(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

yap...will cut sugar for now but can't really do walking exercise as dr tan ask me not to walk too much...think jus hv to watch my diet..hopefully is a false alarm..

but my mum is diabetic...read that family history had an impact too..keeping fingers crossed.

mc, my grandma was also diabetic. Keep our fingers crossed!
Btw, how did u find out abt the sugar levels? From the usual urine test?

from the usual urine test....maybe i drink too much cold drinks recently...will jus stick with plain water like during ttc...

also my hemoglobin lvl is low again from bt but since i am thalesimmia and my iron dosage already high, dr advise dun walk to much...how to go shopping if cannot walk too much..lol..

mc, let your fingers do the walking, kekeke... Online shopping!!

Hi mc, I was diagnosed of having diabetes during preggie cos my gynae found out that my wgt increased too much. Both my parents hv diabetes in older age so I have it too during my 3rd tri. What I realise is try to drink more water, no fruit juice cos fruit juice contain more than 1 pc of fruits which make it more sweet. Eat multi grain bread and brown rice cis whit bread and white rice is high in sugar. U hv to control ur sugar well, for preggie cannot be over 6.7, that wa Dr kelvin Tan wa me to be. In the end I didn't get to the lvl and end up jabbing insulin and on strict diet.

hi faithfully...thks for yr advice..eating brown rice can be difficult as hard to find from outside food...i will skip fruit juice too..my weight is ok for now so hopefully i will pass the GD test in 2 wks time...milk is ok?

Mc, munmy's milk u mean milk like Annum? No, v high sugar content. Is HL milk low fat or skimmed? I can't remember if HL carries. Take Meiji low fat/skimmed

Hi Baby Me, I saw the tubs at Kiddy Toa Payoh. Like Luv suggested, gd to call up and query before making a trip in case sold out. Last I saw months ago, 1 of the 2 designs was sold out, things get sold out quite fast there but will replendish usu. I think it's about $60+

Don't worry too much about infection below, no news (itch, pain, etc.) is gd news

Had my second massage session today, gosh the blood clots still quite a bit, so painful breaking them up. After massaging the breasts and unblocking 2nd time, my bm increased 60% fr previous pump lol...like a moo moo now, hv to start freezing bm.

Ohhh....didn't know not auspicious to hold full mth celeb during 7th mth...but I'm certainly looking forward to mooncakes!!

Yum, all the talk about Ang ku kueh, I used to order from this stall too, very nice as well and has been eating it since young. This is in the East side. Love the Kueh Ambon there as well.

Borobudur Nonya delights
537, bedok north street 3 #01-523 S460537
Daily 7.30-5.30

MC, both my SIL and gd gf had GD, and was able to control well during pregnancy, don't worry too much ok, just watch your diet. Take food with low GI, plenty of water helps too.

Hi Joanne, Faithfully, Baby Me and ladies doing full mth soon, may I know which food caterer you plan to use?

Hi tromso
Who u engage to massage u? So nice tt u hv so much milk.. I hv no enough despite try my best.. Just now realise my aerola area tt join to my nipple got old blood.. Omg.. Must be the suction of the pump spilt up my skin..;( so now i can only use low power to pump and still cant empty breast so try hand express.. Hope wun get blocked ducts n lump bec of this..hope it will recover soon else so worry when pump whethet blood will goes in..;( my mum say is very unhygiene if got bloodgoes to bm..
Btw, my bbies full mth already over on end of July.. I use stamford.. Worry me most as i last min decide too.. My cl had left n i am doing night feeding since last week.. Xiong n i am still try my best.. Hope wun get too heaty due to not enough rest..

Tromso, thanks for the info on the tubs, will get my hubby to check at Kiddy Toa Payoh since his office nearby.

So good that you can have extra BM to freeze. Mine always just nice for one feed. I latch more than pump. Usually only pump once a day. So no stored BM yet.

Since my baby full month postpone, I have not decided which caterer to use yet. Looking around now.

Joanne, is the caterer you used good?

Hi Joanne, what do you mean by old blood, is it the healed wounds? I had quite a bit of that cos both nipples quite badly bruised few days back and now that massage lady has helped to clean it, can get more bm outta the nipples. My bm increased cos milk ducts were oso unblocked, I've been trying to clear them myself but really not easy. My post natal massage lady is Maya, same as Baby Me's, I think we mentioned the charges in earlier post, slightly on the pricey side, I can pm you if you need more info

The strong pumping splitting your nipple? Happened to me too, my first try pumping loh...was very upset then. Don't worry, can heal very fast by coating layers of bm then nipple cream.

