(2013/05) May 2013

reddish: huh...must queue up to go in ah...
hall 6 is near the mrt that area already rite?
got served breakfast??

haha...look at the wheels of the city select...make sure u siam the stroller hor..
when i push the stroller, usually ppl will siam me la..

happy shopping mummies! I don't think I will be going to the expo bb fair this weekend, sure very crowded cos of Natas Fair as well.

Think I will just wait for the Taka b fair in March.

Tmr is also my gynae visit. Excited cos tmr I am 30 weeks already!

Hahahas yes via there's goodie bag for first 1k ppl daily..
Yups coffee bean serves breakfast here. I ordered Caesar salad, kinda regret cos the sauce is v mayno kind, hopefully won't have issue on bb...

Haha agree that the wheels are big! For the back wheels, need to pump air in regularly?

morning everyone!!!
on my way to expo now..late coz hb wanted to go si ma lu pray first..hopefully can reach there before the crowd comes in!

2Ks, I think I get what you mean. haha. but how I know how much baby drinks? so you use all Medela bottles and storage bottles? maybe my concern is also what if bb don't like Medela bottles..so thought of getting a variety of bottles like Avent, Medela (which comes with pump) and nuks (since its so popular). I think I'm v.confused when it comes to these..still cannot make out what exactly I need. haha

thanks to all for your advice on the ear thermometer!
was thinking measure temp at the ear shld be more accurate plus the hb says normal thermometer spoils easily so might as well get a good one. haha. will rethink abt the Braun ear thermometer again..guess its not a necessity at this point.

sleepyskies: when your baby discharged from hospital, there is already a gauge on how much bb drinks. when come back its agaration already. if 50ml not enough still cry within 1-2 hours then have to increase lor.
depends on individual baby.

i dont suggest u to get a variety of bottles seriously.
since u like nuk, then used nuk, unless u see bb dont like the teats then u change.
some bottles can interchange teats.
dont sugak give many brands for bb to try...its confusing for the baby.
u can just use medela bottles for storage, the package will come with caps. then if your milk supply have alot then u can get bigger size bottles to store.

2ks, which milk bottles you use huh?

Thinking to get playtex bottles/bottles that mimic breastfeeding to minimize confusion.

ah okies! I just went to see their webby, Peristaltic Nipple like not bad. So many things to think about when getting bb stuff!

if planning to bf long term and not planning to buy the mini freezer, might consider using milk bag. lay the milk bag flat to freeze, then you can stack the milk bags. save a lot of space. I did that for my number 1 and is going to continue to do that for number 2.

The reason why i prefer milk bag to bottle is that its hassle free. no need to wash and sterlise the bottles.
Also cause i send bb to IFC so instead of bringing a lot of bottles each containing the qty of ebm that bb drinks, i jus bring 1 empty milk bottle plus the ebm in the milk bags to IFC for the teachers to feed bb.
I will also pass the school 1-2 pkt of "emergency pack" for the school to keep in the freezer in case some days bb ask for more milk. (teacher can jus defrost the milk and feed bb)

blurdopey: not all IFC accept milkbags. some prefer u to prepare exact amount cos they scared of risk of contamination when they pour to bottle.
some ifc also dont allow u to put extra milk over night...
so depends..

eh...for me hor..cos i cook, my freezer if put my ebm despite me laying them flat...there wont be enough space also...
then my food how...no space to store

JC: u see the recommended kg on the NB diapers. some NB states up to 5kg.
no babies give birth is 5kg la.
so its okay to use a couple of packs.
newborns can change up to 8-10 diapers per day for the initial 2 weeks, cos they keep pooing meconium

should be enough for a start. but i know my babies usually lesser than 3kg so i got 5 packs...
1 pack of MP newborn cos cutting bigger for night time use.

The huggies booth super long queue. Now queueing up to buy the diapers. Ate my
subway lunch while queuing.

The anis and anais swaddle got 50%.

For pigeon bottles if u bring any brand old bottles can use for trade in the new pelastatic bottles.

bbkk: must be complete set i think...
last time i anyhow put those disposable type of teats.
but this one is PPSU BPA range leh..the most exp range of pigeon. one big bottle think $18.90 or something.

