(2013/02) March 2013

I think ice lemon tea and peach tea is because of the caffeine? I think limit to one day per serving should be fine? I still take cold drinks most of the time cos find it more refreshing.

vamiga, my legs itchy.. must go gai gai.. so i bring my bb anywhere. hahahha!!

cuttlefish, moderation should b alrite.. hehhe

Ceres, sad la. I like the idea of having 4 kids. However, im not the one bearing the child so have to psycho my wife to. haha!

Zhimin, I think cuttlefish should be okay. As my gynae says, everything in moderation. Only alcohol and caffeine limit to once a day?

How can dun eat sharksfin? It's a chinese tradition and I still believe in eating them. If all the sharks get extinct, so be it. At least I know I have eaten an animal that is now extinct and the future generations can only imagine. lol *evil*

Oh yes, anyway, highlight of my day was the trip to the gynae with my wife. I think Im gonna have a princess for first child! My wife's pretty excited. All the dolling up n all... lol

It is gd if u can afford that many. We cannot so we intend the most is 2. So this is my last.

Anyway nowadays the wedding dinner so called shark fins are not a lot or imitation right? I dunno and just drink. Should b ok hehe.

As for the carrier... So expensive and use for 1 child we feel wasted so not gonna buy hehe.

Hi mummies, I'm enjoying my 2nd trimester totally.. Loving the energy..

I rmb I avoid eating shark's fin for #1, stingray too.. But I took sotong occasionally. However, for most wedding I had attended, they have already take shark's fin off the list.

I cannot live without coffee.. I try to avoid tea, because chinese believes its "liang".

Carrier: I use manduca too. It's a bit $$ but it should be a good investment especially you are planning for more kids. ;)

Baby sling is definitely a must for me.. I love shopping, even it means to bring my 2 kids out alone, i need to shop

I use MIM sling when they are younger and not to heavy, after that i bought the evenflo carrier from taka, light weight n well padded, then i bought another carrier from smh spree, hip carrier, but only use twice then pregnant with no3, so now its still in the box..

I actually dunno whether to get filipino or indo maid. Any advise? I will be reno my flat after i deliver, so need to wait for reno to be almost done before can engage the maid, if nt she gt no place to sleep.. Now i am staying w my parents in law..

Another question: i cooked yesterday and overlook the heat from the stove.. Will it affect the baby? Worried.. Still can feel the baby move but seems to be less often..

Hi Vamiga,

so sorry reply only now

SAHM not easy, guess good thing is yur #1 is 9 so easier?

lol... same.. hubby has been doing most of the household chores.. but i still bathing the 2 cos they wan mummy

hmm actually I was thinking of maybe having the maid abt the time I am going to deliver... cos my CL can help teach her... I don reali know how to cook...

No changes, both in full day CC/IFC so remains...

Oh I realise that my amnio charges are more expensive than yours... you did yours in Oct right?

My results should be out this week... fingers crossed...

Hi.. I'm from the June 2012 thread

I've got an opened pack of Goon S52 to sell at a low price of $15. Only used less than 5 pcs as my baby outgrew it. Usual price is $21-23 so this is a great deal. Do PM me for fast deal. Self collect at Cityhall or Bedok.

U gals v garang leh..can shop everywhere w bb. I prefer to shop alone w/o kids, unless need to buy their clothing/shoes. Hehehe..

Hi JoyinSep,
Was ur amnio test done in Tmc? Tot shld b std rate if same hospital's direct billing n oni difference might b gynaes' charges?

Ya, definitely easier for me in terms of care as my kids r older. Even #2 is able to bathe himself. Just need to take note of #1's homework & fetch him from sch at different timing, depending on his cca n extra classes insch. Luckily, his sch is just 5min drive away. Just hope he doesn't hv to transfer sch next year as e nearest GEP sch is easily 20-30min drive away. Might hv to get a maid to jaga e younger kids at home if that's e case n I really don't feel like having maid again. Neither shld we deny him of an opportunity to try something challenging if he could. What a dilemma it will b...

