(2012) TTC for #2 & More Mummies !

errrr... hi there,
can anyone tell me wat is OPK, HSG, AF, BFN, DPO, BD stand for.. abit confused.

went to gynae and saw so many newborns and preggies. can wait to pregnant again! yesterday gynae asked me to do hormone blood test to check. hope nth goes wrong..

pls be careful when u purchase all those cheap opks....I also buy them last time but most have problems like not accurate or the strips be spoilt....so end up using more n fustrated!!!

Is me again... *a bit sad* cos no one responses to my earlier questions.

Have another question to ask :

how long it takes for the menses to be on regular cycle after birth?

wong ting - just to answer ur question

OPK- ovulation peak kit
HSG - hysterosalpingogram (scan to check uterus n fallopian tubes)
AF - menses
BFN - big fat negative
DPO - day past ovulation
BD - baby dance = sex

Pommes,
What were your earlier questions??

As for your new question, menses usually returns after you stop total breastfeeding. May take a few cycles to stabilise.

Jia you! I'm TTC-ing for my #2 as well.. Trying for close to 6 months already. It's so disheartening to see red every month!

Haix.. Just don't understand why issit so hard to conceive when u hear of people having accidents! Let's jia you together! Hopefully we'll all conceive soon! =)

luvnhope - thanks for ur reply.

Was asking about BBT. I'm trying to take BBT but I'm still waking up once per night for bb's night feed. So not sure if my BBT is accurate.

I'm also trying to determine my fertile period by looking out for EWCM but it comes and goes. so very hard to track if i'm fertile or not.

Hope my AF will stablise soon (1st came back in Jan 2012). Tried for almost 6months before strike #1.

Pommes, hmm... I only know you need to take BBT at the same time each day. Not very sure if waking up b4 that would affect your BBT. Sorry!

Why don't u try getting an OPK instead to predict ovulation instead of relying solely on EWCM? Then u can possibly tell if your cycle is back to normal or not.

Hi Pommes,

How old is your #1 now? I read that must have at least 5 hours of sleep before BBT is considered accurate. My gynae told me that menses takes about 6 months to stabilise after returning, however, that doesn't mean you can't strike.

Jiayou! =)

ive been tracking my BBT & with OPK since CD14... A bit too late but coz i have long cycles so i presume i still haven't O at that time.
it gets frustrating because my temp is so inconsistent. when i see a dip in temp followed by a rise, i thought my O is about to arrive but im always disappointed by the results.
have not seen any ewcm also.
or would i be so unlucky that i didnt O at all during this cycle? Our AF only comes if we O & egg is not fertilized right?

im expecting my AF to come anytime within this or next week. anyway, i did think of trying again in my next cycle... but if i strike, my bb's gonna be born during 2013 CNY period!
then confinement charges gonna cost a bomb. haha!

by the way, mummies with 2 kids & above, hw do u cope at night? i am a FTWM & my mum helps to look after my kid (she's 2 yrs) in the day.
Evening time, i handle everything alone. my girl is very clingy to me and only sleeps when i am ard.
nowadays, even worse as she keep waking up at wee hours for milk - something she doesn't do!
after that i have to pacify her to sleep coz she refuse to sleep on her own. she wants to lie ON TOP of my body or with me rocking her. she really doesnt behave like that in the past.

so, if got another baby to look after, hw did you all cope? need to wake up for night feeds, express milk, pacify baby, then still got elder kid to settle.
that is challenging but it doesnt stop me from hoping to have another kid!

Luvnhope & blessed bb - thought i could do 2 cycles with BBT and narrow down the O period with OPK. But i gave up after 5 days of BBT. my bb wakes up at different timing for milk. he's 6mo now.

I dun think i'm those super fertile type that will anyhow strike one. haha...

now i'm waiting for menses to stablise, hope it does soon.

LuvNhope: really? haha, pardon my ignorance! because i did have a gf who missed her menses for 2 months. she was TTC & but got a BFN. Still, she went to her gynae who confirmed she was not preg, just that she didn't O that's why no AF. So i thought must O then will see AF! Hee..

