(2013/01) Jan 2013

LM, wanted to re-arrange the furnitures in my guest room to lie the mattress on the floor for #1. But my in-laws say now preg, cannot anyhow more furniture. -_-" so bo pian.. #1 continue to sleep with us.. but find one day, i'll surely make the move.

snowhopes, ya loh.. plus now our breast keep getting bigger. the bikini cup cannot hold properly! haha.

re: infant care rates
if u looking at those privatised housing kind, then ard 800 - 1.1k after subsidy of $600. If u ok with PCF (govt kind), then the pricing is ard 500-700 after subsidy. usually located at hdb downstairs and their childcare quite rowdy one.

gigi lai's twins is identical or non-identical? if non-identical, maybe due to clomid or ifv? that's y can keep having twins.. but i envy the rich. can spend and do the best for their children without worrying too much abt finance.

LM, i'm also experiencing all the aches and symptoms earlier compared to #1. Was thinking is it becoz I din do a proper confinement. haha.

Chicken essence
There is a ceramic/porcelain type of pot that is usually used for cooking chic essence. I can't take a pic to show now coz my phone died on me. You can go to any shops that sell pots and bowls and tell them 炖煮鸡精用的。the pot has another level with holes for the essence to go in.

To make it properly, you can use slow cooker and cook for 12 hours proper...

Lukymummy: sorry for being blunt? Do I know you?
I dun remember ur nick leh. Ur gd name pls!

Snowhopes:Yes I think I should drink te bottled essence. U drink how many bottles per week?

Snowhopes,
Thanks for the pics! I saw the bed you have at ikea. Was thinking of getting the non-extendable bed. 120cm really not enough in length? Will need to go n see again.

Shice,
I'm already guilty of shiftin furniture! My washing machine died and i had to get it replaced, hubby handled the supervision of workers but it's still considered moving furniture right? But how to survive without a washing machine till jan?

Confinement,
I decided to be more guai this time n try to follow more of the rules. I've even bought more long sleeved tops and pants to wear when previously i mostly wore short sleeves n shorts. In case the old wives' tales r right.

Swimwear,
I saw locally the price of maternity swimwear can be around $100 if i rem correctly from 2 yrs ago. I ordered a tankini style set from usa for ard half that price including shipping. Of course a bikini will work if you dare to wear.

Friends, so little uh? like that forget it la, I just drink the bottled ones... :p

Koms, I drink once a day during weekdays only. So I clock abt max 5 bottles every week. I buy mine online thru Brandsworld at $31.50 per dozen.

LM, 120cm is ok for tods... but kids grow up leh... I dun wan to buy a bed for my gal again when she is in higher primary/secondary sch. So this bed will serve her well all the way to adulthood.

For confinement, I opposite of LM. This time I am going to save my sanity and wash my hair at least once every 2-3 days. Told my hb that if he dare to gang up with his aunt (possibly my CL), I am going to move out to my grandma's place and leave the bb for him to care. *HRMPH* Imagine I wear long sleeves & pants to zzz and no fan! I was practically sweating buckets. Sleep? My foot... In the end I sit at the end of the bed right in front of the fan (cos hb was sleeping away and din know what I was doing). :p

Shifting furniture: My hb has been shifting my gal's furtniture when I'm not home. putting up nails to hang up the clocks, etc. I also did some sewing using sewing machine recently... :p

Pump,
I used Medela Freestyle for #1, but I only used less than 10times I think.. Too lazy to pump and wash all the parts!! Hahaha then I just direct latch on my boy..

I heard that Medela PISA suction is stronger, some FTM find it too strong... And Freestyle is easier if u need to bring the pump to and flo from home and office

Bed for #1,
Now my #1 is 19mths old, will transfer him to mattress on the floor maybe around dec when my mum can come and sleep with him at night... Cot goes to #2...

Snowhope,
I think sewing is ok just don't sew on your bed

Shifting of furnitures
Hub shifted our bed when he do vacuum all that.. This pregnancy we really more relax... I have to oversee some defect of the house too, so whatever the people do I will be home...

Shice,

I use normal water, never use hot water, so maybe u can try? hot water gives stronger taste perhaps. I popped in abt 5 prunes into my mug.

i got the result for my oscar test..the result is 1:181..consider high risk. my gynae was asking to me to go for amino test.

I am really lost now..duno how to proceed.

BP
How old are you? It seems everyone above 35 is 'at risk'?

