(2013/01) Jan 2013

thanks Julie and bliss.

yeah, will get ready by week 37.. just in case.. haha!!

btw, do you all drink coconut juice in the last tri?

siew chin

it really depends when ur bb decides to come out. Some earlier, some near edd/or on edd and some even later.

earlier can due to early contraction like walking too much, playing or rigger by nipple or squatting, bedroom activities.

I know mums who gave birth 1 wk -10days later than edd too.

nickole,

stay opp also dun spend time with kids n mum... power leh!!

their bonding nt strong? or rather their mum din take care of them last time?

I went to fishing for kids 1 time and a lady asked her frd's husband why he was with the kid and let the maid company. the man said " this is what I get a maid for. why should I do the job. I shld rest ". The wife was preg.

@ Julie, hehehe.. yup these days kids are smart unlike in our generation..Mine still sit in her pram. She will ask for her pram sometime.

#1 sleeps with me.. However when her dad is ard, she will put her pillow beside his and sleep besides him.. Then in wee hrs, I will move her to sleep with me. In morn, when she find out, she shifts her pillow to sleep with hub again.. no mummy heart lor..

These few days, hub o/s to bkk, I asked whether she misses her daddy. She said yes.. then stick to me.. Shall see tmr when she sees hub in morn.

I dont miss hub ... dont know why??? change of heart...?? whahahahhaa

He coming back tonight but i told him to unpack his stuff at mil place then we see him tmr...

ctrus .. yeah, agreed. With all the loan stuff, better save some money and buy the car when really can afford.

JuLiE, I like Taiwan very much, and it also cheaper in terms of food and accommodation etc. Well, I also a bit worry how to bring baby go to those night markets .. need to think think, hehe.

aspialle, good idea to sell your resale and get a BTO. For us, we need to wait for 5 years then only can sell my current resale. When 5yrs come, we didn't want to wait to get a new flat and my husband didn't like the new flat layout; so 2nd time also buy a resale. We also planned to rent out our room .. 1k is a lot, I thought can rent a room to 2 ppls for 700 or 800. Seems like I can increase more :p

ctrus, so you ok to leave your bb with your MIL? won't miss your bb when you are in travel? For us, we prefer to bring bb along with us .. not sure if it's a good idea to leave bb with someone else, but for sure this will be easier for 2 ppls to go recharge.
Off-peak car is cheaper? We didn't go to do research .. We are not those really like to go out always, prefer to stay home rather than going out. So was thinking to rent car when needed only. May be can consider this option if price is ok ...

Averie, my tummy also about the same size as yours .. I gained total 12 kg when I m in 32 wks.
Do you have any colleagues or friends can lend you the pump? I am lucky and managed to borrow the Medela Freestyle pumps from my colleague, I save few hundreds on the pump.

Sylvia, i think bonding not strong. they rather stay with ah gong and ah mah.. they were staying there since they were born. only weekend go home. then eventually din go home. sil working those 3-4 days work week, so last time will bring them home on thurs night. but now, fridays when we went, still see them there..
my mil was telling me that, last month when they went for tour, the eldest one din go home, then waiting for mil and fil to come back. when mil called home, niece even cried saying miss ah mah.. tell her to come home soon.. but din hear her say she miss her parents lor. lol! i think they are even more closer to the maid than their parents. haiz!

pocketpig: When is a best time if were to bring bb along for holiday especially vaccinations are involved. Need to do bb's passport.

Hi pocketpig, my friends are all still using their pump to breastfeeding their babies. The only pump I gotten is from my hubby friend which a single electric avent pump. I read online in fact pump cannot shared or used by another person leh. According to FDA, breast milk carry bacteria and virus like HIV etc. which can contaminate the pump and pass to the next user. Even sterilizer also can't remove it. Only hospital or rental pumps are safe for multiple users because they are designed such that BM don't get inside the pump.
So I am contemplating to buy one. I just afraid no BM....

But my friend tell me no such thing as no BM. Else alot of babies won't survived in olden days when there is no FM. So she is telling me to invest on a good pump and religiously pumping and pumping until there is milk. She said her milk only kick in 7 days later and she didn't give baby if other replacement. Basically the baby go hungry. The pediatrician ask her give glucose but she is still very persist latch until she see milk on day 7. After that she start pump to empty the breast and now her daily supply is 1 litre. So amazing!

Went for my 32 wks visit today. My lil girl is petite, at 1.5kg, 10th percentile...

