(2013/05) May 2013

fool4love
my #1 is a boy, but my belly button also inner leh, so still dun know the reason why it will pop out.
your CL agency is it PE_ in woodlands one? if so, should be same as mine. i have yet to book for this bb, but for my #1, i did take the tonic package. CL will cook for u daily one. and everyday have diff soup one. but its still up to u lor. for me, coz i like to drink soup, so i took up the package

JC : oh did ur doc do scanning for u every visit?
My scanning only done like once in 2 months . They do check bb heart beat every visit .

worried 79: ya! taking the one at woodlands... have yet to finalise...

hubbs said that i could go to medical hall and ask around first...

Belly button: Have two colleagues in office, one has a pop-out belly button and it is a boy and the other one has a inner and it's a gal... haha! am comparing my tummy against theirs to try to spot the simliarities... :p but both looks the same to me....

Regarding weight:
I'm same as alot of you 2Ks, Bbkk and iko0508, 59kg at 160cm
Now 16 plus weeks n since the start gained 1.1kg, i too hope to keep it all within 10kg. Pre marriage wt is 47kg (thats with London Weight management) then the rest of the gain is from #1 (gained 30kg) haha, cmi

I don't feel pretty now because of my size, so i will do my nails and hair and try to get new clothes to make me feel better. I weigh myself everyday too, make sure my weight stays the same, i aim less than 60kg for the the next check up.

Fabbie: Congrats on knowing your gal's gender, we will try again for the 3rd one
That time my hb say adopt #3 loh, because i was so sad i din get a girl

Belly button: still the same, #1 boy #2 now boy still not out, i dun feel pregnant also, still the same, and all the mention of food here dun make me hungry at all. My fav is fast food- Long John and Mos
1 week i eat 5 times, hahah, will try to cut

Hm.. Was reading online and realised pregnant cannot take dan shen. My mil ginger tea usually has dan shen if i m not wrong. I better tell her i cannot drink then.... But i recall last time i also drink when my sil delivered a month ahead of me. Hm...But thats like third tri for me already for my no 2. Now still early stage. I think i better not drink. Darn. I love her ginger tea alot. She put black date, blue dates and red dates, dan shen and loads of old ginger n rock sugar. Really great tasting.

fool4love

then its same as mine lor. its really up to u. they will try to persuade u to buy that and the herbal wash. its still up to u whether you need it.
how much is the rate now?

dian tang : ya scanning every time. I think that's why so expensive lah. Each visit about $100+. My husband say 1 photo of the bb damn expensive loh.

if they check bb heartbeeat, will have scanning already right?

mummies, gynae still doing vaginal scanning or start doing tummy scanning for you all?

MamiB
I hv got a friend ate raw oysters in all her 4 pregnancies. Went buffet with her before, she gulped 8 in one go..

Belly button
My #1 gal belly button popped, this time gal too, seems like gg to pop out soon.

Worried79
Tonic soup everyday? Will it be too heaty? I'm using my fren's CL she told me not everyday, some days tonic, some days soups like fish soup. But I thought its everyday too,cause we need a lot of pu right.

JC : did u request for scanning every time or the doc initial it? My doc said not necessary so he only do the hb check by Doppler . If that , I only paid the consultation . I think scanning cost abt 80 plus . Consultation fee for senior consultation is 90 plus . Btw u signing up the package in ur 21th weeks?
Btw, my scanning is by tummy .

i didn't request but it is like 'compulsory' each time wor.

Oh, that's why my visit is so expensive lah.

i should be signing since i will stay with this gynae.

novsnow
ya. everyday have soup. i also cant remember whats the ingredients of the soup. anyway, everyday diff one. its meant to pu out body, but i did not turn out heaty.

worried 79: for the CL: it's 2050 + levy + 200 booking fee (cos i wanted my SIL's confinement lady).

For the herbs: i think it's under 400. S$368 or something... Hubbs says to take the list and go to medical hall to check out... but eventually it's up to me..

fool4love
u mean the booking fee is "extra" coz u specified for a particular CL? i thot of asking specifically for the same one who did for me last time too
yes, ultimately, its still up to u whether u think u need the tonic package or not.

JC: ha ha my case is opp of urs . But I think I will ask for the scanning for every visit in future since we are starting the package soon . So envy u can see the baby later

Have not posted for a while coz harder to track by SMH forum. Used to FB for my #1 mummies. More organised (comment by topic) and got photos easier to remember all the mummies. I also could not find the FB closed group when I searched. My FB email is [email protected] if convenient to add.

