(2013/01) Jan 2013

ctrus > hehe.. ur experience similar to mine.. customary wedding and pregnant with our first child all in the same month.. no honeymoon too..

but am not complaining ^^

but house reno was done earlier la..

Pocketpig: upload fm where? Hdb website? As for car, if u reli think essential can consider 2nd hand.. At least more affordable than 1st hand.

Canopy: wow 20mins so fast ah.. Reli waste leh.. $500 gone juz like tat.. Mayb tats the reason for no gynae ard. Cant they juz grab 1 fm the clinics downstairs?!! Lucky mine was responsible enuff to come to the hosp.. Coz i was induced in the day bout 2pm, admitted to hosp about 5pm. Gynae did check on me bout 2-3 times after i gt admitted. Tink she went back hm for a rest b4 my contractions came nearer. Nurses oso impt. Guess its the nurse who called her to come in earlier bout 11pm +.. N i gave birth after midnight..

Pocketpig: Me!!! We do not have car too, cannot afford a car.

Julie: It is because we were financial tight. We loss $10K in wedding banquet. And plus house renovation and furnishing.

Xinyue: I'm staying with in-laws despite house renovation all completed, ready to move-in. But because of superstitious, we cannot move the mattress. So compromise... when I go hospital to deliver, in-laws will move the mattress to new house. I will move to new house to do my confinement upon discharge. *looking fwd*

Bblove: yeah.. I oso find it sweet. Dono issit they still love mummy or coz there's no1 else to find comfort wif or issit juz tat they forgot we juz scolded them? Haha!! Coz hubby alwaz ask, she forgot i juz scolded her juz now issit? Thou u still angry, bt once they start their 'mummy mummy' and tat innocent look, cant get angry liao.. Haha!! Juz like this morn, my ger was throwing tantrum, so on way to CC the face very black in the car. Bt after a few min, i turned to look at her and she was smiling back.. So cute.. Than she was back to her normal self already..

Ctrus: wah.. So envy leh.. I cant wait for my place to be done.. Freedom!!! Haha!! Can understand la, wedding + reno all at same time.. Pocket sure burnt. Tats y i don mind staying at in laws place after marriage, save alot of $$.. Now still saving for reno.. So guess after reno need start saving fm scratch again. Haha!!

ctrus > understood.. ^^ but also quite stressful.. doing confinement + taking care of newborn + adapting to your new place.. some adjustments and adapting to do..

canopy > glad that for ur fren, both baby and mother is fine! that's more impt

xinyue: Although I engage confinement lady, my mil will be staying with us during my 16-week of maternity leave.

Julie: But mil was given a set of our house keys during post-reno because she helped us to to clean up and receive delivery. So I shall KIV the amount of freedom ya.

ctrus > argh.. then, still no freedom as MIL be around.. Hope ur MIL is those 'automatic' kind and not pop up at ur new place as and when she likes.. At least give a call before coming la..

JuLiE, wow .. you really a "wei da" ma ma. Think you are very proud to be a mother too ~

ctrus, I thought mine is very busy year already, with house reno and also pregnant with first baby .. but yours even more. We are looking forward for next year, with the new house (going to move in by next Friday) and with the new baby born .. Well, when you settled down .. you can plan a lot of travels, not to worry. I already thinking where to go when baby is 5 mths old. Probably will go Taiwan ( I always like to go this place ... went many times already ).

Julie: yeah, I'm grateful that she helps in cleaning up. I tried to mop twice and next day got backaches.

Re: car.
Hubby and I are puzzled how some family with 2 children and still can afford a car. We did our maths, cannot afford leh. Probably because we have renovation loan, monthly paying $1k.

Canopy: Wah.. on the payment of the room..like that also can... I decided to deliver in TMC thou I wld very much prefer Mt A cos his clinic is at TMC level 1 even thou my gynae also does delivery in Mt A. I am also worried that if I deliver in Mt A, the possible happenings:
1)Gynae might be caught in the traffic jam
2)cld not find carpark lot in time as Mt A is doing reno
3)persuade me to emer Csect without giving me time to try natural since he has to attend to patients in TMC (Okie.. I might think too much on this one.. lol)

Now thinking back, maybe I made the right choice to booked 4-bedded liao.. At least the room 'reserved' for me in case I'm under obeservation is about $200 per day..

Now can only pray for smooth delivery and better service and of cse no mix-up of babies...

