(2013/05) May 2013

JC: cos that time I lazy to wash bottles, then I was so into latching that I insisted on latching my bb at the beginning. But I gave up after awhile, cos I dun have perserverance. I switched to pumping and bottle feed. Some mummies also do direct latching, after that still pump out the milk. I have a lot to learn about bfing too.

charliebrown : PM u already. i no commission one hor. just find she not bad.
i hope the paternity leave will be approved too!

JC: bf is a tough tough job. if no perserverance, its very difficult. the nipples will be quite sensitive after labour initially. but it will get season as time goes along.

eh...u can use both bottle and latching. u will get this special bond that only u and baby will have one...its very touching de.

my both babies i latch and bottle all the way since birth. no nipple of bottle confusion.
some ppl insist no bottle and use cup feeding..
sorry i find it waste of time.

talking about bf i can go on and on i think...lol

2Ks, thanks.
When will the lactation consultant check our breasts? After delivery? Will they tell me coz I have inverted nipples, I cant breastfeed? Coz thinking when to get the breast pumps...if later end up cannot breastfeed then waste money..

sleepyskies: the lactation consultant will come usually after u go back your room but during office hours only. but TMC nurses are also very good in bf. those older ones. '
who said inverted nipples cannot bf...can, just the baby cant latch but u can still pump out your milk.
pump every 3 hourly.
actually pumping will ask the brain to produce more milk at a specific timing.
but for latching, it will only send signal to your brain to produce the amount that baby is drinking. after awhile u wanna pump after latch also not much already.
hope u understand what i meant

i did c sec but i am already walking ard the house most of the time when i reach hm.

hubby took 2 weeks of leave and i ve help frm MIl but still it is very tiring wif no much rest in btw.

i wld wake up every night to pump n latch, wash, etc, is very tough if only you and hubby, and if hubby nt very confident to handle a new born by himself then you ve to be the one to do most of the things as in my case.

fabbie: my hubby is one of a kind gotta direct straight onto the face then he knows otherwise u hint hint only he heck care. Then u know lah sometimes direct day out sian already. Hubby say if girl gotta buy new wardrobe juz for her and he say I can buy until broke.

iko: I worse I juz burp out whenever I feel like it and its loud a d long kind. Sometimes even in front of my in laws, dun care abt image already. Hahaha.

Bbkk: going MBS hope u're not driving, there's a major event going on there, one of my hubby's colleague valet park then when he ask for his car at 6.30pm, he only manage to get his car at 8.30pm. This sun I'm also bringing my boy's for the mickey show but clash with the marathon so hubby say better take public transport.

And yes until now me same as u will go toilet vomit esp after smelling those fishy smell food like my son's porridge coz he'll have threadfin in his porridge so when feeding him I feel the worst.

Chiro: as wat 2ks mentioned, you have to expect the unexpected. For my hubby he dun really dare to carry the newborn during my #1 as he find him very 'fragile' then scared will hurt him if carry too hard. If u not getting a confinement nanny, will be good if at least u can get ur aunt of whoever is experienced with babies to help out abit.

nlimm: I have reduced my food portion but still feel bloated and is after every meal and some more burp already got the smell of the food, feel so disgusted.

sleepyskies: I can understand, tat time we went for sharksfin then had this fish maw fry with prawns, after finish eating I went home and throw out everything and from there I nvr touch that throughout my whole preg period.

JC: every baby quite different, like my #1 will wake up at least once but during his first mth I do not have nanny for 3days then dunnow wat happened to him keep crying in the end I kept giving him milk which I know it's not good for him but that's the only way to stop him crying. As for my #2, I more lucky he slept through the nite since he's 2 mths till now. He'll only wake up when he has blocked nose.

Good to let bb suck to stimulate and have better supply, what some of the mummies did was to introduce bottle like 2wks before going to work. Then slowly they will get use to bottle.

rejoy: my gf told me c sec better dont walk too much for the risk of the wound or what leh...
a couple of them keep lying down, cos some too pain to walk.
your tolerance for pain must be damn high

2ks & Charliebrown - Thanks for your opinion and advice =) Yea now no experience, and really dunno what to expect. Now is all just visualization, helping bb to change diapers, bathing, feeding. But body and mind must take it also.

