(2013/01) Jan 2013

On baby's weight
Cheese, I've been told my gynae a few times my baby is small, but I grown to accept it already.. small babies are easier to deliver, and as long as they are healthy, they can catch up when they are out! So don't be too worried ok? Sometimes it's also the genes. My hubby was a small baby, but he has grown so tall!

Julie: I'm also delivering at KKH! Booked room last week too. Hope it wouldn't be so full until can't get a room.. my friend delivered there this year and she had to wait hours before she got her single room... even had to have her lunch at the bloodied delivery ward. Yuck!

Elp_mum: Huh? U mean will be full till like tat?!! Did ur fren book in advance? If book in advance still gotta wait like abit nonsense leh.. I think i'll get the 4-bedded since hubby will nt b staying overnight wif me. If he stays overnight in hospital guess my #1 will go mad. Haha!! I now oso worried if she'd be ok to slp at hm without mummy.. Bt nurse did say better nt to let kidz stay overnight in hospital.. Scared gt those hospital germs make her sick.. Tat's y, other than praying bb comes out in jan rather than dec, another prayer is come out in the day, when #1 is in sch.. If at nite, die!! She sure go mad... Haha!!

Julie: That was in Mar this year.. also not sure why the coordination so bad.. maybe cos there are not many single rooms?
Just hope for the best! I'm hoping not xmas, new yr eve etc.. have instructed hubby to check out the road closures to make sure we can make it to hospital on time! haha

Weight gain:
My last check at 31 weeks already gained a total of 10kg le. Big 6 already appeared. Wonder how much more I gained when I go gynae check again next Mon. Hee appetite has been very good, in fact 'too good' like what hubby told gynae previously I suspect I will at least gain another 1.5 kg at least between these 2 weeks.

Sylvia,
Ur doc did 4d scan for u? Must be very interesting to be able to see what bb is doing inside so clearly.

Bliss_ling,
Dun be too stress and worked up with #1, must stay positive, I think sometimes how adults react can also influence the child one. Stay calm if possible and try to spread the happy bug to her.

I dun have an elder child but my 4 yr old nephew seems to be having some issue with my bump too. He knows got BB's inside and yesterday while at my mum's place and tried to lift my blouse to 'see' the baby n he got angry when we said cannot see. On few occasions tried to hit my bump too. But I didn''t get angry with him, guess he is too young and maybe feeling some 'jealousy' cos the grandma bought some new clothing for the baby. just tried to explain to him and be a bit careful when he is playing around me. Tried to playing a but with him so that he dun feel so neglected too.

Seen gynae, bb is weighing 1.8kg at 31wk. I'm 55kg nw, put on 13kg alr. Bb's head is down. Gynae said he's within normal range, still can go for normal delivery. Nx chk-up on 30/11 at 33wk. Told gynae I fear delivery, he is very re-assuring and pro-natural delivery.

Snowger, you really didn't gain much weight and you are slim ** envy **
Just wk32, I already gained 12kg and I guess I will gain more than 15kg for this pregnancy .. I totally didn't control my diet.
Morning I normally finish a plate a fried been hoon with few side dishes for breakfast, and a cup of milo or soya bean.
Lunch I will eat chinese mixed rice with 1 veg and 2 meats.
Tea break will be kaya butter toast with milk tea.
Dinner will depend what my husband packed, sometime is burger sometime is nasi lemak or sometime just go out for dinner.

I am already more than 65kg now ... I don't want to think how to lose weight now, else will be stress : (

Serene,

we did 4D, interesting to see how technology improves.

Elp,
my frd also got struck in delivery room for 4 hours in Sep. She wasn't even given water to drink, food to eat till she was move to a bed.
It's so scary.

Btw, forgot to mention ..
Something learnt from pre-natal course, the nurse said try not to rub your nipple during these few weeks (before full term 36 weeks) else may cause earlier labour. Even during bathing, try not to touch your nipples and just clean it quickly .. coz it may trigger your body and send false alarm to have earlier labour. Not sure how true is it, but just be careful loh ...

@ LDG, i cant shed off 4 kg of the post preggy wt... haizzz...

@ canopy, wow... baby good weight.. Keep it up gal

@ Julie, my #1 also came out smiley baby thou mil said things which not suppose to say , causing the yoyo emo in me when I had her. Ya lor... This time round, my temper very bad, easily get frustrated cos of #1.

No worries, if u see big 6, rem me cos I am the giant 7 k..

@ serene, thanks gal.. will rem it..

