(2013/02) Feb 2013

Morning all,

I just found out I'm pregnant yesterday. EDD should be end Feb. This is my 2nd one and my elder one is turning 2 soon. Can I join this forum?

welcome noknok congrats

Hi Noknok and welcome to the thread

Hi all, down with bladder infection for past few days and now recovering. doc said i got it cos body didnt retain enough fluids to flush out toxins hence causing the infection
hopefully it will completely disappear after my antibiotics end and I send my urine for testing.

Just wanna share on what my SIL told me about chicken essence.

She told me to avoid at least in first trimester as it is too heaty for the baby. Here cousin drank to twice a week during her 1st trimester and had a miscarriage.

LuvnHope: thanks! feeling a bit better and managed to drag myself to work tho trying very best to curb the nausea. the anti nausea pills dont really work.

Jasline, really? I was initially drinking it every day until MS hit. Then I stopped. Were there other possible reasons for the unfortunate incident?

twinkie, and the anti-vomit pills will make u tired!!

Luvnhope: ya!! i really feel lethargic and zapped of energy. cant wait for today to end to go lie down!

Jasline: i was advised against taking chicken essence too. heard it's too 'bu' for first trimester.

Hi all...

I am also pregnant and due in Feb 2013. Wow, didn't realize there are so many of us Febbies here chatting away. cool...

Noknok, I'm in the same boat as you. I'm still bfing my #1 and he's 2.

I actually got some spotting this morning. Booked appt to see doctor this afternoon. Hope it is nothing serious. Was so scared when I saw the blood!

Jasline (littlejkhw), I took chicken essences too when I had #1 during the first trimester till early 2nd trimester just to keep me awake.

I drank 1 btl every 2 days at night and I am fine. Only can drink the Brands one cause its pure and not herbs in it.

Please do not take those with herbs.

Hi noknok n Angelyn!!

Christy,
Glad that the sac can be seen finally! Happy for u!

Blessedone,
Happy for u that u mge to hear heartbeats n hope u recover from yeast infection soon!
I only moved from V-scan to abdominal when I was 7th wk. Dun feel any pain or discomfort when doing V-scan, prob used to it. Hv been doing V scan since 4 years ago, due to reg chkup when I had cysts...

Jasline,
Me! Me! V emo n feels that my sensors all enlarged! If someone talk to me with a raised voice, I feel so agitated n my heart will beat b fast! I will perspire too if I get agitated.
I stayed away frm crowds n friends at this moment...
May i ask re: Yr SIL's cousin MC. Which week was she at when she MC? Could it be due to other reasons beside chkn essence?
I recalled that last time when I had chkn essence is when I had my implantation bleeding, which I tot it was spotting. Since then I dun dare to drink.

Angelyn,
Seen dr oredi? Wat he said abt yr spotting? Hope Nthg serious!

chicken essence will cause miscarriage? My in law made her own chicken essence soup and said it's very good. I can't remember if I drank that during my 1st trimester for my boy.

For 1st trimester, i heard it's not good to be too "liang", so too "bu" also cannot. Guess everything just take in moderation bah.

My morning sickness is getting worst and I'm wondering if I should take the anti-vomit meds too. Puking for the last two days.

The anti-vomit meds my doc gave me makes me tired. So you might wanna ask if there are alternatives esp if u're working.

dear mommies/mtbs,

new to this thread & hope its not too late to join u gals here.

first tested positive on 28may but only managed to get clear confirmation of my pregnancy status ard late june due to bad, bad experience at kkh. was warded on kkh on 3 occasions. first was due to a fall in which i sprained my right ankle & next 2 was UTI. during my stay, they did scans for me.

during my very 1st scan, they said an IUGS was seen. however, during my 2nd scan abt 5 days later, i was given the grim news that they could no longer find my sac & only a cystic mass was found. was told to do a bt to measure bhcg & they expect my hcg to fall to be indicative of a miscarriage. or to rise very high to indicate a molar pregnancy (cos of the cystic mass). i cried while waiting 2hrs for the bt to be out & they were surprised that my hcg actual doubles up nicely which ruled out both ectopic & molar. then they referred my case to their senior specialist & she concluded that the "cystic mass" is the sac after all but its still empty, i shd be ard 6wks then & they think they are looking at blighted ovum now (no fetus)!

it was only at my 3rd scan 10 days later did they managed to detect yolk sac/fetal pole/heartbeats etc. was told that my v-scan is diff becos 1stly i had an introverted uterus & 2ndly, i had 2 c-sect previously & apparently after each c-sect, my uterus got pushed lower & lower. anyhow, was thankful that all is well even though we went thru 2 wks of emotional rollercoaster in which we pondered over am i or am i not preggie??

this was also more diff & stressful as we had just lost our twins @ 10wk (no heartbeats) in early may & we din expect to get pregnant right after again! it came as a total shock & we din even think it was medically possible.

this will be our #3, we had 2 gals which are 15mths apart. looks like #2 & 3 will be approx 15mths apart as well. my #1 will be 2yo this mth & #2 coming 9mo. having had 2 gals, i really love them to bits & was hoping that we have another girl again though hb prefer a boy this round. nevertheless, we will be happy w either gender, just praying hard for a healthy & sticky bb will do.

