(2013/01) Jan 2013

It is really not easy trying to juggle taking care of newborn, pumping/latching, engorgement, mil, cl etc. So mummies, do try to stay positive and look at the bright side of things as much as possible. Also to communicate with hubby more and tell hubby that it is really very tiring with so much going on and it is important to have their support esp where mil is concerned.

Personally, I hv learnt to just do what I am able to manage, not be too hard on myself, rest more when possible and be positive so that milk supply will improve. Whatever I am not happy about, I will mention directly to my mum or mil who are doing confinement for me - citing that doctor / info stated on books etc if possible or else I will just do it myself so things get done how I like it to be. I will leave #1 to my hubby to take care while I settle everything for baby #2.

Jia you all mummies!

Nickole - no special diet just norm confinement food w fish and hot soups and red date tea... The supply was slowly build up from the initial 2 hourly pump... After clearing the breast you will need to continue to pump for like another 5 mins despite nothing coming out, this will signal to your brain n breast that you need more supply... By doing so, after a few sessions you should see more output... The hot stone massage will help soften the breast and let the milk flow better... I will pm you the ML contact.

Full month:
Am not having full month celebration for baby with friends and relatives coz just 1 week to CNY. Have ordered cakes from Sweetest Moments and vouchers fr Bengawan Solo for relatives and friends and will distribute them on 2 & 3 Feb 2013 (haha rather my hubby and parents/pil will do that while I stay home w baby). Will do a bigger 1st birthday bash instead for bb when he turns 1 yo. Same arrangement for my #1 last time, so fair to both la!

Just finished my massage, I hinted to her that I might need to go to the office to look for mdm rokiah to clear my blocked duct. After that she really help to clear 1 lump.

Just finished massage too, it was so relaxing and made me forget all the blues

She massaged my breasts to clear blocked ducts, super painful but have to bear with it. she pressed till milk was flowing and spraying out, I was amazed! She says next time remember to pump and empty breast before she comes if not all the milk wasted. Hope it can increase my supply too haha...
And it feels great to see a flat tummy again after she put on the bind!

Heya ladies.. my massage was very effective too, unfortunately, the effects are not permanent.
Now, I have started using the Elancyl Stomach Cream... today is day 1, suppose to use for 14 days. Will let you guys know if it's effective.

Ryan_Leroy, that was the case for me. I had 5 sessions of massage, the last 2 was slimming. The effect was fantastic. My mum even complimented about how quick the slimming down was for my tummy, but it's been one week, and my tummy is out again (my mum said so too), although not as big as when I was first discharged. Maybe it's just for me, since it's my no. 3 and the skin is loose already. I don't know. Anyways, I'm very determined to shed some weight and at least some of the bulge, so I really really need to be disciplined after confinement. Asked the CL if I could start exercising and she said no, so I've resorted to slimming creams.

Any mummies will bring your baby to shave his or her hair during full month? My mil told us to do so, I feel so heart pain just to imagine my girl begin botak

Hi chui Yi, I did not shave my baby's hair.. Just a slight trim as a symbol of significance.. Though mil kept saying must shave his hair either on his 40th day or 4th month.. Sianz..

Any mummy has recommendation on the venue to shave baby's hair?

Hi Joey,

I wish I can just trim her hair abit only, her skull still so fragile as she was born on week 36, means she is only week 40 on her full month. What is the meaning of shaving hair? Haiz..

My hubby giving me "stress" again asking me if i can look after bb n my 6 yr old son without maid. That wld mean I take care bb nite n day plus see to my son pri 1 Sch wk ,bring him n fetch him home with bb, do house work and cook all meals

Hi chloe_mummy, my PD said normal temp is 36.5 - 37.5. Better bring baby to see a doc.. NB cannot have fever.. My #2 had fever during confinement and was hospitalized due to UTI

Hi Chui Yi, my baby was born even earlier at week 34+.. Luckily mum and mil listened to me.. Cos baby has a lot of hair and I could not bear to let him be shaved. Also, he was born premie and had delayed vaccinations till date, I don't want to bring him near crowded area..

chloe_mummy, baby's temp can also be affected by warm clothings.. Did u try to measure the temp again? Try those armpit thermometer..