@ pocketpig, oh gosh.. ur meals are exactly similar to mine... ehheheee.. this time round, i also eat what i want to eat..

So after delivery, i will have to work extra hard to shed it off

Hey all, do not worry too much about baby weight now, as the numbers are estimates based on certain measurements. And there is always a margin of error of +/- 300g (I saw that in my ultrasound printout).

I am worried about the fact that at the last visit, baby breech position. Anyone else in this situation? Doc gave me an admission letter, and indicated that the baby is in breech. She was quite encouraging and said that usually they still turn even at this late stage.

bliss,

i think me also giant 7 maybe huge 8 this time! kekekeke!!

think my gynae like to play with new device!
like playing toys! lol!!

pocketpig,
that's true to an extend.
but sometimes if itchy, u cant help too. :p

Chin
yes, some turn later, some turn early, some when scanning in right position, after that, went back to breech. Think as long as when delivery in right position will do.

Bliss: ok, thanks for the consolation.. Hehe!!

Pocketpig: reli? Didnt know gt such thing leh.. If wet after bath how? Dab dab ah? Haha!!

Aspialle: yup, i oso doin it next visit next wk.. Bt getting 4-bedded.. Anywaz hubby oso nt staying over, no point. Single rm oso like so lonely leh. The last time i delivered at TMC oso stay 4-bedded than can listen to the gossips fm other mummies.. Haha!!

Aspialle: ooo.. Ya, if he staying over than get single rm coz tink 4-bedded cannot stay over. Mine cannot coz if he stay over than my ger sure go mad.. No mummy already, if no daddy at nite? Bonkers... Haha!!

Oops!!

I forgot..... something impt!
When preparing honey, DO NOT use metal spoon!
it'll lose the honey's healing effect.
Use plastic or best is wooden spoon!

Just making it n rem I din share. sorry. :p

another thing about honey: don't pour boiling water over it cos it will lose the anti-bacteria properties. I usually prepare lukewarm water first, then scoop honey with plastic spoon and stir. It will still melt.

Julie, Aspialle: I booked a single room.. loved the room when I visited colleague and friend, therefore decided on KKH TPS. Didn't take much effort to decide what room to take. So shallow right!

Aspialle: wah reli? Mine will keep asking where's papa, bt when papa appears n disturb her she'll call him go away. Haha!! Bt i'm thinking at least if i'm nt ard at least he'd be ard.. Bt scared he'll torture her to slp.. Coz there was once where i was out late and she kept crying for mummy, kena scolding by hubby for crying non stop.. So poor thing..

Elp: visited cousin n fren b4 at single rm in KKH b4 too.. Bt guess i scared lonely lor.. So gonna go for 4-bedded.. Can save some $$ oso.. Hehe!!

Bliss,
I am in your giant 7 gang! Was the same for #1, hope I can shed it all! *fingers crossed*

If not for the GD diet I might definitely hit the 8 by delivery.

But general stress levels and breastfeeding help a lot in weight loss kekeke it just takes a realistic amount of time. For #1 I gave myself 10 months to lose it all since it took 10 months to put it on. Will set the same target again.

Early delivery,
My EDD is 12 jan. but #1 popped at 38wks so I'm hoping to clear 1st of jan at the very least. Share the same concerns as most of you about competition in the dragon year. It's not just the initial pri school entry, but also for every single major exam, places in secondary sch, university, job after graduating, for the rest of her life. Anyway, just hope for the best.

Do remember not to walk too much at the last stage if you don't want to trigger early delivery. I intend to be quite sedentary from Christmas to new year. Hahaha

Hospital beds,
The hospitals are really feeling the bed crunch this year cos of the bumper crop of dragon babies. Because many pregnant women delivery naturally and not on their EDD, there's no way to guarantee you a bed of your choice cos these things can't be planned in advance. It's just an indication of what room type you prefer. Even for #1 I brought ear plugs and eye mask for a good night's sleep in case I have to share a room with potentially noisy neighbours. Or those with many many visitors. But getting stuck in delivery ward for hours and eating there is a bit too much lah. Hope we don't get that since we're at the tail end of the dragon year.

Aspialle, elp: wah u 2 edd very close, mayb will c each other.. Mine abit far fm urs. Unless i deliver on edd and u 2 deliver early? Hehe!! We shall eat together in delivery room.. So sad.

LM: wah, 10mths onli? Skill.. Coz even at pre preg for #2, i couldnt shed the extra 2kg.. Pple keep telling me tat time extra 2kg, so tis time extra 4kg!! Oh no!!

Will try nt to walk so much, bt.. Abit hard la..

