(2013/01) Jan 2013

LM,
I'm also like you, wake up to pee not only once but at least twice every night then it will be insomnia.
I know of a good way to completly empty the bladder, that is after peeing, lean yourself forward. You will find some more pee as bb is pressing on our bladder but my problem is after tat, it will be insomnia liao.

Just for laugh!

7782383.png

@ aspialle, me too.. getting heavier..sleepless nights and to manage #1 emo feeling too... They will feel neglect cos we are busy with #2,, How to balance everything???

What is his fever temp like nw? Hope #1 will recover fast so that mummy can relax and rest more.

@ Julie, throw the expired med so that she will not get those which not meant to be taken.. At least ur #1 good, will eat med.. Mine still need to coax.. sianzz.. Nw she down with cough since last week but funny thing is that she coughs when she sleeps.. daytime hardly cough..

Julie,
I opposite of you. Since din do any full month celebration as in invite guests, so to be fair, not doing for #3 as well. #3 will be same as jiejie, only 1st bday bash.

Anyway my SIL very worry if I do full month celebration. Even for #2, she also keep asking if we were planning for 1 way before I give birth.

Bliss,
Chinese sin seh calls such cough as 'cold' cough. It will only happens when she sleep at night. Sometime to the extend of vommiting her milk. You should reduce has last milk intake. Rub kid vapour on her chest and sole. Let her wear long pajamas and socks to sleep. It should reduce cough.

by the way, went to visit my friend last fri @ TMC, was told that TMC still give them bottled instant milk formula. Her SIL has just given birth 1 wk before her and was given 6 bottles, she herself told me today that she was given 4 bottles when she discharged on last sat.

Bblove: tat's cute!! Bt funny thing was last night only woke up once wanting to pee only to realise 6.15am liao. Norm will pee like 3/4am.. Mayb coz i cleared bladder at 2am? Bt no insomnia for me.. Mayb coz i'm a pig? Love to slp!! Haha!! And y would ur SIL be worried if u do full mth or nt??

Bliss: yup, after tat i threw the meds away.. Coz it's their house and MIL have thousands of things in the fridge. Sometimes i don even rem there's things i bought until they expire.. So i try nt to buy anything tat needs to be refrigerated, unless to my mum's place coz totally opposite there. Mum's fridge empty till can put an elephant inside.. Haha!!

As for the cough at nite, mine last time when younger oso like tat. After advice fm a fren whose son oso like tat, we set aircon timer, so wont on whole night, juz a few hrs to cool the room. After aircon off she may sweat than i'll remove her long pants. After doin this she doesnt cough at nite liao. Like wat bblove says.. Cold cough lor.. Bt nt cold she oso cant slp.. Haizz troublesome rite?

Julie, it's not the normal breast, it's like a lump under armpit that is getting bigger together with ur normal breast leh

Bliss, luckily temp stabilize liao... Hopefully tonight no need to wake up every hour, perhaps every two hrs.. I'm in a dangerous position, always sandwich between hubby n no 1 who are sick, like "nan Tao Jie shu"

Thks ladies... Yah trying not to give myself too much stress... Or else wait really early delivery... Hubby quickly brought me to the waterloo street temple to pray yesterday when I told him that I dreamt of early delivery... We also settled our confinement herbs that morning...

I am thinking of not holding 1st mth celebration... Too near CNY. Think caterer will compromise on the food since everyone is buying and stocking up for CNY. But my boy luv party... So on the other hand, I won't mind holding one so that my boy can run around entertaining people...

MIL super bo chap type all along but when she decided to help out by wanting to wash my boy's 0-6 mths clothes, she realised that I have already moved it to my hse and washed liao... Anyway, as long as she takes good care of my boy, I'm more than happy. I want to be 'Queen' during confinement to 'pu' back my health since this might be my last confinement. I will have a peaceful rest if my boy is well taken care off and i will leave it to the CL to care for my baby. Hope my CL is good. She called to ask about my health and well being... At least she has yet to show any intention of 'flying me aeroplane'....

@ bblove, true.. but then my dad not keen to have bb over.. haizz... nw my dad and mum have some issues .. dad is like a time bomb.. Hub doesnt like my parents to take care of bb, he always sides mil and credit her as the greatest caregiver..

What pissed me was last thurs, hub asked her to go into the room with #1 to help me as I not feeling well.. Guess what her reply " wait for awhile and she went straight to room to watch her drama with fil.. Oh gosh... Hub never said anything so he recorded his news and went inside room with #1.

True.. TV box like her will induce more problem thus I will bring #1 back hm with me when my new place is here. guess that time, #1 will be ard 1 yr old...

