(2013/01) Jan 2013

Good morning mummies,
Tired early in the morning but short of manpower at work.

Canopyhaze,
*wink* yup, must keep fire burning even pregnant. In fact, hubby n I also still maintain our bedroom activity through pregnancy. I told him it's the best time to enjoy and the last thng on the mind is to worry about being preggy. Wakaka.

Bliss,
Long time never hear from you. How have you been?

Re: Maternity Shoot.
For mummies gg for maternity shoot. Usually at which week?

bblove : finally someone agrees with me

Gd morning ladies!!!

BBLove

the recommended time to go for makeover is 30-32 week. Go too late we may be too big, tired and have water retention. Not pretty..

I took mine last Sunday at 31 weeks. But belly looks 6 months pregnant, so I end up 'blew' up my belly the entire shoot. Haha.

Think I will go take more pictures next month!

@ canopy & bblove, was drowning in work...whahaha.. but i still come inside Jan SMH forum...

Nw #1 down with phlegm and cough which happened when she sleeps.. in wee hrs or whole day, i heard her cough 1-2 times ... nw on medication..

Btw, i think i may have been thinking abt the bedroom activity which most ppl said it will be better to have that to "keep fire burning" .. Guess what I had weird dreams last 2 days.... Dreamt that hub had affair with other lady... oh gosh.... !!!

chiam, like having early post natal blues.. whahahaha

Western Med and TCM Med

For mummies with kids, if the child is down with cough with phlegm / Flu, which one will you opt for?

Some said long term western med will weaken immunity system. How long is consider long?

Some frens I knew brought the kids to Yu Guo and I was told that the med is yucky bitter... Bet mine cant take it so I never bring her other than EYS.

Morning all!!

So tired today, dont feel like working. Somemore my #1 so early wake me up.. N had backache.. Yest when slp so uncomfy.. Lie on back like cannot breathe.. Lie on side the side of stomach pain.. Tink coz lie on bb.. Haizzz how to slp like tat?? Than when finally found a gd position, either woken up by bloated bladder or thirst or a powerful kick by my #1... Yawnzzzz

bliss : aiyo, what a dream!

Just received a sms from my friend whose EDD is 22Dec12, she got bleeding and went to TMC yesterday and gynae said she is 1cm dilated. She should be giving birth by tomo, her bb is only 35wk! now, am getting nervous.

Bliss I tried taking my son to Tcm at eunos, that guanyin jiu ku hui, they dun charge but u an give freely for consultation. So far, he only need to drink one bottle recover already.. Compared to expensive western doc we tried who tend to give 5 to 6 kinds of medicine... We find Tcm better. The western ones after finishing all med abt 3 to 4 weeks still cannot recover, in the end always need anti biotic then recover and find that he becomes weaker after that.

Sylvia, whats the proportion for honey and lemon? i squeezed a lemon with 2 tablespoon of honey. and it was super sour. lol. i m using nu-zee-bee honey which i bought from ntuc.
i heard ppl said if cough with phlegm not advisable to take honey cos will cause more phlegm..

i m having a bad cough with lots of phlegm right now. and din sleep well for the past few nights due to constant cough.
this time round, i m disturbing my #1's sleep cos i kept coughing at night and we are not even sleeping in aircon room. haiz!!

Angeliqueous, i think i pass u our shopping list then u can help us to get at the same time u buy ur pump. will immediately get the 5% liao. haha. thanks!! can pm me ur email? i send it to u. thanks

<font color="119911">bliss, my #1 also down with cough! Have been having sleepless nights as boy keeps waking up and cry! Cough till vomit some more.
Even gotta send him to KK in the middle of late last night as found lots of bumpy rashes all over his body and legs and he scratching and crying hard. Got a scare out of me as I had not seen these before.
Ended doc diagnosed it to be hives. Any mummies got remedies for hives?

RE: Yu Guo
Sent my boy there once for colic and all they did was "massage" him and put some medication on the belly button.
Personally I don't feel it helps.</font>

Hi mummies!!

Hope all had a great long weekend!!

Canopy indeed it's scary we all need to take care of ourselves!

