(2013/05) May 2013

i think i am probably one of the few that didnt do oscar. i didnt do for #2 so #3 also not doing.

opening i think i gave $28, closing i gave $50

from what i know agency CL, the agency charge u $2.3, the CL only takes $1.5 or so

Charliebrown, I dun have leh, just random got it from friend. Day time CL like quite difficult to get...maybe u can post in forum to ask.

Bbkk and 2KS: tks for sharing the opening & closing angpau rate!

2Ks,: wat did u encounter with the "P" agency ? might share share with us?

Iko:
Ermm then better go Gynae get the med , high chance is infection again. The last time I got itchy n fishy smell but discharge is white it's also infection.

Ikuko:
Welcome back . The 3 yo not gog cc? If maid, unless a capable one if not more of a burden then help

Bbkk:
I been wearing recently coz keep sneezing n whenever I sneeze I wet my panty
now finally flu gone after 5 days then seems like cough coming sigh. I refused to take any medicine now coz still in 1st trim so recovery slow too

Tsm/2Ks/bbkk:
Mine also fr Malaysia but don't need apply. They just come in but need go back every 28-30 days so eh for mine this round I get her to help for 2 mths, so after the 1st 28 days she will go back for 1-2 days then come out again . Mine meet me at hospital to carry bb for me coz mine then csec I can't even straighten to walk. I think I give her $28 for opening n she give my #1 angbao too then closing $200/$280 coz then her rate considered very low at 1.8K n she helps me with all household chores inclusive my hb's , sometimes she goes nearby mkt to get last min essential for me but can't take $ fr me so we bao bigger.

Vi:
Wah 1l within 2 hrs@-@

bbkk: all in moderation is fine for me. like once every month, i think its ok de.

tsm: i engaged a CL from P agency, and i specified that i wanted this CL (used by my sis before). when they come collect deposit, everything ok ok ok. i even told them beforehand i got dogs, so must send a CL who is not scared of dogs.
my waterbag burst during 37 weeks so i got to call them right. they told me why i delivered so early and cannot arrange the CL that i had specially requested for. okay fine, i just take whatever CL they send.
on the day discharged, upon calling and calling, the appointed CL only came at 2pm. i was discharged at 12noon. reached hm 12+
when she came, she showed me a black face, said my house is very big and she dont like the dogs. and requested to go home. okay fine, i called the person in charge and told them, and they did not replaced a new CL for me immediately! they said on hand their CL is not available and asked me to wait a few days. how can i dont have CL on the day i discharged.
and they said they will refund me the deposit.

like that also can?? very bad for a reputable agency, when i pay deposit everything also can.

nlimm: wah..your CL very nice to meet you at hospital leh.
ya 1.8k is considered low already. cannot find in the market now i think.

thank you for the advice on the ang bao rate....

my doc didn ask mi if i wanted to do, he juz tell him next visit do oscar. I did for no 1 so think will do for no. 2. :0

nlimm: yr CL so nice! I hope my CL could meet me in hosp too. tis is the other option for me whether to apply WP for CL le, tks for yr sharing!

2Ks: wah they really too much loh! if me i definitely piss off but oso panic de. have to aware of this irresponsible agency !

tsm: 2nd baby already so i not so panic. cos i know whats going on and what to do with the baby.

1st one lagi cham, my mum so called do confinement for me, but she doesnt know the confinement requirements one (all my friend said my friend said). dont even know how to take care of baby and make milk.
imagine, i was crying on the day i discharge and still wash clothes.

Bbkk: ok, thanks.

I abit fear of getting confinement lady leh, yet I feel I need one. But I heard so many nightmarish stories I scared. Cos my first confinement also nightmare. If the confinement lady is bad, the mother will be super stressed!

charliebrown: I had a bad encounter with my first confinement lady but I tolerated her 28 days and gave her the boot. I booked her for 2 months. I hope this confinement lady will work out well for me.

2ks, understand how you feel about CL not being there on the day of discharge. My CL also came a day late. I don't even know how to take care of baby at night. Me and hubby were so confused. That was a very irresponsible agency lor..

Congrats on those knowing gender! Going for gynae appointment tmr. Must talk to baby ask baby cooperate with gynae haha

Had a talk with hubbs yesterday. We are inclined towards having a day-time CL also... He's thinking of asking my MIL whether she has any friend who can helped out(which i'm not very keen). Told hubbs that i want someone who can do everyone that's stated in the list and not for me to guide cos i will be super tired then...

then was irritated by his reply when he said "how would you know how tired you will be when you have never given birth?" -__-"
He added that all the painful stuff and how tired things are are hearsay from other people... so i should take it with a pitch of salt...

then i rebutted "of course la! you are not the one giving birth!"

Anyway, back to the CL issue. Anyone has any idea how/who to approach for day-time CL?