Kindly update my details too, many tia.

Nick: dramaqueenie

edd: 4 feb 2013 (shd be having my c-sect in mid jan though)

birth order: #3

gynae: dr. adrian b. woodworth (he delivered both my gals & will be asking him to do a ligation along w my 3rd & final c-sect)

hosp: TMC

SAHM

hope can get to know more mommies here. i havent had time to digest all the past posts yet. do we have a secret grp on FB?? my previous 2 threads got their own secret grps in fb & we eventually moved all our chats in there. it was fun as we did alot of sprees together.

btw, becos of our previous losses, my hb went to this medical hall at sk & they recommended him this bottle of "powder" grinded from the following herbs. they are namely dong cong cao, pao sheng, si sen & wu shou. he paid $1050 for 5mths supply!! OMG!! i nearly went into a fit when he told me. was so pissed with him cos i've heard that its best to avoid herbs during pregnancy as we do not know if they will be harmful to bb.

he told me e ppl at the medical hall assures him its safe to take even now at 1st trimester. and i hate the taste of herbs, confinement was unbearable becos i was made to drink herbs day in & day out for 28days.

any mommies who had some knowledge of TCM care to share ur views on this??

re. confinement lady, was thankful that i've cfm one thru e recommendation of a mommy friend in my fb. she could not stop raving abt her & after speaking to the CL over the phone, i find her nice & easy to talk to as well, she din require any deposit fr me (all in gd faith) & she's very reasonably priced too. will shorten my confinement period to under 28 days so she can go back to msia to celebrate cny with her family.

i did not hv any CL during my #1 & i very nearly went into depression cos she was colicky thruout & it was just too overwhelming for me at that time since i was a 1st time mom.

another mommy friend recommended her CL to me for my #2 & it was then that i realised having one was such a blessing! i could have a complete rest & need not have to wake up round e clock for her night feeds.

so this time round, i was determined to get a CL too by hook or crook.

Angelyn, ppl around me keep asking me to stop.. but secretly I dun wanna stop that bonding with my girl. Are you stopping?? I have no idea how to stop.

Angel, glad that everything is all well now. I personally dun feel that chinese herbs is that safe esp if your hubby just got it from the medical hall. Maybe what you can do is to visit a TCM w the herbs to ensure that it's safe. Since every person's constitution is different. For CL, I'm opposite of you. I dun like having a stranger at home. For no. 2, I'm not going to have CL cos my mum is going to come over and help me. For the 1st one, the CL din do much cos I fully latch on. My mum was here for 2 weeks and she cooked most of the food for me. So CL like wasting money.

I just went Fu Hua TCM Hall to asked about the chicken essence thing. The guy say ok to drink but moderately.

Any think that is too "bu" may be bad for the baby in 1st trimester as it may cause restriction to the baby's limbs.

Should avoid super bu herbs like china and korea ginseng until 5 months and above.

Jas: thinking of infant care if i am still in sg as dont know any trustworthy nanny, plus i have heard of more bad reviews than anything else.

angel: you're a 3rd time mommy! should have loads of exp to share with us

twinkie and Jasline, I'm also having a headache over childcare arrangements too. Can't bear to send to infant care yet may not be able to have family help this time round.

Hi Angel, welcome.. sorry to hear abt ur emotional rollercoaster at KK, but at least knw u hv a clear confirmation it shld be a load off ur mind..

Yes we do have a secret group on fb for mummies to join.. the choice is urs as sm mummies would prefer to wait till aft their 3rd mth to join..

If you would like to join, you can add me: [email protected]

Angel, dong cong cao not to take cause i went to a talk before and the speaker (a lady) she mention she took herbal soup which her MIL make for her to drink.. she bleed (not sure in how long time at night or next day) she was at abt 30+ weeks and went for early delivery.

She came to know her MIL put a lot of dong cong cao in the soup.

I only take chicken essences (brands) and pao shen water.

I dont recommend you to take herbs cause you got history of MC.