Bliss I also got think of bedroom *ahem* but my condition now cannot.. So have to be like ninja.. REN!!

My number 1 cough also very persistent.. She was on ventolin and a orange powder medicine for some time.. Then now she coughs at night and morning and got phlegm kind.. But I stop medication Liao.. Donno what I should do.. Should I continue?? She actually got this cough just 2 weeks after she recovered from a previous cough which she was on antibiotic so I'm reluctant to put her on antibiotic for this round.. Really scratch head.. See also very heartache

@ canopy, ya lor.. what a dream.. hehehee
My friend delivered her bb last mth, at 30 weeks... I was worried too..

@ LDG,can understand how u feel.. Mine cough for awhile in wee hrs..she will not cry but cough til flip here and there. We tried to let her suck afew slip of water using straw bottle.. she took a slip cos she thought it her tutu.. Having sleepless night cos of her cough and afraid she vomited.

She vomited last sunday cos I was outside the hse whereas she in mil hse, i close the main door and she screamed and cried to open the door.. I was very angry and strongly held on the door, refused to open it for a few mins.. it "cruel" cos i had enough in that morn with back pains and she refused to take her cough med.. I was mad...

thinking back, i really had short temper cos have to deal with her alone.. Hub not in, inlaws went out.. With big tumnmy, it tough to handle a toddler.

Prior to that I did wrong thing again, screamed and stormed into bedroom, took the wire hanger.. threaten to beat her.. she cried and said "mummy, dont beat me".. oh gosh.. i was really a siao chao bo.. haizz... I didnt beated her but i had already instill fear in her.. What a bad mummy I am.. sigh!!!

In the end, she cried til vomited all milk with some greenish phlegm.. I was angry and refused to cry her.. scolded her in my loud voice.. and poor child, she stood there crying with all her vomits all over her..

Sometimes, i really ask myself.. Why do I have to get preggy? It taking a toil in me.. In the end, just have to bear with it and go thru it..

@ wasabe, the orange powder is good.. It is called Flumucil.. mine taking it now..How abt making a check with ur doctor again and let doctor access her condition..

I also reluctant abt antibiotic cos she had it last mth..

On mon, doctor said shouldnt need to be on antibiotic so am glad so on medication to see how it goes..

Bedroom activity, no mood cos having numb in right legs plus need to manage my toddler who sleeps ard the same time as us..

Re: Bedroom activity
Recently hubby requested but I told him I no mood leh. Then he said let him do the 'action'. I just lay there (stuck a small bolster under my tummy)

initially, we will engage a helper during last trim of pregnancy but then after getting preggy, hub said no one to look after helper la.. blah blah.. then nw need to save up monies cos mil is asking for a "wage" which the son said $900. Well, nw he just left his job to find a greener pasture... abt to have exams this coming weekends , got to wait for 3 weeks for results, pass then can register to commence work..

So HOW to have helper? Trying to balance the sanity in me ..

Bliss,
What a wierd dream. But I do hear of my preggy friends having these kind of dream often. They always think that their hubby will be unfaithful to them when they are preggy cos they find themselves less attractive.

To me, from 2 unknown individual to courtship to the decision to spend and include each other in the rest of the life is a big commitment and marriage is such a commitment. Baby is merely a bonus added to the marriage and it should never get in the way of the marriage.

Tt why when it comes to pregnancy, I will do all those research and show hubby tt baby is safe in waterbag and bedroom activity is still possible and encouraged unless there is pregnancy complication. Never deprive your partner of his sexual need, whatmore it 9 long months...

For the same marriage committment, I also make it a point I will not argue with hubby on children's issue. I always tell him, kids depend on us for now, 10,20 years later, when they grow up, they will have their own live and set up their own family and in the end, I will left with him to spend the rest of my life with. Then I'll always get my way

Wow BBlove, you can be a marriage counsellor already! *Thumbs up*

I had a wonderful 'outing' during lunch today! Chanced upon the shop (Cheong Choon at Upper Cross St) Sylvia recommended some time ago when I asked for sources to buy bean sprout husk pillow.. they were selling at $12, which is quite reasonable! That officially checks off one of the last few things left on my list

On early delivery, I've been hearing ppl giving birth earlier too.. I keep telling baby 'January ok?' and we avoid saying things like 'I can't wait to see you soon' haha.. hope that helps!

