(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hi Joanne, you mentioned you would like to do photoshoot of your babies before you were discharged. Did you manage to do that?

btw what are their names

Hi Luv, not sure if you already know the price of Manduca, saw you asking yesterday. If I recall correctly, it's $280. As Ergo is about $180, I was considering Ergo then since comfort may just be slightly diff and may not be end up using much in the end, it's all a bit of wildcard. But we'll try out first when baby is born then decide.

Hi tromso, her poo still grennish color. Dr say she must poo more so that she will poo out the jaundice. Nw that. Y hub went bk to work, now left me n mum taking care if bb. I so worry I dnt kw I can handle her well. I mean I can't rely on my mum cos one day I will be alone with her to take care. I hv to learn hw to be independent. Hub is supportive he continue to stay st my mum Hse for awhile. I try to learn along the way and Play by ear. Nw my body feel arching and my bk will ache if I bend to long. I also feel heaty nt like fever inside my body. Like I can feel her bf and I sweat... My boob also sweat wearing the bra.

Hi Faithfully,
as long as your baby is drinking well and poo and pee regularly, Im sure she will put on weight gradually in time. I think it's normal to feel as if heaty and sweat a lot. I also sweat a lot during my #1 confinement. esp when u bf, and everywhere is sweat. I felt so messy and horrible.
very uncomfortable but in a way, your body is releasing energy so can lose weight faster too.
Try not to get chilled at this time coz my mum said because our pores are all opened up at this time, we feel very hot so some tend not to bother.

Faithfully, I see, so as long as jaundice still inside system, poo will be greenish. I was benchmarking against the tmc book which notes the transition fr black to green to yellow poos in baby
Thanks for sharing, learn new things everyday.

Don't worry too much, rest well for your confinement, you can pick up the know-how's fr your mum after that. If you are going back to work after that, still have 2-3 mths to learn for her, I'm sure you'll get the hang of it.

For my sis, she had a very well rested confinement, used to get sick very easier prior to pregnancy. Now, her health is superb, like what she says to us and she attributed it to her good confinement rest.

Hi bb shower, for myself, I've been self medicating...heh... Cos if it's not too serious, I'll just take very low med dosage from home supplies and try to rest plenty, usually will recover quite fast. Only time I saw dr was suspected UTI.

Are you feeling quite ill?

bbshower, i visit the normal GP unless it's something important. Just let the doctor know you are pregnant so they know what kind of medication to give u. And you can always email gynae to confirm the medication you are taking.

Tromso, I agree, thankfully i had a good confinement all thanks to my mum too. She really made sure i ate well, have lots of rest, esp will nag me to sleep while bb is sleeping, her thought is that don't watch tv, surf net when free coz I will not be getting enough rest.
At first, thought she very naggy and strict, but come to think of it, very important too.
My cousin was sharing with me that she can feel the difference if she didnt have a good rest. For her next pregnancy, she really felt a difference, body, womb etc. so she was saying she regretted not doing confinement for #1 well, so she suffered for next one.

Oh, but if it's just a mild headache or fever like tromso said, i just self medicate unless i need mc for that day.
Taking normal panadol is ok.

oh, sorry, just saw you were asking abt GP versus gynae. For myself, I went for GP first. Then when I didn't get better, I went to gynae. But with GP's med, I email my gynae to confirm it's safe for pregnancy use.

Hi tanny, faithfully n bb
I know how tiring u r.. As i have two.. More more busy.. No time to do other things.. Hv to sleep when bb sleep else no energy.. Want to do some photo montage for my bbies coming full mth party oso no time n energy.. Same as bb, i prefer latch as pump will hv sore nipples n i feel it dun really empty my breast well.. Is 20min really enough to empty?
I wake up an hr plus to breast feed both n lucky only once as i tell cl to make fm before n after so i can sleep well.. Else i sure panda.. I cant imagine take care both at night after cl left next wk.. Pray hard i can manage n wun fall sick due to lack of sleep.. Bec if i fall sick, who take care them.. How i wish they can sleep thru the night or drag their timing for each feed longer too but how?? If they drinking 70ml now, i cant possibly increase to 100ml at 11pm right? How can they swallow all..

Hi baby
Wah.. I thot u using nadia who cost half price cheaper than ur massage lady but if she gd then ok.. Btw, am curious what is breast shell abt? I always use breast pad n notice it getting heavier when i change it everyday... Waste so much milk.. N wonder changing breast pad once daily is it too unhygenic? Any thots gals?

