(2013/04) April 2013

Rachel, pure honey = not pasturized?

Mocca, I'm so, so tired and sleepy, wish I could take 1/2 day or something too. But gotta rush some stuffs by today. Had sharp pains and cramp at the chest area last night, couldn't slp till 2-3 am? Dozing off right now lol.

Reddish: i'm from Jul'11 group, but i joined jun'11 grp also coz my ger report 3wks+ earlier. so i think we may have chat before.

Mummypooh: ur boy also so "zhun"..

apple: i think its safe to eat honey esp manuka honey. however, manuka honey is not safe for below 1.5 yo infants. http://joyfusions.com/can-pregnant-women-consume-active-manuka-honey-2/

this website mentioned that Manuka honey is also said to be a good remedy to cure the morning sickness that pregnant women experience. To cure morning sickness, one has to make a mixture taking

1) one teaspoon of manuka honey,
2) ½ teaspoon of ginger juice,
3) 1 teaspoon of lime juice.

Rachel: i went to google just now and realised that not all the manuka honey are pasteurized. hai. i just bought comvita umf manuka honey and tried to find out whether its pasteurized or not but i could not find!

ggchua:

Thks for the info! I used to think only milk and juice products need to be pasteurized, honey no need...yeah they normally dun mention it on their packaging. I only found out after Capilano's website!

rachel: welcome! luckily you reminded me! i think i will call up nature farm and check with them. not only honey milk and juice.. cheese too!

apple, shirelle: tml seeing my gynac, will help everyone ask and let u all know if is safe. I also feel like taking off from work to rest. Cannot explain y still feel so tired after sleeping for 7hrs. Whole body aching and no energy. Tell my hub he also cannot understand, keep asking me sleep early. I already sleep like 10+ liao lor

Oh yes.. Cheese too esp those cheese with moulds like blue cheese etc.
Normal slices of cheese from supermarkets are generally safe...

Could we still drink gong cha?? Red date milk tea with jelly?
Haha I was v strict with myself when I'm preggy with #1! No cold drinks at all! T-T... I dread keeping to that diet!

to all mtbs!

my friend told me that her gynae advised her not to eat papaya and so i went to googled...

In some ethnic communities, pregnant women are told not to eat papaya. This is due to the traditional belief that papaya can cause miscarriage and stillbirth. However, this is not quite the whole story. While an unripe or half-ripe papaya is rich in concentrated latex which may trigger uterine contractions, a well-ripened papaya is considered safe to eat.

Indeed, papaya is rich in vitamins and nutrients and recommended for pregnant women in moderate amounts. A ripe papaya is rich in vitamins C and E. It is a good source of fibre and folic acid. It aids digestion, and is believed to help prevent and control constipation and heartburn.

Experts point out that papayas have an average glycaemic index (GI) of 59, which is considered medium (GI measures the effect of food on blood sugars). Foods with high GI are not as good for you when compared to those with low GI, especially if you have gestational diabetes. As with everything else, moderation is key.

So be careful!

I had been drinking honey and no idea if it's pasteurized or not. Oh dear... I thought only for cheese and milk.

Do you all eat instant noodles? I feel like eating.....

bb (lybaby): My gynea at Mt A, Dr Esther Ng. I went for 2 visits so far. $205 for the first visit (consultation, supplements, scan) and $260 for the 2nd visit (consultation, supplements, scan, blood test).

You can also check up Dr Henry cheng, Dr Phua Soo Mear and Dr lee kenneth edward for Mt A delivery. Heard they are good too.

Rachel: I worried the MSG inside not healthy leh but I feel like eating lol. I like the tom yum one.

Daphne: Thanks for the information. But I can only do Sat cause I want my husband to go with me. Hai. Think it will be too late to change after 1st tri.

Divein: Remember to finish your anti-biotics. I had UTI too before I realised I was pregnant. Lucky I did tell my GP that my menses is late and the anti-biotics she gave is suitable for pregnancy.

Trinity: Rest well, speedy recovery. Take care!

