(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Luv, if u have the What to Expect First Year book, it's detailed inside what dr will check to assess bb's development. Though American context may be diff fr singapore's, I'm gonna bring the list and cross check.

One assessment I read is that, baby will be put on tummy, to determine if can hold head up. I've been practising this with Heather for the past 2 days, quite amazing how NBs loves it, quietens her down too
But hv to semi support the head as still quite floppy.

Maybe the other mummies can share what the 1 mth assessment is like, me very curious too

cock cock..i agreed that you shld rest now...even my fren who had twins previously keep asking me to sleep more... and yes piles, i got it with my boy too..hope this round won't be too bad..

BTW, a tips from my fren for twins if you want to have the next number for birth cert..go queue at Minstry and be their first customer, dun go via hospital cos the system is shared and you may not get the next no. while entering data for the 2nd baby.

also, i thought we bought the insurance for covering nicu, so shld we still be concern on the nicu cost?

any sister here can provide the link to buy breastpump..not sure whr i save the link previously.

thanks bbjourney, pierced, catherine, joanne, luv and heartbeats... with all your advice, i set my mind now to put next week as my ultimate timeline (afterall, it will be 35th week by next fri).. cant assume that i can go on and on (in fact, my big boss even asked if can try to delay bbies till past 7th mth? so naive??) rationally i know bbies are most impt, but i m v "soft-hearted" one... i just have to put a "stop" liao..

i worried if i can handle when both bbies come.. joanne, at least you are much younger than me, and i so admire your positive and amount of sacrifices which you are prepared to make (btw, can u or Tromso let me have Maya contact? she sounded so good...)

my friend gave me a book on "A contented house with twins", with tips on how to establish routine with twins.. I hope to be able to apply the tips and make things work.. if really useful, i will let other sisters expecting twins know abt the key contents and tips..

heartbeats, actually i can still pass motion at least every 2 days.. but the pain is getting quite bad... now i u/std the pain of those with piles.. told hubby i need a swimming buoy to sit on liao, haha...

Dew, if massaging & hot compress not working, could you be having a nipple bleb ( nipple outlet blocked, so milk cannot come out causing lumps). You can try the private LCs. Look under the mumsfairy website for contact no.

MC007 if i am not wrong, the insurance we bought only cover limited hospitalisation charges. If need specialised things like oxygen tanks etc, the costs may have to be on us thats why can be very expensive. Thats why Dr Loh told me if preterm delivery at KKH, he even ask me to go class B1 and lower as NICU classes are pegged to mother's ward class. And he shared its not easy to downgrade mother's class as it will subject to means testing. Its easier to upgrade so CockCock is wise to take class B1 first, if no need special NICU services, can always upgrade later on. Its easier to upgrade than downgrade. Dr Loh say B1 difference from B2 is only no TV, no phone but then who needs TV and phone, he say TV can always surf ipad etc ... and phone can always use hp. I am also buying breast pumps from Beauty Loft, but only in Oct, hope she got stocks by then.

CockCock, passing bowels every 2 days is good! Then you just need to soften your stools, drink loads of water!

Tromso, ya, sometimes I just wonder when she coming, then tnk of the scariest situations where she comes at the wrong time LoL! I still bring my gal for music class yest and was thinking what if baby comes out? Haha!

I did pelvic floor exercises too, dunno if it helps too haha, but I did only push a few times too for Megan. I just only wonder how fast I will dilate this time round only. Hehe, hopefully it's much faster.

Did u have to make appointment for the Polyclinic or just walk in with heather's health booklet etc? Coz mine last time had a referral form for KkH, so was quite fast. U went to the Sengkang one?

Tromso, from what I remembered, 1 month assessment quite simple, the health booklet also states like what they will usually check on. Normally weight, length, then PD will ask a few simple questions on bb to gauge , plus do a few simple, tests in his office I guess to check maybe reactions to certain things.

Heartbeats, short or inverted nipples , I believed there are certain shields u can get to help in breastfeeding, no problem with those. Can try googling on Internet for advice on what to do.

Thanks Pierced. Alright, I'll hv a look at health booklet. For polyclinic, we just walk in, given priority for less than 1 mth NBs jaundice check. So luckily we didn't go queue at sk polyclinic (was thinking abt that earlier and with bb will be quite hard), heard quite a queue before opening at 8.30 especially Sat. So, just walk in will be fine.

Heartbeats, can try the nipple puller if bb rejects that nipple.

cock cock, glad that you've made up your mind to rest and prepare for babies. Good for you!

Tromso, I dun have the book, but I referred to the health booklet on the assessment items at each stage. I stopped bringing my gal for assessment after she entered preschool tho cos more or less can tell how she's doing from her performance and behaviour in school. Save $$ on checks, heh...

heartbeats, like pierced and Tromso say, there are instruments that help correct inverted nipples. Try those out?