Joey,

That's my concern too, dun want to bring her around as she is still too young and she has a lot of hair. Hope mil will agree to just trimming her hair.

JTS, my friend bring her son to one of the shop at Kk hospital for shaving.

Wow aspialle, that's very taxing.. My 2 kids are currently in Pri sch and i know there is a lot of homework as well as tests even for Pri 1.. Perhaps u can suggest to him if u can get part time helper with the housework and order ting kat for meals? Cos to look after bb, #1's Pri sch hmwork, housework and cook all meals are very siong..

Aspialle,
Agree w Joey, just u taking care if the kids and the entire household is going to be tiring! Can suggest to hubby to give u time to settle into a routine with baby first as that should be the priority, then see how things go w #1 and then slowly see if can cope w all the chores etc. Better to start slow...

Chui Yi, Joey,
I trimmed a little bit of hair for #1 at full month only, then at 4th month, he was literally shedding his hair, so we shaved him at 4th month. I did at the Huaxia Taimaobi shop
at KKH, haha coz he was there for check up so it was out of convenience and afterall it seems they "specialise" in shaving baby's hair to make the paint brush.

Fret with searching your bag for pacifier, handkerchief or things when baby is crying.

Here come the helper : BABY ORGANISER BAG

This durable and stylish baby bag organizer is designed with many compartments to fit in to your handbag and to keep all your baby contents tidy and make finding things so much easier.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.501156953257053.109687.434546086584807&type=1

Like my page and get special discount.

Bdmummy n joey

Told him I'm not superwoman, he says other people also face same prob but they also can take care...

He does not like tingkat , ever tried, still prefer I cook. He wants to save costs thus dun tink he wants part time helper too. It's really too much to do without maid.

Aiyo.. *hugs hugs* aspialle, tell him that each person is different and no one is perfect.. Cannot compare ah.. Also, he has to be prepared that not all things can be done at perfection.. The priorities should be the children.. Besides, yes, other people can take care.. But, to what extent? Is your hubby willing to chip in if u need help? He cannot leave everything to u.. There might be instances that u don't have time to monitor #1's homework or manage to cook well like u used to be.. Cos now u got a baby and a schooling kid to take care of.. The house might be a mess too.. So, he has to be mentally prepared.. Hence, u need to discuss with your hubby on what are his expectations.. Tell him to be mentally prepared on what is going to happen if things are to be taken care of by yourself solely.. Which area is he willing to let go? End of the day, u don't want to quarrel becos of these issues..

Omg.. My hubby is snoring there while I'm typing this. Been not sleeping well passed few days. Anxious bout my girl arrival too. After reading so many mummy post I warned my hubby to not conflict with his mum or prevent his mum to get conflict with my CL, else I will have pnb too I think. Jia you mummies

Thanks for adding me to the list, canopy

Doing my "night" pump now; was too lazy to wake up to my 3am alarm.. Yawns.

Btw on the topic of shaving, when do we need to get bb hair shaved? Not full month?

Aspialle,
Since ur Hb not keen to either get tingkat or part time cleaner, then ask him to take up either of the job. Come back early to prepare dinner or do the housechores. Cos its really not easy to handle bb plus cooking. I also wondering how am I going to handle bb, plus my 2 other kids after CL leaves. #2 comes back by noon & #1 comes back in the afternoon. Need to settle their lunch n nap for #2 & homework for #1. I find it a bit challenging to split myself into 3. We need super powers!!!

