(2013/04) April 2013

Shirelle: Wow 14 hotcakes!

Your director not very nice leh. No unpaid leave still not happy with unpaid MC.

Take good care.

Dear all, thanks for the advice. I have to prepare the bbq and steamboat stuffs for this weekend. Hope the bleeding goes away urgh!

Lee, I'm not sure whether he's not really alright with it. Previously, I got 2 other colleagues who were pregnant and gave birth - he was ok. But when one of them got pregnant the 2nd time, he was rather unhappy. Our Deputy is alright though, she told me to utilize my extended mc and use childcare leave. If visiting gynae can award time off instead of taking leave. So it's not so bad.

ling, tom yum is yummy!!! enjoy your dinner!

I'm only 6weeks and my tummy is showing huge! ESP at night aft dinner, my buttons gonna burst! Lol...
Going for my 1st scan on 17.. Seems so long. Juz hope everything will be fine. Last mc I had no ms so now no ms Abit worried.

Morning MTBs,

I am wondering if anyone knows if anti-depressants are safe to be taken during pregnancy. I am suffering from pre-natal depression now and I think I need help. Would appreciate any feedback. Thanks

Hi chocoholic, is there any possible reason why ur feeling depressed? First preg? Work stress? Family related? It will be best to get to the root of the prob than Juz taking anti depressant. The pills basically relaxes the muscles and nerves and that suppresses any strong emotional feeling u have but temporarily. Is there anyone close u could perhaps talk to? Otherwise there are also various helpline with Samaritans to assist u. Most importantly is you need to find other activities or hobbies that u enjoy doin and hopefully that takes ur mind off things. Let me know if u need any help. Sometimes in life, we got to learn to accept that we are sometimes in situations that we can't fix and move on. I strongly believe in identifying e issues that is pondering u and face it.

Hi Turuko,

Thank you for your kind words. This is my 3rd pregnancy and I have two children, a daughter (11) and a son (10). My daughter is neuro-typical but my son has special needs and I am starting to worry about this 3rd baby. I am just stuck in the rut and I don't know how I can pull through the entire pregnancy. I am 8 weeks now.

Choco did u do Oscar scan tt time?
Mummies I wanna cry out aloud!! I feel v xin ku and tired
ms kicking in aldy. So Terrible and I need to look after my active 15 mth ger alne in USA. Arfhh

Choco I tink try nt to take any pills during preg. I gt terrible ms for #1. I dare not take ms pills even thou gynae prescribe to mi

I can't provide professional advice but If we don't face and overcome unsettling events in our lives, we are ruled by them. Don't let some ruthless choice of event destroy your enjoyment of chocolate. It's not gonna happen. I love chocolate too much.

I reckon it's more of the family support u will need to gather. Talk to ur husband, sister, bro, anyone close friends who understands and let them lend a listening ear. Of coz we will be here to listen too. ultimately u need to address ur current situation and make a list of ur concerns and whether it's e best u can do. It's always a blessing to be given a choice/chance in life. And I'm sure you have absolute strength than most of us here. Look forward not backward, move forward and march on. We at most have another 40-50yrs (if lucky) to either worry or be happy. I would choose to be happy for the sake of myself and kids.
Kambate!

Joyce: my son is autistic, which cannot be picked up on Oscar scan. I am going to see my gynae on Monday and I will speak to him and see if he can do something for me. In fact, he is such a nice gynae that by talking to him , I may feel a lot better.

Turuko : I actually cried after reading what you wrote...those dang hormones. But I think it is also the fact that you are so right and you just struck a chord within me. Thanks so much...I feel a lot calmer after reading your post. Btw, are you a professional counsellor cos you sure write like one. Appreciate your input deeply.

Hey all! Busy day, totally overestimated my energy level now. Luckily hb,mil and maid helped with the preps and cleaning up for today's gathering.

Choco, *hugs* would u consider speaking to a counsellor instead of taking medication? Medication can help you relax, but to step out of depression, you need to be determined to stay and think positively. It helps when you are occupied with stuffs that make you feel more confident and better. And speak to people who can lend u a listening ear, but at the same time, not pressurizing you to 'feel better quickly' etc etc. Feel free to speak ur heart out here
and try not to coop in a room alone to cry.

Choco: I'm Juz a regular mom who deals with day to day struggles like everyone else. Let's Juz say I've my fair share of darkness and it'll be too boring to share and dampen the spirits here.
after all, we are here to celebrate, support each other thru this journey. Keep up the spirit and air if u need. Juz to get some sanity here too. Lol...
Rose Kennedy once said, “Birds sing after a storm; why shouldn’t people feel as free to delight in whatever sunlight remains to them?”

hi all, am expecting my #2 in Apr 2013 as well. my morning sickness is SOOO bad this time round i find it really hard to cope. last thurs and fri i actually vomit every intake including water and i was so dehydrated until my lips cracked and bleed very badly.

the gynae prescribed me with the only anti vomit medicine suitable for preg but i am allergic to it... so the other way is for me to be hospitalised for drip which i didnt want to cos i still have #1 to take care of.... now i am wearing sea band and taking blackmores ginger tablets and drinking ginger water. at least i can drink some fluid now but eating is still not so good. no appetite at all.

though i know we can only endure.. but the MS can be so impossible to pull thru at times.. need more power to endure endure and hope time passed faster!!

Chocoholic74,

Im sorry to hear about your son's austism. I myself have 2 girls and I understand its very tiring to take care of kids, your stress and tiredness must be ten-fold or more. However, I believe as a mom, we will do whatever it takes to make our kids lives better. So hang in there! I always believe everything happens for a reason, god may have given you another bb to help take care of your older son cos we as parents cannot be there forever for them.