Have afew arguments with hub over mil.. haizz...
some of my frens asked me to standby caregiver options cos they afraid mil will play me out by giving me problems , pick on me so that she will tell my hub that the problems lie with me and she dont want to take care... Mentally, i already prepared for it..

as for the "cold" cough, do u think i should bring her to chinese TCM? what cause cold cough...? Sometimes will have phlegm so i not sure what to do also...

Sylvia & JuLiE, you gals are funny ~ yeah, I also asked my husband dun disturb them else later earlier labour is his fault.

I also have insomnia .. always cannot fall sleep easily especially when wake up in the middle of night. Next day still have to work, so tiring ...

FRIENDS, dun be stress .. your boss really bad le. why didn't pity on pregnant lady? I hate these kinds of ppls, must let them experience of being pregnant.

Thanks BBlove for the great information .. Now is my week 33.
Since last night, I started to feel some pain on my lower part of tummy - is the muscle pain. Not sure what was it, today continue having the symptom - anyone having the same symptom? Is it normal?

Do you gals have discharge? I have most of the time, I meant more than before I pregnant .. not sure if normal for pregnant?

My next gynae visit will be next Monday, I want to ask him about these 2 concerns .. I hope is normal.

Julie,
Haiz... Guess things spark off when relatives like to compare. They always compare us and partly becos I used to be a homemaker, thus better at handling kids whereas she has never taken care of her kids on her own. She relie a lot on my MIL.
Worse when our kids shares very close birthday. When I had #1, she decided to hold a BBQ to celebrate her son's 7 yr old bday so we gave in and never do any full month since #1's time. She even called MIL to tell us not to go over to the BBQ cos I'm still in confinment, consider 'dirty' will crush with the bday boy.

When we had #2, she host full month celebration for her #3, house warming, bday celebration for her #2 within 3 months. MIL worried tt ppl will say we want ang bao so tell us not to have any for #2.

When ppl come to my hse for both #1 & #2's 1st bday bash, they would commend how big & spacious my hse is, compared to her new 4 rm. (Mine was resale 5i, so bigger and more comfortable when hosting guests and I have no problem with 80 pax, where else her 4rm is cramp with even 30 paxcan also see her face not happy.
7782866.jpg

In fact, she is much more worried if this pregnanacy is a boy cos most relative have been teling her & her son, if this is a ger, her son will be the only boy in the family of 7 grandchildren. She is even more concern if I leave the bb for my MIL to take care, her 4 yr old ger will be getting less attention from MIL.

I was telling hubby, luckily we did ask MIL if she wants to help in care giving for bb in 2010 before we even decide to plan for 1. Otherwise, she will tell me like in 2009 that she wants MIL to concentrate on her ger cos she ger needs attention.

Aspialle: tink i know wat u toking.. Can remove 1 meh? Maybe will be gone after delivery?

Friends: wah ur MIL same as mine. Super bochup 1, bt at least she offered to help wash leh. Tink mine don even know when i delivering lor.. Bt at least she zi dong washing her son's (hubby) clothes. Last time is i wash 1.. Bt tink after she realized i never wash than so wash. Coz i don use her washing machine. She herself onli use it once a wk, i oso don dare use lor. So i accumulate my own clothes n #1 clothes back to mum place to wash using washing machine. She have never once asked how is the pregnancy or wat.. So i oso don bother telling her la.. Luckily my mum very kan chiong type.. Thou abit irritating at times, at least can feel some1 caring for me..

Bliss: no choice la.. Juz count on urself better la, tats wat i tell myself. Anywaz my ger oso don go find my MIL one, tink coz she very fierce la.. Onli finds her for biscuit lor. Haha!! As for the cold cough.. For mine never c TCM, i juz tried the method on nt making the rm too cold at nite, meaning aircon don on whole nite, wear long sleeves long pants. She stopped coughing in 1-2wks i tink. If after tat still coughin than consider goin tcm lor..

Pocketpig: i oso have pain at lower tummy.. But towards the right side.. Once i coughed and the pain intensified.. Guess shd b no prob bah, coz after a while the pain gone liao.. I oso keep having back pains, at the end of the spine there.. Bt tat1 normal la, coz carrying a weight in front. Hubby kept telling me to stick the muscle ache thingy, tiger balm i tink, than i say like nt muscle ache leh coz its sharp pain. He say nvm la juz stick coz the thingy gonna expire liao.. Haizzz and i tot he reli so worried.............. Faint...

Bliss,
From the way you decribe, it is better to have a 'backup' plan to take care of #2.