Maybe if you discuss w hb what you are going to do if the bb really has a trisomy? Will you abort? Gynaes are impt; they shouldn't push you into any decision. Ultimately it's your family.

LM, he have been sleeping there for 5mths and nvr fall from that 20% at all. Sometimes he will sleep at or near that 20%, then I will put cusion to prevent him from falling off. a normal size cusion is enough to block that 20%.

Morning mummies.... It's only Tues.

BP, seems like many mummies who r above 35 have unfavorable results. Hope it's false positive results. Take good care of yourself and discuss this issue with your hubby to decide on the next course of action.

Good morning gals! Haven't been having restful sleep this few nights...
so hard to wake up in the morning for work... *SIGH!*

hammiebao, yah... was sewin in the living room. Cos hb's pants side split open, gotta do what a good wife gotta do. Think gotta convince hb to help me change the bedsheets before they really stink big time! ;p

Made some updates!

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">No</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Nick</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby #</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gynae Name</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BB Gender</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BB Name</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Allyfan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>clumsyhumpy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1-Jan</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Lizzie_grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2-Jan</TD><TD>Dr C K Toh</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Friends78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>LDG</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wendy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Daisybuttons</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>5-Jan</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Tigress</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>6-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>BTMY</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>Parkway East/Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Icydolphin</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Shice</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>7-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Babybabylew</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Herma</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Cheese84</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>SupriseBaby</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>8-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Clifford Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Crystaljc</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Babylon</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Luckymummy11</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Whitecookies</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan wee</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Koms20</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Celia</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong</TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Steanie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Azqtigger</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr L N Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Verre</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim/Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Nashita</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Aspialle</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr June Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Tres</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Syyy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>betterworld</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>4season</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Jojo90</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Snowhopes</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Chipsnchops</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A/Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Jesus_beloveddaughter</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Canopyhaze</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Angeliqueous</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Sheila Loh</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Bliss ling</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>dino1709</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A/Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>emmie77</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Purple rain</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Chen Li Han</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Mommy G</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Piggy_mum</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Devandra</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Josky</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC/Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>junior_jj</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>Karen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Clewlezz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Celine_040</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Sim L.N</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Jo Jo</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Ho H K</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>Happybirthday</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>Gem_tan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>Xaramama</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Shamini</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>piyoz</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>Mrs_R</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Devandra</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>55</TD><TD>s_loh</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Dr PK Tan</TD><TD>TMC/Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>56</TD><TD>Nimkulut</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>57</TD><TD>pearl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>58</TD><TD>Genrin</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>59</TD><TD>jumbobo</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr john yam </TD><TD>Gleneages</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>60</TD><TD>Mimosa2002</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Heng TL</TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>61</TD><TD>L3x</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Andelina Wong</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>62</TD><TD>Hammiebao</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD>Dr SH Kee</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>63</TD><TD>Mummydt</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Update: 10 July 12</font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

The price for Medela PISA is so expensive. I don't think I want to invest so much on a breast pump. My supply for #1 was really bad, I don't think I can breast feed beyond 6months.

For CL, I am saving the $$$ to get myself good food. Going to buy lots of cod fish, I love it with lots of ginger.

it's Tue (only)...
ytd was a terrible day for me.
got fainting spell, puke out part of lunch n throw out all dinner at night.... all these happening at wk13... eventually slp at 9.30pm till this morning 7am...

hopefully today is not as drama...

jaiyou to all mums n stay positive!

BP,
Mine is 1:17. Even higher risk!!! I am seeing gynae only on Fri. Preparing myself for amnio....I did for my #2 5 yrs ago. Now very ex more than $1++K now. Heard from a fren that her fren's ratio was 1:7 and bb turn out fine. Dun worry too much &amp; let's all stay positive n keep praying!!

gooooooooooooooooooood mrng ladies~

gg to see beanie latr... long waited hooo~

been lazy n sitting on the planning of my girls' 3rd bday...... sigh..in less than a mth's time, we really hfta buck up le!!

shice:: ur rite.. gigi lai's first pair of twin girls... conceived by IVF (or watever the term de..)

snowhopes:: bahahaha~ i tink she got a mansion last time for the twin girls... this time is mansion for her extended family for the twin boys.

