(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Hazel, heh...I used to do the same as you, take cordyceps in the morning, wait about 1 hr than take breakfast, but since 3rd trimester, I just get sooooo hungry in the mornings
So switched to post midnight shift lol.... Good to take once a week is it, ok, I'll try that too

Heartbeats, if you don't have those electric double boiler clay/ earth pots, I THINK can also use the stainless steel pot but leave the ingredients in a ceramic boil and slow boil for 3 hrs (like steaming). If you have a double boiler, still need to put ingredients in a ceramic bowl and brew over water. I'm using those specialized herbs brewing pot which has separate 'bowl' in it already (removable) and it's very good for brewing herbs, cordyceps, bird nests. Will auto switch to warm mode after 3 hrs for cordyceps, 2hrs for bird nests, etc. Water doesn't dry up completely. Same goes for using those electric double boiler.

For stainless steel pot with ceramic bowl, will have to watch the water level, to prevent drying up. Be careful when you open the lid to top up water, as the vapor water accumulated on the lid shouldn't flow back into the cordyceps bowl. This will make the brew becomes 'liang', same theory for brewing any Bu stuffs.

Actually I'm also not 100% sure about using stainless steel pot plus ceramic bowl, if this will waste the essence. Hazel, what do you think?

Hazel, wow, very good service from them! belle can start trying it out tonight already!

Tromso, I didn't drink Dom at all, those wines that were given to me, I gave away to others. I only ate ginger and homemade rice wine in my food that has been cooked.
Jaundice is at the beginning when bb liver not mature enough so if 1 or 2 wks time, they should be better.
Depends on what u feel comfortable with I guess if u think u want to really avoid, then don't add it in. Or in very little Quantities.
For me, I don't mind eating all this confinement food stuff and my mum read up that each specific ingredients in the cooking is good for the mum for something, there's a reason why eat certain things. Haha, she bought those confinement bibles for #1.

As for red date drink, not necess have to put ginger everyday right? My mum put in but not all the time and she alternate between red dates, what they call blue dates and black dates. The ones have smokey flavour in the drink.

Luv, yeah!! You've conquered your an tai yao monster
Baby steps....

I just ask my hubby to do the brewing cos I couldn't even stand the sight of the herbs, especially in first trimester, I would hide in the bedroom throughout the brewing duration otherwise the smell will cause quite a bit of nausea.

Thanks, I'll check out Kiddy Palace

My sis has many bb clothes cos her SIL works in Carters. During employee sale, it's only $1 per piece, so the SIL alone has contributed to more than 100 Caters clothes to her collection. I really like the dresses

Tromso, where did u buy the Carters hankies?
I have some but I realised they are very small which I don't like. Seems so difficult to use if so tiny. And the market types which I bought as well are slightly bigger but material wise not the same.
Same as u, I have plenty of Carters rompers! My hub bought from Bandung factory outlet when he recently went there. I just kept quiet and kept all coz I won't be using so many of the rompers, esp if #2 can guai guai use cloth nappies as well. I cannot make noise otherwise next time he won't get anything at all.

Thanks Tromso, think i will just go get an electric double broiler!

Kikigal, suck sweet or small biscuits, i lived on that during my car rides.

Tromso, it's not surprising as most big insurance companies here are just local offices of parent companies from the USA, UK and Europe. In terms of underwriting standards, I believe they normally have to abide by their corporate standards unless there are sufficient statistics and reliable studies to prove otherwise.

It is possible that SG insurers might also follow closely to the underwriting practice by foreign insurers (the majority) or if not the former might get the "bad" risks.

The above are just my thoughts.

Tromso, mine is powder form in packets. So much easier, heheh... It's my psychological barrier that stopped me from drinking it.

Lucky you then to have access to so many Carters baby clothes! Agree some are really very cute!

I think is the food effects of cordecypts, belle is quite strong. Her daddy sick a few times n we sleep in aircon room together. Can be on our bed also. She nv catch it fr her Daddy so far. Now at 5 mths, she can stand on the floor supports f part of her weight when we carry her upright under the arm.