Makan: This pregnancy not much cravings but prefer simple food. Just went for crabs feast with my #1 mummies group at melben and we ordered a staggering 9 crabs and 50 mantous in addition to other food. Super yummy! So long since I last ate their crabs.

gender: When I saw how tough how some couples tried to conceive or have kids with health issues, I am now more concerned with a healthy happy baby and gender is secondary. I'm equally happy to know #2 is also a gal. =) Closing shop. Don't think I will go for #3.

hospital: Its much more convenient to use a luggage than a bag in hospital so that it frees up your hand to carry baby and the goodies by friends and hospital. By the way, for mummies delivering at Parkay East, I had a bad experience in terms of billing and CL (other than that ok). Just to warn. I checked in when my water bag burst at night but as water level was still ok, my gynae think its safe and no need to induce. I stayed 3 nights in the end and Parkway East was so crappy! The bill was super high and I realised that they charged ala carte for the entire delivery. I argued that they should charge one more night plus package but they said its their policy. It was not explained to me during the hospital tour and my friend deliverying in Glen also stayed 3 nights but she was charged 1 night ala carte plus package. Its inconsistent billing method when both are Parkway Hospital. Arghs. Sigh. But I liked my gynae and he delivers only in Parkway so no choice, going back to Parkway as it is only 5 mins from my house.

dian_tang: hope all's good and must guai guai bed rest ya...

Weight gain: I'm terrible. Put on 7kg liao! Think I'm the champion weight gainer here and I'm only week 15+. I put on 16.5kg for #1 but managed to lose 20.5kg through bf. So mummies don't fret about weight gain. Jiayou on bf! Good for babies (I do feel immunity is really better when on tbf) and mummies (lose weight).

Belly button: I am not sure if there's any difference for boys or gals. #1 is a gal and my belly button did pop out. I was not too bothered by it as i guess its just part n parcel of pregnancy. But more sian was during first pregnancy, my armpit turned very dark. yucks! so cannot raise arms too high. lol.

mami B: Cold war by Aaron Kwok is good! Or skyfall if you have yet to catch that. enjoy pak tok day!

Supplements: My gynae will only prescribe the necessary for me. I am only taking multi v and DHA. He said calcium not necessary unless baby small and based on history, #1 quite good size so no need calcium.

Scan: I do ultrascan for every visit. But next visit onwards on package so not so heartpain. I look forward to the scans as we get to see the lil ones. Hopefully next visit can get good scan n my gynae do 3D for me. Usually only first visit (less than 8 weeks), my gyane does varginal scan (coz ultrascan may not see clearly). Otherwise its ultrascan on tummy all the way.

Confinement: Everyday CL will brew soups for dinner and tonic soup will start dunno on 8th or 14th day (can't remember) which CL will ask me to drink before I sleep (coz cannot bu too early). I am not sure how much agencies charge for the tonic soup package but think i spent $100-200 on the ingredients. Most people will buy from a famous shop in si ma lu (cheap n good). The old people will know. My MIL helped me purchase previously. Nearby, there is also a neighbourhood shop that sells cheap baby clothes (simple kind) which i think is good for basics. For newborn, those button kind are easier than romper that goes over the head.

hello mummies..

MIA for a few days cause was on MC yesterday and supposedly today but i have appraisal later in the noon so must drag myself to office..

weight gain: so far at most gain only 1kg.. don't know whether it's baby gaining or because constipation is here to visit now.. my tummy still very small except at night.. so getting a little worried...

back/neck pain/headache: any mummies having back/nect pains and/or headaches? i'm having it everyday since the start of the week now.. very tong ku ah~~~ wanted to go chinese acupuncture but 2x i went this week either clinic close or doc not in.. the doc i used to go opened her own clinic so it's my first visit and i don't know the procedure there..

just went there this morning, she wasn't in and the reception lady looked at me and asked what i want.. i want to see doc lah, then i want to buy grocery? then she's very rude.. went on to say doc not in and they only go by appointment and that they're open for a month now so i should know and she just looked at me and stared.. i immediately snapped man.. it's my first visit how the crap i know and the name card doesn't state by appointment only!! and i told her her attitude is so terrible..

think i'm getting more short tempered lately.. is it normal? things/people pissed me off more easily than ever now..

curry: just a question.. having too much curry will it lead to increased chances of baby having jaundice? my mil cooks curry every alternate Thursday and we go over for dinner every Thursday.. meaning i have to eat curry every 2 weeks.. is it too much? my hub's auntie pointed it out last night during dinner so got me pondering.. any advice?