Me and hubby are the kind not comfortable with stranger in the house. So really mixed feelings.

chiro: me too initially...but i was really glad to hv my CL. i can take a nap in the afternoon, focus on building my supply. after pump my parts and bottles just put in kitchen, wake up got breakfast, got tea got dinner prepared. dont need to wash clothes wash dishes, and the herbs prepared daily for me to wipe down/bath. plus dont have to wipe baby pipi for that month and dont have to bath him.
can watch my korean show in the afternoon and midnight no need to wake up for that 28 days...
LOL
so i will still get a CL this round.

i had c-sec for my first one. First few days really can't move at all. Partly becoz i kiasi, scare the wound will open, and also becoz its really pain, even with slight movement. my gynae actually wanted me to try standing up by the second day, but i really can't and i dun dare coz its still pain. on the third day, once i manged to get out of the bed, i try to sit on the sofa and not go back to the bed liao. the bed at tmc is so high, to move up and down is a chore, and i think my height already average liao, but i think find the bed too high. after the third day, i almost cant feel the wound liao. but was still advised to have more bed rest becoz of the c-sec and epidural.

as for confinement nanny, i also think its good to have one to help out. as first-time mums, we will need alot of rest and help. its not easy to wake up a few times in the night to handle the newborn, and to look after the newborn for the whole day. so, its really good to have an extra pair of hands to help out, esp with the cooking, cleaning etc.

chiro
same here. last time i wasnt keen on getting a confinement nanny partly becoz i dun feel easy having a stranger around the house. but really no choice lor. have to tahan for that 28 days.its really better if you can get some help so that you can have your well-deserved rest

worried : did you put binder after the C-sec? Still pain ah?

i also not uncomfortable with stranger.

Thanks 2Ks, I get what you mean.
Was worried that I cant breastfeed if I really have inverted nipples..but at least now I know I can still pump and feed the baby.
Yup, I heard thats the reason why some women pump after latching...to make the brain think that there's alot of demand, so it will create the supply. haha. Our body is so amazing.

jc
yes, did put the binder. but maybe becoz its my first time, so the first 2 days was really very very pain. so pain that i dare not even move, only very very slight movement only....

actually i dun think my pain tolerance is high leh, cause when i went for my checkup, the doc check my pelvic and i wld go ouch ouch, then he told mi to ask for epi straight when i gt admitted.

bt seriously i feel discomfort but no pain at all even in the hop. when i go hm the first day, i still walk ard here n there to pack things in the room cause too messy, cant stand it.

bt i think really depends on individual body.

i also dun like to ve stranger in the house but after the 1st, i told myself i muz ve a CL for the next baby or else think i wld go into depression. I cried almost everyday during my no. 1.

rejoy: why u need to csec for your 1st one?
i also cried almost daily when first few days dont have CL. then i realized hor my eye degrees increased. always hear old folks say but didnt believe it till i really face it.

oh, i think it is better to bring a binder to the hop, even for Natural.

for me, cause i already nod i might need to ve C sec so i bought my binder wif mi. bt even natural, u never nod, and i think it is ok to put on the binder even for natural straight after the birth?

at 40 weeks, i did not even dilate 0.1cm, doc say even induce, chance of success natural delivery is slim, then check my baby heartbeat not very good. so doc ask mi to go for C sec immediately. true enough, according to the doc, the cord is surrounding my baby neck when born. (dun nod true anot) but if it is true then i really thank the God for the blessing, cause if i ve gone for natural i wld need to go for C sec in the end oso cause of the cord surrounding her neck.

yes..my colleague was saying..tell the doc to put the binder immediately after birth.

i think u can charge it to the hospital bill and claim or something.

aiyo..talk about this kind of things abit scary leh. cannot imagine when come to 'graduation' loh

rejoy: is the baby purplish when out? my boy was purple colour when he was out and he did not immediate let out a cry until the nurse smack him lightly. he also had his cord tangle at his neck. but luckily my gynae used vacuum him out when he see something is wrongly. but my elder one head shape not very nice one

2ks, that m nt sure. cause i opt for full GA upon advice frm the doc. Hubby says when they bring the bb out for him to see, the bb is already clean up.