Pocketpig: mayb coz when i was young my mum alwaz busy wif her work, onli when i grow up get married have my own kids than she more free then we started to bond bt nt as close as my cousins who are super close to their mums. So i hope to be able to create the close relationship since young. Mayb i lack of parental love.. So i don wan my own kids to go thro wat i went thro. Bt luckily i had my sis, bt after sec sch she had her own frenz oso nt as close liao. Bt now both have our own family we got closer again.

I oso wanna go taiwan!! Never go b4.. Alwaz wanted go there, esp to eat eat eat!!! Last time alwaz watch those taiwan variety show show the gd food.. Cant wait!! Bt bring kids there cannot go out at night leh.. Unless my um goes too.. Coz tats wat we did last yr when we went HK. Mum stayed in hotel wif #1 at nite to slp than me n hubby slipped out for some dating.. Hehe!!

Friends: Your gynae is not pro-natural? Last check-up I told my gynae tt I fear the delivery part. He reassure me that all the painkillers will be on standby but will only give if needed. My gynae also delivering at Mt A.

Pocket pig, my first flat is new flat , now the one I'm staying is resale, so the BTO I'm getting is second timer, was lucky to be the 5% to be able to select a unit. My current resale flat got a bank loan of $300 k plus loan... Feel that not worth paying interest so wanted to get rid of loan asap. If after move hse can settle loan , save interest y not.. Can also rent out a room to earn rental income after getting BTO after some time....
Got a frd, she rent a room to 2 persons, rental income is $1 k each month leh

JuLiE, you so brave .. still can go travel during preg. For us, we not dare to go for travel as this was the first baby as we tried to be careful for everything.
For floorplanner, you just save your floorplan as jpg when upload into floorplanner. Paiseh, I also forgot where to upload the jpg file as background .. long time didn't use it :p

ctrus, then will u plan to get a car ?

Currently we just signed up a car rental club, so can just rent a car whenever we need. The cars just parked very near to our place, so we just activated when we need it .. owning a car really will spend a lot.

pocketpig: Yeah!! Taiwan is our preferred destination as hubby hasn't been there. We were toying with the idea to put bb with mil when we go holiday in July (at least 6mths of bf-ing). Both hubby and I are born in the month of July too. So is a good time to recharge ourselves.

Ctrus, My gynae is very pro-natural. 2 years back, he insisted that I try and try even thou I was begging him to cut me and take out baby. Went thru 17hrs of labour thru induced. He popped by the labour ward almost every hr when he reached his clinic about 7am... I gave birth at 5pm plus... But this kind of thing cannot be said wan right... Two years on, people might changed.. Ha! Ha! I always think too much....

bblove

ya... thing the adv of SAHM is witness everything and not being informed. Use own eyes see and hear from others is diff.

Scold already still will teh bao! LOL!! Nw #1 will still tell me ' dun be angry!' and sayang me. LOL!!

Think sacrifices compare to these is worth it.

Yes, I know friends who keep doing ivf and not successful, pain and heartpain too. Esp most who wanted kids, age are near or already high risk category, they really wanted kids nt due to accident. :I

Julie
dunno is it they trying to promo flu vaccination. As very strange as many of us during preg due to our weather will hv flu, sore throat... & it's v common.

even vaccination also might nt be 100% proof too.

Canopy,
$10K is so scary.... btw can just photocopy credit card like tat? I tot credit card info is p&c? Hope we will not face this problem on shortage of room when we deliver in Jan.

BBlove : yes, they will ask to photocopy your credit card if the queue is long. I kenna that as well when i went for my operation in July.

Juz done wif my gynae check. Lucky no go to 6 club!! Onli increased 700grams fm last visit 3wks ago. And all went to bb!! Coz bb oso increased 700grams. Now 34wks. Gynae so power.. Either can say bochup or he confident. Coz next visit 3wks later. Tot will be 2wks later already. Oh well... And booked my bed juz now too.. The guy said if no bed in the class i book, they will auto upgrade bt still pay the class i booked. Unless i stay all the way in the higher class 1. So i ask bt i never say i wan upgrade? He said will transfer to the class i booked if gt bed. Bt i guess shd be gt bed la.. We'll see.. Oooo!! And bb head is confirm down. Asked gynae if locked already he said 50%..

Dear mummies, I am in dilemma on whether I should invest on a good breast pump like Medela Freestyle. Initially my thought was just to borrow any pump from friend because I am afraid I might not have BM or may not persevere in BF. So in the end, my hubby friend lend me a single electrical Avent pump.
The day before i just met a friend, an experiences mum for lunch and she happen to ask if i had bought a good breast pump to help EBM.. i told her my thought and concern of buying a pump and i told her i got a single avent pump. Btw she is very successful in BF and she manage to pump 1 litre every day now still feeding her 7mth old son. She latch after that she still pump to empty her breast. She said the single pump will take 30min on each side and 1 hr for both plus my mentality of if can have BM then BF likely I won't succeed. HAii....she still think I should invest on a good pump and must determine to BF all the way then can succeed. So how? Buy a good pump?