Confinement:
My memories of past two confinement meals are fantastic but get ready folks. Its really ALOT of food n drinks. Not for the faint.

Morning 6+ am: big bowl of soup, one bottle birds nest, 2 bottles chicken essence, one mug of ginger tea.
Breakfast after bf baby: meesuah with kidney, liver, ginger, egg , followed by ginger tea again.
Lunch : rice, full plate of vege, one big bowl of soup, ginger chicken/beef/pork
Teabreak: ginger tea again, red bean soup/sweet potato ginger soup etc
Dinner : same as lunch, different soup. Likely ji-jiu. Which i absolutely LOVE. One cup ginger tea again.

Whole day keep drinking lotsa ginger tea. Super love love love..... So looking forward to confinement.

mami B, talking about confinement food, i love all things cooked with the rice wine. chicken, fish etc. lol. i even asked my CL to cook me fried chicken wings coz during confinement we eat mainly heaty food n chicken wings confirm not liang. =P

JC; mine is doing tummy scan only.. unless something is not good then doc will say will use vaginal scan. but usually he will scan tummy first...

Fruitloops: wahhh ya hub will say till adopt?? faints.. u will ma?

Hiyooooooooo everyone, hope everyone is fine. i mia for a wk le, wkplc network really cnat make it, this wk worse cnat even load forum page.At night only have time chopchop fb hehe.

2ks/worried79/jc/belly button:
i also dont know y it will popped out. mine out since wk 11, when i see my gynae in wk12 she dont believe n i show her. Then she just said tts early! im like err....dont know gd or not also was just making fun tt my boy keep playing with it every evening ahha.

fabbiee:
urs 3D or 4D scan? so fast detailed scan , u wk 20aldy? im only wk 14+. Tell ur hb, hes gog to have a very pretty princess like ur #1 hehe.

bbkk/fruitloop/iko/ikuko:
haha me too ard 161,59 kg now:p

rejoy:
im worse then u, b4 married im only 47kg, i love this its my perfect figure no headache in buying clothes at all, then with #1 up to 72.5, after delivered only dropped to 71!!! im like what!! and take me 1 yr to drop to 60 then another 2 yrs to drop to 52-55kg then now 59.

pinktulip/worried79/milk:
pinktulip, im like u rejecting milk this round. for my #1 i drink choco milk every night.worried79, gd to take as much milk as possible for the calcium.For my #1, i take calcium pill evreyday plus fresh milk yet tooth dropped
this round hope dont drop again if not no tooth le

JC/scan:
JC, mie also scan every visit but i dont mind la the scan is precious,in future u wan also cnat buy ma. mine consultation $80+scan$60.But fr next visit (wk16)will start package le, unlimited visit n scan at $750. Urs how much?

worried79/jc:
oh if getfr agency will have tonic package?Hehe i hate tonic, so for #1 i only get my cl to make mild one a few times for me:p

TIE: wah u put on 7 kg aldy!!!My appetite just returned, hope will gain soon too.

mamiB:
wahh urs like alot.
i dont rem i have teabreak haha maybe i rejected since i whole day on the reddate longan ginger tea till bloated le, i only rem my 3 meals haha.

紅米酒:
Is this the wine that we need to use to cook with meal dishes during confinement ? Anyone knows where to buy? Coz i cnat take dom, allergy to alcohol.

dian tang : scan is better. At least u can see how the bb is. I find it very amazing how it grew from a sac to a human form.

nlimm : mine is per visit pay for now. i haven't sign any package. I think mine start from week 20 onwards.

mine is still doing vaginal scan. Only when i went for Oscar than do tummy scan. I thought Oscar is vaginal scan so when i see the doc is a male, i was like -_-. Than i ask him need to take off , he say no need..haha

Dian tang,
Scan every visit better so dr can calculate the growth is it mach ur bb gestation and also look out for fluid etc...

Long time din come in to see forum. #1 just entered CC on Monday. Good thing she din cry when I left ( I left secretly).

