(2013/05) May 2013

Vi: I do not practice patting bb to zzz. Imagine if bb get used to it no pat no sleep. I let bb smooth himself to zzz

Do u feed the bb at night when they cry? I m hoping to train them to sleep through the whole night.... Otherwise I do not know how to cope when I go back to work

esther: maybe try toyogo boxes? so no need to buy new wardrobe?

nlimm; ya that was like 4 years ago wor. LOL so long and she told me that time alot of prank call. then i told her im doing my babbiee i also help her advertise also hope her business will be well. i see her now like quite well hor. LOL btw how she do ya below part when massage?

2ks: i do pat my gal to sleep but one day she just automatically say i dont wan pat pat;; then im like oh okai.. suddenly just stop one lor..

VI: just dont keep carrying them when bb is keep crying n crying sometimes they fake one wor... if they cry u faster carry they get used to it siao liao. u will be tired. heheh

Hello ladies!

Nlimm: We brought my son to catch Dinosaur Train yesterday. Friend's aunt had invites to the event. My son is a big fan and totally enjoyed himself.

Had my gynae visit yesterday and we are on track for a girl. Saw nothing between the legs. ;) though gynae did say wait for detailed scan - scheduled for dec 27.

novsnow: gynae told me now cannot feel baby's bum. (oops wishful thinking on my part muahahaha). She says cos the bladder is full so the womb is pushed forward hence the bump appears. hahahaha And indeed this afternoon i was catching on on drama and refused to go pee. The bump appeared. ;P

Hi all, currently I'm not working but still need to take care of my kids so not able to keep up with all those postings... By the time I wanted to reply a lot hv already provided the answer...

Anyway, just to share my own experience: Having a CL or helper is really impt especially for 1st time mummies. This money cannot be saved IMHO. A lot of mummies gets into post natal depression even with helper around not to say those without. Also we might inevitably add stress to dh.

Nobody told me that a newborn need to be fed every 2-3 hours. Took abt 15-30 mins to feed, another 30-45 mins to burp, change diaper, baby vomiting out the milk and change into a clean rompers. And the cycle continues again... I was sleep derived even though I dun need to do housework.

If this is the 1st grandchild that ur mother or mil is helping u, u need to be prepared that their style of handling baby is not what u want.
Eg;
1. I wanted to use a sterilizer but mil wants boiling water type.
2. I was pro bf, but mil insist formulae ( her generation is all formulae babies)
3. I dun want to use pacifier, but she insist to use it.
4. I dun want to use sarong, but she also insist.
5. Wanted to give my babies a sleep time massage but she object as she afraid they might get used to it.

As a dutiful dil and since she's helping me, I let her do her way most of the time except for bf. I fought the bf battle for 4 months with her... My mother, sister, friends, relatives and I even asked the doctor and nurse in the hospital to talk to her regarding the benefits of bf but she still dun buy it. Always saying her children all grow up on formulae but are also healthy. Nevertheless, she gave in after my sister told her formulae is very expensive.

Re: pat pat
My gals now is already 4 years old and still want pat pat. Guess no.3 will not hv this kind of Privelige anymore.

Re: massage
I didn't do massage at all but I managed to slim down within 1 month. Maybe due to bf and also taking care of the twins myself.

Re: Csec
My Gynae told me usually twins are very small and underweight so it's better for them to stay inside the tummy for as long as possible. During one of my check-up at 36.5 weeks, gynae told me I'm already having a lot of contractions when I'm doing the contraction test ( I can't feel). He asked me to admit into hospital immediately to deliver. I still told him I'm not prepared yet, let me go home and I will come back 3 days later. He said my waterbag will burst any time and so he asked the nurse to call hospital to book the delivery suite abt 3 hours later. And I was charged the emergency csect rate... Sigh..

I dunno whether I can stop myself fr carrying the bb once the bb start crying
Hopefully I can
Hahaha
Better tell my hub to stop me if he sees me making the move

Hi mummies, what a wet Saturday! Perfect day to laze at home. Any mummies started prenatal massage? One company told me we can start on week 20!! Counting down.

This wk had been trying for me. No1 had a fever for 5 days that developed to , cough, diarrhoea and vomiting! Till he is now admitted to hospital for lung infection ! I spent my first name in the hospital with him n I developed stomach flu and fever'! Vomited like a merlion! It's day 3 at the hospital now and he should be home by tomorrow! What a week!

Now I m trying to put back some nutrients to myself after this hectic week.

明天会跟好!

nlimm: u're is planned c-sect? Think my gynae has a habit of carrying out c-sect at 38wks. Coz my friend same gynae was also c-sect at 38wks. So I tot of discussing with him can I have c-sect at 39wks instead of 38.

fabbie: toyogo think more for archive clothes. I tot of getting the cheapo cupboard not canvas type coz it's mainly for my boys clothings. As long as can tahan 2-3yrs can liao.