I'm using medela single electric pump too... I dun like to pump both sides at same time, my no 1 , I will spend abt 20 mins to empty each breast. I'm fine with that, my only challenge is my son spent too long latching on me, sometimes an hr and at that time I do not have helper yet, so can be quite tough as I need to do hse work.

7795805.gif

Aspialle,
Envy with your house loan free. I still have half of it to go and by the time I fully repay, think almost 50 yr old liao.

Pocketpig,
I wouldn't want to go for BTO. If I sell my resale and go for BTO, upfront got to pay HDB resale levy of $45k and now BTO flat is not that cheap. Might as well use the money for reno.

Ctrus,
It really an eventful year with a new chapter of life in wedding, flat, and 1st born. Sweet memories...

Aspialle,
Nice bump. Mine has a pimple scar.
You taking any maternity shoot?

Averie,
For my #1, I also din invest in a good pump. In fact I was using Avent manual pump, but that time I was doing full latching and only pump if my bb never empty my breast.
For #2, I have Ameda dual pump 3 months after delivery. I also has the same thinking. If I get a good pump and in the end no BM, What am I gg to do with the pump. Since you already have Avent Elec single, you can try it out 1st before deciding to go for a dual pump. If you intend to have more than 1 kid, it would be good to invest in 1

Averie, I invested a good pump (freestyle) for my no 1 but I didn't succeed in bf as well. I gave up bf after 3 mths due to bad breast infection (there was pus in the breast which i don't feel comfortable to feed baby with it) and also the lack of determination. So i feel that the determination on the mummy to bf either by latch or pumping is more important.

So many posts these 2 days!

Julie,
My dd loves to sweep the floor too! I bought a kids size broom from daiso and she will run and get her broom to imitate me when I'm sweeping the floor. She will even reach deep under her cot to sweep out the dust. Haha. More thorough than me...

Friends,
If I rem correctly you are with Dr Tham too right? I think he's really pro natural. For #1 he never once mentioned c-sect, and even when I asked for epidural, he looked a bit disappointed cos he believed I can still do without. But he respected my decision to take epi also. Don't think he will pressure you into a quick fix (c sect) just to get back to work.

Averie,
I think can try to latch first. I believe most hospitals rent pumps too? Can give them a try before you commit to an expensive purchase. If you intended to buy a local Medela set anyway, can always send hubby out to buy for you once you're sure. Or you can buy a much cheaper second hand Medela from the forum to standby. Part of the success in bfding I think comes from ease of pumping and latching. If the pump is cumbersome to bring out and hard to use (plus you don't direct latch) its more likely you will give up. Of course excluding other issues like low supply, infections etc.

Morning all!!

Averie: for my #1 i borrowed a single elec medela pump fm my cousin wife. Only used it after my ML when i start work. Actualli not 30min so long la.. Will take long if low batt bt if the batt strong or use the AC adapter actualli quite fast. Mayb coz i low supply la.. Each time mayb bout 100-150ml onli. Ur fren gt 1L which is super powerful. True tat bf muz perserve, esp night feeds.. Coz u need wake up every 2-3hrs. For me i set alarm last time coz my ger may nt wake up crying for milk bt once i latch her on she'll suck. This time, i asked my cousin wife to borrow the pump again, bt she misplaced it. So i bought a 2nd hand 1 fm the fb buzzy tots group. Medela single elec pump for $50 onli!! The seller said onli used once so condition very gd, well, sometimes juz gotta have some trust. Actualli i'm on my way to go collect it now. Hopefully condition reli as gd as wat she mentioned. Coz $50 for a pump is reli cheap.. If u reli wanna invest in a gd pump, i suggest u do ur research 1st.. Than after delivery if supply gd and u decide to bf for long than u can get ur hubby to go buy..

Aiyo my dilemma is does a good pump determine the supply? By the way does breast easily get infection? i heard this quite often from some ppl. how does this happens? quite scary to have pus...

Ctrus, hi 5^... this year also an eventful year for me.

In early Mar, me and husband(back then he is only still my bf) we bought a house. Well, there isn't any intention to buy a house or getting married during that time. It just happen that his sister bought a 2 bedder condo unit while we were on holiday that time. She super excited called us to visit showflat to see her buy. So after we came back, together with MIL we went to see showflat. The agent happen to be there persuade us to also buy one unit. My MIL also persuade us to buy a unit then next time can take care of sis because she is determined to be single. So end up within 3 days we place deposit to book a unit also because the agent keep telling us will be sold out and blar blar... So we got a house.