Line and belly button:
My no 1 is a girl and I have a dark line and belly button popped out. My belly button din go back even after I delivered her. So this time, belly button still remained popped out but cannot see line so far.

Bloatness:
I get bloated very easily, esp when I eat fried foods. I like gassy drink, luckily it does cause the bloatness.

Milk intake:
Like many mums here, I drink Meiji low fat milk. Tried different brands of sample maternal milk b4 but all will cause me to bloat and my stomach will keep churning and makes me uncomfortable. For my #1, I drank milk until 3 weeks before I delivered when my gynae stopped me from drinking. I wanted natural delivery and I am quite small build so he didn’t want the baby to be too big when I deliver.

worried79: ya. the person says that i must place a booking fee if i want a particular CL. If not, they will just send me any CL. However, if the CL is not available for whatsoever reason, they will not collect the S$200 from me...

Milk intake:
i'm taking Ammum now... trying to take everyday as doc says it's good for the baby... I'm also taking calcium pills... though i always forget to take...

Scan: I shall insist my doc to do scanning when I c him . Feel very touched when see the baby .. So cute . Also can see how well the baby grow.

JC: I only come across female sonographer , not male one le . Only one time by dr EK Tan dur my early tri .

Tie: ya I will rest well thks .

milk in take:
i cant drink those for pregnant milk.. cus its too milky le and fen fen kind.. even i stir how long its like fen fen.. bth.. i think i like those chocolate one. i remember last time i drank chocolate quite yummy! ^^ if ask me drink those milk i rather drink fresh milk LOL

nlimm: im 18weeks++ i just did those normal detail scan lor. and i can see baby's eyes and teeth and nose everything.. is more like the skeleton view. LOL can u imagine? i see baby's eye ball lor! when i saw that im like OMG. ok enff im quite scare infact LOL I think my hub is more scare to have another gal to torture him.. LOL but i somehow feel bad abit la.. LOL if really try 3rd one i hope for a boy just for him for accompany. LOL

no.2 Baby name:
Can i ask u gals.. chinese name u all follow the 2nd character or 3rd character the same for ya elder? u gals got go fortune teller to see? im so frustrated.. my MIL told me to choose a name which is the same as 2nd character of no.1.. which i disagree i prefer to like the 3rd character of my no.1 name. i told my hub if its boy im okai to use 2nd character.. but for gal i want to use the 3rd character same as no.1 infact he agree lor.. then now his mum keep saying that 2nd character GOOD la this n that. i get so irritated now. Will u gals just listen? or insist?

chiro: the maternity package listed by the hospital does not include the hospital charges for the baby. For mine that time he stayed 3D2N and didn't go for any phototherapy during the stay so it was just $800++ and out of which $600++ is payable by medisave so only need to pay cash about $200 for the baby.

JC: my gynae do tummy scan every time I visit him. I think vaginal scan is usually done when in the early stage of pregnancy and can't really see the baby via tummy scan. but diff gynae have diff practice i guess.

fool4love: my friend engages her CL thru PEM and she got their tonic package. according to her it's quite good and save the hassle.

milk: i just started taking anmum this time round. anmum is the only maternal milk that i can take, the rest of the brand is no-no for me. my weight is still -ve now so hopefully can gain more weight after drinking the milk. i started diligently taking anmum for my 1st pregnancy after attending the nutrition module during antenatal class. cos I realised that my usual diet, even with the prenatal vit that my gynae gives, I still can't meet the nutrition requirement and especially so for calcium. and as I intend to BF my baby, I felt it's important to build up my calcium store so I won't end up with fragile bones when I'm old.

i thinking of girl's name more than boy's name.

If it is a boy, i will choose my hubby's 2nd character + something else. His 2nd character is the same as my father. So i find it very meaningful.

i think his side got those family name, like which level got what name. His brother's son also never follow, so i won't follow also.

come to think abt it, i actually feel abit freaky when i see bb scan. On the screen like quite big hoh but it was only like 7cm when i was like week 13 but looks like human.

Irene - Noted, thanks for the information :D
PEM is collaborated with Mount Alvernia or something right? Was checking the webby last week.

JC - hmm how come still doing vaginal scan huh? Seems very uncomfy... Like after 8 weeks should be able to see through tummy scan already right?

