(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

oops yes, SCGS... Luv, you are contemplating between Mt A and TMC is it?

ok, the moment of truth, TMC 1 bedded vs Premier Single room:

room rates - 480 vs 588
normal delivery w epi - 2,708 vs 3,300
c section w epi - 3,678 vs 4,300

I've referred to the hospital tour info sheet for above, you may find more details in it too.

I think these are the main difference in terms of ward selection, as standard nursery charges is the same of all ward types.

I also took the opportunity to ask TMC about the approx nursery costs, as follows:
> $388 for 3 injections (vit K, bcg, hep B) and cot
> $? blood tests for jaundice tests, diabetes/ HBP tests
> $150 + $125 per day for jaundice bed and treatment

On top of this, Dr Loh's basic charges for normal delivery is $1,200+ and c section is $1,800+ if I'm not mistaken.

Standard PD charges for Dr Ang is $800 for baby's standard stay/ normal condition (this is as per Ron's info earlier), for Dr Ong is $120-$200 day 1, subseq $80-$110 per day.

Hope I've covered the basic costs. If I've missed out on any big ticket items, pls feel free to point out

Tromso, thanks for the info!

Wah, why Dr Ang charges so much higher than Dr Ong??

Yeah, I was considering b/n Mt A and TMC, but since i've signed up for SBI, think might as well make it my worth and stay with TMC.

Anyone knows what the difference in facilities b/n 1 bedded and Premier Single room is?

Tromso, ya the only choices if no Pri sch as alma mater then have to do PV, many of my friends are doing that, or else another way, they sign up for clan assoc etc.
Guess looking at the chances,ndespite distance, the only way to secure p1 places is thru my alma mater too. No choice, then wait till get in then worry for distance.

Luv, I doubt the alumni priority will be scraped, remember the VIP at the top also need to get their kids into Gd Schs.

Huh, u mean dr Ang charges that amount for 1 day?!

Ivf pregnancies can also donate cord blood. I think the issue they had previously was the usage of syringes. But I have clarified with them n it is no longer a requirement as long as they are disposable syringes. If u r undecided if u shd bank it wif pte or donate, u can give them a call n they will do a detailed explaination.

N if I recall correctly based on my understanding, if ur cord blood is still available n u need it, u can jump que. n if the siblings need it, u just need to pay some storage fee.

At Dr Loh's now..don't seem that crowded today.

Luv, facilities maybe in term of room sizes? Better tv? Haha... Not too sure coz when I was at the counter, they just ask me and we chose the standard one first. Anyway, am thinking only 1 or 2 notes stay, I'm fine as long hopefully it's 1 bedder.

pierced, what's your alma mater again? Sorry if i missed reading it before. Hahah... good point on the people on top wanting their kids to get into their alma mater too.

I think Dr Ang's charges are for the entire stay right? But even if go by 2 days also very ex.

If I remember correctly, Ron shared the $800 is like a packaged price for Dr Ang for duration of stay. Not too sure for 2 or 3 days. I think Catherine used the other Dr Ong previously, Dr Ong EK, shared that hers was $300+ for PD total bill. Pls correct me if I'm wrong ladies.

Perhaps dr Ang being the in charge for ICU, makes sense charging more for her expertise.

Pierced, we were also discussing about clan association other day but also no guarantee can get letter of recommendations after volunteering. In fact for us, few years many things can change, if need to move in with in laws to take care of them, it's totally diff district too. So just kiv potential ones for now. Your alma master, is it near to your parents' place?

Hopeful, ah that's good we can still donate if IVF bb, otherwise it's a waste.
As for getting own cord blood back from the public bank, I didn't know that we can request, but anyway if really touch wood we need, I'm sure they can give us others that match too right?

Luv, mines nanyang Pri. My friends say I'm crazy to be even considering other Schs or my hb's which is a neighbourhood sch coz everyone's dying to get a place there.
But the only concern was distance as I'm worried in the end, distance affects the studies too.

Ya, difference in charges are quite a lot, why ah?
Maybe I should consider taking dr ong then? Hmm...

Tromso, if choose dr ong, we just have to inform dr Loh right? No need to let dr ong know?
But now look like no choice and save all the headache.

pierced, Nanyang Pri's good! Agree that u shld grab the opportunity to send ur kids there. How far away do u stay in terms of travelling time?

I know what u mean abt distance. My DH is even contemplating getting another place near the primary school so that the poor kid (and parents!) doesn't need to get up super early.

Regarding PD, have u considered Janice Wong? Seems like she's the other in-house PD other than the two Dr Angs.

Tromso, no... Alma mater far away, it's at Bukit timah.
coz whether parents place or ILs place, all around our this SK side and hougang.
Only other choice unless I pick hub sch, which is neighbourhood sch nearer, but... My hub thinks going to my sch is much better. What a headache!

Luv, yes! Distance quite far coz I'm at sk side, and next 2 years, the lower pri moving to bukit batok temp site!
But my hub also considering several options, either he send, or I might send instead and go on NPL, haha, or worse off, rent a house nearby!