Coconut juice
I love it!! I think it helps improve your amniotic fluid

Breastpump
Think I shall get a new one;).. I most prop will get Ameda Lactaline again. Think any breastpumps will do. I total bf my older two. But of course I'm a sahm so breast pumps isn't that crucial for me... Maybe just get the agent single cheap cheap hor... Iya...

Averie : You are right, I also hear cannot anyhow use 2nd hand pump, esp. if you do not know the health history of previous users. i also check with some lactation specialist to confirm it is true. only hospital grades breastpumps can be shared. there is a brand call Hygeia that cost just as much as medela freestyle in the market.
Personally, i am confused too and had not decided which pump to buy!

siew chin

actually shld pack hospital bag now as can be as early as 2mth before for some.

Though better ard wk 39.

nickole

that is bad!! the maid closer than parents.
grand parents closer is ok as still relatives... but maid.

anyway, dun understand this type of parents.:p

So tired looking after my boy alone for 3 full hrs upon reaching home after work...he is on school holiday cos in PG and MIL told me that he was playing the whole day without nap... Yet he show no sign of tiredness just now and my back now is breaking...

Nickole, I purposely bought a unit next to my inlaws so that I can walk over to see and play with my boy everyday until he sleeps...One day never see, I already can't sleep well and will think of him whole nite... I wonder how your BIL and SIL can don't even make it a point to pop by once a while. Won't miss the kids meh?

2nd breast pump: I don't feel comfortable to buy 2nd hand from strangers... Hep B is my main concern. Actually also 'bo hua'... People usually sell it at $200-$250... Then we might need to get new replaceable parts like breast shield, kit, tube etc which cost around another $100 plus... Might as well get a US freestyle set at $450 - 500 which is new or a cheaper type... My views.

Hi Angeliqueous, I never heard of the brand Hygeia leh. Should get common brand then when come to buy replacement is much more easier. I am thinking of getting Medela Freestyle now local set everywhere is selling $699. My friend highly recommend and swear by it.

Good morning mummies,

Nickole,
My SIL is also hub's bro's wife. Think they are almost same pattern. Now worse, school holiday all 3 kids are with MIL and couple stay at the comfort zone of their own new hse and 'visit' the kids only on Sat. Super weekend parents.

They may still not be awared that MIL will be helping me with bb sitting for #3. Was planning not to fully ultised my ML & Leave cos since I know they have the 'habbit' of leaving all kids with MIL during school holiday, I seriously dun think my MIL can cope with 4 kids the next June & Dec holiday. But my project always fall in June & Dec, not sure if boss will allow me to take leave
What to do if you have this kind of inconsiderate ppl.

Siew Chin,
I also dun take cocnut juice. In fact dun dare to take. The taste make me puke. Some ppl swear by taking coconut juice, bb come out cleaner but I find it not true. Din take any for 2 kids but they also quite clean.

Friends,
Re: 2nd hand pump
I think it depend on individual. My friends/ colleagues all prefer to go for 2nd hand. Not sure if they do replace the parts thout. But personally, I prefer to get a brand new one for the reason you've stated. In fact. Ameda cost $350 for a brand new set.

@Sylvia,
okie. will work on packing.

@fullhouse,

@BBlove,
thanks. i have yet to try taking. not sure if i would like it too.

btw, any advice if i should get a sling? i have a hand-me-down carrier, but think that can only be use later.
thks, mummies!

Morning all!!

Bliss: so how? Ur ger gt miss her dad? Haha!! I wish mine is like tat too. Thou she'd ask where's papa if he's nt ard during bedtime, bt if no mummy she wont even ask, she either go outside find or cry for mummy. Dono when in labour how she gonna slp..

Pocketpig: i havent been to taiwan, bt would love to go for their night markets. I tink if bb still young as in can anytime slp in ur arms still ok. Can bring out a sleeping baby in a sling or carrier. Bt a toddler who doesnt slp when outdoors? Tat's a prob.. Haha!! So either i wait till my #1 can stay in sg without me or she much bigger than can tong to slp later. Bt slp later oso like nt gd for them, break the routine liao..

Siew chin: i onli took coconut the day i delivered the last time. Coz i don like coconut so doubt will deliberately go for it. Mayb last 2wks drink 1 a wk lo.. Bt cant rem mummies were saying drink the white kind or the green kind? As for sling, i already have a carrier bt i still bought a sling coz i find it useful during the 1st few mths b4 carrier can be used. Bb slept so soundly inside while i could use both hands for my meals. Bt it depends. Coz i lent it to my fren n she said her bb didnt like it coz kept sweating inside..