Hi kayliz, well, here's what I gathered from the internet:
-----------------------------------------------
Can you fail to ovulate in your cycle, but still get your period? The quick answer is, “ Yes, sort of," but the more biologically correct answer is that you can fail to ovulate, but still have anovulatory bleeding. Technically speaking, a period is the bleeding that occurs about 12 to 16 days after the release of an egg. If no egg is released, it is not really a period that follows, but anovulatory bleeding.

There is a huge difference between cycles in which the woman ovulates but does not get her period, and one in which she gets her period but does not ovulate. What is that difference? In the former case, the woman is almost certainly pregnant. In the latter case, she has had an anovulatory cycle.

In anovulatory cycles, non-charting women may assume they are menstruating normally, so why would they continue to experience bleeding if ovulation has not occurred? Such bleeding results when estrogen production continues to develop the uterine lining without reaching the threshold necessary to trigger ovulation. In such a case, one of two things may happen, which leads to what appears to be a menstrual period.

Either the estrogen will build up slowly to a point below the threshold and then drop, resulting in "estrogen withdrawal bleeding," or more commonly, the endometrium builds up slowly over an extended period of time, eventually to the point where the resulting uterine lining is so thickened it can no longer sustain itself. This is known as "estrogen breakthrough bleeding." In either case, if you weren't charting, you might think you were simply menstruating, though you would maybe notice a difference in the type of bleeding. Specifically the flow can be either unusually heavy or light and of course, the timing can result in cycle lengths all over the map (or the chart).

Hi, I am back again in this thread. I will be ttcing again soon after my next cycle which is end of this mth. Previously was having medication to boost my hormones so dr advise me not to try until I completed my medication.

luvnhope,
Thanks! that's a great pc of info. cos for my most recent cycle, I did not detect any LH surge. really strange because from Day 11 all the way to day 20+ still no surge... so I suspect I did not ovulate this cycle. The AF came slightly early by 3 days and was not the ordinary! Flow was abnormally heavy (to the extent the pad did not last thru the night and I had to do extra cleaning for the bedsheets!) Then it only lasted for 2 days and aft that there's practically nothing...

Need some advice here...

Have seen a gynae as AF din visit since Jan 12, then gynae scanned and said that the uterine lining is thick (meaning that menses should actually come?)

I also ah blur, paid so much to see gynae then forgot to ask him to scan the ovaries to see if there's any maturing follicles..

Doc prescribed Provera to bring on menses, said to take 3 tablets a day for 5 days, aft stopping the pills, AF will report within 3 to 10 days..

Read alot online and it seems that Provera is commonly used but seems like got lotsa other side effects..

Qn 1: If I take the Provera for 5 days, will stop dosage on 23 Mar 12, if menses comes a week later, say last for a week too, then menses will end around 7 Apr 12... If ovulation dun follow the 28 days cycle and ovulate aft 2 wks, will be in time for pregnancy in Apr 11 and delivery in Jan 13?

Qn 2: If I din take the Provera and subsequently am less stress later, will there still be ovulation at a later date? or once it is missed, it will not occur again?

TIA~~ =)

Snowhopes, glad I helped!

Bewildered, sorry, dun really know the answers to ur questions. Perhaps call ur doc n clarify?

Prosper,
Welcome back.

Those who are on clomid, can I check during your menses, is the flow heavy? It is my 1st attempt on clomid and menses reported on 16/3/2012. It was super duper heavy and crampy. On top of that, breast was full and sore. Something that I have never experience before.
Not sure if I should go back for 2nd round of clomid.

bewildered, did u ask the currect place? LOL.. yr gynae will be able to advise u on this ... but to try to answer you, for Q1, basically, u have to see yr usual cycle... u have to count like yr usual cycle... its hard to say when u r going to O unless you know for sure which CD u usually Ovulate ... its a plus/minus thing ... for EDD, maybe u can use some online tools to help u calculate EDD to see if it falls in Jan 2013 ... to share, i tried using the app to count ... if going by my current cycle and if its 30day cycle .. n usual 14day luteal phase, then it shows that edd is 18th december ... going by the dates that you mentioned, prolly will be EDD in Jan 2013 ...

for Q2, usually, we either ovulate once during each cycle or we dont ovulate ... i dont think we can ovulate 2 times can we ? hmmm... and yes stress does affect ovulation .. as well as falling sick too... basically, whatever affects our body, will affect ovulation to a certain extent ....

from what i know, thickening of the uterus lining could either mean AF is coming or preggers ... can go both ways ... is provera safe for pregnancies ? hmmm... for side effects, it varies from individual to individual, dont be too focused on it ... since you already bought the med, why not just try it ... if u really have bad side effects then stop ...

