(2013/01) Jan 2013

Travelling with bb > I think it depends on individual bb. We brought my #1 to Genting when he was 4 mths old and it was hell! Haha, he couldn't get used to the unfamiliar environment and kept crying. In the end, me and my hubby didn't enjoy the trip at all cos' we had to coop up in the room with him. Then, we brought him again to M'sia when he was 1 year old. It was difficult too, cos' he juz started walking/ running and we kept having to chase him all over. Now with #2 coming, I'll see how her temperament first..likely we won't be travelling for a long, long time.

Julie > Previously I went down to the Mums & Babes showroom (the one at Toh Guan) and asked them to measure for me. Then they can advise which is the correct size to get for the Medela breastshield.

want to ask.. mummies who previously stayed in 2 or 4 bedded after delivery, during the day, what did you do with baby when u need to visit the toilet? Just leave them unattended (assuming no hubby or Mom around)?

haiza > yup. depends on individual baby. i came across someone, who brought his 7mth old baby to genting. baby cant adapt to the cooling weather there, developed high fever. Visited the Local GP there, GP told them to rush bb to hospital. end up, the daddy had to arrange for private van to shuttle whole family back to SG. went straight to KKH and bb was admitted for a few days. KKH doc said, any longer, bb will be in grave danger..

likewise, mummies from my previous thread, brought their newborns on holiday. everything ok.

xinyue, usually the bb is not rooming with me. I was staying in a 2 bedded. The nurses will wheel the baby in to me when the baby is hungry. But bb was with me mostly after birth as my parents/in laws all came to visit and they stayed pretty long. After that the nurses collected the baby as they need to do tests, give jabs, etc.

Anyway, if you need to - just press the bell for the nurse and let them bring the bb to nursery... at least it is safer there.

Hi all, went to catch my twilight saga movie in morning with hubby.. But it's coming an end... Hope bb will be as handsome as Edward cullen

julie, you can go mums and babes. They have some measuring thing and can help u measure to see which side shield u should be using.

baby travelling:
My gal went for her first trip with me - KL when she was about 11 mths. The reason I chose KL is because temperature wise and enviornment is pretty similar to Singapore. And since she has started weaning, it is still ok as I will feed her bottled food (Heinz). But she got a bit cranky (cos she didn't poop for 2 days straight!) and refused solids. :p Generally it was still ok. We were able to do walking ard.

snowger > ok, thanks.. previously was staying in one bedded and hubs was with me.. think this time round, taking 2 bedded and it will just be me and baby..

Nickole: yup i know, saw their site earlier already. Wat i wanted to know was how do i know which size i need? Bigger seems better? Coz smaller like gt say will affect milk supply, bt no say too big will affect.. Actualli i onli got the membrane. Tink will get the valve n bottle oso.

Haiza: wah toh guan so far!! Wat did they measure u rem? Can i DIY?

Super tired.. Had a power nap juz now.. Felt as if i slept for so long but when woke up onli 10min passed..

xinyue, alternatively u can send the bb back to the nursery on ur level (i.e. take a short walk down the corridor). For me my hb was mostly with me. If not my parents or in law were around. So when I go toilet the bb was being watched.

Snowger: haiza mentioned toh guan. U oso went toh guan? Coz searched online they gt retail outlets too. Do u know if they have the measuring thing at the retail shops?

Having diarrhoea today... So tired fm going toilet...

julie, no leh - I havent gone to any of the shops to measure yet. :p But I know the shop is call Mums and Babes. I was told by Spring that if I want to know my size, can just go to any Mums & Babes shop. I havent done that yet. But if I go there to do measurement will just buy from there... safe the hassle... :p

xinyue, so glad is FRIDAY! My helper came this week and was so busy packing the whole house and getting her to help striaghten the house. Actually, it's also good! Cos CNY is just ard the corner and spring cleaning came early!

Snowger: yup.. Will go c if the retail shops do the measurement coz its nearer.. Rather than toh guan so far!!!

Juz back to my seat fm my 3rd toilet visit.. Legs so jelly liao....

snowger > great! yeah.. good that you are starting early.. else, it will get harder with the big belly..

Sigh.. yet to get anything done.. hubs just cant be bothered.. sickening..

hate it, esp when, after packing the house.. MIL will comment.. ohh.. ur house so empty, can store more 'things'. why not put this here or there, etc..

yet, cannot don't pack the house..

worst, next year onwards, she and her whole family (BIL , FIL) be living permanently with us.. imagine.. me, hubs, #1, #2, maid plus the 3 of them cramping in a 4 rm flat..

8 pax cramping in a 4 rm flat *FAINTS* someone, kill me pls..

