(2013/04) April 2013

mareikebb, might wanna try to keep a plastic bag at ur desk. hope it gets better soon. are you taking any medicine for anti-puke?

ica - oh dear... my gynae told me, whatever I can stomach now, just eat. I guess it's because I've been having quite terrible throwing episodes last few weeks
I'm nearing week 12 real soon... *prays*

Shirley - *hugs* don't think too much about it and take care of yourself k?

Trinity: i read ur few previous post, u r a very strong willed mum, can joke and comfort others here. and I believed with such a positive mindset of yours, u will recover fast n get another baby soon.

i duno ar isit i been desperately thinking of getting preggie past few mths tt let me strike. I everyday will look att ppl bb n preggie tummy. Ppl may see me as crazy but i just help it keep looking!

JIAYOU Trinity and others who suffer a lost. im sure ur baby will come back to u again.

Rach: oo i dun care about the sound. im more concern about the battery cos my office dun haf nursing room. n i dont own a car. so i duno where can i pump in future.

Rachel, I'm at week 10 3d (dreaming of reaching week 12 soon lol)! Previously my EDD was 7 April and there was some discrepency between my LMP and the size of the embryo. But after last visit, gynae said that baby caught up with the growth and EDD changed to 31/3/13. But decided to stick to april thread :D

Mocca: Swing can be battery-operated one..my ofc also doesn't have a nursing room, and one of my colleague didn't wanna pump in the toilet, so she always pump in the meeting room (no door kind), she just put a chair to block the door entrance, and we all also 'zi dong' not to disturb her when she pumps..

Shirelle: 31/3/12 sounds like a nice date! =)

On pumps..

IMHO, please compare not only the price of the pump but on the pump parts as well. Medela may be good but the pump parts are damn expensive to replace. Ameda is pretty value for money and the pump parts are not as expensive as medela. As I already started with medela for my No. 1, I have no choice but to continue using my old ones.

Shirelle, u will be the first few to finish the 1st trim, happy for u!

rach: oo good idea, i think i will use the same method as ur colleague in future.

angela, tks for highlighting on the parts. will take into consideration when buying. still doing HK now, like u all advise, dun buy so early for warranty. prob wait till due time.

i no mood to work, boss not in also . 3 more hours to see my bb =)

my humble personal opinion, i think a good pump aids in breastfeeding and if you intend to bf long, it is worth the investment. but of course get one that you feel comfortable and within your budget.

shirelle, so fast you are approaching 2nd tri! woohoo! i still got 3 more weeks to go.

mocca, you can try using the meeting rooms in your office?

Rachel: If you wanted to get ameda product, wait for the baby fair in taka, i think have better offer and local warranty. Taka Baby fair normally at Mar and sep, i think.

i got a question. will it be possible tt my supply stops? even if i keep trying to feed n squeeze out often. scully we invest so much den end up short supply, alamake...

mareikebb: coincidently, my office is moving to tampines mall area by may next year. which is ard our due date. so still duno how the meeting room will be like. I hope not see through window.

Mocca: In my ex office, I used to stick a few big black garbage bags together to do a screen to paste on the glass door. You may want to get a few from your cleaning lady before you pop. =P

Also, Mocca, supply won't dry up unless you purposely don't pump, if not even if you don't pump for 3 days, there will still be milk, but of course you will suffer bad engorgement by then.

Thks apple_gal!

Mocca, I had very low milk supply when i had my #1, partly becos i wasn't pumping often enough, and I always didn't wake up at 3am to pump (toooo tired as I was taking care of my son all by myself - day & night). Pumping religiously and not being stressed out are the key of having a good milk supply, plus other factors like enough slp/ nutrients etc etc..latching the bb on would establish better milk supply than pumping out as well.

i wonder if my supply will be as good as before..
for #1, i pump exclusively and bottle feed. then as i drag and reduce pumping to prepare to return to work.. i got engorged. got inflammation twice, till i was so scared, in the end i went to doc to get med to stop supply. within 2 days stopped.

angela, rach, piyo: oo thanks for sharing ur knowledge! hmm i think i will try to be hardworking in pumping, the cost of milk powder is freaking me out hahaaa

angela: hahaa the garbage will look funny, i will see how the new office going to be like. I hope they get me to design the new office layout, then i can do smth about it!

Hi Mommies!
I was wondering if should change gynae as i stay quite far from the one im going to now. Any recommendations for Gynaes at West side?

I would like to deliver at Mt A.

Being fickle minded as im quite ok with the current one. And waiting time not to long Just that i find he's too far.

Mocca: Haha the cost of milk powder freaks u out. I think the cost of a baby freaks me out. Can image so many things to buy and I am going to start house renovation (just got the date for the key collection today).

All: How much does it actually cost for the 1st yr of baby supplies?

I also have low milk supply also due to not frquently pumping and latching. My gal is not cooperate enough, as she drink milk double than normal and is 1.5 hourly. I can't enough have enough rest. Somemore day time taking care all myself, not enough rest at all.

Mocca Mama: yes, the Milk powder is very expensive. Just imagine, my gal drink finish 1 tin 1.5weeks, and it costs $80 per tin.

Hmmm I am using mendela mini electric for #1 and it's so noisy .. Bt gonna close factory after this .. Shd I get a better one? The dual pumps all so expensive

lee: hahaa i try not to think of the cost of bringing up now. one at a time..

congrads on getting ur key! but dont get too involved in the reno. the dust n germs is bad for u. dangerous too!

I saw a brochure, one year diaper cost 2.1K a year. not sure how true.

I read it somewhere: the mthly cost of bringing up a newborn = the mommy's one month salary (gross, not bring-home).