Patting to bed: my #1 used to nap in yao lan in the noon but suddenly one fine day he simply refused to nap in yao lan so put him on the bed and he slps from then onwards he slps on the bed. He dun likes to be pat to slp but I have to lie own beside him then he'll slp. As for my #2, he's more dependent on napping in yao lan so trying to train him as for nite after he's last feed, he'll be put onto his bed.

Ange: congrats, u hope for a girl rite. Now more or less confirm can kep a lookout on girl's clothings and accessories.

bb08: can understand how u feel. When mil is kind enough to help out, we also dun really wan to 得罪 her.

memphissbelle: oh dear. My elder also like tat fever or 4days then after fever subside vomit came along. Then when he's abt to recover the rest of the family got the virus. U really gotta take care. It's not easy so try to rest whenever time allows.

Ladies those who are crazy abt Meiji biscuit, they are having annual warehouse sale tomorrow between 10am-5pm at their factory - 36 Quality Road.

Ya saw the meiji banner this morning. Last time use to go on fri sales . Than they stop for a while and i think it is back recently

Super tired. My hubby suddenly got feeling go sentosa walk walk.

Had a discussion with hubby. He said we shd go without a CL. I told him dont tua me go holland when bb come. If not he can kiss #2 or #3 byebye

Thanks Esther! It's been a tiring time indeed
sometimes such episode make me wonder how to Cope with 2 kids next year. . Guess things will work out naturally.

JC: I'm going down tomorrow. Wah nice now can go dating faster go and go as many times as u can. U'll miss this when bb arrive. Both ur world will evolve ard bb.

memphissbelle: yes things will work out naturally when #2 comes along just like me. Somehow or another u will manage it very well although sometimes will face some bottle neck.

Jc: Esther is right.. now No chance go dating.. go dating also must quickly fly back.. Haha!

Sianz.. my running nose n headache is killing me...Sobs!!

Esther: agree we shouldnt think too much and take things as it comes...

iko0508: try piriton and go to bed early. lots of fluid like honey lemon can make u feel a little better.

take care!

Not sure if any of u heard of Gina Ford but its a life saver for me. Esp if u are handling newborns for first time. After i read the book and really understood the concept, i embrace the taking care of a new born infant with a kind of confidence that probably only very experienced moms can have.

Never had confinement maid. Mil cooked my food for both confinements. We had maid to do housework. For no 1, i stayed with mil. No 2 confinement i m totally in my own house.

I start latching and squeezing/pumping in hospital. Mine both cases c-sec. (but in my case, both csec wound painfree n i was walking abt like no operation on day 2) If baby is well fed, they will be able to go without milk for three hours initially.

By the time i reach home , my babies wake at 2am and 5am for milk.

By 8 weeks , no 1's last feed was 10:30pm
No 2 did the same by 11 weeks. So i can technically zzz til 7am for their first morning feed. But i wake once a night to pump. So glad i had smh forum mummies on FB group cos jo else to pump and chat in the middle of the night lol!

When both kids turn 6months, they embark on solids. I start dropping 10:30 pm feeds. Their last milk is at 7pm and they zzz til 7am.

Mil recommended this to my sil cos for first two weeks, she didnt know how to handle and every night baby woke up all the adulrs in the house (she lives withthem). And no one had a good sleep. I went over to help ans three days later, there was peace. Lol... Baby woke once a night only and then almosy following the above like my two kids. Now already 2 yrs old. Still zzzz 7pm - 7 am.

Coupls of things to note if u wana try this out :
1. Its easier to do this if u are queen of the house. No mil or mom or a bossy CL who insist they know better. Otherwise alot of stress n sure quarrel one. My mil was initially apprehensive too but as she saw the results, she end up also avocate the method to her friends who have grandkids. Lol
2. Dont read the book like a magazine or reference book. Study it like sitting for O levels. Many people tot they know the method and just apply as and when they saw fit. And then declare it doesnt work for all babies lah. Etc. i trained three different babies. Worked all the time. Baby 3 is my fourth round.
3. The book only makes sense in the hospital bes after delivery. So dont worry that when u read it now, u dont know what she is writing abt.

The name of the book is The new little contented baby book by Gina Ford. Hope this helps some of us as much as it helped me with two of my own kids already. Really boost my confidence to have number three. If i had kids who are still asking for milk in the middle of the night now, i bet u , no 3 will forever be just a passing thought. Hahah!!

This method of care giving is suitable for both breast feeding moms and those who decide to give formula from the start.

For me when i had no 1, i breastfed for 4 months cos i was still working in sales in bank. No time to pump after maternity leave.