my bb cord is also surrounding his neck! i didn't know this is so common. actually during checkup gynae already told me. but he say not a big issue. but in the end, the cord is causing distress to bb, thats why i need to go for emergency c-section. i was not on full GA, but i think bb was normal color when he came out

Chiro: Hb n I also used to just 2 of us at home but after hearing from several friends, CL is like an essential if money is not an issue and you get someone good. I am so thankful of my CL! Like 2K said, I can focus on building up my supply and rest. Really must avoid touching much water and lie down to rest (coz I act smart did some cleaning near end of confinement then the hands super numb for many days and I thought sitting down and walk a little is ok but kena bad back ache). Life after CL left is crazy! I am an exclusive pumping mum and hb was tied up with some major event going on then. The cycle at night every 3 hourly is feed and burp baby, change diaper if poo,pump for 30 mins, wash pump parts and bottle (almost 2 hours gone) then cat nap for one hour b4 next cycle starts. Hence, I book my CL the moment I know I'm pregnant as good CL gets booked within the 1st 3 months. As CLs are outsiders, you can dictate what and how they do things. However, its not so for parents or in laws and with our unstable moods, a lot of friends had problems with parents n in laws n constantly crying and quarrelling/depressed during confinement.

My Angel is Back: Due to some cock up by hospital, I didnt get my Oscar test result when I saw my gynae. If you have the report, you would see a row of expected ratio based on your profile (age etc) vs your actual ratio. So its this comparison with the expected ratio with actual ratio that would tell us whether its high or low risk. Paisay. My #1 reports all in storage and yet to receive my #2 report so hard to show you.

Sleepyskies: I had short nipples and my gal refused/can't latch well. First day already screaming for milk. After a few futile attempts, I asked for the hospital pump and started pumping to build up supply and hence became an exclusive express mum. But I must say Parkway East LC is terrible! So sad they changed LC since my friend's deliery earlier in the way. Whether short or inverted nipples, breastfeeding is not an issue. To comfort myself, I don't have the problem of getting my gal to adapt to bottle feeding (my friend's son rejected bottle and rather starve while mum is at work and now at 18 months, super skinny) and I always know how much my gal drinks. No comfort latching for her as some babies just latch n latch n mummy no rest at all.

JC: You don't have to buy the binder from hospital. You can get from Watson etc. From what I understand, csec mums are recommended to start wearing binder immed after delivery to support their waist. As for myself, I only started wearing when I commenced post natal massage.

Novsnow,
my #1 is oso induced one. Deliver week 40 at her EDD on the dot. My friends told me I should hav waited for 1 more week. Hope, that this time I dun need to induce… really hope to experience the natural process as much as possible and hopefully no epidural.

Iko0508,
My bump showed much earlier this time. My colleagues described as balloon inflated b4, now loose liao.

Chiro,
I book my confinement nanny 2 weeks back. She was my previous, find her ok. Although its costly, I think its worth to engage one. I remember when I had #1, I had hard time adjusting to an new addition. Need to cope with tiredness, infection pain, breastfeeding supply and engorgement problems. Gd to have her ard to take care of bb and cook. Lots of relatives came and visited during confinement and had lot of comment of this and that. I was quite affected by their comments that I became very emo that time, she would come and counsel me. So worried I would get postnatal depression. Really glad to have her ard and I even extended her for 40 days this time.

JC,
Its gd to let bb to suck to improve the supply. But I I think my latching not gd plus bb bites, I got injury at my nipples and bled. So I pumped out in the end. Have to pump frequent to achieve gd supply. Btw I put binder only after I did massage. I felt so hot and uncomfortable in it.

rejoy: will u opt for epi c-sec this round then? at least can see your baby once he/she is out?

TIE: i also have the numbing fingers problem u know! but miracle is when the CL take over everything and i get to rest and dont touch water, i recovered. i was almost in same situation with u cos when i had #1, my hub is still studying so i am always alone with the newborn.
and no experience in breastfeeding somemore! it was a horrible experience.
but #2 i managed to control easier...and of cos i got a good CL help la.

Bkk
Thanks for the updating of the table

Ange/Fabbie
Thanks for sharing, am just worried feeling the hard bump.