Fool4love: I c before the herbs sold by pe_
Its low grade herbs. The dangshen is so small. For $300 u can get better herbs.

For naming my baby, I won't choose any character that sound like my hubby or mine. My #1 2nd character sound exactly like my 2nd character name. The a lot of friends and relatives ask y we choose same sounding character. Den say no gd, forgot will jinx either one. So many comments.... I was super disturbed by it that time. So this time, I dun want to make myself worried and upset over this kind of thing.

chiro, i also duno leh. today i am going to see my gynae. See whether still doing varginal scan a not.

abit paiseh, coz i need to go home and clean up myself before going....abit troublesome.

2Ks,
they used low-grade herbs? i dun know how to see leh...it comes in packets and everyday, she just show me what she is going to cook.

Fabbiee:
Our family also follow 2nd char not 3rd char

Jc:
Forgot to reply u on this. Mine only v scan at wk6, fr wk8 aldy tummyscan

Griny: wah must be so irritated that kind Lo. For me I don't even care actually. Only those are the older generation say one Lo. Haiz

Jc. My in law say character cannot sound or look like whoevers name. But for me I don't care la. My bil also choose a name for his gal. My mil say will clash duno last time generation but whereas she take the name for fortune teller to choose -.- in the end my bil don't care. I think if its my hub confirm choose what my mil wants Lo! Which I don't like. Like mummy boy de.

Breast
Do u girls have ci ci feeling on ya breast? I have leh aiyo like machiam I need to pump my milk hahaa

Nlimm: ya boy Chinese name go fortune teller ma? Nlimm ya got typo error is it? U 161kg plus? Lol u so skinny leh in photo

Dangshen got few grades the one pe_ sold u is the lowest kind. For 300plus u get get better ones outside.
Can get from si ma lu or even fu hua.

From what I know chinese names shouldn't be the same with direct relative. Not good for both of them. But sibling I think can.

2Ks,
haha. i think i m the type of customer they would like to have one. i never really go and check on the herbs, i just trust them. i thot its easier to just buy from them and the CL will cook for me. save the trouble of buying

Wanna ask, have you heard of any myths like cannot cut hair during pregnancy? Wanna trim my hair but my hairstylist friend saying her customer said can only cut hair after 5 months after it's more stable.

chiro
yah. for my #1, i only trim hair after 5 months. not sure of the reason too. my mum also heard from other ppl one. but i think quite a few mummies here already trim their hair liao

Chiro: i cut my hair twice during this pregnancy... one before knowing that i was preggie, the 2nd when the hair grew out...

haha! i think should be fine ba...

Chiro, I trim my hair when I 2 months. Planning to trim again in Jan.

Babbie, I tried not to be too bother abt what others say. sometimes too many people commenting abt the same thing in a short timeframe is super irritating and will sound more and more true lo.

Hi mummies! Had a birthday celebration for #1 at school today. He's finally 2 years old and how time flies
then went gynae and gynae suspect #2 is 60% a girl as gynae can't see anything between the legs that were still a bit close together. So gynae told me not to announce the gender to my friends and relatives as its 60% confirmed only. Hope it stays this way!
but really, I just want a healthy baby. So far scan is alright. Baby growing well! Next scan detailed scan on 27 December

Chiro, I trimmed my hair about 1.5 months ago and I'm intending to do so this week actually. Never heard of that myth but I can't stand my hair being too long and thick so I trim once in a while. Only heard about not colouring and rebonding.

Re: liver
Mummies, I actually forgot about the high vitamin A liver has and ate it about 2 times during pregnancy in bigger portions
so sad now I remember cannot eat as someone mentioned it here and I suddenly remember its not good to eat. I have exceeded my quota of pork liver le. Really hope baby is ok.

Have a lovely weekend mummies! Take care!

Chiro
I also already cut my hair during my 11 weeks pregnancy.

My-angel-is-back
My friend's mom is making those 红米jiu... Quite nice.. If u want I can help u to order. Ordered a lot of times from her already due to my Sil and relatives. She's staying in Jurong area... So not sure if its convenient for u?

I trim once. It is okie one.

Dian tang : doc do heartbeat test only today but my hubby wan to see bb. So she do it for us

I bringing forward my detail scan to 31st dec. doc say better to do at wk 18 for my case. Had checked with her. My edd will at week 38 but have to induce 2 weeks earlier. If i dont control my diabetics it might be even earlier