Fullhouse: went for my 33wk check on wed. Bb is 2.3kg. Doc say gd weight. I ask issit 50%? He said abit bigger coz at 33wk average is 2.2kg or so. Bt nt to worry la.. They last phase is growth spurt. Mine in 3wks gained 700grams..

My hospital bag oso haven pack. Juz did some washing of clothes yest.. To be packed into hospital bag.. Still gt many more washing to go.. Yawnzzz...

Siew Chin,
Sling / carrier depends on individual. Personally I like and prefer sling cos eadier to handle. But the negative point is sling is 1 sided so 1 shoulder will ache alot cos not strength not balanced out like carrier.

Julie,
2.3 @ week 33 is good weight. Mine only est 1.8 @32 weeks. I'm also so lazy to even start the hospital bag. Only dig out marriage cert & binder but still put them inside 1 corner of the cupboard. Haven even go and dig the bag. kekez

Siew chin: my sling is moms in mind. I like it when bb is small. After tat when bigger i use my carrier. Coz at least carrier hubby can carry. He use sling like so girly. Haha!! As wat bblove said, its painful if use sling for too long, coz 1 side onli. Yup, i today officially 34wk liao. EDD 4jan. U?

Bblove: i haven gotten anything ready yet. Onli washed 1 bb romper n 1set of mittens n booties. The binder u bring to hosp? I onli started using at hm when i discharged fm hosp. Was thinking of packing after my next gynae appt which is 3wks later in mid dec. My gynae either too confident or bochup. Coz i tot at this stage would b 2wks later. Bt better oso la.. Save $.. Hehe!!

Siew Chin,
Mine also MIM aling. I like it and used till bb past 15 months for both kids.

Julie,
My hubby dun like to use sling nor carrier. He prefer to carry in hand like tat. Strange man though.

I'm bring binder to hospital. Mine is c-sect. Usually gynae will put on for me from 2nd day so that I can start to walk on day 2, otherwise cannot go home on 3rd day if he doesn't see me walking from day 2 - Cruel man!!
My next appointment is also 3 weeks later in mid Dec. But guess mine is package and so more c-sect tt why no 2 weeks check up.

Bblove: ur hubby wanna show he strong la.. Haha!! Mine don use sling bt at least carrier still ok. Esp if he c me like cannot tahan already. Haha!! Ooo.. Mine is natural, n hopefully this time can natural oso.. My check up no package leh.. Last delivery at TMC gt package n gt 2wk n weekly check, so more worth it. Bt this time at KKH no package, so he say 3weekly i oso don mind, no need waste $$.. Haha!!

Julie,
ya lor. my hubby also not for the idea of sling. he says like not very secure. but i thot bb like quite comfy and we have free hands.

heehee, we are 1 day apart. i'm 34 wk yesterday and EDD 3 jan. i will be at TMC. U?

where can i get MIM sling?

Siew Chin, I using MIM but dunno why bb kept slipping off, in the end, hb using sling, I use to carry by hand as bb prefer sticking to me.

carrier only when bigger.

bblove / siew chin,
eh.. for my pt of view, drink coconut to come out clean might nt be true too. Plus for the sake of coming out clean & affect bb's health, then I also nt super onz. The white layer will peel off later like facial mask, & having or nt having the layer dun seem to be a factor so nt a prob to me.

pump.......... I very lazy to take out as I only use for 2 mths before #1 totally reject milk bottle. maybe I hv to go n chk the condition too. Including warmer,etc.

so nt kanjong. LOL!!

Personally I prefer carrier to sling. Partly I'm petite, so sling may not look good on me esp with the extra cloth. And like what some mummies mentioned, can balance bb's weight evenly on both shoulders.

My mum/mil both also said to eat alot of vinegar prior delivery so that the placenta can come out cleanly. Vinegar from e.g. bak chor mee

sling/carrier: My hubby and I don't like either one:p Hubby got back problem so can't sling for long. We luv our stroller! Just throw baby there, push everywhere including restaurants, shopping...and we hang everything including baby bag on it...Train my boy since newborn days on stroller and car seat so he is still ok with stroller when we are out till now...

Sylvia, Friends, BBlove, ya. i oso agree how come these type of parents can have so many children while those who really love children tried so hard to conceive yet cannot get.. haiz!

As for second hand pump, i agree with Friends too. for hygenic reasons i oso got a new pump after the hand-me-down pump from my colleague died on me! cos i feel paying so much for a second hand one is just not worth it. i bought new spare parts for the hand-me-down pump.

Angeliqueous, i replied ur email. got receive?

