(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Luv, thanks, yes totally out of touch for so many years... A steep learning curve again! So rusty... Haha like a new mummy once again.

Not too sure if they still have but I think slim chance. Maybe will have for the four bedder types. I chose single room but they say if no room, I top up for premier room. Luckily there was a room for me so I was on the 3rd floor. Saw the four bedder one, so cramped. Wonder what's the 2 bedder like? Might be quite full too coz the nurses said they are running full everyday.

pierced, think you'll climb the curve very quickly with ur previous TBF experience.

I'll also be starting from scratch again next year. Even longer gap!

Hmm... maybe they only have free upgrade from 4 to 2 bedder cos my fren said a fren of hers who delivered in July had free upgrade leh.

Congrats Pierced

so happie for you.how heavy is your baby huh? yeah have a good rest......

think this year is a wang year for all maternity hospital cos dragon year really booming year for the country birth rate.....

Faithfully/ J03/ Baby : My baby sleeps 5 hr stretch now without waking up. The goon diaper also excellent - no need to change from 7pm to 7am! Only I need to wake up to pump if she doesn't wake up, cos I feel engorged -- night pump I drag for 5 hrs. I pump abt 150- 200ml combined per pump over 5 hr stretch. My baby drinking abt 120ml+. I think I will feed based on demand. If she doesn't wake up, I also don't feed her then. I try it tonight.

J03 : how much are babies drinking now?

Anyone knows where to buy a chest freezer for BM? Just to check out prices..

Hi Tanny
My bbies r drinking 120ml now..;)

Congrat pierced..;) rest well ya..

Hi Luvnhope n pierced
If to compare abt gap, think me longest than both of u as my elder already 9 yrs old so now i am also learning alot fr new mothers..;(

Hi mc
Thk u.. Ya, i must know her diet..;)

Pierced, good to hear baby is settling in well
Hee...it's hard keeping Megan interested and not disturb baby hor...we too, have to constantly make sure my niece not shaking Heather's 'special' bed (not putting her in cot now due to mild colic) or shouting near Heather, or trying to feed Heather with her food, etc. lol.... Nonetheless, hope you are getting enough rest too, keep the good spirits up

I just went to see LC Lilian at tmc cos bm supply falling and starting to get engorged past days but despite how I try, I couldn't fixed the blocked ducts. Then realised I've been massaging wrongly, wrong funnel size, wrong bra size, wearing bra too low, etc. faint
Managed to pump out 220ml there despite wasting lots during massaging and surprisingly, no pain during massaging the blocked ducts!! Lilian corrected my baby burping hold too, hope can help heather rid of wind more effectively going forward.

I recall few ladies asking abt massaging breasts only session, can seek help fr tmc Parentcraft L6, $80.60.

Luv, hopefully so, at least now not bad with certain cues but it still takes a while for my milk to come in. Still not enough for baby yet. Plus I'm not a big supply to begin with.
Let's all Jia you together.
Perhaps four bedder or popular so still can upgrade and since they have lesser rooms. Think most people take the single bedded so they don't upgrade. U intend to take the 2 bedder?

Sunbelle, thanks! She's 3.24 kg at birth. Yup will try to rest now before confinement over.
U coping well too right? Glad to see u here more often.
Yes, everywhere full house, haha,

Tanny, those gain city shops kind? Even neighbourhood electrical shops? I know my friend previously bought a Farfalla brand freezer and it has drawers inside. Not a chest kind. So quite good. Don't think it's that exp.

Joanne, thanks! Hee every new baby it's a new experience. Probably unless the gap is really close. But even then, different babies different temperamental and behaviour too. So we learn new things each time.

Someone told me there is a Malay massage lady that does breast massage only - think to clear ducts n increase supply. $35 for 30min. I did not try myself. If anyone needs, let me know.

Tromso : Actually I also dunno what is the right way to massage. And I never massage also except the first 2 weeks when prone to engorgement. I always use iPhone during pumping session - that's the only free time to use google/ read forum.

I seem to run out of booties for my baby - can no longer fit. Like growing so fast..