Janice Wong? I saw her name too, but so far didn't hear anyone using hor? Maybe can consider.

hopeful,
glad to know now they accept.

pierced,
i used to have a pupil who lives in jurong west and travelled to and fro to school which is in the east... i just find it so taxing on the kid and wonder why the parents wanna transfer him to my school... it's crazy... i always see him waiting for his parents to come pick him up after work which was like 6ish or 7 in the evening.. he would have to wait around in school.... and can imagine how early he had to wake up to come to school...

pierced, wah, Bt Timah and SK... really quite far! Looks like a hard decision for u and ur DH! Good luck with the decision.

I've only read one or two other persons using Janice Wong. Quite all right reviews. But other than that, I really donno.

eskimo, oh dear, the poor kid. Does ur school have after school care service? Then at least not so bad.

heartbeats, sorry i'm not sure. The shop assts shld know i think?

Heartbeats, the Capella official website has info?

Pierced, indeed it's very far to travel, esp to bukit batok. Both Nanyang Pri and SCGS are actually about 10+ mins bus ride fr my place but I seriously don't think I'm within 2km. Just wondering if anyone know which website allows us to find out the distance?

Hazel, I suspect if Dr Loh visits regularly during labour, he will charge more. I was told in KKH, if wishes gynae to check on and off before delivery, have to pay 1k more.

Baby me : wow I also wan to hv massage. Is yrs natural delivery? Mine CS cannot do! Maybe i just ask her to come n do my breasts. How much one session $120 u said? U help me ask if she can just do boobs massage, same price? The massage during pump - is it is circular from outer to nipple? Or I push in straight lines from outer to inner? and need to use warm compress? Some say need some say no need. Confusing..

Tromso : Cos I pay $6 plus cash. Mine so much cos was natural without epi, then spent charges for dilation of 18 hrs (not even 1cm further dilation despite dr loh powerful hands pried it open) then switch to emergency CS Epi. Epi cannot
go in as I wasnt suitable in that kind of condition so switch to GA, everything got to pay /spent double. I think Faihfully opted for CS at start so pay the standard charges.

Back from kk and happy to see my babies again...their fingers and toes are very obvious now.. Also, gd news that no heart problem. Ask the sonographer for gender, although she dun really want to comment, she hinted that they can be of diff gender...lol.

luv, the cardiac test is arranged due to poor oscar NT result of my baby 2..so at least now we rule out any potential heart related defects..

mc, I see. Eh? I tot u already know chances are it's LFT already? Or did i mix u up with someone else? ;p Congrats on the good test results!

Am I one of those who cannot dilate at all? My mom dun hv this problem. The best is to step into the hosp n u r 8cm dilated! I just pumped for 20min or so and my breasts dun feel empty yet. II'm keeping some for bb to latch later.

Tanny, mine is natural. For natural, it's best to do it asap after delivery. She said some moms after delivery while still staying in hospital will just walk to level 3 to look for her for massage.
For CS, she mentioned can only do it after 3wks. But not sure if can just massage the breast or not. I'll check for you.
Circular followed by straight from outer to inner. Use warm compress before massage.

Luv, yes 24hrs. Only bring her out for feeding n bathing.
It's really heart pain to she her there, some more her skin become very dry n peeling off as the side effect.

haha..luv..i jus wanna confirm, double confirm..

baby me..its really heart pain to see the skin peeling off..hv faith and she won't need the light very soon..

pierced..r u within 1km from Nan Chiau? If yes, that might be another option..bukit timah quite far woh...especially next time hv cca, remedial classes etc

Baby, your baby will soon be well and smiling and cooing at you. Stay positive!

mc, hahah... okay, need to triple confirm again? ;p

MC n Luv, thanks
Tmr last day using that machine, after that will just bring her to suntan.

Tanny, try to sun her everyday. Hopefully it helps to reduce the yellowish.

Luv, i emailed the online shop and they finally replied. Didnt speak to shop assts as i havent gone out shopping.

Tromso, capella website is in korean so i dont know how to navigate. Was hoping someone knew, hee~

But anyway, i finally got reply from the shop!
Here's sharing for those interested in Capella as well.

The 2nd pic with just plain design is the latest. Its the 2012 design. The 1st pic is older design. But both are same S217 model.

The newer design is also slightly higher priced. Both designs can adapt Capella infant car seat to form travel system. The newer design's compatible infant car seat is also slightly higher priced.

Mc, good to hear about your good scan resuts

Baby Me, hope your baby's review tomorrow will be good and no need light and sunning anymore.

Tanny, thanks for sharing, I see why it's that much now. I have a strong feeling may happen to me too cos my mum couldn't deliver naturally too, due to pelvic bone shape and I heard can be hereditary.

Baby Me, the LCs are located on L3? Good idea to start the breast massage after delivery, thanks for the tip

Thanks for the link Luv
Confirms my doubt, I'm just slightly outside 2km for SCGS....needs balloting for yr 2013 P1, so def will be no chance at all for Dragon year. Good to know this now.

Baby me : my Nanny says can use ng khee a Chinese herb buy from Chinese medical hall $2 and put beside baby in the cot. The rest use to bathe baby a few times and jaundice will go off.. Dunno how reliable but u can try if u wan.

