(2013/01) Jan 2013

Milk will make me puke!

I feel so uncomforable that I had to remove my bra in the office... LOL

Is it true that TMC have a lot of PRC and Pinoy nurse now? I had good experience at TMC 5 years back, but now I keep hearing negatives things about TMC. Makes we worried & think if I should switch to Mount A instead. But then, Mount A having renovations isn't it? Anyone knows if TMC still offer free upgrade to 2-bedder?

Snowhopes: I heard Mt A very pro-bf, that's why I guess the nurses there were ok to bring baby to me every 3hrs even at night when I state total bf.

Daisy: me too, envy those with short labours. Long labour is really tiring.

Re: Delivery
Want to find out, For those who were induced/natural delivery, do u need to be monitored on the bed with CTG?

<font color="0000ff">TMC</font>, i gave birth some time back so i can't comment based on own experience. but a coll just gave birth there and she came back aglow with how good the service, the nurses and the food is. so i guess, still kept up the std. maybe those are handful of bad examples, hope they not around anymore!

<font color="ff6000">fullhouse</font>, sure will update you after i check it out!

<font color="0077aa">piyo</font> no i am not taking powdered milk. at one period of time, i took meiji full cream milk in place of water cos i drink water i puke. surpisingly the milk suits me and i dun feel nauseas after that. however, 2 weeks of that and i became "immune" to it and i started feeling nauseas with milk too.

<font color="ff6000">ahbui</font>, i was very very sensitive to soap/shower gel scent when preg with #1. so sensitive that i trawled the shelves for something scentless and i ended up using Simple's scentless Soap bar. that one really suits me. now with this preg i still sensitive, but not so bad. but whenever hubby come out from bathroom after shower i still tell him he so smelly from the shower gel he use.

ry_an.. welcome!
u haven decide on your gynae yet? it's almost 3 months le.. it's time to meet ur baby.. heh.. your birth story for #1 is almost the same as mine.. ^5

canopyhaze, what a bad experience with the nurse then!!! think some of them are just bias with ang mos.. so in the end did ur hubby able to reach in time to see the delivery process?

snowhopes, ya loh.. i think it's prob due to night shifts.. the say shift nurses are still okay.. at night, they take super long to response and response le, also not very happy liddat.. haha..

DM, u got try buying from Kim Sang Medical Hall? Above $200, they offer free delivery. u can go google "luvbabies kim sang".

Lish, i got cravings for tom yam soup too.. but i cant take too spicy.. haha.. difficult to find..

Tigress, u removed ur bra in office??!!?!?! hahahahaha.. best!! no males ard? heh.. later u forgot and stand up then ur bra slip down how? :p

Jus to share, I delivered in march last yr at TMC for my #1. The nurse who was the mid wife in delivery ward was watching tv while I was pushing. She was holdin my legs but her eyes were on the tv and not the monitor lor. My hubby had on the tv initially to let me relax. Luckily my epi was on quite low so I could feel the contractions so I pushed myself without waiting for her. Think she was a philippino too.
But this time still have to deliver there cos my gynae only delivers there now. Haiz..

Thanks gals.. I would try those recommended.. =D
I had my oscar check yesterday and the result is out earlier today.. Low risk so I have no worries~ Yeay! =D

Shice: Have you tried tom yam at Ah Loy Thai? Its' not too spicy.. V nice~ =D

DM, that's great!! i'm gg back to my gynae tml to review the results.. hopefully low risk.. heh..

Where is Ah Loy Thai located? got take away service? coz my hubby dun really like Thai.. so difficult to dine in..

DM : I am due for my oscar soon. Do we usually find out about the results the next day.. or is that just the blood test results? Not exactly sure what OSCAR scan involves... would you also recommend to take the day off from work?

shice,
you can try Jai Thai at 7 Clover Way. I asked the restaurant to lower the spiciness. Yumz!