Ture, tv box like her will give more problem. but then when #2 is around 1 year old when your hse come, he would have gotten used to those late sleeping habbit unless your MIL wants to train him to sleep before 9am since day 1. When he sleeps then she go and enjoy her drama.

Not too sure what cos the cold cough but if she do cough and vomit at night, dun get angry with her, it will be good cos usually phlegm will come out together with the vomit as they do not know how to spit out phlegm like adult.

Just realised our work place is really close. Mine is at Sin Ming.

Bblove: wow ur house nice n big!! So envy.. Cant wait to have my own house too!! Bt u said is SIL rite? So is ur MIL daughter, of coz will side wif her la.. U mean u dono sex of bb yet? Ok i pray for u is a boy so ur SIL cannot hao lian anymore.. Haha!! Luckily i don have SIL issues coz hubby's sis don stay here. Last time i still c them come every sunday.. Saw bout twice, Bt since few mths ago like no more.. Oso mayb coz i go back my mum place on sunday la..

Pocketpig,
I also have the pain at lower tummy. The pain can get very bad if I walk a lot.

It is common to have a lot of more discharge than usual as the discharge could be shedding of vernix from bb.

Julie,
SIL is hubby's brother's wife. She is also a DIL married into the family. So most of the time I will just keep quiet and let them do all the talking. I will only comment to my hubby later. Wakaka. Dun want any dispute.

Hubby love spacious hse. We got our 5I (127 sqm) for 300K back then and relative always comment now HDB so small & ex.

When we had bday bash for #1 & #2, we had 100paz at the hse and can also have different corner for guests.

For entertaining bb under 1 yr old:
7783069.jpg

For friends' kids and #1 above 1 yr old:
7783070.jpg

Separately we had a mahjong room to entertain friends / relative for mahjong and a little cozy corner for TV addicts.

I guess we are happy with our house that an agent called and said someone offering $600k for it but we are not selling...
The sad thing is I have be a HDB salve for another 20 yrs.....sob sob

Julie,
Yup, I still dun know gender for bb. Boy or ger I also ok. Boy or ger, I still got to feed, take care, educate, discipline for the next 21 yrs.

Bblove ur hse is really big look more like executive and not 5 room. Which part of sg is ur hse located? Hard to find such spacious one

Bblove: ya ur house reli big. My mum 1 oso 5rm bt cant rem she say 5wat already. Bt like nt as big as urs leh.. Bought quite ex, at 400k... True tat hdb now nt as big. My new place oso 5rm bt sq feet much smaller than the old 5 rm flats.. Bt no choice, cannot afford resale leh.. I now still free, when flat comes will be hdb slave too.. Haha!!

Of coz boy or ger oso will love n educate la.. Bt since ur SIL hope u have a ger, i help u hope for opposite.. Haha!!

@ aspialle, thank God and shoo shoo away the fever.. For med wise, I have standby those med to be insert into backside for fever more than 37.5 and 38.5.. Find it easier for me cos it cranky for my gal if i woke her up for med..

@ Julie, ok.. will do it for the aircon but hor mine not cold, she will flip here and there, noisy and I woken up by it.. then she cant sleep, make noise in wee hrs...haizzz..

@ bblove, wow does that mean can meet up for lunch with u?? hehehee...

Wow... wowowww... ur hse is big...... My ger would love to have a go at your swing and slide...heheheheheheheh... me thick skin hinting u... whahahahahhaa

true, totally agree with u on the sleeping time. Will let her son tells her cos whatever I say is an offence to that highness..

@ Julie, we can shake hand.. I also i accumulate my own clothes with my #1 clothes back to mum place to wash every 2 days.. better... dun need to fight for the clothes poles to hang...

Bliss: mine oso will super sweat and flip here n there if nt cold, another point same as me, coz i oso scared hot. So when aircon is on, fan is on too, bt nt direct la if nt later runny nose. Than when aircon off (i sure know coz i'll start to feel hot or wanna pee) than will remove her long pants and blow fan direct.

Wah, u still can every 2days ah? I cannot la.. Abit far leh.. So mon-thurs i wash #1 sch clothes n pyjamas, than clothes worn fm fri onwards will be brought back to my mum place to wash on wkends. Coz MIL washed her clothes on wkends. Totally no place to hang lor. If can i'd love to wash all clothes at mum place, coz MIL place they like to close all windows every morning when leave the house. And limited sunlight, worse when rainy days, the clothes will have the smelly soggy smell. Yuckssss

haha talking about washing clothes and house... I have more than enough clothes - SIL passed me bags and bags of twin girls' clothes.. so I have like double of everything! I just sorted them out according to size and will wash them batch by batch. The thing is, we are not staying with in-laws/parents, and this is our #1.. but I'm too lazy to start washing! We can like accumulate our clothes until laundry basket overflow then start washing. Haiz, this bad habit must change!