LM:: abt the bed.. i tink it's more cost effective to get an extendable kind. now.. u can set to 120 (safest, but less room), or 150.. (more space to roll..haha)..n like snowhopes said, 190 (when she's more grown up).. for the openings.. i tink our normal size bolster is good enuf to block le. (altho my girls will most of the times kick them away). my girls used to share a queen-sized bed..n they can sleep all over the place de. so part of the reason we wana move them to individual single bed is to let them get used to it. somehow.. they will get used to it..n know their boundries de. line the bed ard with pillows &amp; bolsters for nw lor..then throw some cushions on the ground ard it. push the bed to lean against the wall on one side to minimise 'escape'. all shld be fine de. :)

re: chicken essence
i read before the steps to make home-made chicken essence... ya, being lazy, was being put off by the long tedious process. hahaha. juz drink those bottled de will do. am gg to buy some..cos realised those at hm de expired le. next time then use those for cooking.

hammiebao:: my personal tots la.. y dun u shift yr #1 to the mattress on the floor earlier instead of dec..which is quite near to our delivery le? i mean, #1 might need a lil time to get adjusted.. n might not be 'nice' like.. put him on the 'floor'.. then #2 cm n immediately take over his bed. juz my lil tots.

re: oscar
aiya.. nw im all worried too liao!! 34 this yr... plus.. i hv a xiao-jiu who is DS de!!!!!!!!

Bp: let's jiayou together! Mine is 1:129.

Wen: I did the amnio 3 yrs ago, it was abt 1.5k. I have checked with the clinic how much to do amnio these days, was told abt 1.5k as well. Going to dr Paul this thur for my operation review, hopefully the cyst result is favorable and non cancerous. If not, I really can't take it Liao. We Jia you together! By the way, will be opting for express result for amnio just like my #1, it costs abt 350, and u will the result within 72hrs if not 14days and above. Need to ask dr if I can travel 1wk after amnio as was told by nurse that no travelling for 1mth after amnio. Has already booked my villas in Phuket.

re: shifting
if really pantang, then try not to be there when ur hubby or anyone do the shifting. I'm also tired of following all these rules. if dun shift furniture, how to get things done in the house?

celia, i tried this morn. I used hot water and 3 prunes only, end up the water quite bitter. haha. maybe i try normal water tonight.

Confinement lady
check with you mummies, normally we need to place a deposit to engage/confirm the confinement lady. do we need to prepare a invoice or receipt as proof? cause still more than 6months to go before our delivery. will there be cases the confinement lady play us out. haha. first timer so wanna check what is the procedure like. thanks!

courgeous:: omg! 1:2!!! i wld be so devasted &amp; instantly go into severe depression immediately for that result.
good ting the lady and esp the bb is fine.

my test is next thu 19th.... grrrrrr~ *shaking*

Canopyhaze,
Yes! Let's all jia you together! My amnio done at Mt A 5 yrs back was about $1K for normal amnio test. Amnio done at around 16 weeks, right? I remember I bedrest for 3 days &amp; one month no strenuous housework. Was told Dr Paul doesn't do amnio le. How ah? When r u going to Phuket? I'm travelling in Nov. Hope he can give me a letter fit for travel by then. Else all my plans will be flush down the drain!

missy:: unfortunately.. such things do happen!! as like the CL playing us out. try to maintain some proof that u had placed the deposit bah.

yess. my gynae told me the decisive results came from amnio test cos it is 99.9% accurate. So dun worry ladies.... all things will be fine.... pray that the test turns out well and both mummy and bb are fine.

i be goin for Amino instead of OSCAR as I am 35 yrs old now. Heard that Amino can claim $600 from Medisave so those going for amino, can check with the clinic nurse.

missy, usually they dun give receipt or any proof. after giving deposit, it's all based on trust le. Just have to ensure that they are recommended by friends or family, to minimise the chances that they may run away.

re: oscar
usually there's quite alot of false-positive cases for oscar. like heng sway liddat. if wanna confirm, can try amnio to be sure. just discuss with hubby and gynae to make the right choice. no point worrying too much at this stage right?
jiayou!