Shirelle, just trying my luck! what is the name of ur anti puke medicine?? my gynae said there is only maxolon available for Preg and i am allergic to it. i am hoping to see if there is another tablet that is available for me.

Morning all. Having huge cramp and can't get off bed: (

Oricule, my gynae prescribed omeprazole and domperidone to be taken twice a day. If I'm not wrong, omeprazole is used to treat gastric reflux and can only be taken twice Max a day. It helps, but not all the time. But I could retain food and gain weight after taking it.

Oricule

Maxolon is a trade (brand) name for Metoclopramide. I'm not sure if u will be fine taking the generic one instead of the branded ones.

thanks shirelle, Lee and Oceanblue.

my gynae said dont try. cos my allergic reaction is a serious one, not the typical rashes but is Oculogyric crisis. :S i endure first.. if doesnt get better then i go back to see him.

whatever that works for my #1 is not working for me now, so i have not found some food or drinks i can take yet. my colleague just scolded me for taking too much ginger stuffs cos she said it's too heaty. during 1st tri, we shouldnt take too much cooling stuffs or heaty stuffs.

being a mom is really 伟大

Oricule,

Have u tried sucking on peppermint sweets such as polo mints? I find that it helps me for a short period but better than nothing. Can try drinking ornage juice or eat kiwi fruits. The sourness may help. Hope u feel better!

Turoko, Shirelle and Sam : thank you so much for all your encouragement. I am seeing my gynae tonight so hopefully I will feel better after speaking to him. As it is, I am already feeling a lot better now after a weekend break, hope I get over my depression soon.

To all MTBs, a good week ahead !!

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD> Nick Name</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD>NSEW </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>bb burger</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Mid-Apr</TD><TD>Dr.Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>W </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Frosted_Vanilla</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr.Fong CW</TD><TD> Glen E</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>kimmyksc</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Mummypooh</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt.A</TD><TD>W </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Ocean_Blue</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr.Peter Chew/Prof.Mary Rauff</TD><TD> Glen E/NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> 12.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Adrian Tan</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Shirelle</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>07.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt.A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>ZennZenn</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>08.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt. A/Mt.E</TD><TD>W </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Chelz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30.04.13</TD><TD>Prof. C Chen</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>E </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>theangeltwin</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>20.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.KK Ho(Mt.E)</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>W </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>divein</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>06.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD> Sacchar1n3 (Rach)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>19.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Heng TL</TD><TD>PWEast</TD><TD>E </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>cloudily</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>12.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Esther Ng</TD><TD>Mt.A</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Rachel Tay</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.June Tan</TD><TD>KKH (TPS)</TD><TD>E </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>apple_girl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Li Han</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>mocca</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr. Phua Soo Mear</TD><TD> Mt.A</TD><TD>NW </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>mytulips</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>05.04.13</TD><TD>Dr CC Khong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Scarlette82</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>03.04.13</TD><TD>Dr.Selina Chua</TD><TD>Mt.E</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Mareikebb</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>08.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt.A</TD><TD>S </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>piyo_piyo</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr.Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt.A/TMC</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>canloveant</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>09.04.13</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>W </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Daphne (daphasy)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Henry H Cheng</TD><TD>Mt.A</TD><TD> N </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD> doramum </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>03.04.13</TD><TD> Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>N </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD> maxlene</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>10.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Maobibi</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>07.04.2013</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>sunflower53</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>26.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD> tan HL</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>07.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Allison Goh</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>01.04.13</TD><TD>Dr Henry H Cheng</TD><TD>Mount Alvenia</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>turuko</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>27.04.12</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Central</td></tr></table>
Please use the following template &amp; sequence so that I can just copy &amp; paste. thanks

Nick Name:
BB#:
EDD: dd.mm.yy
Gynae:
Hospital:
NSEW:

Thks Chelz for the list!

Maxlene,
I heard from my gynae it's useless to take bird nest, chicken essence etc during the first trimester. To him, having sufficient nutrients through food intake is sufficient wor...

Oic.. ntuc now got offer for chicken esscenes wor.. Buy 24 bottles for 59.90 only. Just bought over weekend, hee feel like drinking already cos everyday so tired!

Maxlene,
Can stock up one no worries. We need to drink chicken essence anyways during our confinement so sure got chance! BTW, maybe u wanna try boiling chicken soup at home? Shd be better than chicken essence?

dear all, when u get hungry at night, what do u eat? I can get hungry at 1am and want to eat hot food. Had been eating instant noodles and canned soup. Any fast and healthy recommendations?

ggchua,

by right, preggie woman shouldnt go for any massage at all. seriously, i dunno if antenatal massage are ok lor. best is no massage during pregnancy

Lee,
My supper is more fattening..I usually eat those fried meehoon with curry sauce..
Hb always add alot of ingredients for me somemore..But only on Sat nights la cos weekday nights I'm too tired to think of any food cravings..

Our thread today is quite quiet hor...mommies all bz ar?

BTW, i went to Robinson Expo sale ytd..it was a great disappointment cos everything there seems to be the same as the John Little sale, even the displays, pricing etc etc! Was hoping to find some nursery items but their good seems old and yellowish. For bb clothes they only have those Shears gift box &amp; Sesame Street set at $25..their cots are damn exp lor, some at $499, some near $300. Didn't see any better brands like Avent, Pigeon, nothing!

hello mommies, i'm here to report as well
Just found out i'm expecting no.3 just about a week ago, saw gynae and EDD is 28 April '13.

hi Sam, realise from the list you're also mommy of 3. r u a SAHM? i'm now working half-time, and with no.3, i'm likely to be taking at least a year of 'sabbatical'!

Rachel: i was tempted to go for the robinsons expo sale yesterday, thankfully didn't go. was also feeling too off to go anywhere, so ended up lying in bed to rest...