LDG, my boy also had hives when he was about 15 mths after an episode of bad flu. We were very frightened by it as his whole body was covered with red patches! Went to PD, KK and GP for different opinions, all 3 said it was a form of way of the body to fight infection. KK gave normal cream to ease the itch, PD gave those normal flu med which is for running nose and allergy. GP said the two medications gave by KK and PD were suffice.

Bliss, big hug! I also 'Kee siao' nowadays and little things can tigger me into very bad temper... Maybe due to my GD diet plan (I do feel weak and tired most of time), aching body and my boy's terrible 2. The one who suffered most is hubby. I think I screamed at him almost every other day. But lucky he good temper and just silently do what was told, handle my son when my face's colour changes...never once raised his voice... If not for him, I think I will go pre-natal blues... I also often asked myself y I got myself preg at this age with my health cond, y I'm so weak as compared to my friends with 2-3 kids... But on another hand, I feel so blessed to have a supporting hubby, a cheeky boy and a baby given my problematic health issue... Let's jiayou together!

I will tell baby dun play with the umbilical cord, bless 大小平安, have a smooth delivery. Hahaha my prayers too.

<font color="119911">friends, KK gave me just the flu medicine which is for running nose and allergy relief lor...
Wanna why they din give any cream to apply, when they say it's gonna be very itchy...

from time to time, I also tell my baby to guai guai stay in tummy till Jan! :D</font>

@ aspialle, i heard of that TCM u mentioned before.. btw, is the med bitter? Mine see anything which is dark in colour for med, she will reject..

@ LDG, thanks gal = )
I think the med is zytech right?

@ bblove, yes total agree with u,, hhehhehee

@ Friends, thanks gal.. Our little tigers belong to the same grp.. My hub is strict with her .. Most of the times I find her alright, not naughty except her sleeping pattern and feeding western med..

Will have to hang on.. U are 1 yr younger than me and i can understand how u feel.. esp. the physical health..

@ Canopy, thanks babe.. So when is the next outing? My girl chiam to have such a 'Kee siao' mummy... haizzzz.....

@ ctrus, yes yes must tell baby to be good.. play other things but not the umbilical cord..

one of my frens just broke a news to me... Oh gosh... Unbelievable.. Must pray that bb be good inside tummy.

Our common friends bb just passed on at week 37..

bliss : i oso Kee Siao at times. Luckily my hubby is patience with me.
I thought there is an outing coming up, but have yet to decide on the date. I remember is either 16Nov, 23Nov ot 30Nov. All dates are out for me but i will try to make it if i can.

LDG, I went to PD first. So I was armed with the flu medication when seeing the KK doc. The cream is just normal hydrocortisone cream and two bottles of calamine lotion which r available at guardian loh.. Maybe they paiseh to charge me $80 without giving anything. Lol.

<font color="119911">bliss, not zytech.. Some medi starting with Ch-something.

Friends, hahahaha..... Maybe!
KK charging $90 now le...</font>

@ canopy, well i guess bedroom activity can keep one sanity.. <<wink>> ... hehehehee

As for outing, i guess maybe will have to be early dec liao as not much response from the rest of mummy.. But hope to be in time for Dawn and Shice..

@ LDG, wow... KKH nw so ex$$$... Not goin to KKH cos the waiting time is a killer.. Normally I go to PD or Mt A

think LDG referring tot rates for children A&amp;E? Is $90nett for consultation, all med/stuffs consumed there and also medications to be taken home.

bliss > how much is Mount A charging? I didnt have good experiences bringing my #1 to GP. really cannot make it..

Bliss yes a bit bitter n black but is better than taking so many bottles for weeks.. I force my son to drink, I will reward him with something else to make him take lor

Hihi, am from may 2013 mummy.
Can I check if normal gynae visit urine test is ok but failed OGTT test, is it got to follow diet plan too?

