternity (find it ok only) then I bought from Uniqlo..not bad quite comfy, but at 4mths, I am already wearing the XL, so if I go any bigger, cannot buy frm there liaos. Then I went HK and bought the maternity bras from H&M..not bad, quite comfy. Am thinking of getting more...coz nw, I am only rotating between 4 (excluding the spring maternity ones which are getting abit small).

charliebrown - haha, i think i am the same as you. i try to eat more fruits (coz i dont like veg) when i am pregnant coz healthier and also to prevent constipation which i'm already quite prone to. Also take my supplements everyday. Other than those...nothing special. birds nest i only take when i remember..haha. nv drink what homemade soup etc.. i hope the lack of all these wont affect baby much. In fact, beginning i still take potato chips, ice cream, fast food (nw also but lesser than beginning of pregnancy)..come to think of it, i really quite bo chup.
Btw, are you using Beco carrier now??

sleepyskies: first time mummies usually bra size jump very fast.
try autumz nursing bras...quite comfy. or triumph also have.
bravado also comfy but its exp! $50+ per pc

Xuan - yes yes i heard coconut drink too.. i dont want drink too early.. scared hahaha. I also dont dare to drink chicken essence.. heard a friend said herbal chicken can upsize baby size very quickly.. until now i dont dare eat, but beware of what we eat in last few weeks, its when they start to grow super fast.

this weekend must shop for comfy maternity bras liao... Oh (sleepyskies)u never buy the bra extension to extend while wearing normal bra?

coconut water: i just had my first coconut this week. so happy! cos I love coconut. for #1 i only drink coconut during the last month but my friends told me can start in 3rd tri so this time round I start earlier. about once a week.

Xuan: for first baby, can still afford to eat but make it a quick one. if ur waterbag is leaking and not really burst should be able to last quite long. for my #1, waterbag break till bb out about 6 hours. but for those with #2, if waterbag break pls hurry go hospital. all my friends who #2 waterbag break very fast bb come out le. For my #1, I ate a hard-boiled egg as per my friend advice for a smoother delivery.

wai wai: where u going for your work trip? must take care and watch what you eat especially. diaper bag is basically just a bag to put baby stuff when going out. so it's really up to you what bag you wanna use. so long as you are happy and comforable with it will do
baby clothes usually change at least 2 times a day provided they nvr stain the clothes with poo/pee. but bb clothes dry very fast and they outgrow very fast so no need to have too many. I think ard 10+ sets good enough.

sleepyskies: yup yup love my BECO

maternity bra: i already wearing maternity/nursing bra. I got bravado and also this. all so far so good: http://www.mylittleangelsmaternity.com/product_info.php?cPath=31_72&products_id=638

maternity bras:

2Ks: bo leh. my neh neh still same size eh, maybe a bit more 'meaty' now. That's why I demoralized leh =( LOL! Skali invest so much then no milk!! *CRY* HAHAHAH! but im keeping my mind positive lah.

I bought from autumz too! That day got 2 at the baby fair. bought 2 from BP seller in bulk purchase. all super comfy..I haven't go into wearing maternity bras yet.

Maternity bra
Jill - i bought bra extensions but not much use lehs. the underwire seem to 'cut' into my skin and the breasts like 'overflow' the cup like that. haha.

Can I know where to buy autumz and bravado bras?? I need a nude/skin colour one...

Xuan - they say after give birth and start breastfeeding, the size will go up again so dont worry! I think the breast increase slowly ok lahs...i see mine looks like some animal's breast esp the black nipple part...not a pretty sight. :p

Irene - Which Beco model did you get and from where? Seldom see ppl sell Beco online..

Sleepyskies that means u up cup size.. woohoo.. okok. i jus saw the website... Xuan, how long they deliver ah... how to know what size to buy? :p They got any shops??

Jill, me just hit week 28 today... :p eat n eat nonstop... Baby only 1kg I put on 10kg
better book message to lose weight after that

Irene: 10 sets enough le ah? Does the CL wash everyday or like wash once a week one har? I don't even know how to estimate the size. So keep reading labels, so count 0-3mths put one stack, 3-6 mths put one stack. Think will wash in April bah...

As for herbal soup, I make either black chicken soup or chicken herbal soup once or twice a week cos I thot it was a must. No wonder me grow so fat. Maybe will heed all your advice and start in chicken essence and coconut in April. Not sure what to do think better follow bah....

sleepyskies: i duno leh.. i tout Manduca is much more ex? anyone can enlighten us those who have beco and ergo? hahaha im so noobie LOL btw ergo baby cannot face infront right??