Dr Loh says do Malay massage after 1mth as these people can be v strong. So the boob massage is do before pumping? Something like massage 10min, pump 10min, then massage 10min, then pump 10min again? Can u help to ask her the lumps at the arm pit? Dr loh says leave it alone until u stop bf n it's still there.

heartbeats, ic. Are u getting one stroller and one carrier? Which carrier r u thinking of buying?

Baby, where's the massage place? I only see ACJ, TCM and TLC on level 3 leh.

Tromso, any of the schools within 2km / 1km to ur liking?

Tromso - I asked dr loh abt this before and if he can check if my pelvic bone is too small for natural as thats what applied to my frn - her gynae says she has small pelvic structure and cant deliver naturally so she was scheduled for cS. He just brush it off and says that gynae prefers CS as timing is fixed. I dunno how such things can be checked.. But is dilation elated to pelvic bone structure?

I suspect my body is not ready for labour yet so can't react, can't dilate? Only my water bag leaks.. And was then burst by dr loh. But this does not bring on any natural contractions or natural release of muscus plug. Everything was induced by doc - from induced contractions to prying of down there to burst water bag. It's still a mystery to me. *haiz* . I goggled and found that it says that the cervix is not ready yet. But what's important is my little angel is out!
so happy to see her - hv waited some years for her to arrive!

Tanny, well, whatever the reasons, u and baby are safe and sound now. That's what's most important!
And think of the birth story u can tell ur girl in future! Heheh...

Lumps: u need to massage them before expressing. Then during pumping or hand express, massage the lumps towards the areola. That's wat I did to clear them. Clear the moment u feel the lumps. Dub wait till the lumps built up n are hard. More difficult to clear.

Tanny, think u catch dr Loh at the wrong time then! He nv push my qn aside but said quite confidently that he did not think is an issue

Tanny, Dr Loh also told me can't determine pelvic structure unless go for x ray which is not possible cos already pregnant. My mum felt otherwise lol...

Hazel, I also didn't feel dr Loh properly answers my questions sometimes, he is always giving me politically correct/ sit on the fence answers leh....ah well...

To be honest, before this, I didn't know it takes fast dilation + good contractions + auto waterbag bag + muscous plug release etc. before its considered baby is ready to come out or cervix is ready. I've always thought it's a package deal...all happens when 1 is triggered. Now that I see all the challenges face by our forum friends, I'm beginning to feel a bit disheartened

Anyways, it's all predestined, just go in with minimum expectations and may be pleasantly surprised, otherwise will just brush it off with "that's life"...

Just went through with hubby my estimated total costs analysis of 1 bedded vs Premier for both natural birth and csection (factoring in 2 days jaundice treatment), he seemed ok with the costs, that's great
relief....

Tromso, u'll get ur 1-bedder after all!

Dun stress yourself out abt what's gonna happen during labour. Just go with the flow. We can't really control much of the situation in any case. 船到桥头自然直!

Luv, for successful PV, I think there's only CHIJ primary for us if we don't move to live with in-laws in the future.

If move house, think will be Temasek Primary and Red Swastika primary, not sure if these 2 are good schools but they were amongst those that require balloting in Phase 2B.

But I don't think we'll move house for the sake of school or do PV for those uncertain success schools, as I don't terribly mind good neighbourhood schools too

Tromso, think Red Swastika Pri is a good school. But like u said, there are good neighbourhood schools too. So if u're not overly gan cheong, also reduce stress on ur part.

Tromso, maybe dr Loh knows wat I hv been thru so want to put me at ease.. He even knows my hubby's Name! Anyhow, He is also one kind at times... Ignore!

dun worry!!! Most impt is bb is healthy. Watever method bb is born is not impt! Watever pain, if any, u will be going thru is also temporary.

Luv, my simplified calculation actually doesn't review much costs diff betw 1 bedded and premier single, less than 1k, so I guess that's why I passed the test
I think the bulk of the costs diff will be normal vs csection, my simple calc shows about 2.5k diff (not taking into account other unforeseen circumstances). Anyways, can't control this factor, my baby is also quite heavy, so mentally prep to go under the knife already...hmm...

Your hubby is ok with 1 bedded too?

Luv, indeed, no stress for Pri Sch, still sooooo far away. I just like to ponder about the future heee...

Hazel, I'll always tell my hubby what I've learnt in the forum, so I can spread my fears lol...but I guess in a way, he can appreciate more the anxieties and hardship pregnant mummies go through, maybe a bit easier for me to negotiate for things too
Yes, healthy is most important.

waiting...waiting...when is my baby going to say hi to the world...

Tromso, heheh... have briefly mentioned to hubby abt 1-bedded, but haven't seriously confirmed yet. Prob nearer the date lah.

I chose premier cos the companion bed/ seater is slightly bigger (my hubby is bigger size).

I wonder how to engage a maid w/o going thru an agent? Or better to thru an agent? It's a referral by my frn's maid that this maid is good but I have yet to interview her. Not sure how reliable. But my frn's maid is very good she said.