BBlove, yes i really when i was on clomid, menses quite heavy n clots ... but at the same time also quite liquidy... hmmm ... i guess since u started on clomid, do continue for another few cycles to see if can strike ? anyway, max is 6mths ... you can always seek advise from your gynae too ...

mommies,
tdy is 12/13dpo. usually when would u mommies do a HPT?? i googled & read that its best to wait till the day of ur missed period? but then my menses has always bn irregular so i am not sure which day my menses supposed to arrive too...

had a few symptons gg on during the 2WW:

cramps as early as 2/3dpo (maybe ovulation cramps) then stopped for a few days before resuming for the last few days (more intense) maybe AF coming le but i din hv cramps during my last 2 cycles.

lower backache (but i had backache too now & then since i took epidural with both pregnancies)

tingling sensation in breast once (has the same sensations during my last 2 pregnancies)

nausea for a few days (maybe too full)

more frequent urination (happens sometimes when i drank water before bed)

prob these are all in the mind. hv tested yesterday & it was BFN.

only left w 1 last hpt to try out... >_<

Angel, your symptons are very true to be good.
As you say your menses are always irregular, therefore you might detect surge at later stage so you tested yesterday as was BFN is ok, wait for few more days. Jiayou.
Do update us ya.

bbjoy, I do experience heavy menses when I took clomid. My breast were full &amp; sore too, in addition I had dizzy spells, so I stopped taking clomid after the 3rd round. Clomid also delays my AF.

Angel, don't think so much, relax and test again in another few days. I test positive for my #1 around CD40. Good luck!!!

Prosper, I didn't take progyluton before so can't advise you. Is it some kind of hormone pills?

Today is CD18 for me. I officially enter 2WW now. This cycle is strange, I got +opk on CD13, negative on CD14 then positive again on CD15. I will just take it as I O on CD15/16.

LuvNhope: thx for ur help.. Heh heh, gynae's kinda rushing coz I went there aft work n tis near their closing time.. Then i also forgot what i wanna ask in the rush.. :p

Missycandy: hw's ur new job coming along? Gd? M starting to feel the stress alr coz am officially gonna start ttc next mth.. Phew.. Finally..

Think i've gotten lotsa thgs to help me out? Like the many opks, pvulation microscope, seen gynae, seen tcm etc..

Coz the med's like takeq for a week, wait for a wk, maybe af comes for a wk, then will be 3 wks gone ler.. Plus my af's irregular fr feb on, dunno why..
prev irregular, then stabilises aft delivery of #1 but nw this agn, argh! Just when m gg to start ttc for #2..

So went to tcm instead then gotten med to eat to induce menses then if it comes within a wk or so and last for maybe a wk or so, can save 1wk.. Heh heh.. So hopefully will be gd fe then on.. Praying.. Hoping.. :p trying to keep myself nt too stressed..

Let's jiayou together!

Tigress &amp; angel: Gd Luck!!

Tigress, did u bd last night, best to be tonight too... After getting positive opk, we will ovulate 24-36hrs later... So u still can catch it ;)

My new job boring! Lol... Thinking of changing ... Plus I don't like the person in charge ... Doesn't set good example n tell me of openly. Quite pissed with her. She very double standard. Sigh. Apparently the other staff don't like her too... All looking for new jobs lolol!!!

Anyway , my cycle messy ;( had red on Sunday but actual flow started on tues or wed.... Then don't know count from when ... If I count from wed means today is cd 6... And I have some discharge ... I don't have any more opks ... So can't test lol! Can only base on mucus ... Anyway will try to bd tonight ... See how ;)

My sil passed me her fertility monitor but Im too late to start for this cycle .. Maybe will see tcm recOmmended by another mummy ... See how ;)

Missycandy: haha, ya v funny, so fast wanna change? Guess some pple r lidat one.. Duble standard as in she displayed v obvious favouritism or?