Xinyue: relax... Haha!! Bt y all stay wif u all? Than now staying where? Mayb in future ur BIL n SIL will get own place? It's a matter of time.. Me now is 5 in a 4rm flat.. After delivery will be 6 in a 4rm flat.. Gonna try persuade hubby to move to my mum place mayb in mid dec.. At least mum place is 5rm flat.. Much bigger, Nt so squeezy.. Will be 7 in a 5rm flat, still better la.. I tink the mos onli stay there 1yr b4 my BTO comes.. Unless i call govt to come c this thread.. So they know i complaining tat BTO is taking super long!! And the whole world is complaining new flats are super small compared to the older ones!!

@Julie: My gyane not as gd as nickole's 1.haha! he ask me go check myself for the procedure.

thanks mommies for the info =)

Rugirly: ya lo.. Anywaz i called this morning. They asked a few questions to determine if u can donate. Than say will take 3 tubes of blood on the day u hospitalized but b4 labour to do some tests to confirm if can donate. Arranged an appt to meet them after my next gynae check coz their office at basement of KKH. So she book appt for me to meet them to fill up somemore questionnaire and sign the consent form after my visit. Say will take about 30min.

@ Julie, she was so happy when she saw her dad... Dad patted her to zzz and within 10 mins ko Liao...

She hugs her dad, mess his hair , hang herself ard her dad... Keep laughing ...

U ok nw? How come diarrheao? Better nw? Drink more water k... Don't exert too much ...

xinyue, that's a lot of people!!! I cannot imagine. As it is my house with me & hb , #1 and maid already full house liao. If I had another 3 pax, I will go mad. Tell ur MIL: Got kids, house must keep clean and neat and empty so they have the space to play toys, etc.
Hb has removed our bulky coffee table from the house. *so happy*

Now must go on to the store room to clear out space. My store room is so full, I cannot even put my feet on the store room floor tiles! *_*

Rugirly, I just called the hotline number. They did a questionaire over the phone. If u pass that, they will send a rep to meet you up to fill up another one. This is my 2nd time donating...

Bliss: wow!! Tat's so gd.. Since young close to dad issit? Dono y mine alwaz asking where dad is bt when dad ard like bochup dad. Sleeping time will find dad coz i'll call her slp bt dad wont.. She wanna play than is daddy daddy!! Haha!!

Eh diarrhoea still gt bah.. Doubt is transmissible rite? Coz my ger was having diarrhoea for last 3days, mine started today. I drink water like nobody business liao leh.. Now stomach so bloated.. Somemore bb moving alot.. Make tummy even more tight n painzz

julie, if the diarrhoea is related to stomach flu. Yes it can spread. So btr be careful ya? I went to PD recently and the PD siad that recently got a lot of flu and stomach flu cases.

I just read another few articles while researching on breast pump. I decided to return the avent electric single pump back to my husband friend for hygiene reasons stated.
I read that even you replace all the parts it is impossible to ensure the pump is clean because most of the single user pumps are open system which means the BM actually flow back to the pump, inside the pump where you can't open it up to see unless you are ready to discard it ( refer to the 1st link actually there is a review on it and picture showing the mould growing inside the pump). It looks like all Medela pumps are open system. Close system pump are fully WHO code compliant, such as ARDO, Hygeia, or Ameda.

http://mythnomore.blogspot.sg/2011/08/why-you-shouldnt-buy-sell-or-borrow.html?m=1
http://www.llli.org/llleaderweb/lv/lvjunjul04p54.html

Ya now running flu virus around. Both my in laws and maid all ill. I am hiding inside the room everyday to keep away from the virus.

Hi Averie

For the same reason as u mentioned, I also bot a new ameda dual pump.. Though my 1st baby I borrowed from my fren coz tat time din know pump shld nt be shared.. First time going to use ameda, hope is a good pump..

Btw, any mummies thinking of nt taking epidural?? My 1st experience was bad.. Though it helps to relieve the pain, I had all the side effects!! Shivering, vomiting n headache.. N the part where the injection was being injected to my spine, I had pain for more than half year.. Any mummies can share experience delivery without epi?

Averie, my son n hubby both sick, I got no where to hide, think I will be the next one sooner or later...

Rlrenn, my no1 I insist not to take epidural...this time also

@rlrenn, which ameda model u buy? actually i want something portable maybe I will consider Ardo Calypso.

@aspialle, then you got to take care. you got eat more apple liao. An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

Snowger: juz now went united square, mums & babes. They gt a thingy wif 4-5 holes than they lend u to measure c which size is suitable. I haven buy coz gonna buy fm gmarket coz gonna buy the bottle oso, n the shop don sell onli 1 bottle.