Hi tromso
Hows ur checkup? Soon will be ur turn n heed all ladies advise who just pop, u need to sleep more now when u can..;) btw, i check with doc Ong yesterday, 6 in 1 jab cost around $190 per jab include consultant price...

Pierced, very true. I was chatting with the lady at medicinal shop other day and she said she's quite surprised I'm getting confinement supplies on my own and asking lotsa questions, instead of getting someone else to buy, since many first time mummies will just ching ching cai cai for confinement then come second pregnancy, got very concerned and came down in person to get the confinement supplies. Said many of these mummies didn't get good rest/ bu for first confinement hence became more determined to 'take matters into own hands'.

Actually I'm asking lotsa questions cos my mum isn't too proficient with confinement taboos but excellent with baby care. She also advocates plenty of rest during confinement and took over most chores fr my sis, very appreciative of my mum's efforts.

Couple weeks back when I was at my tcm dr clinic. This lady came in looking very pale and frail, all wrapped up tightly and jumped the queue to became the first patient. Then I thought maybe she just had a mc (hv seen few cases at the clinic and usu these patients get absolute priority). Turned out that she has just completed her confinement and was a rather badly done one
Hence she was there to tiao her body back. Was quite a shock to me as she looked very frail, contrary to what I know of post confinement mummies. That was a wake up call for me defifinitely.

I guess we just try our best and try to rest plenty as the journey will be a pretty long one and without avgood health, the 'battle' may feel like a slightly more uphill one. Keep being positive and take good care of ourselves first before we can be good caregivers to our babies

Congrats to all sisters who just gave birth

to those who are giving birth in TCM, is it worthwhile to apply for the FBI card? life long membership?

and do anyone know how much does the oscar test cost in TCM?

Thanks gal m just starting to ve very bad headache n just trying to endure it. Think my ms is just starting Hao xinku.... Really feel that all mummys r so brave, being pregnant is a really tough journey... If I really cannot endure the pain I will just poke a panadol in.

Chevy I ve not gone for my u/s yet will be nx week.

Coolangel, in fact i hear from some mummies in my Feb thread that detailed scan can be done from 16 weeks onwards! I always tot it must be 20 weeks. 22 weeks sounds a little late. Why did ur doc arrange it in that week?

Baby, i haven't used breast shells b4, but i did some googling and found these instructions from a website which made sense. See if they're useful to you: Only milk collected whilst feeding or expressing should be stored for later use. It is recommended not to wear breast shells for longer than 40 minutes at a time as they may cause undue pressure on the milk ducts.

Tromso, thanks, I did find out the price of Manduca. The basic ones are abt $250, limited ed ones abt $280. Quite a hefty investment.

bbshower, u're not feeling well? Previously i was quite kiasu and went straight to gynae. But perhaps going to GP is actually fine too like the rest said cos they'd usually know what meds are safe for preggers.

bruno, u can go to the FBI counter at TMC and enquire on the benefits. They'll show u the list of benefits. Depends on whether u think u'll utilise the benefits and "earn" back the membership fee.
I wish it's lifelong membership too! It's for 2yr membership. Can get 5% discount on ur OSCAR n detailed scan. So get ur card b4 then if u want.

OSCAR + detailed scan comes in package at ard $450. Not sure of the individual price.

Joanne, I change my breastpads regularly on a daily basis, not just once. as long as if there's milk and full, i change. don't wear it too long as there might be bacteria breeding as it is milk. I quite kiasu coz i latch on and it might not be so hygienic.

Baby, what brand of breast shells u get? have never tried it before, come to think of it, if beginning i latch and the other side, i dont pump, good to collect my bm.

Tromso, hee i went to the tcm dr yest and there was a long q of patients. but i like the dr and she was very nice. Gave me the herbs to tiao.
Ask u, how do you strain off the herbs after boiling? forgot to ask whether can we put all the herbs into a bag and boil like those tea bags kind?

BTW, heard from a mummy in my sep thread that TMC is so crowded all the time.
she went in for ctg yesterday and there were so many mummies waiting to give birth. plus there was even one who had water bag burst but had to sit at sofa at lift lobby to wait for ward.
And she didnt get into the delivery ward till like 6 hrs later.
Omg! so packed as that!

Luv ya I m starting to feel very unwell n uncomfortable. So dunnoe can endure how long. Because m with kkh I dun ve direct contact with my gynae. Do you gals actually ve direct contact details like email with your gynae? Realise alot of you r with Dr Loh.

Luv, ya! so scary, seriously wondering is it just dragon year or because TMC is getting overcrowded??