Luvnhope, should be once a month after heartbeat detected until 3rd trim then will be bi weekly then close to deliver every week. Depends on your gynae too actually

Dramaqueenie,
Oh gosh! What an experience u had when u were at KKH! If I was u, I sure dunno what to do...
D u see yr own pte dr after u discharged? What did he say abt the sac?
Sorry to hear what happ to yr twins in May. I'm a MTB of triplets soon. 1st timer. I was wondering when u said no heartbeats at wk10, is it sudden? If u dun feel like answering, it's ok. I'm sorry if I've add salt to yr wound. Hope u dun mind..

Luv,
My 1st n 2nd scan was 2 weeks apart. Becos I hv spotting, I had a weekly scan for 3rd n 4th. 5th scan is abt 3wks later.

Luv,
2 weeks I oredi feel v long, moreover 3 weeks!
Then abit of negotiation, I'm gg to hv it 3 days earlier than 3 weeks, haha! V bo liao right? Cos I worried mah but my dr v cool abt it leh. He feel that I shd b ok, n I dun loh. Kan cheong lah.

I'm waiting for another 2 more weeks before seeing the gynae.. dun wanna do blood test.. kind of waste money i feel

Noknok, I haven't stopped bfing yet.. BUt I'm starting to think I should cut down. GOtta start saying 'No' more often coz my son is very clingy especially since i told him I am pregnant and he's going to have a sibling next year. )Not sure if he understood but maybe??)

My doctor appt went ok. he did a scan and he said the baby;s heart beat is nice and strong. My due date is 20 feb 2013, according to the size of the baby which is only 0.95cm. So small! cute though.. he gave me a shot of hormones to strengthen my placenta and some meds to take. Hope it helps!

babydino, that's me, I just added you..

Angelyn, how old is your son and how many times are you feeding now? My gynae sure ask me to stop. sigh.

Hi. For ladies who are experiencing MS, how do you relieve it? Feel like vomiting the whole day and preserved prunes doesn't seem to help. Plain water seems to make it worse. Feel so terrible !

Ah, i just finish my scan and my next appoinment is in 5 weeks time for oscar test) so fast hor!

My MS was super bad for past 2 weeks, cannot eat and sleep properly. But i am slowly over coming it by drink manuka honey, eating non oily stuffs
drink more home made soup.. As long non herbal soup i will drink

I don't stay with my MIL and not even near to my parents, hence no homemade soup. The only time when i don't feel nausea is when i am eating or sleeping. I tried Manuka Honey before, but it doesn't seem to help. Worse, i am starting to cough. Do you think the gynae can prescribe any medication to relief the nausea?

Blurbabe,

I try to have small frequent food every two hours. Constant food; do not let tummy go empty.

Boil Si Shen Soup with lean meat. Found it very useful.

I can't drink plain water too. Have not really found a good drink; so far milo works in morning and peel fresh apple juice works in day time. During my first pregnancy, 7-up works like wonder but it no longer work for me now.

Yesterday, I went to medical hall to get pao shen, bei qi and red dates. But I have not tried it as I forgot to bring my filter cup to work.

thanks to all mommies for ur welcomes!

noknok,
ya, i've heard that if u do not hv a gd experience with ur CL the first round, many will opt to go w/o one for the next one. for me, i dun like to find CL fr confinement agencies cos heard so many horror stories abt them. usually i try to find one within my own circle of mommies friends cos they hv used them personally so their recommendations are more reliable. then i will called them up & asked some general qn & finally settled w e one i felt most comfy w on the phone.

babydino,
thanks, i've just added u in fb, do add me to e secret grp.

christy,
thanks for sharing w me abt dong cong cao, actually i've heard various accounts of dong cond cao, incl fr mommies of my other grps. some mommies hv taken dong cong cao & pao sheng during their 2nd tri & some after their 3rd tri. guess, to be really safe than sorry, will bring the herbs to the TCM at yu ren sheng & ask the chinese doc if they are ok & when to consume.

dhm, congrats on ur triplets!
we first heard of my beanies heartbeats at 7w+, they were both gd & strong then. then in bwtn, hb & i went to europe for a 2wks trip (booked before i knew i was preggie). during the last part of the trip, i kept having this nagging feeling that sth is amissed becos my MS just kinda stopped abruptly & as insane as it may sounds, i could feel my beanies flutters in my tummy even though it was still so early but suddenly, i did not feel any flutters anymore. i told my hb abt it but he brushed it off then saying its all in my mind & i shd stay positive. then on the day we touched down at sg airport, i started bleeding & was rushed to kkh. there the doc looked at me & i knew it then that we had lost them. maybe it was e trip or long haul flight although the doc did say its prob nothing i could do otherwise to prevent it-most likely the beanies were not healthy. i nvr forget the look on my hb's face. he had tears in his eyes when he told me how sorry he was for not taking me seriously. we were both devastated. am still teary when relating this as it was still very fresh in my mind but its ok, we think they are in a better place with god now & 1 of them has returned.