(2013/05) May 2013

xuan: i think u are suffering from heartburn already...
like things stuck at chest rite...
its super xin ku lor!
u know this dried rose? u dump few pcs inside warm water and drink. it helps.

sleepyskies: cos our breasts are very cute...our brain controls them anyway...
thus i make it this way that during day time the supply steady and enough, then night time dont generate milk la..
takes time lor...not like today do it 2mr can...need a few days to adjust the breasts.
1st few days really buay sai la...engorged like rocks, got to wake up.

bugaboo is considered ang moh brands...usually taka bb fair dont have ang moh brands or limited ang moh brands.
they usually those peg perego, graco, maclaren, combi, aprica, joolz...
i cant remember whether i seen bugaboo at taka fairs...but 50-50% nia la

sleepyskies/ dian_tang: no eh. morning only ate half a slice of oat bread with cheese and ham. then come work keep burping and feels like vomiting already =(

2Ks: yup. like the vomit feel all stuck at the chest. Super xin ku! I feel like vomiting but ntg come out leh. Dried rose help? Okay. I will go find and make some to drink. really buay tahan the feeling. burp also the vomit wanna come out =X yuck!

Cord blood,
I am planning to donate cord blood this time round. Was quite undecided for my #1 that time then drag and drag until no action at all. Want to do it this time. Hopefully can help others who are in need.

Bb wash,
I used more common brands like J&J top to toe, Kodomo baby bath, Kodomo shampoo.. So far so gd….. Depends on how sensitive is your bb skin, if i will just go for these common brands if bb has no sensitive issues to it.

Wt81,
I would apply nappy rash cream after each change.

Sleepyskies,
My mattress protector is Babysafe breathable kind. I would normally put on most top for easy changing in case it got stained. My way is protect both bedsheet and mattress.

Ange,
Please take care, dun overstain yourself. Rest more if you can.

2K,
Can train not pump in the middle of the night? My breast will get super engorged if dun pump. Plus will leak heavily, if bb cry, leaking worsen. I oso hope that I won’t need to pump in the middle of the night. Maybe I will try your way next time.

Xuan,
I got this heartburn thingy, feel that the stomach fluid coming out and I can feel the burning sensation on my chest, esp when I lie down. I would sit up a while before I lie down.

Waking up in middle of night,
I think its somehow such that our body is preparing us to wake up in the middle of the night.

hi griny, thanks. so u bought the kodomo bb bath and shampoo separately? coz I thought the kodomo bb bath can be used for hair and body oso so that I do not need to buy shampoo separately?

I bot puku mattress protector and they advise to put between the cot sheet and the mattress leh.

even those big mattress for adult, is put between the sheet and mattress wor.

very uncomfortable leh if cover the bedsheet...is plastic plastic type right?

can chk with u guys- i bot the cot sheet + bunker set for cot and they gave us a comforter.

Hence, the comforter is to be placed on top of the cot sheet and the mattress protector rite? will it be too hot for bb?

griny: u know those babysafe mattress protector u better dont always wash it...cos the back backing will 'peel off' if after many wash. and also dont scrub too hard...
otherwise the whole thing will spoil.
anyway baby bedsheets suppose to change regularly mah...

yes...i 'set' my breasts to work that way. first few days bo sai la..then subsequent ok liao. thus when i got CL, i slept thru all the way, no wake up then is total rest.

wt81,

Yes i used separate, but this was when my girl has more hair. When she was newborn, I mainly used the top to toe type or just the baby bath only.
I not too sure abt puke one. Actually my Babysafe one, I oso dunno which layer i should put. So being lazy, I just put at the most top for easy changing, then I dun hav to change the mattress cover. Plus its breathable, my bb won't feel hot when sleeping on it. So far works for me.

2k,
I am aware about the baby safe protector, I hand wash every 3 days if no staining. If not will wash immediately, so far dun need to scrub too hard. Mattress cover is washed once a week. In overall, I am quite a lazy mummy. Just do the easy way out.

hi mummies!!!

super long never login le.. now still peak period.. will post more soon! just drop in to say hi and everybody jia you!

bbkk: not the same.
fridge to go - either have removable panels or built in panels. can last 4-8 hours depending on models

cooler bag - insulated bag with handle, all sorts of size and colours. and got to insert ice packs yourself.

but then some cooler bags does comes with gel pack, got to freeze it also.
but please note insulated cooler bag, are usually not insulated on the bottom and top part. soft also and inside might have too much space for the bottles to move here and there.
and some cooler bag are too short for some bottles.
just have to find the rite one i guess

2Ks: I've rec'd the mail ^^ Anyway ask u ah. usually if we go out, we bring the fridge-to-go/ cooler bag with expressed breast milk right? then just warm them up with a cup of hot water can already? Usually how many bottles of EBM will you bring out??