Hi all! Went for scan yesterday. I'm now 9w. Baby's heartbeat at a rate as expected by gynae (172bpm), so she was very happy
so am I. When we started the scan, nothing came on screen - no sound, no image and I was thinking: oh no! where's the heartbeat? where's the blimp? then...it came on screen. 3 weeks back, baby was 2mm, yesterday it was 2.3cm - still tiny. haha! Next checkup is for the OSCAR.

Eating papaya: yes, can be eaten when pregnant and it's a very good source of fibre. But in moderation. Everything in moderation - no pantang lah. During Wong Bo Boi's class, she mentioned that a mommy miscarried due to over-consumption of papaya, so I asked how much is too much - she said the mommy was eating like 1-2 papayas a day!

Oh ya! No ginseng during pregnancy - it will cause excessive bleeding during delivery

Thanks all! My tummy seems to be showin though it's only 6weeks! Guess my muscles decided to give up on me already. Lol... Starting to have nausea and blackouts more frequent.

ggchua: 1-2 whole papayas - the mommy had a craving for it. Coz I was taking 1 slice a day during my 1st pregnancy

Regarding honey, RAW honey = unpasteurised. Honey that we buy off the shelves are usually pasteurised unless otherwise stated. It's safe to take honey UNLESS it's pasteurised. Likewise for milk and cheese. The process of pasteurising these products take away the bacteria which may otherwise be found in these prods' raw state. For the same reason why children below the age of 1 (some say till 1.5yrs old) are strongly prohibited from taking honey as their immune system is still being built and may not have the ability to fight off any bacteria which may still reside in these prods even though they have been pasteurised.

Manuka honey has different UMF (Unique Manuka Factor). The higher the UMF, the better the quality is. That is also why when u r down with flu / cold, it's best to take Manuka Honey with a high UMF. Recommended is anything above UMF 20. Also, the higher the UMF, the more exp it is. Manuka honey is best taken using a plastic spoon. Drink water only abt 10-15mins after taking the honey. This way, it allows the honey to do its work by killing bacteria in the digestive gut starting from your throat. Plastic spoon is used as reaction happens when in contact with metal which reduces the properties of the honey.

Of course, if to take it to curb MS then no need to follow the instruction of taking it pure without water
Actually any type of pasteurised honey will work for MS. It's the lemon and ginger juice that actually help the MS - not the honey
What I did was get almost pure ginger ale, add honey and lemon. Super yummy!

thanks ocean blue!

rachel: im so sleepy too!! i even overslept this morning. zzzzz... but i still have another 3.5 hrs to go

ica: wah.. 1-2 WHOLE papaya is ALOT man.

Finally Hv a decent meal ... Had chicken chop managed eat half haha wif fries and bake beans n salads ...

Ica - cant take Korean ginseng chicken soup too? Sob sob I am avoiding or my first trimester .... Huh need to avoid whole preg ?

All my fav taken away ......

ggchua, I just had lobster bisque last week as I was craving for it too!

Why can't take? Everything take in moderation is fine. I even had crabs last night. My mom's fine with it. She had these cravings during her pregnancies too.

divein: i took samgyetang too before i attended the class. haha. try not to take if you can, but a little bit is fine. but taking it like every week is definitely not recommended

welcome all new mtbs!

Divein: Had laska for lunch last week and at my mil's place on sunday evening. My mother warned of eating all those unhealthy food, including laska, but I just can't help myself from not eating.

ica: wow, 1-2 papayas a day is a lot wor. That mummy could have control her craving.

Lobster bisque is a thick soup made with crème freche which is unpasteurized cream. So it might not be recommended to eat lobster bisque while pregnant. Better you can consult your doctor. (Ingredients & Groceries, Lobster) ... i told myself small bowl is okay.. but mayb not now.

Ocean blue: We can take crabs? Had fren's bdae celebration last week at Jumbo and I can only see them eat the crabs, make me so envy.

I am also feeling slpy after a full lunch today, had nasi lemak with chicken wings and fish fillet. Think I ate too much.

Mocca Mama: Aiyo,ur hb hor, tell him pregnant is different, need a lot of rest. yesterday i take mc, i sleep 3 hr afternoon nap. Then at night ard 10.30pm i slept again till this morning 7am.

Since we are all so sleepy let's try to use our brains abit...haha..I was doing super bo liao thing like wiping my office table to distract myself.. Let's draw up a list of foods to avoid during 1st trimester ok? I will start the ball rolling.