Heartbeats, just go ahead with whatever works for you and won't cause too much troubles
With extra info, just take them as knowledge building for future use, if ever needed
I have quite some time on my hand, so will normally try to explore a bit further. I recall during my mid 2nd trimester, had to brew herbs (2-3 times a week), cordyceps, birdnests, was in overdrive then, can go mental lol... Now only take herbs once a week, more manageable indeed.

Pierced, Bundung, I've not been but heard its shopping paradise in cooling climate, A star star location I feel

btw do you know the Spizza at Jalan Kayu (near your home right?) has buy 1 get 2nd pizza at 50% off during lunchtime? If cant finish, can freeze outstanding. I'm hoping to take this with my confinement meals to add variety when time comes

hazel, think i will start boiling the cordyceps up to eat too.

Tromso, me too, but heard a lot of factory outlets too. hub say nice place for short trip to relax. maybe next time can go visit.
So nice to hv so many carters clothing. I used to get 1 big bag of clothes from a friend who's sister works as purchaser. they have free samples of kids clothes. that's how i got a lot of carters' etc for #1. but not no more. i like the side snap tees but when i bought online, only 3mths size. no bigger.

I like their girl's sunsuits too, i used to get them for Megan when she's younger.

Spizza have 1 for 1? i didnt know that. That's nice! can try it out sometime. Frozen pizzas here no nice, i only buy the Dr Oetkler brand which is thin crust.
Speaking of pizzas, besides Spizza, where else can we go eat nice thin crust pizzas? i missed the ones in Italy. Yum yum.

Luv, threw everything out? Your ms sounds quite serious hor...hang in there...hope will get better as 2nd trimester approaches. You were quering if an tai yao changes as we progress. Answer is yes. For my case, when pregnancy has stabilized by 2nd trimester, the special an tai yao component was not added to the mix (that's the one which makes it all so bitter, called Ah Jiao if I'm not wrong). But I had low amniotic fluid mid 2nd trimester, so it was added back

Then in first trimester, my migraine was very terrible, I informed my tcm dr and after taking the revised herbs 2nd time, migraine completely gone lol...like magic, was a life saviour
my gf was saying to me that was due to qi xue not sufficient, puzzles me what that is. Also upon examination, if tcm dr reckons you have bad indigestions, excess thirst (indicates deficiency in kidney/ liver I think), etc, will alter concoction too. I usually joint down a list of my 'problems' and share during consultations. So far, the herbs have been spot on in reducing the problems. So you may like to notify your tcm dr about any discomforts

Pierced, my whole box of Carter's clothes came 2 days ago fr USA! 6,9,12 & 18 mths! Americans blur like sotong! Pack a few duplicates some more! Ie extra pcs!

Tromso, yeah, seemed like everything came back out.
That's why i'm also hesitant to go see the TCM doc. See already also cannot take the meds. Like waste $$. Maybe after MS stops I'll go again.

Hazel, then you "zhuan" dao ah? Got extra pcs?

Pierced, thanks for your advice on Dom. I think I'll skip it too, don't feel at ease about it at all. Wow, your mummy is genius
My mum only ace at babycare, not herbs, hence I've been asking around about post delivery herbs, big sweats!! Was recently made aware that there is this shop at Kovan that does the red dates drink pack for daily usage, I'll probably go with it since there seems to be so many items that goes with the drink.

The black dates you referred to, is it 南枣? I was told this is better than avg black dates and I'm still looking for it. Hock Hwa doesn't carry it, hope the Kovan shop does. btw, what's the purpose of alternating the blue dates and black dates? I was told the components in the red dates drink differs fr week 1 and 2, my guess is it's due to mensus flow.

Carter's hanky...I'm outside now, will take a pix and show you tonight. It's a gift fr friend, bought online Carter's.

Ginger, I dunno leh...I think I'll add 1 piece to 1 day's worth of red dates drinks, but guess I'll confirm with the Kovan first.