Hello mummies.. i think im still short of the baby mattress & Bumper set, may i know what tips to look out for and where to get the best deal ?

so long never post here.
will have my checkup tomorrow, and detailed scan again next week.
so happy to see mummies with your loot at the expo sale. did not manage to go as cant take leave on friday, and weekend was very packed!
might drop by at the mothercare this weekend to take a look

mummies talking abt walking up in the nite, i experienced that for my #1 and now..last time gynae says its the bb's way of training us to wake up in the nite, so that next time we will wake up to feed them, not sure how true it is though. but i have also been waking up to pee, and thereafter, quite difficult to sleep again liao...so day time very sleepy and tired

xuan: u mean u received the item i posted yday???? that is really fast...i think singpost is crazy!

its actually up to u. some mummies will just latch on the go, means they dont even need to bring ebm out. so see which u prefer la.
for me, i do both ways...
i see how long i go out lor, 1-2 bottles.
if not enough, i have ready milk mah...

jill: baby mattress u should get babysafe from the fair last week. the price is more than 20% discount one.

i dont use bumper but usually all dept stores do sell the bedsheet in package that comes with bumper. but not cheap lor. $60 and above

wave wave worried 79:
hey i noticed that blk 355 upstairs hor...star learners took over the joy montessori leh...
is it nearer for u? at least no need to take school bus?

2ks,
wave wave! is it called star learners montessori?i noticed they updated this at their facebook page. its much nearer, can save the $120 transport fee, but my mil will have to send and fetch my boy. i think she wont be able to handle him alone, haha.
is the location ok? big? the thing i like abt his current place is, the school is really big lor, ample space for them to run around and play

xuan: dont think and plan too much 1st...
i remember hor..when i had #1, cos new mummy. i dont dare to bring him out for too long! scared i kalang kabok leh...
just prepare the necessary...
ya! its really fast...singpost really crazy at times.

worried79: oic..i dunno is it montessori. but i saw the signage is star learners la.
my boy attend tsien hsia there.

ha...i opp of u. i dont like star learners cos i find it crowded. too big and easier to get virus.
from what i know star learners always have to close when got hfmd

when we warm up the BM, can we just warm using the milk bag? I asked Avent / Pigeon sales assistant, they say must transfer to milk bottle than can warm...i bought the boots milk bag, any idea whether i can warm it directly?

The process is : thaw milk --> transfer to sterilised bottle --> warm milk or should be thaw milk --> warm using the milk bag --> transfer to sterilised bottle?

2Ks: ya lo. I scare I Kalang Kabok when outside leh. LOL!!! =X Later baby cry outside I will kee siao! HAHA!!

JC: where you bought your boots milkbags?

What to pack for hospital bag....

HOSPITAL BAG
1 IC & Doctor admission letter, ROM cert
2 Pajamas gown (front button)(KKH not required)
3 Undergarments (disposable panties)
4 Nursing bras + breasts pad (non-adhesive)
5 Maternity pads
6 Face & bath towels
7 Toiletries : Toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, soap, shampoo, facial cleanser, moisturizer etc
8 Books + magazines (optional... i didn't bring for #1)
9 Fully-charged handphone & charger
10 Laptop
11 Camera + Video camera
12 Mummy go home outfit (if going to hospital outfit is not dirty, can wear back)
13 Baby go home outfit
14 1 pairs of baby mittens + booties
15 1 wrapping blanket

Xuan : i got it when i went BKK few months ago.

i think if alone go out with bb,sure stress. Unless got hubby or someone ard, can help to take care. Especially if go toilet!

Anyone started washing baby clothes yet??? Ydae i went to maid agency to enquire about maids... The waiting time now is about 2 months leh... but I can't wait 2 months... ahhhhh.... 2 months and I will pop liao lor... so i've decided to wash the clothes, mittens, towels and hankies in batches on my own....
my back is going to break again...

oh yes, I am interested to know whether we can warm the milk directly in the milk bag or must transfer to bottle...still v.confused. I need to draw a chart liaos. hahaha

Another qn - if my bb dont like Avent teats/bottles, can I just buy Nuk teats and use on Avent bottles? Or must buy the Nuk bottles + teats??