For no 2 , i bf for 12 months successfully.

memphisbelle: Oh dear... hope your son gets discharged soon and you take care too. Must have been really tough on you but glad you're keeping your spirits up. Gambattne!

esther: no gender preference for me but hubby is happy. I find this pregnancy lotsa body changes. I only gained 1kg. But im round all over. Boobs definitely grew. And I feel fat behind my lower back. And not to mention the hips. I confirm I'm a barrel man.

Vi: for the first 2 months its feed on demand. U should just give bb... by 3-4 months they should drag their sleeping time longer de.
But some babies still will wake up to drink at 1 year old.

Mami: I've got the book but I was unable to follow the routine cuz my bb had reflux.. it was nightmare.. I just had to feed whenever she wants cuz she can't stomach alot of milk at one go..

Oh dear iko, yes it must have been a nightmare. reflux is a very serious condition (lower end of oesophagus muscle too weak to keep milk in the baby stomach, so milk gets vomitted out with stomach acid, giving burning sensation to baby in oesophagus) where in a lot of cases, is misdiagnosed as just severe colic. When baby has reflux, we have to keep in close contact with the pd and get the medication to relieve the baby's pain. This usually resolves itself within a year once the muscle strengthens. But its a painful process to feed a baby with reflux. Really strong mummy iko...

One thing to note also for those who intend to feed on demand esp at night. U have to make plans to wean this habit off before teeth is formed. I m in feb 2011 grp mummies and we have cases where the 22month kid's teeth have to get filling or pull out cos its rotting. This happend cos the mom was still breast feeding several times at night on demand at this age where they have alot of teeth. The milk decayed the teeth.

mamil B: i find the contented baby book is more for ang moh...doesnt really works for asians like us. i have alot of friends read the book, but maybe just 1 succeeded in following or 1 said its good..the rest said doesnt applies at all.

mummies who are interested to read can borrow from library. i borrowed. but i read halfway i return. cos dont sounds logic to me

Hi mums,

Jus a quick update, i went for scan last sat, it's a boy, dissapointed and cried infront of the cashier and all the way in the cab, till the cab driver thought my relative is very ill or died or smt, ask me to look after myself b4 taking care or others, haha, Hb not with me, on reservist, and i over reacted, i blamed it on the hormones.. haha...

Anyway i'm fine now, nth i can do but to accept the fact and love the boy. Down syndrome ratio was 1:15900. Smt like that (there were two results right) the other one was like 1:5000 plus

fruitloops: your elder is boy also huh...
dont feel disappointed. boy or girl is the same. its fated. can understand the moment of sadness...
but tell yourself u love the baby as much too...

Fruitloops: u v cute leh.. No matter if it's boy or ger.. u will still love him cuz he's ur bb.. as long as bb is healthy can already.. Haha..

Mami: Yes.. she recovered on her own by the time she reached 4 or 5mths.. but feeding her was really stressed cuz need to standby towels.. so her drinking schedule was in a mess last time.. she can drink half hourly sometimes.. tiring.. I cried badly when doc told me her problem.. cuz she started her reflux medication since 3weeks old.. poor bb..

iko0508: i have an ex colleague baby also reflux prob badly. she had a tube attached to her nose till she was almost 12 months...very small size girl

Fruitloops - Your results ratio is v good, congrats =) Baby boy also good de, some parents want boys very badly but couldn't have, so could be a blessing to you too. Baby healthy is the most important thing. *pat pat*

Want to ask mummies, how's your appetite currently? I'm still eating very little and vomiting everyday. =(

Fruitloops, boy or girl nvm, when he is born u will love him as much. Go for number 3!

I am having baby girl. And I started buying a few things already. Is my parent in law keep consoling me say not necessary for a boy lah. But funny I am ok, dunno why they think I want a boy.

Fruitloops, baby boy oso good, dun b sad ya.

A ques to those especially 2nd @ 3rd times mummies,
is it true that our deliver date will be bring forward at least 1 week to 1 mth earlier than our EDD?

My two frens which one EDD is Dec has delivered in Nov and another EDD is Feb 2012 oso delivered in two weeks earlier.
They are both 1st time mummy.

Bbkk: u already know e gender? Oh.. so I'll be able to know mine tml too.. excited!! Izzit cuz ur #1 is ger so they will think tt u r trying for a boy ma.. ger is good..

2k: thankfully my bb beef up after tt.. n maintain 90 percentile all e way.. but I was thinking if she dun have reflux.. she couldhave been chubbier..

2k, its true that not easy for most people to understand the book but those who do, really benefit. At least four of my excolleagues in the bank swear by the book not just for their first kiddo. But subsequent ones as well.
same for me, my sil... But u really need to have all those pre-requisites i wrote above. As long as u have an unsupporting caregiver around to tell u this wont work etc, it will truly never work. Lol! In cases where a child has reflux in iko's case, it cannot work either.