DM,
congrats! how long did the oscar take? I'm doing at my gynae's and he told me it will take around 20 mins.

shice, I took the bra off and dump it in my drawer, must rem to wear it back when I leave office. There are very few guys in my office and they are seated far away from me :p

Wah you all can eat Tom Yum soup? Stomach can take it? It used to be my favorite, but i can't eat it now

lish, thanks for the address.. will go there try if i'm along the way during weekends.. coz i stay at queenstown and work at tanjong pagar.. quite a distance.. heh.. already drooling imagining the spice and sour taste of tom yum.. maybe i shall ask my hubby to make a detour there.. kekeke..

gosh~ juz vomitted acid before lunch...
heng lunch still can down in a plate of chicken rice.

juz wondering normally how long did ur MS last?

Tigress, so good.. i'm seated along the "highway" in my office.. too obvious.. haha.. my bras are getting tighter ard the chest too.. maybe time to get new ones..

tom yum soup! argh~ triggered my cravings! so feel like having it now!! i also feel like eating starbucks chocolate molten cake!!!

Shice: Ah Loy Thai at the Shaw Tower.. Try to avoid lunch time.. Very crowded.. Take away ah.. Ermz.. Should have.. Haha.. I recommend the tomyam fish! Best! *drooling*

Mary K n lish-zzz: I waited for 1.5hours.. It's considered fast liao.. My sister took 1/2 day leh.. Haha.. I went to NUH to do it.. The nurse told me 2-3 days to know the result but my gynae called me this morning.. Less than 24 hours.. Hee hee~ =D

DM,
oh thanks.. I will also budget around 1 hour. I'm already prepared to take half day leave

Mummies, if you don't want to get new bras, just get a bra extender. Each cost less than $5 in gmarket sg.

fullhouse : didn't eat jap food as the restaurant was packed. Went to eat all you can steamboat buffet. Am very full now

Shice : Yes, i asked another chinese nurse to help to call my hubby on his mobile.

RE : TMC
The overall service is still good, maybe mine is just a one off case. The nurses servicing my ward (level 5) were excellent. I will definitely request for level 5 wards again.

Tigress, Shice, me too, my bras are also giving me probs… I’m already adding extensions to my bra and using the last hook, but sometimes feel the cup size not right, have to keep pulling my bra and making sure it’s at the right position… today my breasts are extremely painful, not sure if it’s becos of the tightness of the bra or the underwires that’s giving me the discomfort…

I just cross into wk13 of my preg, MS not as peak as b4, but I’m still puking and having the nausea spells, they are quite bad when they strike, still can’t take strong and weird smells and still feel tired all the time… Actually not feeling well today, having headache, stomachache (not sure due to lotsa wind in tummy or becos I just had diarrhea yest), sorethroat (have been having lotsa phlegm and flu symptoms since many wks ago, but today phlegm has turned frm the usual colourless to yellow phlegm), flu, indigestion… so sleepy now and my head is so heavy….

Btw, I was very happy to see my bb last sat, can see bb’s head, body, hands and legs, so fun…

Now that I’m entering into 2nd Tri, should I still avoid eating ginseng? Can hubby and I start to have intercourse? Cos during 1st visit, gynae say cannot have intercourse, then last visit we too paiseh to ask him if we can do it now…. Lolz….

canopyhaze, level 5 wards got single or premium wards? may wanna get the premium wards (one level up from single ward)

Snowhopes
Seems like it. I used google translate and it gave me "地中海贫血". Pai seh, my chinese vocabulary is limited to daily conversation. For words that are seldom used, I need to use google translate

Daisybuttons and AhBui
Same here.. I can't stand anything that smells too strong. Bathtime is a nightmare. And my MS is getting worse! I thought it was supposed to get better.. already at week 12 but getting worse.

Shice:
met my BB. in fct going for OSCAR next fri. Juz thinking of changing back to my old gynae who delivers in TMC after my OSCAR with the new gynae ( long story).

TMC: i was in the 2-bedder at level 3. At the time, level 5 was under reno!! Level 3 nurses are all very friendly and helpful. But now i will opt for 1- bedder i guess :D

shice : I was staying in the Premium Single Ward @ level 5, the one with a computer attached to the bed. It was abt 600+/room/nite 3 years ago. not too sure abt the rate now.