Griny
Was advised to wait rather than induced to prevent causing any distress to my baby but was more worried if baby too big for delivery, end up e-sect. Hope this time round, we'll have a smooth n fast delivery.

esther
My #1 same as ur #2 slept through at 2months old. Were you worried abt baby having not enough milk, your baby weight ok? My sil commented I should dream feed her as she was still so young haha but i didnt, its a blessing to be able to sleep through.

Confinement Lady
My 1st time employing CL. Is it necessary to meet up before engaging her? What r the questions I need to ask?

Breastfeeding
I fully-latched my #1. Read some mommies here,will stil pump after latching? Is it for better supply?

novsnow: u can telephone her and maybe just asked some questions like what will she do daily and how she will handle your bm...

yes...after i latched my boy, i still go pump out..
its actually to tell my brain to produce more.
cos if only latch, it will only produce how much bb will drink nia...
i noticed if total latch the milk is lesser but its sufficient for baby la.
but i only do it when i am building up my supply. once i know my supply stabilized i dont do that already

novsnow: depending on how long baby latch, if baby latch solid 15 mins each side then i prob pump another 8-10mins.
if baby just latch awhile i will pump 15 mins.

2ks: my #1 also c-sect and #2 also c-sect coz the gap is too close (2yrs) so gynae scared wound inside msy rupture do he din wan to take the risks think this time round also c-sect. The nurse will actually encourage you to walk on the 3rd day and do abit of cleaning. And yes binder is a must to bring it to hospital esp for us having c-sect coz gynae will immediately bind so as to hold on to the stitches.

After that I will still continue to bind everyday for 1mth one reason is the stitches and wound and the other one is make tummy smaller. My GP told me ask hubby help once wan to stick the binder together breath in and ask hubby to pull the binder to the max and paste can make tummy smaller.

novsnow: I remember reading somewhere bb can go up to 12hrs w/o food so I din wake them up in the middle of the nite for milk feed. And usually i will give them abit more like 10-20ml during their last feed so they can last longer. But in the daytime I will definitely wake them up at most 4hrs interval. This is to let them differentiate between day and night. I dun do dream feed becoz scared it will become a bad habit for them asking for milk in the middle of the nite. Some of my friends who try to train they bb by giving them water instead of milk if they wakes up in the middle if the nite so that bb knows if they wake up in the middle of the nite only water no milk so gradually they will slp thru. But this can be done only like they are older ard 6mths. Ya it's really a blessing to be able to slp thru like tat both u and bb have enough rests.

Mummies doing c-sect got a question to ask, my gynae advises to c-sect 2weeks before EDD but I tot of gambling and only c-sect 1week before EDD. Anybody got this experience?

Oh I give them mixture if FM and BM. My supply was not very good even after latching and drowning myself with papaya soup.

Hi mummies, I have sore throat n flu. My GP gave me Zyrtec n the purple logenzes. Wonder if it is okay to take them.

ikuko
when i had flu, my gynae asked me to take piriton or polaramine, never take zyrtec. you may want to wait for other mummies to respond or check wif your gynae b4 u take the medicine. did u tell the gp that u r pregnant?

Hi guys, i just took afew hours to read all the post since 27 Nov, had a good laugh with the penis turn to v story and i really like those sweet daughters stories. I really want a gal too, can u all pray for me? My scan is tmr! Like Bbkk? also also scan tmr? I'm so nevous...

I weigh myself, gain 2kg, not very happy, i look so fat, arms huge and tighs so big, i dunno what happen, mayb it's all the bad fast food. I just went shopping at Moonriver just now during lunch. Tried almost the whole shop, i used to wear S, now S all cannot fit, have to do M or L. The dresses with zip i cannot enter from the bottom, have to wear from the head. Cannot find anything that i look ok in, little bit sad, yesterday's wedding dinner, one person say wa, u gain alot of weight u know, i feel like shit then

Will update tmr, get well soon, those mummies with flu and ms
Jia you

Fruitloops, u are preggy not fat... it is common that you cant fit in all the clothes that you used to be able to fit in... understand how u feel when ppl comment that you are fat. bt u ve to tell urself it is all worth it.. you are carrying a little precious, dun get too upset,it is not good for the baby... baby will get upset as well