His 2nd round results will b out in early nov n will decide from there.

Mummies morning.

For maid, I got friends telling me to get Indonesia maid as they are more easier to handle.
They said what u tell them they will try to do la.. but philippino maid, hmm..they got their own thinking and very clever of course and more hygiene than Indonesian.

Im also thinking of getting a maid after I gave birth to see if I can handle 1 toddler and 1 baby in the morning or not.
I guess I have to wake up everyday 6am than. Haha.. sian…….

If wake up at 6 I only have 2 hrs to handle myself, and 2 children – 1 3 yrs and 1 infant.
Alamak. …

we're thinking of getting maid too after baby come out as a bit worried i can't cope on my own. but also a bit worried given all the horror stories we've heard plus not sure how comfortable we'd be to have a stranger staying with us... still pretty undecided...
plus my mil used to have maid when our nephews / nieces are younger (she taking care of them) and always complaining how diff it is to teach them and then they go back soon after very sianz... so not sure she'll wanna help me train the maid also... hmmm...

Hi Neuros,
Previous 2 pregnancies, I got e maid a few mths b4 delivery to ascertain her capability n mental stability so that hv time to replace if nec. Also can get her to get house n nursery ready for bb n thus more involved n more time to adjust.
Gd maid or not, depends on our expectation n luck. Sigh...
After so many maids, my thumb of rule when assigning tasks is to ask myself whether I will b able to sustain e schedule n std myself on a long term daily/weekly basis.
Hee...

Thanks faith. I guess I gotta stop already then.

Sometimes l feel that maybe bb did kick me but I don't even know that it's a kick. Hope we can feel the real bb kick soon.

Looking forward to see bb this thurs...

Vamiga - I can't get maid now cos current place no space for maid super cramped, especially with baby on the way (barely have enough space for baby stuff as it is!). We're shopping for a new place - only if successful then can think accomodate maid.

Koirc - neither have I! Hahaaa...

Think I read somewhere too that stingray is not good to eat.

I took bbq stingray almost every week during 1st tri n bbq sotong at times, bcos totally not much appetite for most of other food then. Now, not much cravingfor them le.

Only bot a bb stroller on sale so far. Going to e bb warehouse sale this wkends to c if I can pick up other things.
Only going to move e boys into 1 rm this dec n convert #2's rk into nursery again, so not much space for bb cot etc yet.
Clothes, I m resisting bcos hv to c what my friend is passing me. They balloon so fast 1st 18 mths..really not much pt to get too many new.

Hi Neuros,
Perhaps get/increase part time help when bb is born so that u just need to concentrate on bb care for the time being?
1st 6 mth is actually quite easy if u r using disposable diapers, headache n backache start when bb starts to crawl, stand n walk. I already enlisted e 2 older boys to help me jaga/run ard w bb when they r not in school. Hahaha..

Besides looking for confinement ladies and maids dun forget to start booking your post natal massage ladies as well.

For #1 after I gave birth, i didn't have a confinement lady as mum could deal with the food and the maid helped to wash the bb clothes. I was fully BF-ing then so at night I also had to wake to feed baby so I didn't see the point. I enjoyed the bonding and carrying of #1 as much as possible. I found my body very stiff after a while the post natal massages really felt DAMN SHIOK i tell you. What i didn't like was the oil that they use so I chose to buy the clarins tonic oil and used it instead.

With regards to maids, I've got experience with Indonesian, Fillippinos and Myanmar. At the end of the day is see you heng or suay la. This kind of thing no 100% guarantee is good one.

Here's my take
*Fillipinos: Command of the english language is good. This is a plus point especially if you have young children at home. They can at least help to read or play with the kid. Mindset wise mature but also can get up to tricks. Their network in the neighbour grows SUPERBLY fast. =) Generally quite clean but this is dependent on person as well.

*Indonesian - Language may be a problem at first. If you pick a younger one, their pick up rate of english will be faster. The older married ones with young kids try not to engage as their heart is usually backhome and husbands at home usually take the money and squander away. very problematic. This is also once again dependent on individual's luck. IF you can speak a little malay it will be beneficial.