Shice : i think the rate is still the same, i just recalled it as my boy was admitted to TMC earlier this yr, and was staying in level 5 ward as well.

<font color="119911">Got the below from TMC website</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Room / Bed Category</TD><TD>Daily Rates (S$) *</TD><TD>GST Inclusive (S$)</TD><TD>Deposits</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Non Medisave</TD><TD>Medisave </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Room</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Thomson Suite</TD><TD>1,688</TD><TD>1,806.16</TD><TD>5,500</TD><TD>3,000 </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Chancery, Balmoral Suite</TD><TD>1,638</TD><TD>1,752.66</TD><TD>5,500</TD><TD>3,000 </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Premier Suite (Lincoln, Whitley, Newton)</TD><TD>1,388</TD><TD>1,485.16</TD><TD>5,500</TD><TD>3,000 </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Dalvey Suite</TD><TD>1,288</TD><TD>1,378.16</TD><TD>5,500</TD><TD>3,000 </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Premier Deluxe Suite</TD><TD>1,088</TD><TD>1,164.16</TD><TD>5,000</TD><TD>2,500 </TD></TR><TR><TD>* Super Deluxe Suite</TD><TD>988</TD><TD>1,057.16</TD><TD>5,000</TD><TD>2,500 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Premier Single Room</TD><TD>588</TD><TD>629.16</TD><TD>5,000</TD><TD>2,000 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Single-Bedded Room</TD><TD>480</TD><TD>513.6</TD><TD>4,500</TD><TD>1,800 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Semi-Private Room</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2-Bedded Room</TD><TD>258</TD><TD>276.06</TD><TD>4,000</TD><TD>1,500 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Bedded Room</TD><TD>195</TD><TD>208.65</TD><TD>3,500</TD><TD>1,200 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

littledragongirl, thanks for the table!!

canopyhaze, i think mine was also premier single room.. but dun rem any commputer attached to the bed.. haha.. only know there are 2 beds in a room and it's very comfy.. haha..

maybe i'll request for Level 5 premium single then.. that time I stayed in Level 6, the night shift nurses not very good.. haha..

canopyhaze, I was thinking if I wanna stay in a Single Ward too. My last one I actually booked 4 bedded but because it was full, I was given free upgarde to 2 bedded. The room was pretty cluttered cos I had my grandma, aunt, parents, sisters and hubby. The other patient also had quite a bit of visitors. Not very comfortable... :p

MaryK/lish,you gals doing at TMC? I heard if no bookings - walk in will take some time to wait for ur turn, so might need to take at least a 1/2day. My oscar is in the PM, decided to just take 1/2 day PM. Aft that I can just R&amp;R lor...

Liz, intercourse is usually ok for most preggy mummies with no complications - like weak cervix, etc. Usually gynae say abstain during 1st trim cos u dun wanna hurt the "cervix" that is in the process of sealing up with the mucus plug (to prevent infection/virus from infecting the uterus/water bag/baby). If you are not sure, btr to check with ur gynae (If paiseh to ask face to face, call nurse and ask?).

As for Ginseng, I thought is to avoid thru the entire pregnancy leh and during BF-ing... *hmmmm*

ahbui, I heard the discomfort of carrying 2 from end 2nd trim onwards is also quite siong la. Always pei-fu mommies carrying multiples!
but i think it's cute (frustrating sometimes) to be seeing multiples grow up tog.

syyy, haha I was trying to guess if it is... I must check with my gynae if I was tested for that before.

l3x, if i were to notice that I will take the remote and just switch off the tv. ;p for me I was so into labour, I was just concentrating on myself dont think the tv can relax me... haha!

piscean33, Yah i heard tat abt mt a too. I visited mt a quite a few times... My impression of the hospital is "gloomy". Food wise cos I love TMC one, so I rather not risk it la... Plus I not christian/catholic so I prefer a hospital that is not affliated to any religon.
I know some mommies like mt a cos the sisters can do a prayer for the new born or something like that...

canopyhaze, what's the computer used for? issit can surf net?? haha

intercourse:
my husb told mi it feels so weird to have it during pregnancy -_-?