For me, we were so carried away by all the gadgets for baby so we bought alot of useless things including those diaper bin whr it's supposed to pack the soiled diaper individually like hot dogs.. totally waste of money! So my advice to first-time mommies here, can save then plse save, spend only on neccesities like milk, diaper, comfortable clothings and good mattress for the baby..the rest are really secondary..

macam: which part of west u stay? i know clementi central there got one women clinic. for me i stays at west coast but my gynae at cck.

re: milk powder and diaper
i already loss count.. haha.. i know my ger in sch use diapers very siong, teacher chang very often. i from using Goon, Huggies, downgrade to use drypers. milk powder from mamil gold change to similac to now drinking Nan gro 3. so far my ger ok.. no issue.. so stick to nan gro.

MTB,

On diapers, I never believe in Mami Poko, Huggies or Pampers. Diapers are just disposables that we simply throw, cheap cheap can liao :p At most let my girls use dryers or whichever on sale. For cheap diapers, can use Fitti, but their smallest size start from M.

Re: diapers
For newborns, they will poo on every feed so u can buy cheaper diapers, I use drypers.
My girl had sensitive skin, when she older and more urine, she gets bad rashes till I change to pampers, then the rashes problem solve.
Absorption wise drypers is quite gd but surface more rough.
Pet pet absorption nt very gd.
Mommy Poko very ex ...
I can't do a proper wrap for huggies, dunno why it always leaks.
So far pampers best...

Hi Piyo, im staying at Jurong west.
Just wondering dunno if its still early to think about,
Is confinement lady a must? i thought of getting my mom to do but scared will get into arguements..

Diapers:

Yes! I also used Drypers when my son was a newborn, then changed to Huggies when he was older. For newborns seriously no point buying those exp ones, since they poo so often. Huggies i heard if u use on a bb girl, it would always leak but it worked well for my son, no diaper rash at all!

I have tried using cloth diaper though, but gotta be very hardworking in washing then folding them so in the end I gave up although it could save us money..

Mocca Mama: I remember my no 1 on the 1st few month, she finshed 1 packet of pamper in 1.5 weeks. still using cloth diaper.

breastfeeding needs alot of determination and strong mentality. the trial comes esp in 1st 2 months with low supply and engorgement. engorgement will make you want to give up. regular latching/ pumping is very important. there are also supplements that you can take to increase milk supply as well.

i like to use Pet pet diapers for day for newborns coz sure will poo after every feed. petpet so far is cheapest i think. night time i use huggies for my #1.

Haha I was thinking of buying those supermarket house brands for new born this time round keke my poor baby bottoms kekeke ;P

I agree Pampers is the best!

My gal used Pet Pet and got very bad diaper rash. Huggies and Drypers leak like mad. Mamy Poko no problem but my pocket one big hole.

Maybe my gal got expensive butt.

Re Diapers: I tried nepia for my girl, but it tends to leak. In the end, I bought pampers newborn for the first 3 months. Switched to huggies after that. My cousin's wife bought loads of pampers for my girl from msia (she said it's much cheaper) but the "stickers" weren't very sticky. My girl had no diaper rash since baby, but i guess it's cause we clear her diligently every hour!

Angela: I am using mamy poko for my gal now, always brought during offer. During new born, she use fitti, ok for her, she try huggies and dryers, got rashes.

Just to share, when buying diapers, divide the price of the diaper with how many pieces. Eg. $29.90 / 120 pcs (for 2 packs) = Price per piece. Usually for me, eg. for L size, if one piece is more than $0.30, I won't buy, but if it's $0.29 I will buy.

The bigger size the diapers, the more exp they are (cos less diapers in the pack ma)...are your kiddos toilet-trained at night yet? It would save alot of money!

Rachel: Not yet for toilet train at night, childcare also not toilet train her yet. During day time at home, she will go pee and poo by herself.

apple: Now Mamy Poko after promo also very ex at $0.32 per piece. Sigh, I think the dragon babies hike up the prices of everything.

Also, another tip, I use the same formula for wet wipes as well. So far I find that Kodomo wet wipes during watsons promo is value for money and will swap the whole carton home. Coz during Watsons promo, it'll be $2 per item, buy 10 get one free. That means $20 for 11 packs of 70. If I get one carton, it'll be $22 for 12 packs of 70. So one piece costs $22 / 144 pcs = $0.15 per piece.

Sorry, I'm very giam when it comes to diapers and wet wipes, so I will calculate every piece and make sure I'm saving money to the max. =P

Rachel: My gal also not trained yet. She will tell me she pee/poo after she has done her job. Sigh. And she resists the potty, so I'm thinking of trying to train her slowly and not force her into it.

For wet wipes my hubby very picky
He only want to use pigeon as its the only brand he can take out 1 piece at a time properly and no smell :D
I make him change ieper most times haha do no complains

I will always look out for diaper promo at ntuc if gd buy I will cheong & stock up, sad to say my boy whom 30 mth still nt ready for toliet training. V stubborn kid.

Milk powder

From wat I see, it seems like d price of milk powder always increase10% each yr. v siong on our pockets. I always buy milk powder from those Chinese medical shops which r much cheaper than Ntuc.

Divein: Your hubby very high class! Pigeon wipes is very very expensive!!

I used to use the toilet bowl also, just fix the small toilet seat for my gal. Then she wail and wail non-stop. So I went ikea and bought her a cute potty. She whine and scold and scream whenever she's on it, unless we give her a book or toy. But she loses patience after 5 mins and nothing comes out. Damn sian. Dunno why she's so hard to train.

Rachel/Angela,

Does your kid go to childcare? For my #1, she's 4 but still using diapers at night, cos we scared she wet bed. Her toliet train all done by her childcare teachers, I didnt do anything at all :p