Myanmmar: Most hardworking of the lot I must say but language is also the worst of the lot. They are very simple minded and because of their background you must eb very patient in teaching them the ways around the household chores. I've heard that depending on which city they come from, it differs slightly. So this you may have to check with the agent.

I'm waiting for my detailed scan next Tue!

I think I can feel baby kicks already. Am I imagining things? Haha. Coz not very frequent. 1, 2 times and it will stop.

Husband say I'm very lucky. Wherever I go, there will be another person (my baby) accompanying me. Haha. Enjoying this pregnancy!

im gg for my detail scan tml. cant wait for today to end. haha..

just now almost fell down.
my friend was saying be careful huh..
the moment she said huh..i almost tripped.haha..

Hi Yun,
Bb only warming up now, later on u hv to shout tolong! Kekeke..

Coming to wk 20, Gynae mentioned but he didnt book a detailed scan yet. Mayb later on as I just had 1 w amnio test at wk 16?

Yun
Haha.. ya lor. Got to be careful.
The after shock is I got a bit of ache for a while on my back. Haha..
Drink warm water later on ok already. Haha..

Re : Baby dream
Anyone has this baby dream?
My doc said 80% boy but I kept dreaming 2-3 times that it is a girl.
My colleague said his wife also keep dreaming abt boy but scan confirm is a girl. Haha..
Tml should have known the result already. 

Vamiga
I think the scan have to book early like 1 mth before.
I book mine when I was 3.5-4 mths like that.

Hi Jay,
Gp gave me Beacodyl.
Best to check w ur doc.

Hi sbb,
Ya, must b careful these days.

Thanks for alerting me.
Just check w gynae's clinic n it told me can scan between 11 nov till end nov. So booked a detailed scan at mt A on 12 nov since kids no sch that day.
Can check on the renovation too. Hee..

Where is urs going to b done?

I haven't been in here for so long. Good to be able to catch up with mummies' progress.

Baby kicking: I felt it since 2 weeks ago. One violent kick when I lay tummy down in bed. Served me right!

Thanks Vamiga. Think I'll probably drop by the pharmacy soon.

Hmm my gynae never mentioned anything about detailed scan. Am at 19th weeks now and will be seeing him next weekend. Is the detailed scan something like the Oscar scan?

Vamiga
I actually like to go to MT A for that scan but my doc is from TMC leh. Hmm.. haha.. and im gg tomorrow.
Ya can check the reno over MT A see how is it. I just hope I can still go back to MT A to give birth for this 2nd bb as I guess TMC will be too crowded.

Jay
Oscar scan is to check the down syndrome.
But details can is where they check the blood vessels, heart, kidneys, hands, feets and etc.

jay
check with your doc if they have schedule for u. should have for u already, maybe haven inform u. and detailed scan is necessary for week 20.

just did my detailed scan today at 20w5d. doc says all looks normal, didn't say much else - guess in this case no news is good news?

another good news is my placenta is normal, not low anymore. guess it really will "move up" with the pregnancy!

I feel abit of baby movements but not much yet, dono isit cos this is my 3rd preg so fats all around. Hence can't feel so much yet.

Vagima, yah done in TMC leh.... but i heard from my friend rates increased in TMC effective Oct... that's why I asked you if you did yours in Oct. Let me go hm list out the bill details...

I agree... if your boy can really excel, then shouldn't deny him the chance...

Good leh, your number 2 also can bathe... My boy ah... in sch bathe on his own, at hm different story loh...

SBB, I also usually handle 2 in the morn on my own. But 1 thing is my #1 5 years old already. Your #1 takes breakfast at home? What I do is wake up prep myself then wake #1 up get his breakfast for him to eat and after that get #2 up to drink milk. And pls be careful. We cannot fall down.

Lovebyte08, your opinion on the maids nationality helps. Was thinking between Mynmar and Indonesian. Sigh but like wat so many says, it really depends on luck