Why Do we need to give opening n closing angbao? It's my first time engaging.. so not sure e procedure.. haiz! I've placed deposit with e cl but she hasn't replied if she received.. dunno Izzy run away with my money liao.. Haha!!

I'm also blur lo.. the reason y I've so much discharge is cuz I'm having bad yeast infection again.. aiyo!!! Need to insert presseries again!! Gynae asked me to cut down on sweet stuff.. Sobs! No desserts for me..

fool4love: give birth is no joke. the men simply cannot understand.
my hub only managed to feel me carrying the load of baby when we went for mrs wong baby class. the papa were made to carry a load on their tummy.
it not easy for 1st time mummies esp coping with the pain, up or down there, breastfeeding (tough task!) and coping with a tofu (newborn).

i know there are some local CL who does day time duties. maybe u can try those agencies or TMC, TMC might have. but then hor, the rates for day time nanny and full day nanny might not be lot of difference on price

iko0508: its a requirement to give opening & closing ang bao leh. some said its for luck. but amount up to u la. for me i feel if give starting ang bao the CL will be more happy why not.

pregnant women are very prone to yeast infection. i had it too during #1 time

Yeah is no joke giving birth and having to take care of a newborn! Even as a 2nd time mummy, i think i need to do some refresher course by reading up on how to take care of a newborn, cannot remember much, cos my memory is very bad after giving birth :p

What other CL agencies are not good? Other than the P one?

iko: I had yeast infection in my 2nd tri last pregnancy. I was also given the pills to insert. And must drink lots of water to clear away the infection. This yeast infection is common but we must be careful too.

2Ks: where u attended the baby class? Any fees and info?
It sound like quite interesting to let our hubby "try" to carry a load themselves! keke

Prenatal courses: any mummies here wil take this course? wat to learn from the course?

tsm: most hospital have. TMC or MT A both have. think around week 20 then can start enrolling.
price i think $200+?
u can call tmc parentcraft to check. although the info might not be 100% relevant, but its still ok to get some info la..

eg. teach u breathing techniques when u are giving birth, but hor, when the real thing comes, pain until cannot remember how to breathe la!

charliebrown: maybe i am just the suay one la. there are some others who still uses them like my sis.

but i am lucky to be able to find a good agent who supplies me with last minute CL and good ones.

2Ks: "pain until cannot remember how to breath", haha really??!
omg, dunno whether I can tahan the pain or not?Somemore I plan for natural delivery!

I think I may need to check with my hosp too for the prenatal course...

Now I worry no one accompany me on my deliver day coz my hubby have to go for reservist on end of April. If only me alone, I sure be very scare and cry one....

tsm: everybody threshold for pain is different. u can tahan pain one or not?
if cannot just opt for "happy dural" lor.
thats what alot of my ex threads mummies does.
some have long labour, no epi think cannot tahan the long labour.

reservist can postpone one, your hubby got relevant reason.
when i was admitted due to threatened "pre-term" labour, my hub was also on reservist, but he managed to get exemption from his head.

2Ks/Tsm:
Ahhh 2Ks wahhh tts a terrible agency!!! U managed to get a CL after how many days then?
Mine initially wasn't tt smooth also. Actually supposed to get another one which frd recommend gd end up can't come last min when my Hb call her during my delivery date coz of her own family issue . Then she recommended this one initially we very doubtful but no choice if don't take we be without CL when I discharge . Fortunately she's gd & then her rate1.8K is also gd le in 2009, but my #2 next yr she's charging me 2.2K so this round Ang bao be smaller ba since so ex n we getting for 2 mths.

Fool4love:
Wahh err ur Hb abit off leh, but again is u both #1 right? Mine then also been psycho by my mil tt don't need CL as she did without too y I need. Then I told him off lor that unless hes gog to do all household chores inclusive taking care of baby then we can do without. I asked him to go imagine himself tt I'm gog to be cut n deliver the baby out leh , even he had a bad fall also ache for days can't expect me to do everything for at least the 1st 1-2 wks . Then I grumbled to a common frd n she went to relate to him how painful it gog to be after discharge etc. Then after CL left again the same thing listened to my mil tt taking care of infant is chicken feed, I'm a 1st time mum then n I'm home alone to take care of my #1 after CL left. I had slight depression then lor . And I make him go take care of bb when he's home fr 30 mins to 1 hr to 2 hrs to let him feel how 'chicken feed ' it is as claimed as his darling mummy. Since then when his mum said easy, he be the 1st to bombard her back haha. Let the men feel it then they knows how ' easy' they thought it is.
As for daytime CL, I can't help much coz nvr heard of wo

Iko:
It's just to have some Ji Li signification la to welcome her to our family n angbao fr her to our baby as good health & grow ba

Prenatal course:
I nvr attend b4 leh

nlimm: yes! for both pregnancies, i managed to get last minute CL.
#1 time, my MIL decided to get me a CL when she heard me crying over the phone when talking to her. she paid for my CL. CL came 2 days later and oh my, i was relieved. my fingers finally got back some feelings. was numb for few days.