Siew Chin, can drink young coconut juice after week 37 if i m not wrong. haha. As for slings / carrier, i prefer carrier. i have both actually. sling was hand-me-down from my aunt. i used that before i bought my carrier. its good when baby smaller cos not so heavy, plus easier to bf in it too. =P i bought carrier when my boy turned 4mths when his neck is strong enuff for me to be carried upright. and he dun like sling when he is older liao. maybe becos he cannot see anything inside, all dark. haha.. my hb dun use sling too. so we bought carrier. till now my boy 18mths still using carrier whenever we go out. and he can sleep in it for hours.

I think i m one super not kan chiong mummy. cos i haven pack anything yet, and clothes haven take out to wash.. lol! cos i still have another 2 months to go. haha. the room so messy, haven pack yet. lazy me! haha..

ctrus, black vinegar right? when can start taking?

ctrus, actually there is no so-called best time to bring bb for travel. I checked from baby center and saw there are parents brought new born baby and experience was good coz newborn baby wont move here and there. But there are also ppls said newborn might need to take more cautious as baby might not adapt the environment etc. So overall, still depend on individuals. I will think to bring after 5 months coz still worry about newborn baby condition.

Averie, I bought the new spare parts for Medela bump ... I think to share the motor machine itself is ok, but those parts will be better to get a new one. Just the spare parts, I already spent more than hundred dollars. If u are worry about BM, then you can buy when baby deliver since now you already have the single pump.

Fullhouse, your baby is at small size .. mine already 1.88kg when I'm in 32wk. But if doctor said ok then not worry.

Siew chin: quite stable inside la.. Like comfy n snug too.. Bt when my ger turned 4-5mths when head stable than i used carrier. Better oso coz too heavy using sling vey pain. I bought mine 2nd hand fm forum. If u wan 1st hand, i search online is get fm this placed called thebirthshop. They gt showroom at sin ming. I at KKH.. 1st 1 at TMC, now try KKH.. Hehe!!

Sylvia: coconut will affect bb health meh?

Ctrus: i don like vinegar leh, how?? Haha!!

Friends: i cannot handle bb + stroller alone so use sling when i alone. Sometimes if out wif hubby will oso use sling than no bring stroller coz bb seems so comfy inside n can slp very long. In stroller like a while wake up liao.

Nickole: young coconut is which kind? Those small white kind or the big green kind.. My ger after turned 1yr don wan be carried in carrier liao.. Coz learn how to walk already than don wanna b carried. Even stroller oso the most use till 1half yrs. waste $$....

Nickole: Bcos my EDD is 17 Jan. My mum said probably late Dec or early Jan. But I'm not sure the frequency to consume leh.

JuLiE, I also thought of bringing carrier so that baby can sleep when we go night market in Taiwan.

Carrier / sling, I let my husband choose .. hehe, coz he will be the one to carry baby :p
At the end we bought a carrier during baby fair at expo, he tried few times in the expo. The salegirl like him very much and even asked him to be the model .. haha.

pocketpig: I worried the air pressure frm plane will cause discomfort to bb and they will cry. Which will make other travellers unhappy.

julie: My mum wanted to ask my aunt to cook pig liver with black vinegar. But I don't take pig liver. Ask can modify using lean meat instead? haha

Julie, i think young coconut is the brown colour small small one from ntuc.. got stated on the label. haha..
Sometimes my boy will struggle to be let free from the carrier too lah.. if short distance then let him walk. if walk for very long, then will put him inside. usually when i bring him out, i will put him in carrier. but of cos now preg cannot, so will put in stroller. when my mum brings him out, oso in stroller. so when he sees the stroller, he very happy, cos he knows want to go out liao. haha. luckily we got 2 hand-me-down strollers. one put at my parents' hse, one at my hse.

Ctrus, then prob 2-3 weeks before edd.. haha.. thanks!! i go back ask my mum... =)

as for the air pressure from plane, i have frens from my #1 thread who brought baby overseas when they were still infants. they said can let them latch when taking off and landing. or drink water or pacifier. if older abit, can let them eat biscuits or something. let the jaws make some movement to release the air pressure from the ears.. other than that, most of the time is sleeping, so not much problems.

ctrus

vinegar fm bak chor mee is very little leh. unless u take black vinegar liver or pork knuckle.

But vinegar dun mean placenta will come out clean. in fact, the whole placenta is like a whole liver, after delivered, just pull the whole piece & it will be out loh. After delivery , 1 mth of washing out more of the cushioning of womb.

Last time heard alot myths like vinegar dun take, will coz placenta to grow n stop bb growth or eat alot placenta will come out clean.