Alamak... I think after all the rest I've had at home the past several weeks, I really dun have much stamina liao. Just went out for a short few hours yesterday and today and I feel so spent already each time. Plus seemed to have slight crampy feeling at times. Donno whether it's due to too much walking abt. I hope not. Hope it's just related to my bowel instead.

Tromso, Pierced, really, got tools for such nips? Wow, ok thanks! I go find out!

Luv, my first tri also very low stamina. Cos your body is busy coping with bb growth. Try to rest every now and then even when you outside. Even now,i walk abit around the house, also can pant.

Cockcock, good to hear you going to rest soon. Yes, some bosses or colleagues can ask stupid questions like can delay, or ask baby to wait till which ever convenient time. So silly right?

Tromso, I see, so at least from private also can walk in and no need referral. Yup weekend, will be crowded, also I remembered the nurse telling me mon and thurs must avoid as well for weekdays coz its the busiest.

Luv, same, I only bring my gal for the necessary checks in the health booklet, and coz mine was KK previously, it's a package and once finished up vaccinations and checks, she graduated already so I didn't bother to go for further developmental checks after that. I know some of my friend went further to check at 3 yrs etc, but I didn't think it was necessary.

Heartbeats, i'm 14 weeks now. By right shld start to feel more energetic. Do feel better than the initial weeks when I was suffering from bad MS, but certainly can feel that my stamina is a far cry from what it used to be in my prev preg at the same stage. Hope will get better soon, otherwise can't imagine my stamina when I get heavy in 3rd tri!
You take care too! Carrying twins is not easy. Salute to all twin mummies!

pierced, I even ever ask the clinic asst whether the developmental checks are compulsory or can be skipped. She also secretly say actually no need to do the assessment when we can already see the child's growth ourselves, hahah...

Luv, i also tot i will be more energetic when i reach 2nd trim, but i seem to get more sleepy n tired. Hahaha... Lucky i m on nopay leave, otherwise dont think i can last thru the day at work. :p

Til now i still need to nap 2 times per day or at least once per day. Otherwise i will be yawning non-stop.

Bbjourney, did u take NPL right from the start of IVF? Dun think i can afford to disappear from work any more than i have. Gotta get used to working again! I think I also need afternoon naps, hahah...

Me too, getting tired more often now. Energy only came back a few short weeks in 2nd tri. Now i need more naps but working from home cannot nap, quite torturous at times.

Luv, nope i did not take npl from the start. It was after my cerclage that dr loh advised me to rEst at home as he wan me to rest more n to play safe. So i m on npl since 14weeks. I still do some work from home. :p

Bbjourney, i see. Wah, on NPL still do work? So on... but i understand lah. Think I'll also still check emails etc if it were me on NPL.

Luv, my boss has been v supportive n understanding thru out my ivf cycle. i feel v bad to suddenly go on npl, so i m helping my boss to do some impt reports from home. My boss has been covering most of my work during my absence, so this is the least that i can do to help lessen her burden.

Bbjourney, great that u have such a supportive boss. Support from the workplace is very important so that we can go on leave without worry.

Have just read all the posts. Got gynae appointment last Friday. My GD test passed liao. But a bit on high side though within normal range. My gynae told me to eat less sweet stuff.
BBjourney, heartbeats, Angle, our turn is coming soon.. after pierced and cock cock? left 10 more weeks only. How are you all doing? your feet swollen? Now my appointment becomes every 2 weeks. Looking forward to seeing my bb in 3 weeks time.. I have one detailed scan on week 32.

Coolcool, so far no swollen foot (touchwood). My appt has always been every 2 weeks. :p
May i know what is the detail scan on 32 weeks for?

Coolcool, at least its within normal range, still can control, dont lose heart ok? So did you have to give blood 2 times too? Then the results will give 2 readings, 1 for fasting sugar level and 1 for after 2 hours sugar level? I also did my OGTT yesterday but wont know results till early Sep.

Ya our turn next, i think its Pierced > CockCock > CoolCool > Babyjourney > Angel > Heartbeats > Hope > Coolangel > Juvi > Throll > MC007 > LuvnHope and the rest (sorry, i lost count liao).

Wow, if we carry to full term together, Babyjourney, Angel and myself will be delivering in the same week as we are about 2-3 days apart, so exciting!

thanks tromso, received your pm!

mc, i think i too lazy to go queue to get consecutive birth cert no.. re ward, thanks heartbeats for sharing. yes mc, for the GE policy.. neonatal ward level 2 and 3 benefits are $150 and $300 per day respectively... not fully covered.. for ward A, for eg. level 3 nicu cost is $613 per day at kkh.. somemore with twins the cost cld double.. that's why i am hesitant.. but i really hope to go ward A for more privacy and rest.. will hv to see how it goes..

thanks heartbeats for listing out the sequence.. sounds so exciting rt? pierced, when is your EDD? i so envious of sisters who can sleep and nap... i cant sleep v well.. even if wkn at home oso dont nap.. its good to sleep more now (to make up for lost sleep in future)..