Hi Tanny
Is the malay lady tt u heard of has any gd review? I hope to increase supply but by only asks Maya to come n knead breast like too expensive..;(

Hi Tromso
I went parentcraft usually too n they correct my massage method.. I didnt know tt we shd look for lilian.. Is she very gd? Just to confirm is it massage first then pump 5 mins, massage again then pump another 5 mins , massage again then another 5 mins. Done.. Total pump 3 times?
Can oso roughly advise how to burp then correct? As i oways asks my boy to sit upright then easier to burp.. Is it correct? U bought ur bb there? Thk u..;)

Hi pierced
Jiayou n am sure u will get more bm supply..;)

Cock cock, congratulations!! :D It must have been a wonderful experience seeing your darlings finally!! :D

Heartbeat
i haven't started buying anything :p
Must start buying already. So many different brands and models of everything...see until I also blur....

pierced, keep latching. I'm sure ur BM will come in soon.
Jiayou!

Jo3, hahah... yeah, kudos to you for persevering all these years. You finally have your little ones with you now. How is your elder son taking to the babies?

Hi Luv
I thot my elder son will be jealous.. Afterall, he gets all the love n attention fr us and suddenly not so much anymore.. But surprisinly, he dun feel tt.. Infact he is my local maid as he always help me to get hot water so tt when bb drink halfway, i can put the bottle in it to prevent get cold. He always run to them when they cry while i go and make milk.. So tt he can help to play with them to stop them crying.. I am surprise tt he as a boy has been really tactful.. As tt day my bb boy vomit out some milk to the floor and he quickly take tissue to wipe for me.. Think he really loves them alot than jealous..;) am glad somehow tt he is mature enough else i sure faint if he still a toddler as not easy to cope with 2 bbies..;)

Joanne, your boy is so considerate
I'm sure he can see the 'hardships' mummy is going through too. As I was saying to a friend, baby care and post natal care is similar to 西天取金 kinda plagued with so many issues, or perhaps to be positive, let's say 'challenges'...lol...

Yes, it's massage 1 minute, pump 5 minutes, 3 cycles. But with Lilian, her massages are a walk in the park, pain free, cleared my blocked ducts rock hard right breast. With Maya, it's a painful journey
Lilian looks like a senior LC there, cos older, about 50s 60 maybe, the others I saw are young, like our age or younger. Why don't you go back to parentcraft clinic to seek help? Remember after the pump session, need to manually massage the outta breasts areas to collect more bm, so supply won't get stucked, as pump only extracts bm fr nipple areola area, another new thing I learned today.

Burping, I've been doing the holding chin method but baby struggles and sometimes arches backwards, making me lose hold/ grip. I was told I'm not bending her forward enough. I was also taught 2 diff positions for the bending forward burping. For massaging, LC confirmed it's essentially the half moon, cartwheels (think its called this) and the cycling method.

Tanny, you are good, can get 200ml steadily
I only started to feel engorged after fenugreek but good thing sorta out. I may buy a deep freezer too if supply continues. Can share what sort/ brand/ size you get if you manage to find one? TIA.

Hi Tromson
Yeh.. Because of his thotfulness seen last wk during his school holiday , he makes me miss him more this wk when he go back to school n not with me..;( really true to say 母子连心.

Ya, for burping, i always make them lean very forward. U mean if no lean so forward will cause colic?

Ehh.. I think the last time i go parentcraft oso is lilian helpme ler as she looks 50-60 too n the rest looks young like wht u say.. She curly short hair right? She say no need squeeze anymore after pump finish but i no listen to her as like u say, i can squeze out some more milk by pressing the side of breast too..;)

Will pm u shortly..

Yeah Cool Angel, need to start liao. You are not very far from me, Babyjourney, Angel batch also.

I am targeting every weekend starting now go somewhere and sweep stuff off the shelves liao. Cos if i am lucky, i should still have at least 5-6 weeks. Gd thing most of the small bb items can get all at a go from hypermarts or the chinatown shop.

Ladies who have given birth under Dr Loh, have you ever planned if need emergency birth and Dr Loh not around, say at TFC in the mornings then how ah? Cannot expect him drop all the ERs and ETs and come deliver right? Then TMC got back up doctors to deliver at short notice? Or Dr Loh can anytime call his cover duty to deliver?