Just do what u think is best in ur individual circumstances as everyone's situation is unique.

my case will be 2 weeks before EDD. Doc say because of my gest. diabetics.

i have to confirm with her again this friday, coz need to tell my boss of my maternity plan.

so far, nobody call me of the oscar test. So meaning is good news right?

Iko, yes I found out on last sat at 16weeks. Ya my first is a girl. So now another princess. I did ask hubby if he is disappointed anot, of cos he will say no. He says he will love her as much ask me dun think so much. But I feel abit sad for that part and on the other hand I am happy too. Cos having 2 girls, they can play together and hope when they grow bigger we can go high tea, shopping.. Haha
Iko, gd luck to ur scan tomorrow.

I did 4D scan, and it is very clear, I saw the features, fingers, legs, spine. And my bb is showing me her thumb up.

Chiro, my appetite has been really good. Just that i still puke despite me being in my 16th week sigh!!!!!

I love to eat spicy wan tan mee, black pepper crab, drink chicken essence, munch seaweed, drink tom yum soup, eat fishballs, turtle soup sometimes... Wierd.

Fruitloops : pat pat! Boy also v cute. Two boys will be close to each other. Can play well (prob fight haha!!) together. Good growing up fun!! ;) most important is healthy.

Fruitloops: NVM i will try with u for no.3 LOL glad that ya baby boy is fine. ^^ u will love ya 2nd boy also de lar.. hehehe

Detail scan
ahh my detail scan this thursday! im so excited dou i know most likely is a girl but stil excited haha.. and name infact i wana change my no.2 name but my #1 say no.. she still perfer charlotte faints she likes this name. so seems like i have no choice. LOL.

BBK: nvm lets join fruitloops for no. 3 LOL.. ya girl must be very happy huh..have another girl? infact i prefer a boy. but i guess my girl more happy have a mei mei so i think im more happy lol

bbkk - Congrats on having bb girl =) Yeah grow up le can go high tea and shopping together, it sounds fun. :D By the way, can I ask how much is your 4D scan?

JC - The gynae will give you the results directly right? I did hear before if everything is normal they will not call you, so everything should be fine. =)

mami B - wow your appetite really good leh, and your food cravings very flavourful lol.

But Chiro, i just realised last night its no fun to go jap restaurant
end up eat the cod fish and rice and miso soup only. All the sashimi looking at me. I look at them. Cannot eat. Sigh..... Ordered a chawanmushi cos i love it.

Think after delivery n confinement, i wana go and eat all the food i cannot eat now. Like have live oysters, eat cockles, lots of sashimi - love swordfish and tuna, tai, octopus, squid, clams, sea urchin......, drink fruit beer, drink tsingdao, open my wines, my moscato, have a pot of thai sharksfin soup....

Hi ladies...

my gynae says that mine is 80% a gal... Awaiting for detailed scan towards end of the month... secretly, i was hoping for a boy cos i have two nephews and i find them so adorable...

But on hindsight, there's so many things to buy for gals.... and i think i'll go broke buying stuff for the baby cos the things are just so pretty and cute...

I guess at the end of the day, as long as the baby is healthy and guai.. that's all it matters...

And when gals grow up, the bfs will 'dabao' for the future in-laws... haha1

Actually yesterday i ordered laksa and added $1 cockles. But i asked them to cook the cockles thru and thru. My body has natural immunity for hepA all this while so my biggest concern is just food poisoning. Lol! Anyway, i puke most of it out lah. I knew it. I knew it.... Lol

JC, I took my OGTT test on sat, nurse say result will out today. Hope I can pass. Btw, I still drink orange juice but no Sugar added. Dunno ok anot. Took 3 blood test and 3 urine at one hr interval.

Chiro, my 4D is a package at $300. Gynae will record it in a cd every visit i go. Consists of 4 photos and 2 video. If position gd will give u more images.

Fabbie, good luck for ur details scan tml.
Ya still thinking wanna no 3 anot....

Fool4love, yes, gals many things to buy. I sew alot for my kids. Boy: i sew berms, pj. Gal: skirts, dresses, rompers, bloomers, berms..... More things to sew for gals. Lol!!!

mami B: Wow! you are so domestical... think my kids will probably be naked if they ever wait for me to sew any thing for them... haha!

ya! i was out window shipping yesterday and i saw soooo many cute clothes for gals... but being that this is my #1, i dont know how to pick and choose the size... so hubbs and i looked at each other and said that we will buy after the detailed scan...

Bbkk, OGTT is glucose test?
My gynae didnt arrange me to do the test, so a bit worry if I have high blood sugar i oso dunno.
I only do urine test everytime visit the gynae, tat's all. is it enough ?