Rlrenn: I had epidural for 1st and am goin to take it this time again. Doubt i can tahan the pain. Tat time i pain till cannot open eye cannot open mouth.. After taking was heaven.. Back to normal self. I didnt have any of the side effects except for the shivering. For mummies who dont use epidural i reli respect them for tat. Like my collegue. Very power. She onli used the gas mask. If u don wan epidural can try tat. Coz tat 1 when pain u put over ur mouth, when no more pain than u remove. So gotta be careful coz some pple juz put it over the mouth n keep breathing in n no remove, than will overdose than very dizzy.. Bt if u control it well, than gd lor.. Wish u gd luck!!

Hi Rirenn, I had an epidural and injection free delivery for #1. I was shaking and shivering badly throughout too as mine was induced from 1am onwards. I refused to take anything until at 7-8cm dilation, then they forced the laughing gas on me. Baby was out just before 12 noon. Imagine the number of hours I had endured.

I think it is possible as long as you breathe correctly and get yourself distracted from the pain. Good luck! ^_^

Averie, oops... paiseh to scare u with my own theory of using 2nd hand pump...

Epi: my two best friends who have given birth to 2 & 3 kids respectively all went without it. Among the 3 of us, I'm the usually the 'brave' one who can endure cuts, bruise etc. They will scream and cry even when their fingers r cut by paper loh... BUT I'm the only one who beg for epi during delivery. Lol!

Hi Averie, I bot ameda lactaline dual pump coz I felt single pump is taking too long to pump. Last time I'm sahm so I'm ok with single pump but nw I want to pump too when gog back to work so I bot dual pump..

Epi: mayb I shld try laughing gas first.. Hmm...

I'm going to have my no.1 and thinking of not going for epi if possible. Heard from my colleague that her side effect from epi after delivery is backache and it's quite bad.

Siew Chin

I heard rumour about having pain when raining, etc for epi and that's why i din opt for epi initially but after using laughing gas for a while, hb requested epi as the pain got worse n he couldn't bear see me suffer. He even asked the nurse and nurse said she also had epi n no such thing. It'll be better as lesser painful n more relax for mum to deliver.

Anyway, I dun hv the prob. Maybe wanna ask all mums who had epi before.

But as last min ask for epi, I had a v bad anesthetist...... regret it.

Epi
I had it for both. For second one, I delivered immediately after administration and epi only kicked in when gynae was stitching up :p heee... Butthe anesthetist was kind enough to waive his charges.;)

I feel epi is a very minor thing. The battle ahead is long so no point killing yourself over the pain. I'll rather focus on reserving enough energy for bfg and getting well

Epi

I had epi for both my kids..and would prob ask for it for this time as well. Except for the nausea and slight shivering immediately after delivery, I have had no other side effects. But my view is better to ask for it early - so that you can conserve your energy for pushing. That way, no need for forceps to get baby out.

"The bottom line is that childbirth is a huge physical act that involves pain for most who experience it. But the pain of labor, it turns out, is important. It is hormonally tied to healthy labor progress. If you take away the pain, you may take away the progress, which requires intervention that can cause harm (and more pain!). Your doc/friend/mother-in-law may be saying, “Don’t be a hero, get the epidural!” But this isn’t about heroics, this is about protecting your body. It may turn out that after hours of labor and every other trick in the bag, an epidural is just what it takes to facilitate the baby’s debut. But research suggests it’s best left as the serious medical intervention it is — taken when really needed.

That’s not to say that women who shoo away the anaesthesiologist don’t need help getting through the pain — massage, a deep warm tub, a shower, hypnosis, and relaxation techniques can all help. Most importantly, you need to be able to move your body. What you don’t need is to be stuck in a situation with access to none of these options, or in a hospital bed with an electronic fetal monitor tying you down and a Syntocinon drip in your vein. Indeed, if you’re pushed, an epidural may be the only way you can get through it. It’s nonsensical to expect a woman to labor without drugs if she’s strapped flat on her back.

That’s why it’s imperative to line up a supportive provider, (a great idea is to include a doula) and atmosphere before labour starts. Women who get this kind of support are more able to stay upright, active, and in control of pushing, and are more likely to have an uncomplicated birth, an intact, uncut vagina, and a speedy recovery."

http://www.bellybelly.com.au/birth/but-i-want-drugs-drugs-in-labour

Numerous clinical studies have found that a doula’s presence at birth
tends to result in shorter labors with fewer complications
reduces negative feelings about one’s childbirth experience
reduces the need for pitocin (a labor-inducing drug), forceps or vacuum extraction and cesareans
reduces the mother’s request for pain medication and/or epidurals
Research shows parents who receive support can:
Feel more secure and cared for
Are more successful in adapting to new family dynamics
Have greater success with breastfeeding
Have greater self-confidence
Have less postpartum depression
Have lower incidence of abuse
Taken from: http://www.dona.org/mothers/why_use_a_doula.php

I am training to be a doula aka professional labour support. As part of my certification, I am required to attend three births. Below are links, which explain what a doula does and how I can help you have a positive birth experience. Do pm me or email me at [email protected] if you have any queries. Looking forward to hear from you. 
www.drmomma.org/2011/05/what-doulas-do.html
www.drmomma.org/2011/04/5-doula-myths-debunked.html

Siew Chin

I agreed with Friends on the bad posture esp when u need to constantly bf, carry bb, carry diaper bag, etc... it will cause backache and it will get worse when bb gets heavier and starts to wiggle.