I have growth scan today. Bb is on small size..
1575 g on 32W2D. Dr wants me to rest at home.. so I was given 10 days HL. So gearing up to eat more for next few weeks..The sonographer also took 3D picture of bb.. and he yawned while on 3D.. so cute..

Coolcool, eat more beef, fish, chicken, cake, ice cream, durian, drink more milk and lots of rest. You can also cook double boiled chicken essence and drink once or twice per week. Jiayou!!!

Joanne, your boy is waking up every 3 hrly at night for feeds, is it also due to wind discomfort? If so, can try letting him sleep in a curl up position, so that the knees are bend towards tummy. I let heather sleep in the stroller, Quinny's seat reducer is very good, hugs the body and creates a good curl up position. Also letting her sleep in this bassinet, same hugging and curled up position. If I put her in the cot, she'll wake up very fast. I've run these 2 items pass PD and Lilian, they say it's fine, no issues with not letting baby sleep on complete flat surfaces. I've also stopped all diary products, hv to trial and error, no choice...

Right now, heather will feel uncomfy after feeds, so have to double triple the massaging efforts. A bit cranky afternoon time, needs to be carried when awake. So far nighttime still ok, can sleep 4+ hrs stretch but daytime needs to be fed 2 hrly still, sigh...

Any mummies lil ones also experiencing wind discomfort? Any tips to share?

Hi Tromso
Oh.. Curl up position can sleep better? Which means must sleep on one side? Not sure is it due to wind but he keep want to drink day time too.. Almost every 2 hrly., how much u feed her ebm every 2 hr at day time?
Btw, after Feed cant massage right? How do u massage?

Hi bbjourney
Doc M deliver already huh.. Time flies for her.. She bought bb to o&g for? So now all her patient go to doc Loh.. So he going to be very busy.. Hmm..

Huh? But Dr M not on ML? She so fast come back to work?

I think i need to have back up plan liao. I got previa means i can only opt for planned csection. And if anything happens before planned csection especially in the mornings when Dr Loh at TFC (eg. water bag burst, placenta bleed etc) i will need emergency csection which is a race against time. Every minute pass, my bb could be in distress. Dont think i can afford to be waiting for Dr Loh to come back TMC in the afternoons. Sigh~ back to KKH? Sigh~

Coolcool but all other things ok? Got check blood flow of cord, amniotic fluid level ok? If all else ok, then maybe bb is just small frame but still can have growth spurts from now. Eat more like Babyjourney suggested and rest alot. Lie on your left also help.

J03 n Hearbeats, yes Dr M has delivered and she is back to work. Think sat she brought her baby to work. Hehehe

Heartbeats, u seeing Dr Loh this week? If yes, why not check w him on your concerns. I think after water bag burst, wont give birth immediately. Moreover e nurse will be monitoring you n ur babies.

Hi Joanne, you know the Cocoon bed that's sold in tmc Parentcraft shop and other retail stores? Essentially that sorta bed is good for babies, the butt is rested slightly lower than the upper body and legs rested slightly higher than butt, no need to sleep sideways. If you have something like that at home, can try let baby sleep on it. I thought your baby has wind as you were asking about fei zai shui previously, no?? If gassy tummy, should be quite obvious, hard and rounded tummy and the legs will curl up a lot.

I usually keep heather upright after feeds, then do massages after that, then let her sleep. Especially at night, If I do this well, she can sleep better, if not, she'll still sleep but make some noise cos trying to force the wind out. And once she takes a dump, heh...will sleep very very soundly.

I'm watching some videos in YouTube now, I've not tried the side-hold to date, supposedly can calm cranky baby, will see if it works. Hubby tried it other day, she seems ok for a while then fusses again lol...

Looks like not many mummies here have gassy babies or fussy awake babies, that's very good.