Ask u all, I just found I have one box of boots n pigeon milk bag left over. Do u all think ok to use, got expiry anot. 4years Liao.

Then another qns.. My pigeon sterilizer has been using for 3 yrs plus. Inside the holder that holds the bottles rusty Liao, cannot clean off, need to buy another one? Or any method to clean.

bbkk: any brands of bottles full set can trade in la. what time u reaching 2mr? i have full old sets, can spare u 1/2 pcs
i think can use lemon or something. or you have citrus acid? think also can.

griny: ya thats why la.. so u can skip NB. but even if u buy 2 packs can also finished within a week....
my #1 was only 2.7kg and #2 was 2.88kg...so likely #3 wont be much difference la.
cos my sis bb also 2.56kg and 2.5kg...so our genes all small babies

Oh cannot clean off le. Dunno can reuse anot.. If dun need the handle inside can anot huh... Lol

I be reaching ard 12 plus after my gynae appt.
Funny, I saw my bottles all no full set de. Either cap missing or the teat missing or the cover missing...lol.. But still have maybe one or two comes in full set. Lol
2ks, tks for ur offer. So kind of u.. Nvm lah I just trade in one or two GD enough.

bbkk: i might still be around...if u want let me know.
otherwise u go ask around, taka bb fair will have the same trade in also one.
pigeon sterilizer always have the metal plate rusty prob. perhaps u go call pigeon and see what they advice?

i think i standby 3 pkt bah
if really no use, than i pass it to someone else.
my friend tell me they selling 3 for $10 for huggies.

based on my size and hubby's, i thnk my bb got potential is big 1

2ks, wow didnt know some ifc dun accept milk bag de. Hmm then my IFC is chin chay. lucky for me.

bbkk, you can try vinegar. maybe can soak off the rust.

JC, 3 for $10 is huggies NB?? or wat size??

2ks, all big brands booths(pigeon, tolly joy, pigeon, Heinz, Melissa Doug/see Kai run/ aden/huggies etc) are all long q cos their nets machines takes quite a while to process... And there's only like 1-2 cashiers(normally 1)...

Blurdopey, 3 for $10 is for nb... Huggies cutting are small so don't stock up much on nb and s sizes...

reddish: 3 packs NB enough leh...3 for $10 is very cheap. but to queue up just to buy that...abit bo hua, unless got lotsa time. i dont like huggies diapers except their NB. cos material abit different.

ok...i nothing to buy from pigeon, tollyjoy lol...
i think pay by cash usually faster ba..

blurdopey : NB..head from my friend but she say very fast out of stock. So ask me go and buy

sorry ah..but is it 'must buy' for diapers during such fair or we shd just target those big items first?

3 packs for $10 is really cheap... but the queue must be sian... Today sounds v crowded, cannot imagine tomorrow how packed it is liao.

2ks, haha I only let my girl uses pampers, huggies ultra, Merries and goon.. I stocked up 12packs of huggies and 6packs of goon... My girl don't fit Mamypoko well enough.. What are u keen in getting from the fair?

But the thing is, regardless of cash or nets, we still got to join the same q cos most booth only has one pathetic cashier counter!! I brought $400+ cash there but no use cos i still got to join the q for every single booth! >.<! And a lot of my time has been wasted on q-ing for payment!

Jc, just nice huggies got free little tikes gardening wheel barraw with purchases over $150.. Although their tape diapers are a little bit more exp than taka fair, but the free gift is quite a worth to get it..
After getting the goodie bag, the first booth I went is huggies cos the cashier counter and redemption counter are going to have a v long q later on... Thereafter I went avent and then the next booth to get Aden stuffs and bla bla..

super stress leh...if not because tmr is last day of antenatal class, i think i will skip and go early loh

hopefully tomorrow crowd is better, coz most of the mummies going today for best deals :p

reddish: dont think getting huggies so can skip that. if pampers then i will cheong..
my hub friend is working at expo, if next time motherhood fair (usually pampers got booth), i am so going to beg him for help...lol

only wanna see pureen, mustela lor...
maybe some bras