Angel, thanks! looks interesting! might get it to try out and see how it goes.

bbshower, yup we have the email for Dr Loh. But in KK, i think some gynaes also give out emails for you to contact?

Hi Bruno, if you are going for the tmc prenatal classes plus packaged deal Oscar Detailed scan, the discounts fr these 2 should cover the mbrship fee, if I remember correctly. Do check the link for more details

Luv, indeed, I was very hesitant spending $200+ for an item many parents bought ended up not using. Was chatting with gf and she said her pregnancies costs her about 10k on avg (couple years back) and mine including first mth confinement, I'm estimating $17k
Although, I have a friend non-IVF mummy, singleton, spent 25k up to confinement completion. Sigh....we need more assistance fr govt...!!

I compared a gf's Gleneagles delivery costs 3-4 yrs ago with current TMC costs, quite a lot of difference....

Angel, interesting gadget. Wonder if we can pump n breast feed at the same time? Hmmm

Bbshower, how are you feeling? From my experience, Dr Loh told me can take the normal panadol (abt 6per day). But cannot take panadol Max or flu. Are you still drinking LRD tea? If yes, maybe you can reduce the intake n drik at least 2litres of water per day. Rest as much as you can. If still feels unwell, then better to see a doc.

bbshower, i've been to see 2 private gynaes. I have the email for one of them. So sometimes I'll email her to check sthg too. Think it's a bit more reassuring to know u can contact ur doc when u have questions. Alternatively, u can call up KK and see if u can get the nurse to help u check with doc abt ur query?

pierced, i hope it's not the latter reason! If it is, then they really need to look at their booking system! Not very fair to overbook beyond their capacity right...

Tromso, must be more ex now at TMC than at Glene prev? But i think Gleneagles' cost wld also have risen! My old gynae's fees have also risen by a LOT in the past few years, faintz!

Babyjourney nope I no longer taking LRD le. Only start from ytd I start having bad headache. Usually is only feel hungry. N btw does all of you felt extremely warm hot on your body? Does our temp rises during pregnancy? 1st trimester seems so long isit after 1st trimester everythg will be okay?

Babyjourney, pumping and latching at the same time? it will be quite a handful to do as one side baby, and you have to handle the pump on the other side.

Luv,tromso, ya everything is rising! costs of delivery also rising.

Was reading the papers about the quaruplets birth yesterday, can faint when I saw the amount they have to fork out for hospital bills plus gynae bill. imagine just 23k for the gynae.

I do hope it's not because of overbooking! but i wonder how do they manage their bookings also. everything just say first come first serve.

bbshower, our body temp tends to be higher while preggie. It's normal, but of course, shldn't be high until like u're having a fever. If fever, still need to take care and seek medical help.

Nothing is certain till we have baby in our arms of course, but after 1st tri, risk of miscarriage is greatly reduced. And hopefully MS will be gone and can truly start to enjoy pregnancy then.

Bbjourney, I ever thought of trying pumping and latching at same time, then realised a bit too ambitious. LOL. But I did hear some ladies trying this out b4 and this helped to increase their BM supply.

But in the end, I just latched baby on one side n put a hanky below the side where I'm not latching on yet to catch any leaks. But now that I've heard abt these breast shells, shall consider getting them.

Hi Pierced, all the best to your scan today
For the herbs, I'm using a herb brewing pot which has a narrow spout with strainer, so out came the liquids only. If you are using normal soup non-metal pot, maybe can put a stainer on the bowl before pouring out? You went to the NTU or Upper Cross clinic?

Good idea about using the breast shells on 1 breast whilst other is being latched on. I read that can't have the breastbshells on for too long, may breed bacteria.

Bbshower, I had migraines during my first trimester, have not had it for years prior
Panadols didn't help at all, then I found out the trigger, it's bright light and glares, so I attempted to avoid these e.g. reduced contrast/ brightness on tv, kept my rooms dim, etc. Although migraine didn't go away until I informed my TCM dr and altered the an tai yao, migraine completely gone after I've taken my 2nd dosage, amen!! Hence, you may like to take note of your headache trigger/s too and if already taking an tai yao, def do inform your TCM dr about it. Hope you'll get better soon

Bbshower, yes your body temp will rise after bfp. I think its normal to get headache during first trim as i did get it too. I think it could be due to the weather recently too as It seems to be getting hotter this week n this could lead to headache as well.
To me, every trimester seems long... Hahahah... There is no gurantee that MS or headaches or other syptoms will go away once u hit 2nd trimester. Some are lucky w no syptoms at all, whereas some may hv e syptoms longer than others. Just try to relax n enjoy the pregnancy (easier said than done) :p

Hi Baby journey, cash outlay 17k is IVF to end of confinement, includes dr Zou acupuncture, excludes the medisave components. I did my IVF at KKH, I didn't hire CL or maid and I've not taken up cordblood banking.