@ xinyue, that time i cant rem clearly on the charges but I know it cheaper and faster than KKH.. Then doctor will access the condition.

@ aspialle, oh gosh.. mine western med is alright, not bitter and yet she takes a look at it and shakes her head.

@ prosper, u from TTC 2012 and 2013?

Bliss,
Hugs! Take care!

Elp_mum,
Where is this Cheong Choon at Upper Cross St? What else do they sell? haha sounds so tempting to go shop shop there...

BBlove,
Good advice!

Wasabe,
PD tells me not good to cover from cough/flu and then catch it again 1-2 weeks later. Both PD and KKH doctor recommends me same thing for my 2.5yo boy using aero chamber - Ventolin inhaler pump 2-3 pumps 3-4 times a day, Seretide inhaler pump 1-2 pumps morn and night as prevention for 1-3 mths period. No antibiotics. Was worried PD recommendation too 'strong' for my boy was surprising KKH doc also prescibe similar meds lei.

Prosper,
Yes, that is what happens to me, nothing show up for urine test but I fail OGTT.

Bliss_ling,
Oh no... sad to hear this... what happened actually? Anything we need to pay attention or signs we mummies should look out for?

went for my routine check up last week..and was being informed that the normal delivery fee has been increased to $2K instead of $1.5k.
So if I delivered in Dec, I will be charged for $1.5k for normal delivery. I just let bb to decide by himself when he wants to come out.
I am hoping end Dec so the gap between by 2 boys will not be that big and I can celebrate all their birthdays together.

I did my OGTT last on Monday, have not hear anything from the clinic yet. Praying hard that no news is good news.

<font color="119911">hi prosper! we were in the same ttc thread previously!
So glad you have graduated!

xinyue, ya... $90 for KK A&amp;E </font>

Bblove, anytime after week 34, usually before week 37... ;)

Bliss, my gal did tuina at TMC's children TCM clinic. I did not let her take any TCM (until recently, the cordeysep powder and something else) to strengthen her health. The chinese doc i c believes that if u can do the massage at home , the effect would be btr. I have been doing it for my gal and bringing her for weekly tuina... Western meds do weaken the children cos i noticed my gal keep getting cough. It take 2 wks w the ventolin &amp; fumicil, well for one week, then cycle comes back...

Bdmummy Cheong choon sells all bb stuff, from clothes , bed, stroller almost anything, above $150 got delivery free, u can call them, give model n ask for price, usually cheaper if not same but can buy all at one stop

Bdmummy: I took their namecard - The Cheong Choon Store is at Blk 34 Upper Cross St #03-132 S(050034).
It's actually along the walkway between the Blk where Red Star Dim Sum Restaurant@ Chin Swee and Pearl Centre. Stumbled upon it whilst walking from that carpark to Pearl Centre for lunch!
But it only opens at 1.30pm. You can call them at 6532 3855 to check if they have anything you are looking for. Colleague bought a whole huge bag of wet wipes, she say its quite cheap!

Bdmummy, it is scary but admittedly, my gal seem to become "reliant" on the ventolin &amp; (not fumicil) f-something inhaler to recover from her coughs... Its came to a point i feel that the inhaers were like steriod to help her recover faster but land up falling sick more easily...

Prosper, congrats! I rem u from the ttc thread too! ;)

Snowger somehow I dun like the idea of taking ventolin anymore so switch to Tcm , felt that it makes their body weaker n seems like needed more dosage to recover... Means not so effective n more reliant.

Bdmummy ok I will ask but I think my ger won't let me use the inhaler.. She only 23 months old Le.. Hiaz

Anyone has tried childlife multivitamin and does it help to boost children immunity ?

Hihi mummies, do u all know what kind of stretch mark cream or oil is better? I heard from my friend say oil is better... anyone have any good recommadation on what brand is good? I'm a first time mum and my stretch mark is very jia liat...
7764377.jpg

I'm using Palmer Cocoa Butter as recommended by gynae. Easily available at Watson etc ($23.50) It claimed can reduce the appearance of stretch marks but I think need long term usage.