Mt Alvernia encourage bb to room-in with mummy for bonding. So preferably single bed is better. They claimed if double-bedded then bb cannot room-in. Prob tt's their mktg strategy. Haha...

I thot walking aid smoother delivery. But my gynae said normal walking will do. Same like most mummies, preferably bb will pop in early Jan. Avoiding Dec period and still able to do full 28-days of confinement prior CNY. My CL alr told us if bb were to born exactly on EDD (17 Jan), she'll do until 6 Feb only. Pro-rate her charges accordingly.

Sylvia, no worries. Haha.. I m using my porcelain soup spoon. Lol..

Ctrus, room in as in stay beside u for the whole day? I stayed in 4 bedder in Mount A previously. The nurse still came over to ask me if I wan bf my baby in the middle of the night when she knows I m awake. Baby gets to stay with me as well. For daytime, daddy will go over and push him from nursery to my bedside most of the time too. As long as he not crying, not disturbing others, he will be beside me, unless i sleeping. :p So I guess shldnt be a problem right? Haha..

Hi good morning, I just awake!

@Nickole, I went Mount A tour and I was told only single and double bed can have baby stay with mum. For four bedder, the baby need to return to nursery to sleep. Only upon request or feed time they will bring baby to you so as not to disturb others who are sharing the room with you.

I need your advice. Is it safe for pregnant to do brazilian waxing?
Before preg, i have been doing it regularly but then now until now havent step to the parlor to do it. My hubby don't allow me to do it. he said is not safe. haiiizzz....

Averie: I think shld b ok.. Jz like my hubby disapproves me to do mani/pedi during pregnancy. Haiz but think positively, save money too.

Just talking abt kid falling sick, my son is down with fever... He got last term full attendance but Sch holidays fall sick liao ... Now hubby also sick and taking antibiotic , left me standing alone ... Haiz so tiring, have to wake up n check my son's temperature at night every hr.

Averie, I'm also thinking of doing and I have never done it before hor...

Aspialle, my hubby, mummy, brother, nephew all down...in addition, got office colleague down with chicken pox! Now my throat is a bit dry... Very scared that the virus will be spread to me or my boy...must remember not to eat heaty stuff this week... U also take care and drink more water to prevent the virus to get into u.. Rest as much as u can...

7780367.gif

Ctrus / Averie,
My experience for stay with Mt A is the same as Nickole for past 2 deliveries in 4 bedded. In fact, even if not feeding time, they still push the bb to me for bonding.
This time round, heard even 4 bedded also always full. Got to wait.

LDG / Aspialle,
My insomnia is also back. Waking up at 2+am and only managed to sleep at 4.30 and the alarm goes off at 5.30am. Sigh....

Friends,
Be careful. Virus are spreading everywhere. My 2 gers have just recovered from stomach flu and are still cranky. You have to take extra precaution since someone in your office is down with chicken pox. At your stage now, you cannot afford to have it. Can take leave and rest at home?

Morning mummies!! Gloomy monday morning...

Averie: yes, can do. Coz wanted do it than read other threads on this. Gt pple say 8mth still do.. Bt b4 goin, when u book appt muz tell them u're preggy, so they can get some1 more experienced. Coz the skin there will b more sensitive when preggy, if inexperienced later very pain. Am planning to do mine mayb in mid dec, so when delivery at least not so messy.. Feel more hygenic i guess. Hehe!!

About being sick, my girl started having fever last fri in her cc.. Luckily it cleared on sat.. Brought her to swimming pool on sun coz no more fever n gt fren say gt those kiddy slides.. Bt water too cold and she kena runny nose.. Haizzzz.. Bt i rather she runny nose than fever. Fever more scary.

As for scary... Thou looking forward to gynae visit on wed, bt scared of wat i'd see when i step on the scales.. Haha!! Bt after wat happened to bliss fren, i'm relieved whenever i feel bb's movements, thou sometimes abit painful..

Morning ladies!!!

RE: Brazilian Waxing
Averie, Friends, Julie - I also thinking of doing. Nver tried before.
As for messy during delivery, don't do also fine, cos the nurses will shave some (just small area, I think) for you when admitted for delivery.
During confinement, will need to wash/ rinse with water every time you go toilet. QUite ok actually.

for those mummies with TMC, have u all managed to book your hosp room? i've put in my request with my clinic but i haven't received anything from TMC yet..

My #1 and #2 also sick last week. Had fever plus ulcers. Good thing not HFMD. Miss school for a week.

Weather no good? Virus around?