You did your IVF at TFC right, so estimated should be slightly higher than this amount?

But I've also had an tai yao all the way plus spent quite a bit on Bu too.

Tromso, my ivf cycle alone already costs 17k liao. :p. Have not factor in the accupunture, an tai yao, gynea visit, resort stays, confinement n cl. Faintz...

Haha babyjourney Gd then I shall not worry becoz my size is not big too:p

Seems like everyone is taking tcm an tai Yao. Isit a must to take? Because I m not taking any tcm medication.

Tromso. Thanks! Ah, yup he pot u bought from the shop right. Think I just use a strainer then, don't think will affect the herbs. Hee... I went down to the upp cross clinic.

Just realised Avent also has breastshells, can go check out.
Previously only used breast pads so the milk on the other side wasted.

Oh ya, did any of u donated or plan to donate your cord blood?
I intend to talk to Dr Loh about it. Nearly forgotten about this and have to start arranging with scbb to come down and process.

Bb shower, size don't matter when breastfeeding, depends on indiv the amount of milk. My gf was small too but she had lots of milk. For me, small but still manage to fully bf my gal, supply just enough, haha!

I didn't take an tai Yao too during first tri as I wasn't on Tcm medication.

Pierced if can donate cord blood I think it's good I will do it too. Can cord blood be stored too in case ourself or our baby need it?

Bbjourney, I'm not even bothering to go and tally my expenses!! LOL. Too traumatising! ;p

None of you ladies considering private cord blood banking?

Angel, did u buy the milk saver pouch? Did it look like it wld work? Wonder what material it's made of.

pierced, the Avent breast shells are disposable right? The one that Angel shared seems to be reusable after sterilising. Let me know which u decide to get in the end, if any?

Bb shower, don't have to take an tai yao de
Actually only a couple of us taking here. For me, it's just precautional at the start, then ended up my 2nd trimester wasn't too smooth so I continued on. Many schools of thots re TCM, so don't be pressurized to take it

Baby journey, if you deduct 6k medisav, it's not that bad...my KKH IVF is about 7-8k inc medisave, def hoping can conceive naturally for number 2.

Pierced, indeed, my gf's Gleneagales costs is lower, about 4k Inc medisave, includes 2 days jaudices treatment, natural birth, 2 bedder. Looks very inexpensive hor!! 3 years ago.

Seriously, with the bed situation at TMC, I'm expecting no single delux when it's my turn. We've checked the single premier rate, about $100 more pricey, so may opt for this. My sis stayed in 2 bedder previously, was a nightmare. The air con was turned up and down every 1-2 hrs cos some liked it warm (when baby is brought into the ward esp) some liked it cold. My sis has lotsa visitors too, so I'm afraid I'll end up with a neighbour like her too....lol...

Pierced, initially I wanted to donate my cord blood but my hubby wants to do "private banking". Thus we signed up with Cordlife during the Pregnancy Made Easy Seminar.

Luv, I didn't get it then as I was unsure if I really need it or not. But I think it's a really good gadget.

Bb shower, I was told that cord blood can be used for immediate family - parents & siblings..there are certain criteria to meet for a good match, even if blood group is different within the family. For the baby itself, it's 100% match of course.

Re: donation of cord blood. U need to fill up some documents first b4 u deliver. U can call up cord blood bank to arrange for them to meet u at ur gynae plc on ur nx visit.nif ur cord blood is accepted, they will store it n in the event that ur bb needs it, n it is still available, n the pd is ok to use the cord blood, they will release it to u for ur usage.
However, pls note that not all cord blood donated will be saved cux they ve v stringent criteria. I think my cord blood has been rejected by them as they ve not called me since delivery..

For mummies, who do not intend to bank cord blood, do consider donating it. It cost u nothing n will just need 20 min of ur time for cord blood bank officers to explain the procedure to u in detail. A small gesture may potentially save another life..

Angel, I'm also thinking of storing with Cordlife again. In fact, I hear that it may be even more useful to use a sibling's cord blood rather than one's own if *touch wood* there was an inherent "defect" in one's cord blood, so using sibling's cord blood wld be more effective in such cases.