I think it's ok if the blood fr nipple bruises goes into bm, not a lot right? Does it turn the color of the bm? I only has pink bm once, on my first pump when string suction cracked the nipple, then ok after that, no more pink bm...strawberry milk...lol...

I'm feeding fm at night now so both bb and my mum can sleep longer. Are you doing so too?

Baby Me, very funny, after the session today, now I have bm shooting out when I press, reminds me of the Katy Perry MTV where fireworks shoot outta her bra heh... I think I already have bit more than usual bm fr the start, Maya said so during first session. Feeding bb 70ml now but have abt 150ml each pump, think I'll hv to stretch out my pump intervals. I'm planning to try latch on again this week, hope can get it right this time. It's good that your bb can latch on well, beta than pumping leh...I've been feeling bad that I can't latch on, as if bond is not established

Hope you manage to get the tub
We are using those red wedding bb tub, mum says don't waste it heh...I'll probably swop to the standing tub when I bring bb home in time to come, as I can't quite imagine bathing bb seated position/ squatted.

Didn't know can celeb full mth after 1 mth old, def gd idea cos can then have time to get the hair sorted out, etc. I'll check with my folks too.

Tromso, haha, yes I can imagine on the fireworks thing. Mine also, during first massage, she help me express the milk out n it's shooting out. Was imagining like cow saw on the tv where the milk is not dripping type but shooting type haha.
Wow your 150ml pumping is a lot, mine I only can get 80-100ml for 15mnts. I really hate pumping.

Same same here, my CL is also using the red wedding as baby tub instead of the big baby tub which I hv bought. She said the actual baby tub can used when baby grow bigger. My hubby will drop by Kiddy later to hv a look at the standing one.

Hi ladies, which formula milk did u give to ur newborns?? Alot of fm are for 6 mths & above. My dh only manage to get Similac neosure for low birth weight newborn.

Miracles, I'm using Enfalac too, supposedly highest dha.

Baby Me, I've decided to reduce my bm, so only pump every 4-5 hrs, back down to 100-120ml 15 mins pump each side.

Faithfully, thanks for the catering info

Miracle, I'm also giving my baby enfalac. It's stage 1. For newborn baby.

Tromso, try to latch her then. Maya said your nipples are getting better already. Latch her with make it recover even faster.

Ok, I will switch to enfalac. My bb's intake also start to increase.. My bm can't catch up wif his demand.. Now I don't latch on already, only tried latching again last nite when he is cranky. He got a habit of biting & pulling nipple.. Pain..

Finally, last day of school for the week and my leave starts again!
Feeling so tired out after just 3 days of work.

tromso, wow, not bad you have plenty of Bm... don't feel bad not latching on, just try again. after all, u are still giving Bm so it's not that bad even though if no latch on.

Im also using the wedding bathtub, as well as a free M A bathtub handed to me from my friend previously. but beginning stage no need such a big bathtub so I got one smaller round tub for my mum to bath bb.

pierced, wah, so fast will be ur turn to pop!

Rest well b4 D-Day!

Hahah... looks like almost everyone has the red wedding bathtub. Me too! Used it for my gal when she was older. In fact, my parents still have the bathtub they used for me when I was a little girl.

The red wedding tub is good cos for my gal is just nice. I was using another tub and... Aiyo.. My CL says her legs stretch out hit the edge of tub already! So ask me for another tub - lucky got the red tub at home. Her legs and body quite long I think.

Just barely 3 weeks, I have used 5 packs of new born Pampers - 120 pcs, not counting the pack from TMC. Scary. Another using Drypers? The sticker like not good non sticky at all.

I can't wait for confirmement to be over! Sometime I should get the massage lady too, no matter how much I massage boobs before expressing, the lumps still there leh..they keep coming back when the boobs are full. Right now I'm happy with my supply cos don't need so much milk yet. According to my CL, my gal still drinking 80 - 90ml. I can't even start to use my FM bottles bought from TMC - Lousy - gave me those that is expiring Sep 2012 (manufacture 2011)

Pierced, how's your scan this week, it's this week
right? You are 37 weeks now? Hope you'll manage to handover work efficiently asap.