Joanne, I feed heather ebm 100ml mostly still, even if it's 2hrly feeds. If she demands feeding after 1+ hr, I'll give her 80ml. Been trying to up her intake but will end up wasting ebm. Yourself?

cool cool...rest well and eat more...are u with kk? the sonographer can take 3d pic...wow...

i am gg for my first growth scan 2 wks later at adc...yst, using dr tan blur machine, he told me my babies ard 700g..although he say is avg size but when i check on web, seems heavier than normal which i dun mind...wanna get my babies to 2kg asap cos scare i can't eat more during 3rd tri..

hope my bbs will grow well..:)

Babyjourney, thanks for the list. I forgot about eating ice-cream.

Heartbeats, thanks. other things are ok. Just he is on small size.

MC, thanks. I am with NUH. She gave me 3 pics of 3D but in hard copies lor.

Yup will be asking but also wanted to see if any mummies had any sharing.

MC, i find that Drs dont give exact weights one, they base on scan give agar agar one. But if ADC, the weights given are more exact and down to the digits as the sonographers really take the AC measurement and multiply by some forumla on their calculators.

Coolcool, yup don't forget ice cream. That's my replacement for durian as I don't really like durian, and it helps too! Take the creamy ones. I ate lotsa Magnum as there was a promotion during National Day period and my hubby stocked up for me.

Heartbeats, I am also going to ask Dr Loh when he's going to discuss birth plan on my next visit.. Wonder if it's too early for me to talk about it?

Tromso/Joanne, my son also having wind problem. If he sleeps on his cot, he only sleeps 2 hrs..makes noise & pull back his legs to pass out gas. So if possible, I let him lie on my body to sleep at nite & sleep on the bouncer during the day. But of coz letting him lie on me to sleep will be impractical when my ML ends..I need to find an alternative for him to sleep longer hrs @ nite.
His feeds also depends on where is he sleeping..if lie flat, he wants milk every 2hr..120ml ebm or 60-70ml fm. If in curl position, he can tahan 3-4hrs.. & can drink up to 150ml ebm or 100ml fm.

Hi miracle and tromso
Oh.. Didnt know pull up leg means due to wind.. Hmm.. My boy cant sleep well at night in cot too.. As he sleeps in sarong day time so i thot he prefer sarong and when he makes noise at night in cot, i throw him in sarong and he sleep well.. Unless sarong can help ease wind condition? Hmm.. Yesterday, my gal sleep very well but drink little n vomit out some milk sometime too.. Then i realise her stomach very round so shd be wind in her as when i feed her, she keep kicking and whole face turn red.. Does it means due to colic?

Hi mc
How u let him sleep on u? Isnt it very uncomfy n how can u sleep at ease?

Hi tromso
Me too.. Worry they puke out milk so oways let them sit upright for awhile before let them sleep but still they can sometime make alot of eek eek sound then suddenly puke out some milk n back to sleep soundly.. I hv to change at least 2-3 time long sleeve shirt each night due to wetness.. Wonder how to make them feel uncomfy then sleep? Already burp, already sit upright.. But still puke milk..;( how long u let her sit upright btw? I thot no massage just after feeding? Btw, where u learn ur bb massage? Youtube too? I dun know how to massage them..;(
Both my bbies r drinking 120ml fm milk.. Will give ebm whenever hv enough..

Hi heartbeat
No need worry too much as if waterbag burst still can tahan few hrs before delivery.. Tt time my waterbag burst at 4am n doc loh did c section for me only at 7am so he still hv enough ample time to travel down to tmc even if he is at tfc.. Relax n all will go smoothly de..;)

Joanne, my son's sleeping & feeding pattern is the same as ur twins! Puke milk even when burp & sit upright/elevated for more than 15mins. Alot of sounds at nite.. Then vomit milk.
Thts y pd recommend me to feed Enfalac A+ AR. It does show some improvement.. At least my boy does not merlion every nite.. Maybe alternate days or 3 days?
Im thinking of letting my boy sleep in sarong at nite tht allows him to sleep well.