Anyway.... unless ur delivery is short, then maybe no epi is ok. Mine was 18 hours and initial few hours were already in the evening, so the real pain is middle of the night.

Just like what Fullhouse commented " no point killing yourself over the pain. I'll rather focus on reserving enough energy for bfg and getting well"

U can consider but also make other possibilities if what happ,etc. & really salute those mums who din use epi & laughing gas.

Oh... nt to forget where the dilation was. Mine was in a bad area & the checking was hell!

Don't know why, woke up feeling v moody and blue... Esp I saw ex colleagues in mkt... Now that I resign to stay home , I felt I had lost sense of self worth.. Giving up my year end bonuses and everything... Physically I also dun feel attractive with my elephant foot and big tummy with 2 lumps of excessive breast ... Feel like an ugly monster ... With lots of uncertainty .... Since now no income, have no position to comment anything as spending power is with hubby...

Hi Sylvia,

thanks for your reply. will not rule out laughing gas and epi totally. if really need to, will opt for it.

hopefully all will be smooth when bb decides to come..

Aspialle, sayang sayang. It's the preg hormones that making us emo. I understand how u feel cos I also feel like a big hippo at times and my head is covered with white hair!!! I try to avoid friends' gathering cos I have become very conscious of my look.... Let's jiayou together! Less than 2 mth to go....

Aspialle
Think about it this way, she might be whining to her Hb tonight how come you are staying at home, and she is slogging her life away....

Sahm is not the most glamourous job, and ftwm is not the most unregrettable decision.. It's a give and take, you win some, you lose some... just stick with your decision and enjoy every moment of this privilege :D

Pregnancy hormones like what friends said. Go eat some dark chocolates for that endorphine boost... It always makes me happy!

Aspialle: yup, i was abit moody juz now too.. Coz hubby 'kup' my fon juz now. So rude.. N my ger made me angry juz now too.. Blood boil.. So i took some time out and told myself to cool down.. Time out is alwaz good.. To clear ur mind.. After tat my mum brought my ger out and i ignored hubby. When he talked to me 1st and attitude was better, i felt better too. Adding to tat, my ger oso was all smiley and nt making me angry already. We all feel like hippos now, bt it's less than 2mths to go!! So lets all jiayou!!

Ya i also find myself like hippo. I don't like maternity clothes and flats. I work in bank and need to see client so I am always in fitting office suit and heels. All my female colleagues all look pretty and good figure. I am the odd now. Good thing is I am already on leave no need to go office or see client else I see myself really like ah soh. My client also don't want to see me lo. When they see me in big tummy go see them they will comment 'aiyo pregnant still run around'... Now only thing worries me is after give birth whether I still can get back my figure to fit my work clothes. My colleague after she gave birth with intensity BF and EBM she actually lose weight and lesser than before. I got to learnt from her. Will hardworking abit every few hr express milk. Haha...

Aspialle, jiayou! At times u will feel moody, but will get over it one. Go for retail therapy! Haha.. If dun feel like gg out (which I also sometimes feel ugly n fat to go out to be seen), can always shop online. Quite shiok too. Go bulk purchase forum n see what u still need or want for ur baby.
works for me. Hope it does for u too.

Shice, I agree retail therapy works.
But then now I only buy baby things. All other things no longer interest me.

1)is to save $.
2)after I read Warren Buffet teaching on spending 'If you buy things that you do not need, you may soon have to sell things you need' so now no mood to spend.

Aspialle, I suggest reading. Now everyday I ready alot of books, newspaper, magazine. Quite enjoying it. After reading I will share with hubby and enlighten him with things I know and he don't know. Haha...

Thanks friends, full house ,Julie, shice n Averie ...
Ya think its emo affecting me, I truly agree for sahm, it's a give n take, u gain some n lose some .. For me hubby always ot till v late on weekdays, weekends are busy sending son to enrichment... Life becomes so routine, he dun even have time to listen to me talk at times. Now Sch holidays, my son super sticky on me and at times driving me crazy at home. Sometimes really feel a need to breakfree from all these for alone time. Last time can use food to make me happy, now cannot cos need to test blood sugar,need to control diet ....