Xuan - There are people selling boots milkbag on the forum/BP page. 1box @$10 if not wrong. I just ordered 2boxes too.

babymaine: i got bring what u know...
i brought MASK!! wahahahaha....bird nest mask!
and i also brought socks for myself..

TMC dont have to bring wrapping blanket. its provided. and bb will be dressed in tmc clothes and mittens. just no bottom and booties

normally the night before i will take out from the freezer the milk that baby will drink the next day... put in chiller... it will slowly thaw over night... then i'll transfer to bottle and use bottle warmer to warm the milk... actually bm dun need to use hot water to warm up... as long as it's thawed, just warm water will do, hot water might kill off the antibodies etc....

2Ks (mercsboy) - Babysafe is a brand? got any warehouse? Couldnt get it that time cos havent confirm with my in laws the size of baby cot. :p

JC: i wont advice u to thaw milk in milkbags. reason most likely will pour out. and waste of milkbags. cos u can actually store 300ml in the milkbags. and bb wont drink 300ml one time.
so i usually pour out and warm up in bottles.

babymaine: ME ME ME!! i already started washing bb clothes and packed in boxes. i have no maid mah, everything got to do myself...so if i think i do it later hor...
my clothes got to hang until lift lobby there already...LOL
blankets plus swaddles hankies, clothes, mittens, booties...can be ALOT!
tek kor also not enough lor...

jill: yes babysafe is a brand. we shared earlier when the sale is on...
usually size of cot should be 28 x 52 inches la.
i dunno got warehouse or not. kp and taka got sell.
otherwise u wait for taka sale lor. additional 10% for members

2K : so once i thaw, i just pour out what i need to the bottle than warm?

i haven't wash yet leh...so early ah?..still got 2 month plus. My house hoh..the dust like no need $$. Clean already the next day the dust come liao even though my window is close.

2Ks- do we nid to brin face/bath towels during stay in TMC? tot it will be provided?

aiyo i also haven started washing. might start to wash dis wkend liao coz my EDD is early may. mite pop in end apr!

2Ks,
yah, big plus virus....but its all open space. if u remembered, i mentioned my boy always fall sick. even the pd is worried lor. now always give medicine to strengthen his lung. hopefully he will be immune to the viruses soon. but quite difficult i guess, there are simply too many students, and when they have special occassion, they will all crowd around. I think my side there going to open one sparkletots, or something like that...just a few blocks from my place. so will check that out lor, hopefully its cheaper, and can save on transport fee!

lol 2ks you cute sia.

I haven't washed the baby clothes and stuffs. Still haven't buy the ikea cupboard yet no place to put sia.

bbkk - I think cooler bag comes together with most medela pump sets. Can use that one also so the bottles are just nice. Fridge-to-go I also wanna get, seems to be lighter than cooler bags but have to figure which model/size to get liao.

Want to ask mummies what brand of bottle warmer you use and think it's good?

JC: i usually thaw at the bottom of the fridge. then i pour out into bottles and keep in fridge. drink within 24 hours mah.

aiya...cos my energy level is depleting and then hor..i also got my 2 boys clothes mah...alot to wash leh. wash is easy, the thing is no place to hang la...so i wash some 1st lor, then i keep in boxes, covered so no dust will go in la.

bbkk: yr old mittens and NB clothes leh? i bought white colours usually so all can reused back. but i have alot of hands me down that are ALL PINK! my hanging tier all PINK last week.

wt81: yes got to. face towel is provided in the toiletries bag that they give if i didnt remember wrongly but not bath towels.

worried79: sparkletots at which block?
but hor...i heard sparkletots not so good leh.
i have sbw mummies friends all said starlearners good in a way.

chiro: cute ah? hehehe
i would recommend u Philips digital bottle warmer. its the fastest i think...or NUK (hard to buy)
philips warmer can take 3-5 minutes to warm up compared to other brands 15 mins...
and warm 180ml also no prob. less than 10 mins

2ks, my old mittens nb clothes all give away Liao. Waiting for my sil to pass hers to me. But seems like she haven pack yet. I hope before April so I know what I lack off then I can buy. My cot all with her.

bbkk: my MIL bought me some new mittens and booties and nb clothes...then my #2 school the teacher also passed me some all in good condition....but ALL PINK!

i think i gonna be pink overdose soon...

2ks - ah okies thanks! I think i saw philips sterilizer bundled with the warmer at the expo but din buy. $199. See Taka fair got offer anot.