Chiro: nah i prefer working.. usually i work i also will do my babbieekids de. its like a hobby a interest lor… i prefer every month got $$$ and at least work u got sub for kids go school hehe unless my hub damn super rich then maybe OKai. LOL but nah.. if i rely on him i will die hahaha

Xuan: i got sack when im pregnant ah.. and im less than 3 months that time so i cant even claim anything lor.. i go MOM.. mom say by law my boss is right.. OH well suan le.. at least now 2013 NEW rule is we can claim when we start from pregnancy so i think next time it wont be a issue on that le ba.. ^^ and i really hope i can find a better BOSS the next round.. ^^

my colleague also ask me to drink chix essense when nearing my EDD. She say will have effect.

when do we start drinking the coconut? Not so fast right?

i never buy maternity/nursing bra leh. I just wearing non-wire 1.

Xuan, Jill - thanks xuan! the website got alot of diff bra types lehs..how to choose?? haha. I scared my breasts sag/droop after giving birth and breastfeeding then I ho seh liaos so i rather keep to original size! muahahah

Chiro - i think so long as you feel comfy then its ok. But best not to wear wired bras.

fabbie - online spree for manduca selling $179 - $200...ergo, i think shld be ard that price range too lehs. that day saw at babyfair but didnt ask price coz dont think want to buy on the spot. haha. Beco i dont even know where selling..hahaha

hw mani,sets of sleep suits and those,short sleeve ibfront button kind tops or rompers do we need for bb to wear at hm?

i alry put on abt 7kg and am at wk 30 nw

Sleepy skies: I did self collection for the thermometer from manny. I also bought some breast pump spare parts from megababy, I also did self collection

2ks, but some ppl say the breastmilk follow the development of the baby right? So I heard some ppl say not good to give the older child the breastmilk that is meant for the baby. Hehe since you say can, will try to give excess BM to my #1 if can

Dian tang, I think coconut can take at week 37 or 38 onwards bah. Cannot too early.

Told my gynae about tummy tighten and he did use machine to monitor me but no contractions. But to relax the uterus he gave me utrogestan 100mg. I read up and some says a lot of side effects like giddy and nauseous. Haiz... I got a feeling my morning sickness will be back again~ vomiting last night and now chest tight tight.anyone facing the same thing? I am wk 27 now.

Xuan: is it the same medicine that your doc gave you for the tumnu tightening?

Min, i got prescribed utrogestan for tummy tightening too. I'm a bit worried about the side effects actually. But my gynae say so long as eat the medicine after food should be ok. No choice la for the sake of baby. Gynae told me to take two times a day but i take only one time a day though.

Irene: so just wear red string will do? I abit ks. Thought going to get the flower to bath.. Like what 2ks say, double combo..

Fabbie; ya, I remembered how that bit** did to you.. Nvm.. St least you're happier now and able to spend more quality time with ya girl right?

Charliebrown: I think shopping is the killer.. Lol! If I decided to become a sahm. I think my dh will give me allowance to pay.. Just that I can't anyhow spend like before.. That's why I am still contemplating if I should send my girl to infant care or be a sahm.

Sleepyskies: which safra you sign up for? Can just book and chop even if baby is not here yet? Does that apply to all infant school?

Debbie, I just took my first dosage of 2 pills per night. Yah I so sian got to take medicine again.you are right, for the good of bb, lets jia you. So far you got experience any side effect?

Utogestan I have been taking before I conceive till 12weeks. Now gynae ask me to eat back due to cramp and tightening.
Yes the side effect is dizzy, u will feel very relax and feel like sleeping. But funny, sometime won't. But most of the time have. It actually make ur muscle relax and blood flow to baby that why u will feel tired. But is good to eat, is safe.

Coconut can drink sometime in week 34 onwards. I rem I drink early for my first pregnancy.

Did anyone drink bu oscaionally? I think I lack of it leh. Only few times bird nest. Other than bird nest what can I eat to bu myself?

Min, Debbie - jiayou!!
am sure with the medicine, bb will be safe & healthy.

Shirley - I signed up with Toa Payoh Safra, it just opened few months back I think. I just put down edd and let them know the estimated month I intend to put bb in. The other IFCs I enquired also just ask me for edd but they all tell me I can only be on the waiting list so I just register & put name down. think once I deliver, will call them to confirm the enrolment date.

Shirley, give it a shot and be a sahm until bb is a yr old. U won't regret it as u'll be the first witnessing her smiling, blabbering, flipping, crawling, walking, talking etc. and most important of all, the bond btw u two would be great...