Agree, normal frozen pizza bought fr supermkt just doesn't cut it
I usually buy the freshly made ones and freeze the outstanding
I like Pasta Fresca's pizza, the capriciossa has pungent anchovies in it, and lotsa black olives, fondly reminds my of Oz days

hazel, wow! still have extra,really lucky! hee...how come mine didnt have? i ordered some sometime ago too, bigger sizes, and their sales seems to be getting cheaper and cheaper so tempting.

tromso, no la, not genius, just that she did confinement for me so go buy confinement cook books to read up on what to cook etc, she believed that very important to eat well too esp since i was going to bf too.

Yup, i think that's the chinese word for the dates. more expensive than average dates too! Let me check with my mum later and whatsapp u also about all the diff reasons for the dates. hee...
i guess something to do with that, like beginnning no tang guei etc till dunno which day.
even like pig trotters vinegar also got reason,

She got everything from the Si ma lu shops above, not from Hockhua previously.

pizzas...haha now set me craving for them!
my friends reco this place at Jalan Riang near Serangoon a newly opened pizza place. havent got down to checking it out yet though. La Pizzaiola.
hopefully they have good pizzas too.

Tromso, TCM can improve amniotic fluid level? Wow. Which TCM prescribe you? I am not on TCM now but keep getting paranoid about my AFI so will begood to know. They say if bb movements alot means fluid is sufficient. Recently since i started lying on my sides i felt lesser movements so getting worried again. Sometimes can feel squirming thou esp when both bb at same side of womb, my womb will have a higher and harder bump on 1 side. Had to resort to use doppler. Luckily tomorrow is detail scan again, can check for progress again.

Talking about pizza, i drooling liao. I like hawaiian but now cant eat right? Cos got pineapples.

Amniotic level - it is an outcome of bb drinking the liquid to get nutrients n peeing. Ie bb's input n output set the level. If bb is growing well, level will be good bearing unforeseen issues like breakage in water bag causing the liquid to leak.

So unless tcm med promotes general well being of unborn child, if not It does not help in the amniotic level.

heartbeats, urs tomorrow is at KK for detailed scan.

Tomorrow is my next appt with Dr Loh. hope to hear gd news about bb's weight gain. but this 2 days, she is very lazy too, hardly feel her move as much. previously, was busy kicking my sides the whole time. so i kept monitoring her to make sure she move today.

Oscar scan results not fantastic...baby one is ok but baby 2 is 1:245 which falls below kk cut off line... shld i seek help from Camden? whr is it and who shld i look for? any idea on the cost?

Pierced, ya tomorrow 3rd detailed scan. Actually i also dont know is it detailed scan but it comes with all the measurements so i guess so?

MC, dont worry too much. normally Oscar for twins is not accurate. I m not sure abt the cost. Camden medical center address: One Orchard Boulevard, Singapore 248649. Look for Dr Chinnaiya Anandakumar.

MC, dun worry too much. Like what luv says, it's statistics. Not diagonstic. Everything will be fine

Luv, KK's cut off is 1:351

heartbeats, yes, you can replace the parts that have contact with your skin. Only thing is your pump won't be under warranty, but shld be okay if u dun mind.

Oh ya Luv, i forgot about warranty! But guess should be ok, at most buy new set since i had planned to buy anyway. Thanks for the reminder!

heartbeats, warranty only matters in the event that it is spoilt. In any case, you've saved a big sum with the hand-me-down pump!

Tromso and all who intend to get dr ong as pd... He juz smiled when I ask for group discount!!!!! My gal is seeing him again end of this mth I will b persistent haha... Tromso, dr ong remembers u....