#2 time, i also managed to call the agent (actually was the same agent for #1 time, but i lost the contact), and she sent me a CL 2 hours later. Oh my, i was relieved man. cos i actually abit panicked if i cant get one then how.

so for #3, i am getting back the same agent. i had requested for the same CL that did my #2, but if dont have others also can, cos i believe in her.

2ks: yup ur correct...
I can tahan pain person but for delivery really cant imagine how pain it will be...
hopefully I can tahan and deliver without epidural.

Wat to interview CL b4 engage her?

tsm: if the labour is not like 10/20 hours kind, i think still bearable. my both deliveries i didnt take epidural.
1st one was induce, 2nd one waterbag burst.
1st one 5 hours, 2nd one 2 hours.

sorry cant help cos i never interview CL. but for me, i focus on food also, so i will ask her what can she cook, and how she handle bm and breastfeeding. just ask few questions on what she do daily lor.

nlimm:

Ya lo. Our both #1. So i dunno what to expects and i guess he knows that i tend to listen/read what people say and believe it. So when people say that it's TOUGH wo a CL, super painful and tiring after the birth (esp for the 1st two weeks) i would tend to believe it as well... he's more skeptical in that sense and thinks that since his colleague can do it with help from the mum only, i should be able to do it too and he will help...

I dont know whether guys think that it's too easy or i'm just thinking too much into it and being a worrier... haiz...

was telling a friend about the suggestion of having a daytime CL instead of a 24/7 one. she encouraged me to get a 24/7 one as the tiring part will be at night and not in the day and the baby will sleep most of the time in the day

My first labour was less than 2hrs without epidural.
Now I am damn scared dunno I will be longer than that or need epi another.. Very stress

Bbkk: 2 hours! thats fast! I read that the second time labour will be faster than the first time labour?

fool4fool: I feel that both daytime and nighttime caring for bb is tiring. cos daytime bb needs so many feeding, and newborns poo almost after each feed, so need change diaper. And with the burping, pumping, washing, sterilising, etc. I think it is v tiring day or night. Some more we are advise to pump every 3hours or so..by the time mummies can rest, the routine start all over again.

Ya man I scared I shorter than tat means I not enough time to reach hospital. If longer than that I scared I cannot tahan and need epi, I die die dun wan epi

bbkk: 1st child and yr labour is 2 hours is very fast u know!
so far i heard all 2nd time mummies had fast labour.

charliebrown: my gynae said 2nd labour will be faster than first one. and 3rd one will be even faster.
so that means i dont have time to bath too lor.

fool4love: just to share my experience with you on my confinement without CL, with MIL helping.

My MIL is one of the nicest MIL in the world, i feel but i fall into slight depression when m doing my confinement with her helping me. My mil has already lost touch on how to take care of a new born, so everything have to learn from scratch.

she do not know how to bath the baby and generally not very sure how to take care of a new born.

so end up i have to bath my newborn on the 2nd day i am discharge from the hop, my hubby did help bt m the one doing the actual bath, etc. i have c sec, and i still have to bend and bath her, etc, etc.

not much help from the hubby on taking care of the baby, so most of the time, i am the one taking care, so not much rest. My mil help me to look after her sometime, but being a daughter in law, i dun 'dare' to really ask her to do things or ask for her help, so end up most of the things i am doing, so not enough sleep, tired most of the time. I dun dare to zzz too long or rest too long oso

generally i feel, if it is MIL helping to do confinement, unless she is experience, i feel it wld be difficult. cause for mi, i am like afraid to ask mil to do things or she look after baby and i zzz.

just my 2 cents worth.

2Ks/Bbkk: wow both of u were so fast!
I wish I can like u all, deliver within few hours without epi!
Have to pray hard to God.

Bbkk: y u die die dun wan epi? it it very painful or ...??

2Ks: My first the waterbag break, so i still have time to bathe at home then go hospital..heheh. My labour was about 6 hours with epi. I scared pain!

rejoy: i agreed with u on this. cos it also happened to me on my own mum. she already lost touch on how to take care of a newborn like what u said.
everything she does is listen from her friend one.
she doesnt know about breastfeeding. and keep commenting that i have NO MILK. and said i let her grandson go hungry. baby cries she only know how to handle but dont know what is the problem.
dont know how to feed baby and also dont know how much baby should be drinking.

i also had slight depression man!

tsm: i also dont want epi one lor. for 1st child, saving money is my priority. if can tahan 1st one without epi, 2nd one should be ok.