I'm also like fabbie, tio pok, when I'm around 3mths but luckily my ex co paid me in full for 16weeks ML.. Planning to go back work preferably at the start of next yr and have my mom to look after my #1 and #2, but my mom said that her bosses are quite gd to her and had given her pay increment again and again.. She's doing part time at this same dental clinic for more than a decade plus.. So she re-propose to me to ask me to take of #1 and #2 instead, and she'll give me a sum of money month to oversee my expenses as my hb commitment is too high although he's earning quite a bit.. My #1 will also be starting pre-nursery at a catholic church kindergarden so the expenses would be there at the start of next yr. my mom
Is those tiong sim catholic so when I tell her that I'll be placing my girl in a church kindergarden, she's happy.. But I have to cater sch bus as its quite a distance away...
If yr hb is supportive of u being a sahm, give it a try.. taking care of ur kid urself is better than letting others to take care of them.
I also thought that I'm not cut to be a sahm but time has prove me wrong. I'm enjoying my quality time with #1 although my blood always boils. The satisfying job as a sahm is discovering how ur kid is growing and surprises u with new actions/words.. Most importantly, seeing them happy and healthy is the most ultimate achievement to achieve.

Re: coconut
I think I'll start drinking from next week(week32) ba.. Actually if ur not having frequent contractions etc, it's fine to consume them after week 31/32.. One coconut a week will do and maybe increase to 2 when ur nearer to ur edd... I think drinking at week 37 might be too late and not much use? Cos most will deliver earlier or around week 37-39...

Coconut
I haf been drinking every now n then...
Was told to drink now so that nb will b fair? If week 37, it will b too late

Robinson sale
Btw, is it thru or wed? I thought will b 20 mar...so took leave

Now haf to apply for more leave.....
Rumors that my co is giving out bonus letter on wed...wonder whether I shld apply leave n go Robinson sale or take th bonus letter instead

Debbie/ Min: I also took the medicine once a day only. Don't want to depend on it too much since the hardening now never occur so often already. You all mean the medicine have side effect for the 'an tai yao'??!!!

Bbkk: no wonder I feel so tired this few days. Keep yawning. My mother-in-law got double boil bird nest & yao cai hicken soup for me. but usually I drink 1 month once or twice only. Don't dare eat too often cos my gynae said consume too much bird nest might cause baby to have sensitive skin in the future.

fabbie/ reddish: how come the boss can pok u all ah? what's the reason behind it??? Anyway, what's the use of drinking coconut juice uh? My mom said to increase the fluid inside so can give birth easier?? (@_@)

Sorry to disturb.
I would like to recommend my CL aunty yen ying , she is a very friendly , clean ,patient n helpful lady, she can cook n she love baby. Interested can SMS me Vic 93368616. I'm helping her to post because she is my best CL .Cheers

Xuan: cuss by law u can sack a pregnant woman when she is less than 3 months pregnant and she loves to put words in her mouth also saying bad mouth about my ex coll and even me. can say or become good friends together like so real but behind stab.. n i start to know those family business company attitudes are all sucks. do sai kang one lor. and love to cheat here and there. so i told myself never ever find a family business company. even so at least not with a lady boss. so far i met 3 lady boss before non are good. LOL infect tout this one will be better but is even worst! hhaha but anyway NEW law is coming out! u cannot sack a pregnant woman at all! haha Am i right to say that?

Coconut juice they say drink le baby come out will be clean. and i duno how CLEAN could it be so i just drink hahaha and im craving for that! ^^

reddish so fast drink on 32 week? i tout usually is last 2 weeks of due date? btw ya company sack u and u still going back ah? faints if its me i wont lor.

Shirley: ya think of a brighter side i got more time to rest also. and laze around haha but like reddish say is right u can quit ya job and be SAMH for the time being.. till sian liao then go back to work lo.. my no.1 i also quit when i go back to work after my Mleave i wrk for 2 months then i quit. LOL my boss was so piss but in the end after i decided to work he still ask me to go back so okai. i feel happier.. and not STRESS.. cuss after Mleave i go back to work im so damn stress not sure why.. maybe work load a lot + BF stress u a lot so i choose to quit my job and BF.. then best thing is HUb stress me so in the end i quit BF so i go back to work. LOL this time i hope i can target to BF for 1year at least.. HOPEFUlly if not 6 months? i duno dare not think about it also haha cuss $$$ is so impt lor.

sleepyskies: i saw a lot of people selling second hand so ex! when ergo selling at 70-80 like that.. btw Manduca and Ergo cannot put baby face infront is it?

Sleepyskies, yup for the sake of bb, willing to take the an tai yao despite side effects.

Min, so far no vomitting. I'm afraid of migraines as it will affect my work. So I'm also trying to get adequate rest etc. you got side effects?

Xuan, some ppl got side effects from the an tai Yao. You mentioned you're feeling a bit of nausea these few days issit?