After that kanna pressure to get married by his parents since we got a house. So i told hubby if i manage to conceive a dragon this year then we will get married else i dont to marry yet because i know my MIL sure will pressure me for kids after that and i scare i not fertile mah. I know in law pattern one if dont have kids sure will blame me. Also I am the only person they can hope for grandchildren coz my hubby thou youngest, the elder all dont wanna get married.

Also, i thinking of conceiving dragon because my horoscope is boar and my hubby is rabbit. We trying to avoid wedding or baby in snake year. So if really didnt succeed, i will only married in year of horse. Then who knows so lucky I really conceive in Apr. Only late May then test positive.

Then everything accelerate. We went to see geomancer ask him give us a earliest date that we can hold wedding. He give us a date in Jul to avoid chinese lunar 7 mth. As our parent all didn't know our plan on conceiving part so they didnt know i am pregnant. We just lie to them that we go see geomancer and he comment that we must married this year and before chinese lunar 7mth. My in-law stun lo, they said always pressure us to plan but we dont want then suddenly give them short term that we are getting married. Haha... and of coz because the first 3 mth I got to keep secret abt my pregnancy so no ones knows. Thankful my wedding is a success even thou is a month planning. I managed to get a decent hotel venue, bridal studio to produce photo and album within a mth.

A very excited year for me. haha...

Hi all mummies, wana check with you all whether you all have any contact for calculation of baby's chinese name ? Need to meet up with that person? or just by email will do?

Also what you all intend to do with our baby's cord if we never intend to bank in, either dispose or donate right? Any1 of you do the donation before? How is the process like?

Rugirly

I have, have to meet up but as during confinement, so hb went alone and call me to discuss on the name used. Mine is an old lady.

Those fengshui masters also do but v ex.

Donation of cord will be to SBCC, let the other mums advise u.

Averie: Mine original date from 1st geomancer is 30/12/2012. But due to some internal conflicts in my family, wanted to move out asap. We consulted another geomancer and picked an earlier date in March. So we had 6-mth of preparation. Luckily my hotel is available on the new date and doesn't charge us for the changes.

Rugirly: I did ask my gynae during last chk-up on donating cord blood. My gynae asked me to focus on having smooth delivery since this is my first pregnancy.

rugirly- i did for my #1 and will be donating for #2 too. Call them and they will ask their staff to meet you at your convenience and they will ask you some qn before meeting you.

Just have to prepare those lab tests report for them will do. very fast procedure.

hi mummies..

i've realised that my gums started to bleed when i brush my teeth during lunch. was wondering if this is normal.

any experience?

Rugirly, if u intend to donate ur baby's cord blood, u can let ur gynae know. for me, i told my gynae and he made the arrangements for SCBB staff to contact me and had an interview of family health history and such..
http://www.scbb.com.sg/donate/HowToDonate/Pages/Home.aspx

Averie, like what the other mummies said, if u intend to have more kids, then can invest in a good pump. anyway, one pump is suitable for one, might not be suitable for another person. whatever pump that can pump out more pump is considered as a good pump. haha.. having said that, i oso bought freestyle during my #1 time when he was 3mths old. i partial bf from 4th mths-9mths. u can try out various pumps for a nominal fee at tmc. see which one is good for u, then u can decide which works best for u

BBlove, i have a sil (hb's bro's wife) who is the same as ur sil. last time before i deliver my #1, she asked me if i will be bringing him home everyday from my mum's hse anot. i told her yes. she replied very 舍不得 hor? leave the kids there 放不下, will be worried, etc... yet she left her 3 kids at my mil hse everyday until the two older ones now dun even want to go home. now still better, she got come over mil hse for dinner occasionally. but i very long time din see my bil liao. dunno working or go fly kites (his new hobby). funny thing is that he can go fly kite during weekends, but never brought the kids along. oh ya, they are just staying a few blocks away from mil hse!! come over very difficult meh? lol!

Nickole: wah, ur gynae reli gd leh, still do arrangements for u. Yest was my gynae check and according to the scbb website they say check wif gynae 1st. So i asked him yest and he juz passed me the brochure and call me call them myself haha!!