Chloe for newborn usually take armpit temperature more accurate.. Ear temp is usually higher and we cannot fully insert thermometer into their small ear as well so may not b very accurate

Aspialle and wenyl .. Boh of you very Weida.. I don't think I can cope with 2 and housework!! Whole day gonna be like mad rush.. Maybe part time cleaner will help if dont want maid.. Still cheaper than maid as no need to pay levy and meals/living expenses.. I have a maid who is to help take care of my kids but she's been here 4 months and still my daughter doesn't take to her hiaz.. Now I can only hope my son will be ok cos he newborn not selective yet haha.. Otherwise i will rather send her back than to have an extra person at home

Even though I'm 2nd time mummy I'm also having the blues now.. My CL leaving next week.. How how how!

P1nk1e, I understand that u can shave baby's hair either on the full month, 40th day or 4 months.. Think it is a personal choice

Joey n wenyl
Last time I used to look after my no1 without helper and do all housewk and cook.. I do marketing on my own too, that time he is v busy with work, comes back v late, can hardly help. At times when I'm sick with fever I still do night feeding.. Those were the days. Maybe he think I can handle both since my no 1 is schooling frm 12 to 6 pm. However he is clean freak, he can't stand messy.. Last time without maid, I scrub toilet floor lines using toothbrush, he wants all lines to be white n clean...now my maid dun even do that. Lolz

Aspialle, Wenyl,
There were couple of times when I had to work late and my hubby took care of my boy. He also buay tahan the amt of things that needs to be done - from feeding, to playing, bathing, etc and he had NO TIME or ENERGY to do other things so he cannot imagine if have to cook meals and clean house as well. Thus maybe u should ask your hubby to "try" to be superman and they will realise it is a tough job and adjust their expectations accordingly!
I also dun hv maid, bit we hv a part time helper that ones weekly to clean house n iron our clothes. Luckily my hubby is very handson w the kids

Wasabe,
My CL already leaves, now I'm getting another one from local to help during day time. I can't imagine one week later when she leaves, it's 24 by 7 on me liao

I find it strange, nowadays all kids can't get along with maid, my son also... A lot of my frds face same thing. I sent my previous indo maid away as she always quarrel with my son, can't handle him and she pulls his ear.. So I sent her back to agent, now my new maid is with me 5 months.

Aspialle, my hubby is a cleanliness freak too.. He wants everything to be clean and neat.. I'm a FTWM with no helper. Additionally, I'm also taking my part time degree.. Have to juggle between work, children and school.. Very tough.. My hubby and I often quarrel becos of the household chores and the children's schoolwork etc.. We did household chores once each week but hubby not satisfied and felt the house is very messy etc.. We finally got a part time helper to do the housework cos I fractured my toe while mopping the floor (slipped and fell cos too exhausted).. However, with the addition of the baby, we did away with the part time helper to save costs.. I really can't imagine how I could cope after my 12 weeks of maternity leaves.. Still got my own exams in May.. Think have to take things easy and tackle them 1 by 1..

Sorry to interrupt. My sis in law just give birth recently & now helping her to look for a massage lady. Any one has a good recommendation? You can pm me too. Thanks!

Canopyhaze, could you kindly update my details?
I delivered on Jan 9. Baby's name Alethea.

Advice from mummies: if I invite people for buffet dinner, do I still need to give them boxes of cakes? or just red eggs is enough?

How abt pple who have given significant angpows.. is just treating them to dinner enough?

To those still struggling with BF: keep perservering!! my first one had nipple confusion too, was playing catch up with formula for the first 2 months.. did alot of reading up online to correct my latching, persistent multiple blocked ducts both sides etc. Thank God everything was ok in the end, managed to direct BF for >1 year in the end. Baby also could do bottle feeding.