Based on my research:

Foods to Avoid:
1. Raw Sashimi, Sushi, Clams, Mussels, Oysters
2. Shark, swordfish, king mackerel, tilefish (white snapper)
3. Smoked seafood
4. Raw shellfish, crab, crayfish, prawns
5. Raw eggs
6. Soft Cheese
7. Unpasteurized milk & juice
8. Pate, Blue Cheese, Brie
9. Caffein, Alchohol, Smoking
10. Deli meat (hotdogs, bologna, lunchean meat)

Foods to Avoid based on Chinese belief:
1. Barley, Green bean, Grass Jelly, Coconut, Watermelon, Pineapples, Green tea, Chinese tea?
2. Ginseng
3. Chinese herbs?

Mommies please feel free to cut and paste and to add on to the list! I feel it would be good for all of us to know as a reference!

Thks everyone!

ggchua, 1 bowl is fine. Or u can tell them not to put the creme (but may not taste the same).

bb burger, my mum said everything in moderation is fine. Just don't purposely eat or apply on body those that u already know are gonna be harmful.

apple: same here! sat sun i took 4 hrs nap, night time i still can sleep ard 11+ . is like always tired right? my hub dont understand but he will encourage me go sleep n rest more, n he always make sure i sleep first before him.

rach: i read preggie should reduce intake of caffine. so not just tea, coffee and coke too! I fogot what is the recommended intake, i just skip it totally now.

rach/ggchua: i also have craving for maggie mee! i stop myself but is like i gota find smth else to replace it. sometime is unbearable n feel miserable that we cannot eat so many things.. i got craving for laksa now!! can we eat that?

Mocca:
Can input in the list lor..coke, coffee, tea...

haha, maggie mee also smells and tastes soooooooo heavenly right? So far I have taken twice already, and I made sure the egg was well-cooked as well before tucking in..
Yumzzz...

Laksa got those coconut milk that may not been pesturized right?

i got craving for gassy drinks.. i just had a cup of milk tea this morning.. coz i have not been drinking it since i know i'm preg.. is a must to have milk tea everyday before preggy.. i ate maggie mee too.. but just put less seasoning lor..

oh BTW, for those of us who feel cold all the time, my maid actually went ard and ask all her maid friends and those old chinese aunties in my son's school.. We should take more ginger to warm our bodies up. She had been cooking ginger onion chicken/ beef etc plus the red dates + wolfberry drink for me (once/twice a week), so nowadays I dun feel that cold anymore.. hope it helps!

For caffeine, best is to avoid but if cannot then drink only 1 cup a day. Includes all caffeinated soft drinks as well (Coke, Pepsi, Mountain Dew, Root beer, etc). Reason is caffeine dehydrates the body. Right now, we need to up our water intake because as our pregnancy progresses, more blood is needed and we need water to increase the blood flow as well as to create oxygenated blood for the baby. Caffeine also carries a risk for miscarriage.

piyo piyo: is ok to have a bit of tea or coffee. think one cup a day is ok. dont drink too much.

apple: oh ur girl sleep late, my neighbour kid sleep like 9+. how i know? cos i can hear , they watch same video everyday LOL

i cant rem is it this thread that says we cant take ginger now. only after birth.

i think the list of cannot eat things can go ON n ON....

Mocca: haha, last time used to be 12am or even 1am. Now slowly adjusted to 11pm, if she very tired, she will sleep about 10.00pm. I think partly bcos of childcare having long naps. from 12pm -3pm.

mocca: i'm craving for laksa too.. and kimchi soup dong feng.. but i dare not to eat spicy food cause i scare if vomit the throat will burn. haha

i ate maggie mee too.. i ate laska too cos got craving. i ate McDonald quite often also. -__- but now the M word inks me cos my taste bud suddenly 360degree change. i dont like the smell anymore. lol!

i am trying hard to kick the drinking kopi everyday habit. its kind of hard. but i manage to curb my need for kopi to once a wk now.

eat in moderation.. totally skip it is really sad... but those really cannot de like sashimi etc. just endure ba.... jiayou all mtbs!