Think most workpl's lidat.. Some gd and bearable parts and some totally not.. :p

Ooh, is kt the clearblue monitor? Seems ex, coz gotta replenish the sticks right? Have veen chking all these out, think m obsessed with ttcin apr.. Really wanna dragon tail.. Think m abit crazy ler tt m actually missing the breast pump n the new bottles tt i bot extra for #1 &amp; decided to keep for #2.. :p Haha... been chking out items tt'd hlp in identifying the o day.. :p

Btw, ur menses really do sound a lil weird wor.. Ya need opk? Can mail ya part of my stash.. Heh heh, bot fr colleague 100sticks, used coupla tens then still got some left..haha..

Missycandy / #2 mummy wannabe,
Thanks for your feedback. The 1st 3 day after I took clomid, my eyes swell and was on 2 days mc. After 14th day, breast feels full and nausea. At 1st I tot strike but tested BFN when menses failed to report.
Menses reported on 16, fast and furious. Never encountered all these bad bleeding and cramping. Decided to stop the clomid and let nature takes it course.

Bewildered,
I'm also hoping for dragon tail but I doubt I can be tat lucky. At 1st wanted a bunny but bunny hop away. Then decided to go for dragon. From head till tail still no news.

Another colleagues announced her pregnancy. Her #2 is already 8 yr old. She started ttc since her #2 was 4. Now then strike. Hope I dun have to wait that long.

missy, I did HSG on CD12 then BD on CD13, 14, 15 &amp; 17. Super siong!

bbjoy, wah your colleague TTC for 4 years. Sounds scary to me! I don't have 4 years to try, I'm approaching BIG 4 in another 3 years, I would most likely TTC till end of this year. If don't have, I will resign to fate. Can't imagine old liao still need to run after my kids.

bbjoy: Let's hope tt we'll get our dragon tail!! =) Read a magazine back then that the latest to conceive for dragon tail is on 13 May, provided one has a regular cycle..

Mine's kinda messed up recently, really hoping tt the TCM med can hlp to save a week or so in inducing the menses to come so tt can pray/hope &amp; test for ovulation in the next cycle..

I sure hope we wont be like ur colleague, to strike only aft 4 yrs.. real xiong.. If wait 4 yrs, hope tt will be my #3.. =p

missycandy: ya really no need the OPKs? Am nt really testing recently coz wanna menses to come first.. heh heh.. Shall start in Apr then hope tt I wont need to exhaust those 100 sticks.. -_-

thanks babe but its ok ... i feel that im O-ing this period becos have mucus... not sure if too early. hahaha.. not keen to test opks for now ... a bit sian of testing for the past year +++ ahahaha... thanks

#2 Mummy Wannabe: my HSG was not painful at all. but doc had a problem inserting the liquid.. and turn out that i have a retroverted uterus.. i took panadols before the procedure.. perhaps that helped.

hope ur results is good!

mommies,

AF reported at 5am this morn!! sad T_T but nevermind lah, will try again next mth (will be my last try before i tied my tubes for gd)

but hor, next mth late apr to early may, hb &amp; i will be away for a 2wks trip. i roughly calculated &amp; AF will fall ard that period too. not sure if i shd still TTC &amp; bring along pads if not successful (very troublesome) or take pills to delay AF (but this would mean cannot TTC le)

bewildered,

are you selling ovulation strips? what is the sensitivity &amp; expiry date? can i buy 20 strips fr u??

If you are considering to purchase OPK/ HPT, Pre-Seed, Conceive Plus, Clearblue Digital OPK/ HPT, basal thermometersand TTC supplements such as red raspberry tea leaves, royal jelly and bee pollen and CoQ10, do check out http://babydustshop.blogspot.com

Jacelyn Tay (ex Mediacorp Actress) shared one of her success tips in conceiving easily is drinking organic raspberry tea that improves the health of her womb. Do try out this tea which is now available at Baby Dust Shop.

Another partner of Baby Dust Shop is pregnant and we have tons of babydust to sprinkle on all our customers!

Sweetzinc: hw to know if have retroverted uterus? Normal ultrasound can scan? Forgot where i read ler, think 1 mummy also have retroverted uterus, then she said had been lifting legs up everytime aft bd then din strike but she strike tt time when she just lay on her tummy aft bd..