Our place is quite small, only 88sqm and we've got 2 rooms combined into a larger room. I won't give up my walk-in wardrobe, but I'm converting my work corner into a baby corner, which is linked to our master bedroom.. it's cosy for a small family, doubt we want to invite many ppl for full month cos it gets stuffy. Even for house-warming, we did 3 rounds (!!) so that it is manageable.. I'm not really into celebrating full month, but hubby wants. So I asked him to do all the planning. I'll just be there with baby if it happens, haha!

Elp_mum: bt laungry basket overflow nvm rite? Coz washing machine full load better mah.. Wont waste water.

And i do agree 88sqm is small, coz 3 of my frenz who have gotten their house all in punggol (where else??), i find the place rather small..

Countdown to off work.. 30min!!!!!!

Bliss fever came up in evening... I only dare to use the "bullet" to be inserted to backside if fever is more than 38.5 one hr after taking panadol. Thus , have to wake up constantly to check. If given brufen or bullet, usually for the next 6 hrs the fever will go down and stay low

BBlove, your house really big leh for 5I!
My house will only be ready in 2014 but very small.
I am staying with in law now, but I am comfortable staying with them as they got bigger house and maid to do washing so can save $. Likely I am gonna rent out our hse when TOP. Also i am thinking to keep my current address because I am to nearer to Rosyth pri. I am hoping my gal next time can get into good school. But then still long way hopefully Rosyth is still good and remain where it is.

I love the kids playground. Last saturday i just went babiesRUS at City Sq Mall with hubby and we saw the swing and playhouse. We are planning to buy and put in the garden. But then got to wait for her to grow up a little.

Btw i thought baby shower must be after one mth and usually before one mth is consider 'dirty'?
no?

I am thinking if is before CNY probably will throw hotel buffet/hi tea to invite close relative and friends. If after CNY also good... my FIL every year will do buffet at home to invite relatives because he celebrates his chinese bday which is very close to CNY at the same time he gives ang bao to the relatives kids. So every year CNY no need visiting one just all come here. haha...

Yesterday I went Daiso bought a nice pack of wrapper bags. Planning to buy some candies to put inside and distribute to the kids during baby shower.
Cheap cheap... one pack 22 pieces and $2 only!

Julie: Yah, we always wash full load, but end up no space to hang all the clothes!
We got the flat at a good price, and central location (which means nearer to better schools) so we decided on it quickly cos we don't want to wait for new flats.. we took a risk and hope for enbloc so that we can get a new flat at a nearby location too.. see how's our luck!

thanks julie and BBlove, now I feel more released ... seems like it is normal. I also can feel the baby weight is really heavier ~

BBlove, your house really big ... 300k for a 5i was really a good deal, nowadays cannot find such a good deal. Recently I also got a 5i and now is under renovation, mine is 120sqm .. much smaller. This picture took during the 3rd day of reno, looked like a war right?
7783993.jpg

And this is the layout we designed .. the baby cot was just beside our master bed, so we will sleep together with the baby when she born ~ Think to get a white color baby cot, quite like the Ikea design but not sure it can last.

7783994.jpg

For baby shower, I come across this blog and realized for angmo .. some of them do their baby shower before baby come out. They are getting the wishes from their friends and families for the new baby, looked interesting.

From wikipedia, baby showers were given only for the family's first child, and only women were invited. The original intent was for women to share wisdom and lessons on the art of becoming a mother... Guests bring small or large gifts for the expectant mother. Typical gifts related to babies include diapers, baby bottles, clothes, and toys. It is common to open the gifts during the party.... Some hosts arrange baby-themed activities, such as games to taste baby foods or to guess the baby's birth date or gender.

In Chinese tradition, a baby shower, called manyue (满月) is held one month after the baby is born.

I like this idea of baby shower decor, think to diy similar thing for my future baby :p

7784028.jpg

Aspialle.. I had the lump under armpits as well for #1.. I had to rub and squeeze to clear it every few hours, else it gets red and painful.. Gynae called it the extra nipple..Did u try squeeze and see if milk will come out? Now with #2.. I can see the lump is out earlier liao

Pocket pig, where is ur laundry area since u convert to study room? I like ur concept, every area is utilized to the fullest.

Wasabe, during no 1, can't really squeeze out any milk from the lump under armpit but if I pump milk out, sometimes the lump from hard become soft ... Now with no 2 growing bigger, dun tink it will disappear after birth...