Hi miracle
As my boy sleep in aircon since he is afraid of heat unlike my gal.. I dun encourage him sleep in sarong at night as worry abt coldness plus not sure is it gd for his spine since oways curl up.. So oways carry him up to his cot after he slept in sarong.. But he dun sleep long as i think he feel hot at his back.. As i use a thick swaddle cloth to swaddle him..think hv to use a thiner cloth n yet worry he catch a cold..
Hope my message above attention to mc is wrong, shd be attention to u..paiseh..
Anyway, urs vomit out alot or little? Mine is a little like it will flow out but it will wet his shirt kind..

Heh heh... He sleeps like a koala hugging a tree lor. But i usually does tht around 4am+ till 7am. It's like taking a nap for me. It's a little uncomfy for me.. But my son sleeps soundly. I just make sure his head faces one side.
Usually he spits a little milk out which will wet his shirt.. At night around 3am+, he will vomit alot.. It's like almost half of his feed came out.

Ur son wont kick away the swaddle cloth?? Mine didn't like to be restricted.. Thts y I didn't swaddle him after a mth.

heartbeats, i realise most female gynaes dun rest for long b4 going back to work. My doc also went back to work super quickly after delivering previously. Amazing...
The last time i saw Dr M, she said they can't afford to take ML.

Miracle, belle koala to me since 1-2 months old. She is now 7.5 mths n still koala to me when sleeping on some nights like what your son is doing now. I m working too.

Cool cool, dun over indulge in ice cream. Ice cream r sugar. U need to watch yr weight too. What if u fail the diabetes test?? I ate lots of ice cream and drank sprite ... In the end me put on 3kg and my gal 800g in 2 weeks. Then kena warning from gynae. Take more healthy food k... Think of the amt of weight u have to lose after pregnancy. It can b a lot!

Thanks Joanne for sharing. If water bag burst, ok i can wait. But if placenta detach due to previa then i dont know how long can wait liao cos losing blood means oxygen also decreasing to bb, scared distress. Hopefully i dont bleed and smoothly get to planned csection lor.

Hazel, i dont mind Dr Benjamin or even Dr M, as long as if i need emergency csection, a doctor is there. Dr Benjamin quite good too. We so preciously get preggy and come to this stage, just hope wont have last minute tragedy lor.

Heartbeat, wun lah. Let me share with something. After that maybe u will feel more at ease. My gf had low placenta with twins. At abt 29/30 wks, she bled profusely. So bad until whole floor was full of blood. She rushed down to KKH 24 hrs. She was warded. Given medication to try to stop the bleeding n contractions. At the same time, given steroids injections to mature bbs' lungs. That need 48 hrs. Well, she had an emergency c section n delivered her twins at 31/32 wks. Emergency c section is not really that emergency seriously. So there is plenty of time for dr Loh to go see u. Also, I believe dr Loh has a cover in tfc too. And also in TMC. His cover will defintely call him to check with him. So, dun worry ok?

Hazel, thanks so much for sharing! Indeed i was worried emergency csect is really emergency and even minutes sensitive. I really wish for Dr Loh to personally deliver me esp if csect, i trust his skills.

Hazel, i even standby doptone, if anytime anything happen, i can track bb heartbeats on the way to hospital and quickly update drs and nurses when i arrive, thats how scared i am.

heartbeat...i agreed that ADC machine is so much better and accurate than Dr Tan blur machine in the consultation room..lol..

also, dun worry abt the emergency c sect..everything will go smoothly for u.

Catherine, thanks for the reminder. Actually my bb and I need to gain weight. So far I gained 7 kg only and my bb is 1.5 kg at 32 weeks. So I was given HL for 10 days to rest and eat well. We are talking about what to eat to grow bb bigger. Ice cream is one of them. Of course, I will eat more on other stuff.

wow coolcool...u only gain 7kg? i hv gain ard 8kg now.. lol...and backache begins...

eat well and hopefully all weight goes to bb so u can get back to pre preg weight after birth..jiayou

Coolcool, so far is your urine test for glucose ok? Agree with Catherine that it is better to get clearance from doctor on increasing sugar intake.. My bad, forgot to advise you on that. My doc did told me that I don't have to worry about GD and can eat durians... Just that I don't like and substitute with ice cream but I didn't over indulge. I took care to still maintain a balance diet. Let's jia you together!