Baby Me, indeed, my nipples were still looking terrible then Maya did something, I wasn't watching, came home, they looked almost brand new now
This marble ball blocked milk duct also cleared but still hv 2 tiny ones in the armpit, she says that area harder to iron out, I'll hv to get her to clear nxt session again. She gave me these pills to eat, for purging out the toxins within cos I complained my passing gas smells badly
Been going toilet passing out water a lot these 2 days and surprisingly tummy down to flabby condition, not looking pregnant anymore
I'm hoping to start shaping session soon, maybe ask her to wrap my upper arms too lol...

Miracles, try the nipple shields whilst bf...I'm gonna try it too
My bb sucks on the tough Avant teats very strongly, will finish bottled bm very fast, I see liao oso quite frightened for my nipples
Barracuda sucker, as the book says.

Tanny, how many diapers your bb get thru in a day? I'm using Nepia now, some nappy rash, gonna try Pampers instead. Mum says bb pees a lot, maybe oso not changing fast enof.

My bb oso quite long, I suggested upgrading the tub, mum immed said NO, haaaa...she's afraid she'll be stuck with a huge red tub, cluttering the house...

You should get your blocked milk ducts ironed out, otherwise can get worse I feel, somemore it's quite sore upon touch right? My sis suggested I shouldn't try to reduce bm too much now in case supply really falls cos I'm pumping every 4-5 hrs now. Think I'll just freeze the bm.

Hi Mummies (bb 6 mths and older) and MTBs,

NTUC is having $5 off milk powder for adults (Similac and Ensure), babies (6 mths above) with purchase above $47. FYI.

Just curious whether wht my cl taught me is correct? She says to use detergent to wash all bottles after each use, then after detergent wash, got to rinse 3 times of water to ensure no more soapy foam inside before sterilize using my avent sterilizer.. I feel quite stress when all 3 bottles are running out for each bb and had to sterilize asap in case they asks for milk again.. And find the process of cleaning is long so wonder is this method all of u r using or only me? Any other shortcut method in case bottles all use up n bbies r crying for milk? I remember last time my boy washing of bottles not so tedious neh n i use only boiling water but cant recall got use detergent or not.. Hope to hear fr u gals on how u do it.. Also, how long we need to sterilize bottles like this? Till bbies one yr old or??

Hi tromso
Is maya good? How long is the massage each time n at $120? How long she spend to empty ur breast? Me more empatize on the bm as feel infection coming again on the milk ducts, maybe my pump of every 6 hr is too long.. U dun feel very engorge if pump every 5/6 hrly? Sigh.. I cant afford to fall sick now as need to take care twins.. Hate this bm thingy but still hv to do as is gd for my bbies.. But sad tt each time can only yearn 60ml of milk though had take freuquek.. Pathetic so feel my effort go to waste with so little bm n yet keep having infection n fever..;( hence, wonder can maya help me to yearn more milk? Had actually unblock the ducts by kkh n tmc, still not sure why so little milk.. Hence wonder is maya good? Is there a package or depend on us how many time we want? Thks for ur advise..

Jo3, there's baby bottle detergent available. Not hard to cleanse at all. After washing can sterilise and get ready for use. You can sterilise a few bottles at one go, no need to sterilise one bottle at a time.

If u want to increase ur BM supply, then suggest you have to pump/latch on more frequently than 5 or 6 hourly if u can. That's way too long an interval for building up supply. Jiayou!!

J03, I use pigeon or pureen bb liquid cleanser to wash bb bottles. Wbb said mama lemon can also but I dub use that. Fm still not too bad. But ebm is oily coz of the food we eat. Dum wash with liquid cleanser how can?

Bb cleaner, put a few drops in water. Put bottles inside n wash n scrub with brush. Big brush for bottles. Small brust to clean the inside teats. No foam at all then rinse until no slippery feel. Hey, wbb taught us to wash bottles leh! Thought u attended the class? Anyhow these r all basic hygiene. We take a glass of water, the glass we also wash with detergent with detergent right? So, so bb isn't it even more impt since they hv low immunity? Also, if u dum bother to wash with cleanser, what's the pt of sterilising? Got use meh?

Joanne, I've pm you.

I have tried smelling the washed bottles (without detergent) after just water wash, milk stench still quite strong, hence, definitely has milk remnants still. Need detergents to get them out otherwise bacteria may grow. I normally just chop chop push the sponge in, turn few times and wash out with water few rounds.