Snowhopes, thank you for the advices… think ask nurse also quite paiseh, cos the nurse knows me liao… haha….

s_loh, ur husband good lei, can abstain for so long… hee…

re: ginseng
Bf-ing cannot drink? hmm.. my confinement lady cooked ginseng soup for me last time.. but i heard before, preg cannot drink ginseng (i think only certain types)..

s_loh, he has to get used to it.. if not then tell him no intercourse till after ur confinement period! haha.. btw, for females, it feels more shiok to have intercourse when preg.. get high more easily.. haha.. u should try.. :p enjoy more while u can.. for my case, the freq dropped drastically after i gave birth.. hahaha.. too tired..

canopyhaze, so envious of you. Can eat till full. After getting preggy, I don't know what is full, cos I dare not eat too much as I will puke if I'm full.

By the way, who knows the nurses from Level 5 already moved to other levels.. LOL. When I was TMC, I stayed in 2-bedder, but my neighbour moved out the next day, so I practically have the whole room to myself.

S_Loh: yes, the computer is for surfing net and playing games. Furthermore the premium single room is bigger, brighter and cheery than normal single bed. The sofa bed is longer and wider so hubby can sleep better.

Shice, my PIL boiled some black chicken soup for me, I saw this roots herbs thing which looks like ginseng, well I’m not sure if that’s ginseng or some other Chinese herbs, haven’t ask my PIL, but I finished the soup already…. -_-!
So now I’m 13 wks preg, means it’s safe for me to have intercourse with my HB?

snowhopes,
I'm doing oscar at my gynae's. My gynae is Dr Henry Cheng. Since he told me to go to his clinic, I assume he has the equipment to do it inhouse hehe.

Tigress : I have vomitted my lunch out after reaching office. My colleagues comforted me by saying 曾经拥有!

Snowhopes: I remembered I ate a lot of herbs for my #1, thought it should be ok after 1st tri. I eat 1 teaspoon of concentrated birdnest very night, and 1 chicken essence every morning, then mil will cook 东虫草 herbal chicken soup for me every sat, and my mom will cook birdnest or ginseng chicken soup to me every Sunday.

liz, i rather he dun abstain.. hahaha.. wait he go outside 'eat'

shice, i did mentioned b4 to him abt it.. he say he ok without s*x for 9 mths BUT we forgot abt the confinement period.. opps...

see how.. mayb after 1st trim, i go disturb him... hahaha

canopyhaze, oh.. that's great... i cant survive without pc/internet... wow ur mil so good, 东虫草... exp stuff....

s_loh : hahhaa, am in very good terms with my mil, and she is a yu yan sang fan, always stocked up herbs. She has already given me some cordyceps and birdnest.
Hubby &amp; I cant survive without pc, so the flatscreen tats attached to the bed comes in handy.

canopyhaze, so envy.. my hub asked my mil issit nid to take bird nest.. she replied, bird nest, no need one lah.. useless.. -_-"

snow : me too, i find that mt a is a bit "dark", dont feel comfortable whenever i go &amp; visit my friends. So i just stick to TMC, the only thing which i detest is the parking.

Going home soon.

s_loh : not sure if it is true, but my boy has very very good complexion. And the fact is my mil and my mom know that i love birdnest!

Liz, drink already then dun think so much le.. hahahaha.. but seriously i dunno whether we can eat ginseng anot.. just heard pple talk abt it..

s_loh, ya.. after delivery, whether it's natural or c-sec, usually got wound.. so may take some time to recover..

canopyhaze, i'm so envious of u.. got soup to drink every weekend!! I also wan.. i love hot soup!!

canopyhaze, my mum said bb will be fair.. and she's gg to make for me.. lucky me.. but ok lah.. now mil cooks dinner for me everyday.. not bad already =X

shice, ya loh.. wound at different area but still painful.. aiyo.. first time mum, abit anxious.. hahaha