Rugirly: u check wif ur gynae 1st. Maybe urs like nickole's 1 so nice help u do arrangements. If nt than like mine lor.. DIY. I havent called yet so nt sure of procedures. As for calculating of bb names, it'd be done after delivery coz then u'd have the time n date of birth. For mine, my hubby went to do it on 2nd day of delivery while i was in hospital. Mine is called you rong zi at guillemard rd. they give u a name list, Consisting of 2 rows A and B than u choose a word fm each row to make up the chinese name. Tat time we already tot of a name asked the guy and he say no gd, so end up we chose a name fm the list. This time i wanna get a name similar to my #1, so guess will still go back, coz they gave something like a booklet, tat write the fortune telling of the child inside (thou abit nonsense coz its the usual stuff a fortune teller says.. I oso know how to say) bt will still go la. Later next time #2 ask y jiejie gt the booklet than she don have. Nt fair mah. Haha!! And oso wanna ask if the name i thought of can be used or nt. it's bout $100+ i tink.

Btw, i mentioned earlier tat i bought a toddler car seat for my ger so tat her existing 1 can be passed to meimei coz the existing 1 can be used for newborn. Bt she complained sit inside than the back will feel hot. Went back and made an exchange for another car seat. Luckily can exchange!! Bt top but $100+ la, coz its a much better 1. Hubby wanted let #1 use the new 1 coz the headrest is higher n looks bigger than the existing 1 we have. Bt i was thinking of leaving it for #2 to use since can be used fm newborn. Coz #2 like so poor thing, most stuff using hand me downs fm #1 liao, since new car seat can be used than tot of giving #2 use the brand new 1. Bt my #1 clever.. When we said new 1 for meimei ok? She say no.. For jie jie. So we ask the current 1 how? She say give meimei sit.. Aiyooo.. Clever lor.. Coz the new 1 looks so much more comfy n shiok compared to her current 1.. Haha!!

Averie: for the breastpump thingy, i doubt is the pump determine the supply. Coz i used the exact same pump as my cousin wife bt her supply much more than me. And heard her milk pumped out more thick n oily, which the elders say is better quality. Oh well... So i guess gotta do wif ur own body condition and food u eat during confinement bah. As for infection, i'm nt sure coz i didnt get it. I guess if latching is right, there wont be nipple sores and if latching is diligent enuff, there wont be leftover milk or too much milk in breast to make it sore n get infections. As long as u keep hygiene at high level doubt will have any problems. I did bath during my confinement, contrary to the olden thinking, coz cannot tahan hot weather and oso the nurse fm the prenatal class did mention actualli it's better to bath to be hygienic esp when u're breastfeeding. If u follow tradition n don bath oso nvm, same as if u bath, b4 pumping and latching bb, juz rem to wipe clean the breasts can liao.. I doubt infections can occur if u're careful n clean. My 2 cents worth.

Siew chin: i tink there's no definite answer to tat. Some i heard early some i heard late. Mine was early coz was induced, so every1 was saying, c i told u 1st 1 would be early. Bt if they see some1 whose come out late they'd still go, c i told u 1st 1 would b late. My sister's 1st 1 was late.. So i guess it's hard to say.. Juz take it as it comes.. Shun qi zi ran..

@ julie, wow.. ur #1 very smart... hehehee
For mine, we asked her whether current car seat can give di di, she said ok.. I asked whether can di di sleeps on her bed, she said ok.. Hope she can get used to #2 when born. I know for sure she will feel left out

For me, I need to manage my #1 emotional well cos I dont want her to feel bias.. Lucky she still have my family to dote on her.

Anyway, hub bought a new capella pram for #2. #1 will be using her current Maclaren. He said not fair cos #1 been using expensive stuff.. i said "aiya nvm la" then he said I unfair to #2.

@siewz, it depend ... Mine first one came out on EDD. Another fren late for 5 days after edd.. Another one earlier by 3 weeks..

Long time didnt heard from Valerie liao...... wonder how is she?

Bliss: yeah.. It's scary how clever these small kids are.. Like juz now i was washing the cot bumper than she asked me wats tat. So told her is for meimei bed than asked if she wanna slp there she say don wan (coz nowshe slpin wif us on our bed) think more shiok.. Haha!! As for stroller we using the old 1 coz #1 since she started to be able to walk she don wan sit liao.. Last time was thinking waste $ coz onli used for bout a yr. lucky no throw or give or sell away. Now can take out use again. Tats y i say poor #2.. All use hand me downs haha!! Like i shopping i oso no buy new clothes for #2 coz #1 gt alot she can wear.. Like so poor thing, bt save $$ mah.. I oso #2 in my family, so last time oso alwaz like tat.. Alwaz using old stuff my sis pass me. Lucky end up pri and sec sch we in diff sch, if nt later uniform oso hand me downs so sad!! Haha!!