Heartbeats, haha, You can still remember most of the ones here in the sequence, I lost track already, hee...

Luv, I deed, after going on leave for so long, really need some getting used to going back to work. Just like I went back for 1 short week, and I'm so tired out already and totally lost track. Hee... My colleague said see la, tell u take HL all the way dun wan, still want to go back clear stuff.

Cockcock, my edd is 2 Sep. just turned 38 wks today. If following my #1 history, I gave birth at 39 wks so may e next wk might give birth. Haha...

If u not having the Chinese name chosen, then it's more convenient to register at the hosp even though more exp. Mine doesn't make a difference coz will be getting the Chinese chosen first bef registering birth.

Yes, ward A in KK is definitely better and really comfy coz next class is already 4 bedder. But if thinking of costs wise, child's ward will be more. Like when my gal went back KK to ward for a night, at least not peg to Mother's room, so was much cheaper than when newborn.

The lump on my left breast has finally resolved by itself during last night pump
it's there for past 2 days .. such a relief... I actually book Betty on monday already so paiseh have to inform her need to cancel. Heng she is ok with it.

I noticed there are white spots on my baby's neck and back any body have such thing too ?

Thx

pierced, yeah lor, gotta slowly gain back my stamina. Feels good tho to be finally out and about in the malls, hahah...
2nd one might come earlier? Hope ur hospital bag is all packed and ready!

Pierced, already feeling excited for you
But no stress, take it easy there...

Dew, how did your lump clear itself? My right breast gets harder than the left all the time and recently the supply isn't too good. So I bite my teeth and massage it out, as I thot no blockage previously, indeed hv!! Then bm went up...I wonder how long we hv to keep up this sorta deep massages, its like strangling/ torturing the breasts again and again...

Bbjourney, hahah... tot of upsizing too. Exploring different options n see whether worth it to get maternity ones or not first.

I have some old ones which I dun quite like. All in cold storage, hahah... not sure if i can find liao.

Hi trimso ,

I really have no idea I was massaging so hard for the past 2 days last night I sort of give up , just do the normal routine n pump. When I realize there are more milk in the container I press the left breast n the lump is gone. I even use the maxi suction on the pump it didn't work then. Maybe the blockage after all the torture decided to break thru :p
I am getting tired of blockage too and my flow is not gd , can only provide 3 feeds daily. Wondering whether i should stop or persist until 6 months.
My boy is a premie so breast milk should be better for him, oh well in a dilemma .

Dew, in this case, try your best to persist with bf till 6 mths or till you start work, hopefully the antibodies are helpful lots
Yah, I also think the only way out is torturing the breast, so tiring and painful. btw, you can still try out LC, perhaps can identify issues that we are not aware of? I was reading a bit online, looks like besides the lumps/ blocked ducts, the nipple areas can be blocked too

For me, problem is I hv too much bm, was calculating if can only freeze for 3 mths in normal home freezer, may not be able to clear supplies as I'm freezing 1 almost full bag a day. But I'm already pumping every 4 hrs, and can't delay anymore otherw breasts will get quite full and sore. If don't massage breasts, will get hard lumps, dilemma. Hopefully after confinement, not eating lotsa nutritional food anymore, bm supply will normalized.

Luv, I was wearing my normal panties all the way until all the elasticity were gone by mid 3rd trimester...lol...too fat oredy. But they were very comfy

Now my mum is nagging me to wear tighter panties so that can shrink the lower abs and butt back lol...I like loose ones so much beta

Tromso, u have a happy problem (too much BM). Excess BM use for facial, lol.

I still can wear my normal undies for now but think I'd better start planning ahead. Already gaining around the lower abdomen.

My mum also suggested i wear a girdle previously after delivery. But i dun like such tight undies too, lol.

Babyjourney, hmm.. I don't actually know what they will check on 32 week scan. Think same as first detailed scan but now can see more clearly?

Heartbeats, yeah.. It's good that I got to know the result earlier so that I can control my sugar intake. Nowadays I love eating pudding and sweet snacks.

Luv, I bought my maternity panties at new maternity in IMM. very comfy. prices range from 9.50-12.50.

Luv, haha, ya, but so far no signs. Sme of the mummies are giving birth already in sep thread. Wow! Anyway, hosp bag is packed. Not much to bring. Hehe...

Tromso, ya, u have a happy problem. Probably use it for facials instead since no point to keep for heather too long as the nutrients are different and u have more than enough.

Me too, I am still wearing normal undies for this preg. The tighter ones are in cold storage too. I prefer comfy ones rather than tight ones,
I don't like wearing girdle either after preg. Just hope for the best that tummy will shrink back to a smaller size again. Hee....

Hihi I am new to this forum. I would like to check if anyone is with SGH after BFP?

The nurse in SGH Care has scheduled my ultrasound scan and follow-up with my gynae on 2 diff dates. I would like to check if this is SGH's practice? The gynae will not be the one doing the ultrasound?