Fruitloops: agree with rejoy, for me this is the only time I wear tight fitting clothings to show off my tummy. Hahaha. Dun worry u will slim down. Thinking of the bb inside makes all worth it.

wah im so tired.. went round n round at friso event. LOL and i bought the 5+1 set! not bad.. 1 tin is 33.. so u buy 5 tin got 1 tinfree. and free tshirt.. and 5 dollar voucher so if u add up.. u only spend 160 for 6 tins. okai la hor. lol and they will deliver to ya house!

iko: ya my nipple also very sensitive very scare pain haiz.. but i see liao very irritating! lol

BBK: is it? she is my 1st Masage lady my frd intro me so i use lo and she is quite cheap. so okai la.

nlimm: yup she told me about her price $50 bucks per 1hr.. last time 2008 im using her hers is not $50 leh. i think is lesser and is more than 1hr.. if im not wrong. maybe now business good le.. everything need to cut short n increase $ anyway is good that she help my #1 to bath and massage that time..

esther: wah.. buy a new wardrobe sia... LOL

Thanks sleepyskies n worried79, think.i better dont take the medication in this case. Yes, i did tell the gp i am pregnant.

Iko, actually, i took one pill already then went to.nap. Hopefully,nothing bad will.happen to bb. I also did some readings on zrytec, its classfied under cat b which should be safe but i think i better heed the other mommies' advices n stopped taking.

Also, luckily, now i feel better after one pill.

rejoy => what the doc ask mi to do the last time to prepare my nipple for breastfeeding is to rub some stretch mark cream on the nipple then use cotton wool dip in warm water and place it on top of the nipple around 5-10 mins before bathing. During bathing, wash it off so that the nipple's 'hole' are clean, no blockage.

have u try before??? cus abit werid to put stretch mark cream on the nipple haha

Chiro/ 2ks/rejoy/worried:
Mine csec for #1 too n only till day 3 then I get down the bed coz no choice the nurse said definitely need remove the urinal bag n ask me go toilet pee. It's very very painful . And even when I discharged then, I can straighten totally as its very painful on the wound. Then it continued for abt 2wks for me . I think depends on ur body recovery system on wound healing too, some ppls fast some slow

TIE:
Thankyou. Ohya I forgot abt tt. I still have my #1 report shall go see the chart.

Esther/ c sec:
Oh my Gynae nvr tell me need 2 wks in advance , she only said date can only plan in 3rd trim depends on the development of the baby . I'm actually hoping for 3rd June ( my Hb birthday), but I heard alot mums said their #2 all early by ard 2 wks leh it tt so ?

Fruit loop:
Yalar like wat rejoy n Esther said u ok la , me too can't wear my clothes aldy long agoooo but all baggy top n maternity bottom

Iko:
No idea leh I din dare to take just drink alot water coz I read somewhere b4 certain lozenges can't take

Ikuko:
Don't take Zyrtec . Piriton can. But if can let it recover by itself ba. Though I bot piriton but nvr take hehe usually I give myself a day or so to recover if cant then I take. So far it subsided or home after 1-2 days.

Fabbiee:
Wah so nice!! U opted for her to massage ur #1? Usually need pay extra if opt for baby massage too.

Happy Saturday!!

fabbie: of coz need to get new wardrobe now staying with in laws I only got 1 cupboard and need to accommodate the clothings of 4 of us.

nlimm: ya my #2 was c-sect at 38wks. Think Gynae scared contraction then gotta do emergency bah, I'm also not too sure. The reason I wan to delay 1more week us becoz I wan to feed bb as I realise bb inside my tummy can absorb all the nutrients.

Haha just back home. Pondering if to bring my boy Watch dinosair train later

Esther:
my #1 was csec on 39th wk partly is I can't endure my tailbone plus pelvis pain so bring forward. I'm told try let bb be in tummy as near to 40wks as possible for all parts to be well developed b4 out in our polluted world.

Iko:
Yes I gOT mine fr guardian pharmacy. U need bring ur ic they need record down ur name n ic nos n Hp nos, some pharmacist don't need u to show ic just write down for them coz it's ctrl drug Im told.