(2013/02) Feb 2013

hi all! will be 8 weeks tomorrow. went for my scan this afternoon and saw my baby's heartbeat! due date 15 feb now instead of self predicted 19. mommys close to that can share how big is your little bean? wondering if mine is too small.

lynette - i added you. can add me to the secret group? not sure if i got it right as i am new to fb. thanks!

lapixiaoxin: was told FA scan + oscar package is $470. if do individually will be most costly.

was previously with dr adrian tan but have switched to dr benjamin tham. what about you? was advised to take the package as fetal abnormalities scan is more detailed and can check for spine growth etc. too.

hello gals, I been a silent reader... joining u gals at fb later, will add either one of u... this is my first, my edd 5feb.. I am at 9wks..
happy weekend

Had seen DR tan yew ghee for my first pre natal visit but thinking of switching as he is expensive. Scan plus consultation set me back by $500

that's really ex! today was my first visit to dr tham. i had scan, consultation, urine test n tons of medication (hormones pills, vits etc.) for $320+. nxt rd can sign package for $600 (so no need to pay for subsequent scan + consultation) which i find reasonable.

hi starrie
see u ard in fb!

DHM: Thanks.. More or less recovering from the yeast infection already..

twinkie_joy: I saw Dr Ben Tham for the 1st time last friday.. Total bill is less than $200 with scan, consultation, urine test and 3 different pills.. He gave you $100 worth of medications?

I wonder how important it is for the oscars test. I dunno if I should go for it or not. The oscar is to test for down syndrome right?

Hi twinkle joy~~ added u to the secret group~~
I heard the Oscar scan is ard that price~~ just thinking if I shd do it~~

Hi Gals, I'm new to this forum and this is my first post! I'm currently pregnant with my first baby and my EDD is on 11th Feb 2013. My gynae is Dr.Henry Cheng from Women's Specialist Clinic at Bishan. Anyone here with him too? And I'll most probably choose to give birth at Mount Alvernia.

Btw, I've added Denise and Lynette. Please approve my add and add me to the secret group ok? Hehe.. Nice to know you gals!!

theblessedone: i have tons of medication + supplements that even the cashier commented. i guess that's why my bill was significantly higher.

Welcome to all the New mummies here as well as the fb group.. Myojoanna I didn't get Ur fren request. Ur I've added u as a fren.

Twinkie_joy - dr tham package is $600? Did u Hv to ask him abt it or they will tell u? Does his package cover like if I go dwn w.out appt will the deduct frm package or Hv to pay separate?

Hi, I have stop breastfeeding my baby and would like to sell the following items for $500. Free delivery!

Medela freestyle breast pump, milk storage bag, tote bag, and handsfree set (pls purchase your own tubing, milk bottles and breast shields- for hygiene purposes) (original 699) condition 8/10

Mybreastfriend (original $69.90) with 1 additional brand new cushion cover condition 9/10

Brand new contact nipple shield (original $15)

Philips avent breast shells (original original $33.90) condition 9/10

Brand new 2 packets of mummy sacred tea (original $60)

A pair of booby tubes (original $32) condition 9/10

Brand new box of lasinoh breastpads - 60 pcs (original $18)

Brand new  soothies gel pads (original $20)

Brand new Hands free pumping bra bustier (original usd 33)

Free lasinoh milk storage bags and gnc ferungreek pills (80% left)

I am a newbie here. Will be going for my first gynae appointment next sat. Estimated 7 weeks. Pls add me too.

May I ask what I could expect for the first appointment?

Ying, my girl is 2010 too.. turning 2 on the 17th. I'm still feeding 2-3x a day. Hopfully when I'm 5 months preggy milk taste change and she'll wean herself off.

Oscar scan - I'm not going to do it. Cos no matter what's the result I won't abort my child. That's my take.

Hi everybody! I just confirmed to be 6 weeks pregnant last week! I am excited still though this is my 2nd pregnancy
I was too late to join mama's group in the previous pregnancy. Can I join the current one please?

Hilo everyone!
How's the weekend?

Hilo to all the newcomers!

Can I ask...
Can we drink watercress, old cucumber, winter melon soup? I hv run out of soup idea...
I know that we can't take green bean.. But how abt bean sprout aka tau kay?
Anyone drinking soya bean milk? I can't take milo anymore, I puke each time I drank milo... I dun like Horlick or ovaltine too. Also run out of hot beverage to drink. Now only drink warm water.

Sigh... So limit range of food n fruit n drink we can take....

Hi DHM, all those that you mentioned is quite "liang". If you really want to drink, add red dates and boil together to neutralize the cooling effect

hi DHM~ im drinking soya bean milk~ cos i dun like fresh milk taste~ my mum used to drink soya bean milk every day when she's pregnant with my younger sis... then my younger sis super white~~

starrie~ really mey? my mum drink kopi O when she have mi.. im like indian too~~ think this thing is heng/suay stuff~ haha

but i ate lots of curry when im carrying #1~ come out.. yellow lor (jaundice) haha

Ya loh.. All the soup sound v liang but it's ok with I throw red dates in isit?
How abt ABC soup huh? Ok rite?

Soya bean is safe right? The fair n dark skin theory oso not accurate, haha! I more like what we can drink or can't drink.
My mum drank milk when she had me, I was dark since young.
Whereas she had kopi when hving my younger sis, my sis is white! Aiyoh!!!

Anyone still taking kopi or teh? I juz had my 1st cup of milk teh ever since I've stopped taking it during my 2WW, heehee..

Curry will cause jaundice ah???? Oh dear!
Does the food we take really cause jaundice in bb?
Is there anyway to prevent jaundice?

Hi Zachy.. i tink coz i set the settings who can add me as friends i set "friends of friends".. could u see if u can try to add me now.. i just change my settings to everyone..

DHM, chillax!! Believe lynette is only joking!

Jaundice is like a rite of passage for newborns. Most recover very soon. Dun worry too much.

oops.. sorry DHM~~

i dun noe if curry will cause jaundice mah~~ but i really have curry like 5 days a week tat time when im preg. with my boi~(that the only edible stuff at my canteen then)
but my mum (older generation) tell mi not to take too many "yellow" stuff when pregnant to avoid baby getting yellow~

Wow lynette, 5 days a week is quite a lot!

But think the saying abt not taking yellow stuff may not have scientific basis? Can check with doc? Eat in moderation shld be okay.

my fren told me.. she ate a lot of yoghurt whn having her bb.. esp b4 she give birth.. her family buy yoghurt by the carton one .. bb born no jaundice..

I tink it's pretty common nw.. for me, whn i was born i had severe jaundice, blood transfusion twice..

5 days a week???? That's more than moderation, haha!!!
I heard ginger oso cause jaundice. Thats y some mummies who BF skipped ginger to avoid severe jaundice. True?

But I hv heard some bb skip jaundice, guess they r real lucky bunch.. Guess sun tanning after birth is a SOP...