Wen: yes do Around 16 to 20wk, dr Paul will not do the amnio, dr phyllis will do the amnio on 16wk, dr TC Chang will do the amnio for 15wk+ and 17wk if I didn't hear the nurse wrongly. My #1 was done by dr Phyllis. Am supposed to go to italy milan for my incentive trip on 25nov onwards, but decided to give it up as I will be heavily pregnant by then. Hubby has booked for phuket during the nAtional day week.

missy: I think the deposit is for both ways. Cos there are some mummies who no put deposit and sabo the CL by cancelling the appt last min.
In any case, when u hand over the deposit, do get a written acknowledgement &amp; a copy of the CL's passport (if non-SGean). Just for peace of mind la.

missy, usually there is not written agreement kind, it's totally based on trust. Ask the CL and see what she says.. just in case they get offend.. then it will also be awkward right?

talking abt pantang, anyone know if we can change bed or not? Bought a king size bed and delivery will be this Sat, told my mum, she freaked out lor!

Hi mommies! Have you found your CL for Jan?? For those whose confinement period that will cross over to CNY, can I check what's the market rate now?

I'm jus got rejected by one CL.. she dun do CL near to CNY.. need to source other CL.. worry that mostly are taken up or not doing le..

tres: usually the elderly will tell u, no shifting of bed or furniture in your room/house. No renovation nor hammering too. That time i removed my girl's playpen at my in-law place, also kena scolding by my mil.. Tot it's wasnt my own home, should be okie ma.

tres, usually for bed, they dun allow it to be changed. The old pple say that the spirit of the fetus is actually on the bed, so if u sew/cut/shift the bed - might accidentally hurt the spirit... Which is why when changing bed sheet, my grandma tells me that I have to do it during noon and say loudly "I wanna change bedsheet".

haha... talk about being superstious... :p

Other than wat u gals shared, i was told not to be around when changing bedsheet and not to sit at the edge of the bed as well and not to knock anything on the kitchen top.Don't know what is the reason behind all these.. haha

thanks tres, snowhopes, shice and ahbui. maybe i can check with the CL. i found her through forum recommended. Auntie Liqing cause those my friends recommend was already booked. anyone engage Auntie Liqing before?

jo: my confinement period will cross over to cny cause my EDD is expected to be 31st Jan. my CL charge me $3500 now.

What I understand from CL for CNY period, their rate is 1.5 time. For example if normal rate is $2,400. Then CNY will be $2,400 x 1.5 = $3,600.

My new house just completed renovation and we have arranged for furniture to be delivered on 4 Aug. Can I be around then?

Ctrus, best not to be in the house. Go back only when everything is in place.

It is really not easy getting CL this period. My previous CL needs to take care of her grandchildren so can't do confinement for me. Approached at least 5 friends and their CLs all booked or have Dec's assignment overlapping my EDD. Only managed to confirm one yesterday.. Hope she don't 'fly me kite' last min...

ctrus, ya I agree with Friends. But depending on ur "pantang" level, you can dun be around until all the moving is completed.

junior_jj, my grandma also told me not to change bedsheet myself. But as I progressed into 2nd trim, she said it's ok PROVIDED i do so at noon when the sun is the highest and to tell my bb to excuse me while I change the covers...

As for sitting on edge of bed and knock on kitchen top... Eh I never heard of leh...

I cannot eat multi vit etc. I tend to burb and also keep vomiting air out.
very xing ku... last time also like that but this time more serious. I can hear my own puking everyday in the office...

shice: can drink coke? got caffeine right?

Since I confirmed my pregnancy, I give up my beloved daily cup of coffee (esp in the morning).

Eh don't change bedsheets will get bed bugs , then does it follow bb will have pockmarks all over lol. Pardon my irreverence:p hhheeeeeeeeheeeee

My family are Christians, good thing too coz I might go kuku (cuckoo) with all the dos and don'ts:D

Chicken essence
Not troublesome if you use slow cooker. Just need to check occasionally to make sure water doesn't dry out. It's not only good for pregnant women but children as well. Just pour it over their rice and it's good! But eat it sparingly, with all the antibiotics pumped into the chickens these days

huh? i not v pantang lah but hearing all these makes my heart a bit scared!!!

think I will leave the house when i know the delivery man is coming lah! at least 安心 a bit!

Coz have to change my bed wat, my #1 sleep until she push me off the bed lor! hahaha

fullhouse, haha... that's why ask hb to help me change the bedsheet. ;P

I giving my gal a mouthful or two of the chicken essense if I happen to be taking the bottled one.
Well she dun mind the taste, so that's a good thing. I remember when I was young I actually love drinking essense of chicken (BRANDS) one. keke

tres, u squeeze with ur gal on the Queen size bed?! wah... u and hb must be v slim. I do not co-sleep with my dotter since she was born (except when she was v sick). now she sleeps on her own bed in her own room.