True, takes me about 20 ish mins to wash 6 milk bottles, 3 containers, and breastpump accessories. I got bit frustrated last night too cos was very sleepy, fatigue fast catching up.

You take good care of yourself, mind over body, and eat well, rest well most importantly. 5-6 hrs is too long a gap.

Not just wash Inside the bottles, the rims where u screw the cap also must wash with brush, then inside teats must clean with small brush and still the cap leh? All parts must wash with brush. I dun use much sponge cox it breeds bacteria v fast when damp. So after use must wash n air dry n Must change every wk if use sponge. The sponge also needs to be separated fr the adult one which we use to wash our utensils. In fact bb stuff be it for using or washing, right down to basin, I dun mix with adult one

Tromso, hv not bought the standing tub yet as another doubt came across. Usually will wash baby hair first before putting her in the tub. So one hand must carry her n other hand wash her hair. By sitting down, can place her on our lap. But standing up, I don't think I hv strength to hold her with just one hand. Sigh.. dunno what to do. I think that standing tub more for baby once they grow bigger n stronger.

Hi hazel
I dun mind use pureen detergent but everytime has to rinse 3 times? Like wht tromso say, is time consuming.. I oways sleep at 12am as only hv 3 bottles for each bb, must make sure bb last feed use up the bottles then quickly go wash all again as i dun want middle of night to wash bottles.. Maybe rinse twice will do? If dun hv bottles, wonder how can bb wait for me 20min to wash all six bottles n another 10mins to sterilize it..hee..so wonder is there any other method

J03, I nv count how many times I rinse. I just make sure not slippy after use & dun put too much liquid cleanser Until so foamy. Hey, time consuming or not shld not be the concern. We r talking abt bacteria growth if bottles r not washed cleaning. Which is more crucial? We all go thru that the moment we bottle feed n din latch on. I know how tough it is.. N worse for u coz u hv twins. I almost go mad when belle was small n I dun hv a maid. Carry her many hrs, cannot put her down, need to find time to pump n sterilise bottle. Is was crazy.. Until I can't take it n I went to get a maid. For ur case, u hv to train ur maid to do all these. U check on her. Didn't do a good job, ask her to re wash. Wash until u r satisfied. Alot of twin mummies r doing that.

If not, Some sisters I know hv many bottles. So that they dun hv to sterilise so many times a day n can Wait till hubby is back then ask hubby to do.

There is no hard n fast rule how many times u need to rinse. If u put alot of liquid cleanser versus u put little, the no of times u need to rinse will be different also. Hey, u wash ur utensils with mama lemon after meals right? Do u count the no of times u rinse or u use ur own judgement? It works the same logic

Oh ya, belle has more than 3 bottles...

Hi Joanne, I tried pumping 5 hr interval about twice cos trying to reduce bm but sis advises that it's gd for me to keep up supply so I'm pumping every 4 hrs now. You may like to pump sooner, as for my case, the diff betw 3 hrly pump and 4 hrly pump is 150ml vs 120ml. Drinking warm fluids, after meals, after a nap, oso increase bm supply I feel.

I think Hazel is right in that you may like to train your maid to help wash the bottles since she's already there. Another idea I have is to get another steriliser and have 6 bottles for each baby. My mum washes with water after each bottle feed, then once accumulated to 5-6 bottles, I'll detergent wash all and sterilise. I'm trying to work out a formula so I don't need to wash bottles in middle of night. I forgotten to add water to steriliser middle of last night and On it...luckily realised in time otherwise bottles would hv been fried

Baby Me, you are right, I oso see my mum squatting and holding bb using football hold to wash her hair before putting her into the tub. With standing tub, may need to adjust positioning...hmm...

Joanne, don't mind me saying but you spent so much $$ on ivf, TCM, CL, please buy another 10-15 bottles. that's a decent number for 1 day, plus you have twins.

Don't stress yourself over silly matters like that. Spend the time to rest (produces more milk) or play with your boy or the twins.

(didn't read the whole thread so apologies if u explained earlier why only 3 bottles per baby)

Anyone hv any idea how to make my bb sleep. Nw she dnt sleep after her feed and she will fuss. We try to carry her, Rick her, no use. Even pacifier she will suck abit then push out and cry. And she cry during nite time sometime afternoon too. She dnt keep crying but on off cry... Dnt think is colic cos her tummy not hard. Help!!!