One advice to correct shallow latch: do cross-cradle, eg. for left breast, use right hand to cradle baby's head. direct baby's head backwards and straighten baby's back at the same time along right arm, that forces baby's head to tilt back and mouth to open. lower lip contact areolar first, then upper gum can bite down. Check out Jack Newman videos online. For small adjustments, dun need to unlatch totally as doing too much of this can fustrate baby. Just push in the areolar as the baby is sucking and this will improve the latch. Also side-lying position is a life saver!

this time, 2nd baby is much easier... had blocked ducts ++ for a few days initialy when the milk came in, wanted to give up and pump exclusively, but so glad I didnt give in.. now BF well already.

Its normal to feel depressed, stressed, guilty etc abt BF... but hang in there.. survive one day at a time

Joey
Envy u leh can take part time degree , I ever register but withdraw frm course... Who is helping u looking after kids after ur ML?

Aspialle, my MIL will be helping me to look after my children.. We wanted to get a helper to help her out, but she insisted no.. Saying if we get a helper, she will not come anymore.. -.-"" weekends will be my hubby and myself.. Tiring ah.. With another baby, not sure whether can cope or not..

Joey, oic thanks.
What about the choose object ceremony? Is that a hokkien tradition? How to do it? Or is there anything for Cantonese?

She look after how many children? How abt night feeding, u bring bb back?

I headache cos my own parents can't take care, dun dare to ask my parents in law too cos once they take care , I have no say over the children... They are not negotiable type, have to follow their pattern, eg giving pacifier, slp in sarong etc

The next option hubby gives me is to put elder one in before after school care and bb in infant care then I work

She will look after all 3 children.. My #1 and #2 are in Pri 4 and 3 respectively (both in morning session).. When #1 and 2 in school, she will look after baby and do her own housework at her own house.. Late morning, will bring baby back to my place.. #1 and 2 will be taking school bus to and fro school.. Night time will be looked after by hubby and myself.. So, when I'm having exams or school assignment, hubby will need to take over.. But day time quite siong cos #1 and #2 got quite a number of activities after school.. But, she told me she can cope.. -.-""" my MIL wanted me to give baby pacifier and to sleep in sarong.. I used my hubby as an excuse and said he insisted no (which is the truth too).. :p using her son as an excuse is more effective.. My MIL is more easy to negotiate.. Not like my FIL.. But since baby only there for few hours, I'm still ok with it..

canopyhaze, can you help me update my details too? This is my no. 3, girl, Emma, gave birth at TMC, doctor is Dr. Adrian Tan, DOB 5 Jan 2013, Natural.

siewz, I assume can apply slimming cream. The Elancyl one has caffeine, but I've been told if it's cream applied on the body and not taken orally, its ok for breastfeeding.

moshimaro! thanks for providing the tips on latching properly. I'm still having problems latching properly with my no. 3. Is it true that if you are latching correctly, you should feel absolutely ZERO pain? Because I still feel pain but maybe not that much.. tolerable la.

2kidsmum,
I feel abit pain too when latching, but tolerable.. Shud b normal?

My problem is I feel discomfort (not really to the extend of pain) when having a letdown.. Anyone experience that too? I dun recall having this feeling during my #1..

Heya p1nk1e, I get painful letdown as well. It goes away when I use my palms to press onto the breast. Painful letdowns are very normal. The only thing is, can't imagine when I start going out and having letdowns and need to press my breasts in public!!!

For me the latching is super painful for the first 10 seconds... It's a shooting pain. After that the pain is not that bad. Is it like that for you too?

2kidsmommy - I also gave birth on 5 Jan...I can identify with the shooting pain that you mentioned when baby latches on. It lasts only for around 5 to 10secs..and after that, it is ok. Also kid number 3 for me, so sometimes I wonder if I am still not getting the technique correct after all this while. The LC at TMC commented that our nipples need time to toughen up..so naturally there will be some pain.

2kidsmommy & chin,
Yup, kinda shooting pain.. I'll cringe when she close her mouth on my nip. But feels better than the pain during letdown..
I read somewhere that painful letdown is cos we have too much milk, but I dun have a lot le..