Goodness! How did this happen? Maybe it's a good idea for baby to room in!
On a positive note, I hope KKH will be extra careful so that it won't happen to us in jan!

One of the tags on the leg was wrong... Room in no use cos they will still need to push baby to the nursery for tests, jab etc... All of us must check all details carefully and take more photos in the labour ward to compare during discharge...

Snowger

full month is 1 month, why 4th month. faintz!
power!!

I still thinking cny need to do or nt.

The wrong baby case is power! Now we know these days, this still happened!
& how come the parents didn't recognise their own boy?

bblove, wah... ur list what to expect on weeks.. I see the weight.. envy! I have over it long time ago! LOL!!

I hv a commando giving instruction wat to do but never do, in the end, I do. wat are better ways to hit the backside?

Aspialle,
I'm staying at serangoon North. Tat's why hubby like resale flat cos new HDB 5 rm is 110sqm.

aspialle, oh dear.... hope your boy gets well soon. He needs ibuprofen? The cold patch works for him or not?

That KKH mixed up is crazy... Strange thing is the parents saw the baby before discharge. Didn't they realise the baby they carry home looks different?

Remember they will ask the daddy to check the tag upon delivery and let the daddy witness the tagging of the baby. Must ask hb to pull and make sure tag is secure.

averie, just read that you trying for Rosyth next time for your child. The PV is very hard to get in. They only want non-working mothers. I tried last year for my #1. Didnt' even qualify for the interview of PV, straight away receive letter of rejection.

Julie,
We got it when the econmony was down back then. Everyone was down grading and prefer a 3rm or 4rm flat. Tt explain the price.

If my SIL were to hear you, she will jump man. Whenever she talk to us, she will always use the word "my son this" and "my son that" instead of using her son's name. Funny right? There was even once when she asked my MIL to pack noodle for her kid, my mil asked her for which kid, she reply "of course is for the male 1 la, who else?" After I heard, I was like rolling my eyes, it not as if my MIL dun know the name of her grandson.
Anyway she always tell us, she never plan for a dragon bb (Her boy was born in 2000), but got a dragon bb instead and so more it is a boy lor. Have been hearing it till sian..

elp_mum,
small cozy flat is good for a small family too. My hubby wants the floor to be mopped everyday. So when it comes to cleaning, it can be super tiring.

Bliss,
I rented the swing and slide for a month for #2's birthday bash. My man will nag non-stop if he were to find the swing n slide making its citizenship at my hse. He always grumble the playroom is full of toys, bicycle, motorcar, scooter and always ask if I'm gg to convert it to childcare

Averie,
*wave* We are very near to each other. In fact my hse is just in front of Rosyth school.

During confinment is considered 'dirty' but when celebrate full month, we will pray to 'bed god' and both mother n bb have to shower in flower water and pomelo leave to clean ourselves. It can be as earlier as 2 weeks after delivery. Just that still eat confinement food as usual but mother n bb consider clean.

Pocketpig,
Yes, during reno it looks like a warhse. The toilet after drilling is even worse. But after that will be nice nice liao. So bear with it.

You got a ID to design your hse for you? I like the layout, esp the walkin wardrobe which is something that hubby will never compromise.

I'm down today
Throat very painful and feeling cold. Reported urgent leave, if not ok, think I will replace it with MC. Sigh...

elp_mum / Friends/ piyoz,
Re: Wrong baby

Actually not the 1st time I heard. It happened to my close friend's friend too. It's not a case of wrong bb given to bring home but the nurse pushed the wrong bb for her to breastfeed.

What I heard was she was breastfeeding her bb in the middle of the night when a nurse, pushed in another bb, telling her it time to breastfeed. Surprisingly she looked at the little bundle who is suckling on her breast and detach immediately and asked the nurse "then whose bb is this?" pointing to the one she is holding. They checked and came back to tell her that she is breastfeed her own bb, the one they pushed to her was someone's else.

The same thing happened when the following day she was supposed to be discharged, only to be informed by the PD tt her bb has jaudice and need to stay for another 2 days for phototherpy, She was asking when did the jaudice started and why she wasn't informed early, PD checked then realsied the the nurse has given the wrong report to him.

After the 2 epi, her hubby wrote in long long letter to complain to the hospital. Somemore it a pte hospital with this kind of service.

FRIENDS, thanks for sharing .. so my colleagues adviced me better to take few snapshots of our baby when deliver, also checked if our baby have any birthmark then we can recognize :p
Heard that there will be a tag on the baby, so must make sure the hospital indicated the correct information of mother on the tag.