charliebrown: i like waterbag burst. although its freaking messy and wet, but i prefer that...lol
my 1st one was induce, waterbag burst by gynae. its painful lor.

my first baby, one day before my due date, my cervix is not even open 0.1cm when i go for my check up. the doc ask mi if i wan to induce bt giving birth naturally successful rate less than 30%, ask mi if i wan to wait. so i opt to wait but when the doc check the heartbeat, find that it is not very good, so ask mi to go for C sec imm. Fortunately i went c sec, the cord is surrounding my bb neck.

this time, the doc told mi most likely this baby would be the same, cause ur body condition wld not change suddenly. so i am preparing for C sec this time round too. :0

2Ks:
Wa fortunately! Numb fingers! I totally rem mine too so numb I'm told coz of the wind in our body after delivery, mine too for my feet n my cl ask me wear those home slipper whole day don't ever step nude footed on our tile flooring.

Tsm:
Err can't help too I nvr interview also

Fool4love:
I feel u shd get 24/7. Then mine is so tiring and i heard sama for a few of my Frds too usually those with boy baby, mine up after ard30 mins zz day time n night time every 1-2hrly, I'm glad then I got CL . Night zz very impt. My CL only wake me up at night when milk feed but I'm quite a light sleeper so I know when my baby up but at least I don't need to go over n Jaga .
If ur mil is gd with cooking n taking care of baby, and tell ur Hb that at least for 1st wk or 2 he / mil gog to Jaga the baby, is he prepared for it? If my Hb can said its not easy after trying I can say 80% of the men population can't take it coz my Hb is aldy those who don't mind wash toilet bowl, do our household washing, vacuuming mopping ,cooking & marketing. He's a light sleeper too so once baby cries for a period of time n yet to stop, he be right over to Jaga too.

charliebrown: its very demoralising rite. CL said still not so bad, can turn a deaf ear. but my own mum who said it leh.
for #2 one, she dont dare to say NO MILK to me lor.
i bf #1 for 14 months and #2 for 19 months lor.
i remember #1 time my milk only came 1 week later, so i have to sup with FM, but 2nd one, i managed to stay FM free cos bm came much faster

hi ladies...

wow! that's also my concern... nearly got into an arguement with hubbs yest when i said that i dont want to be the one teaching the caregiver what to do... and to have my mil's friend come over and if she doesnt know what to do, i would have to spend more effort teaching both and not just one! i would go mad!

then he rebutted me and said "how would you know that the CL know how to do? also learn ma!"

then i rebutted "precisely! they are trained already! if they cant even do the list of stuff, then they arent fit to be CL!"

then he kept quiet... i know where my hubby is coming from... but part of me is afraid of the potential conflicts like two aunties in a kitchen, will they quarrel over the cooking method? would they see eye to eye on stuff?

i'm sure the CL will have certain ways of doing stuff while my mil will have other ways of doing things... i'm not sure how 'seasoned' my mil is though she used to be a nanny (that was more than 10 years ago)...

i told hubbs that things have changed. probably they never have a sterilizer in the past and only depend on hot water... i dont want to teach someone how to wash the breast pump and the entire machine after use... cos i will be so deadbeat after that....

Tsm,
I dun wan epi cos I set myself target not to use epi. My hub saw I am deeply in pain and asked me to use. I scolded him upside down, I said I told u to forbid me using not encourage me.. Lol.. End up I used laughing gas but no use de I feel..
Seriously if this labour was longer than first, I dunno I will epi anot

bbkk: i think u most likely didnt breathe the laughing gas correctly. if u breathe it correctly, u should feel high high one. then will go into sleep.
u try again this round, inhale deep deep deeply, do it consecutively for 3-5x.

Fool4love,
U tell ur hub, tiring during confinment is not hearsay. It is really not easy. Even a person just discharge from hospital also need rest cos of stitches. Be it csec or natural, we do have stitching, we can't bend too much if not healing will not be recovered. New mummy will be tired cos she is facing stress from breastfeeding and every 3hrs u need to latch or pump u dun have time to rest, next moment u will know u need to countdown from next pump again. Is very demolising.
If u scared 2 auntie cannot meet eye 2eye in kitchen, u will not have eye to eye with ur mil.
I feel if u need CL, ask ur mil to stay out of some stuff and fully let CL do the job. I am sure ur mil also dun let u control over thing her. Just my 2 cents

Hope u can persude ur hub again.

wah wah wah.. u all reminded me of my 16 hours labour for my #1.. my hubby see me in such pain.. he told me that we will stop at 1.. it was madness!! i opt for epi but i was shivering badly (as its one of epi side effect).. when i was fully dilated.. i had NO energy to push liao.. i felt like my ribs were bursting as i pushed.. faint!! then that night after i delivered.. i couldnt sleep.. cuz once i closed my eyes i saw myself in the delivery suite.. now as i think back.. i got phobia man..