Dun take seaweed coz will coz dunno wat. cant rem

nw #2, I think eat healthy more important. Seaweed has very high iron & helps in hair growth which is a fact. everything eat moderate & nt extreme. But must eat calcium & iron which are important to bb growth.

Julie
if u check n nt just myths, u will know coconut has no proven fact. Even heard mums drink & hv premature bb too. it's all about mum's intake n health. whether clean or nt, bb will peel off this protection later, so dun hv to deliberately hv clean bb.

Plus coconut drink hv to eat the meat to balance up the coldness. coldness will cause bb in long run lung development & even next time fertility.

Ctrus: hmm.. Pig liver n vinegar i both oso don like leh.. Haha!! Even ginger oso don like, tat's y my mum help me do confinement oso poor thing. Say i so troublesome. This don eat tat don eat. Haha!! The air pressure thingy, as wat nickole say, it's true. If no more breastfeeding than let them drink water or eat thing. As long as swallowing something can liao. Juz lik adults we feel the pressure we swallow saliva. Same theory. Do it during take-off and touch-down.

Nickole: coconut gt brown 1 meh? Ooo... Tink i know which kind liao.. Those small small 1 la.. Rem the last time i is drink those fm hawker 1.. Shd b the small 1 oso.. Coz i don like coconut so onli drank try c the clean theory true nt. never eat the flesh oso.. Like so waste $. Haha!!

travel with baby

can latch or drink milk when take off or landing due to air pressure.

usually they suggest 6mths & above as too young, ear drum very fragile too. They worried if bb will be uncomfortable and very hard to handle as dunno wat's wrong or even damage to ear drum.

when older , have problem, some want to crawl around or walk ard and disturb other passengers.

I brought #1 alone up, we had a good time as they fix a basket for her to sit/lay down n play. & I brought lots of toys to entertain and food to munch,etc. Compare to the other older girl who was crying non stop as she wanna get down to play,etc. below age 1 is much easier for my case.

cheaper to travel below age 2 too.

Sylvia: ok.. Mayb wont take coconut this time then.

Mummies: for breastpump, i gt a medela mini electric 2nd hand. For my #1 i borrowed fm cousin wife, so nt so worried. Bt listening to u guys, tink i shd get new spare parts? Coz this time i bought 2nd hand fm another mummy whom i dono. I bought the membrane already, the 1 tat filters the milk into bottle. Shd i get new bottle? And the filter? The 1 tat u put ur breast in to squeeze milk?

Checked medela website.. The 1 i was tokin bout is called breastshield. Yuan lai gt 5 diff sizes!! Bt how would i know which size is right for me? Doubt can try 1 rite? Any1 using medela????

Pocketpig
Yup. She's tiny but both my elder ones were tiny when born too so gynae thinks it's genes. Daddy's genes pretty strong, lol. My hb is 1.65m so you see why;P... PFffftttt see another daddy's girl :S

Pork vinegar and liver!!!
I love love love both!! Love the vinegar thou not the pig;)

Carrier and sling
Ilikeboth and prefetch them to strollers . I'm really awkward with strollers ESP in crowded lplaces.. Also afraid I'll be one of those inconsiderate people who bumps people with stroller...

Travelling
Both my kids travel early. #1 at 4mths to hk and #2 at 6mth to the same place. Easier to travel with infants ESP if you bf. Youdont have to worry about food! Take off and landing just latch, bottle or pacifier... But for #1 he cried loads coz he was too curious during take off to latch @_@

When they began toddling, just get the front bulkhead seats. Space for them to walk a bit. I don't usually let them walk, they know to sit and buckle up even for 13 hour flights to London.

Travelling early with them is good. My children are pretty seasoned travellers and no problem at all during long haul flights. You even see my son smiling from ear to ear for 13 hours. Unlimited snacks and can watch inflight entertainment!!!

Expo sales
Anyone knows if there's a metro or robinsons or og sales coming soon? I haven't a single thing!!

Fullhouse, Metro Paragon having ladies nite today 23 Nov at 6-11pm. 20% storewide with UOB cards. Upcoming Baby Expo on 14 Dec-16Dec.

Julie, for me, i prefer to get new bottles and all new spare parts esp those that will come in contact with bm. i think u mentioned u got the valves and membranes liao right? if u wan, can get breastshield and bottles as well.
check out the sizing.. http://www.medela.com/IW/en/breastfeeding/good-to-know/right-size-of-breastshield.html
http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/tips-and-solutions/13/choosing-a-correctly-fitted-breastshield
http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/attachment/download/389