Angel and tanny, good day is at row 3 (count from the 'Malay stalls). They have beef horfun, fish horfun, xin Zhou mifen, fried rice

Heartbeat, I don't really sun the pillow regularly. I recently took out the old one I stuffed in the drawer for 4 yrs and it was still good. Haha! Was afraid there might be tiny insects in there so my mum took out the casing and look at the husks but seems ok.
Anyway she took some more new bean husks from the bean seller and sun it recently. It's so cheap! The seller gave her FOC so only need to sew the case and the cover for it. Now I have a few that she made into pillow and bolster

It's ok to have hand me down, if u feel uncomfortable, just change the parts. I got a double pump from my friend too , even though I have a single one. Anyway just put it aside in case I want to use.

luv: i threw up all my an tai yao. stop taking for a week liao. expensive leh the an tai yao.

ladies, can i know nursing bra will keeep changing sizes everymonth. saw some selling at such expensive price, buy also dunno wether can wear for how many weeks

mc: don't worry.all will be fine. did yr gynea ask for any folllow up actions?

Thanks Luv and Pierced! Maybe i will just sun the pillow once a month then. The hand me down pump i havent decided whether to take but since my friend offered to give, i may just accept it first then buy the spare parts. If i do get my own set then maybe 1 set use at home, 1 set use at office. Thanks for your views!

Bruno, expensive prices? I am checking out the BP threads, about $15to $20 seems ok leh. I thinking to get those without clasp and underwire and cotton material so can wear to sleep. Have you checked nursing wear? That one more headache to me, thinking to get dresses in case csection but then sure 'zhao gen'

MC, hope you are not to distressed. Oscar not accurate one. What pulled down the bb score - NT or nasal bone? If you really worried can do the camden scan.

hey heartbeats: i just saw the BP thread, the one previously i saw was a shop selling maternity stuff. do i buy the size that suit me now or should i buy bigger sizes?
nursing wear i will go for dresses, easier to manage and not hot.

Bruno, I got mine from the bp threads too. Get the size u Re wearing now if u intend to start wearing. Coz u will find them tight. If grow tighter, u can always use the bra extensions, that's what I'm doing. Normally by 3rd tri, size is quite stable. So if u fear cannot wear, just get few to wear for now. I got the non- underwire kind, coz i find that the wire cuts into me. Some also mention better not to wear wired to avoid blocked ducts.

Bruno, the ones i eyeing no bra clasp and free size. But if i am getting the clasp ones, i will either get 1 size bigger (in case engorgement?) or current size with extension hooks like what Pierce suggested. Either way, i wont go for underwire cos we still need wear to sleep with nursing pads else imagine leaking in the middle of the night, very messy.

Oh maternity shops one definitely expensive. Can invest in 1 good piece for going out but for home wear, i will go for the cheaper ones from sprees.

Mc, dun worry abt the results. My fren who had twins also was told one of the twin mayb down syndrome. She was so stressed abt it but they did not plan to do anything abt it. In e end, both turn out normal. It's all abt stats. Go n do e scan at Camden for peace of mind.

Pierced, I've tried tt restaurant a few times n it's very authentic Italian n it's very reasonable priced, def cheaper than Spizza! Go during lunch time as somehow they r more generous with e serving. Dinner need to make reservations esp during weekends. Yum yum! Oh, there's this shop at Fernvale Point tt sells diapers slightly cheaper than elsewhere, did u check it out?

hi ladies...thanks for yr encouragement.

kk cut off is 300 as told by the doctor. went for the counselling and was told if i do the amonic test, the risk of miscarriage is 1:50 for twins, even higher than the Down risk, so this option is out. Was arrange to go for heartbeat test 2 wks later and detailed scan at wk20. Will seek dr tan advice when i see him next wk.

Will call Camden later to make an appt. The neck thickness pulled the score down..but thickness will change will the bb grow right?

kiki gal..cos my low score for baby2...they wanna ensure no heart problem so hv this test lor...since yr score is ok, no need worry..;-)...btw, wat is yr score?

haizz, twins preg really more complicated especially for old age ppl like me...

Hi Juvi, where is this authentic pizza place you mentioned? Drooling....

I have this email fr Spizza that entitles to 50% off 2nd pizza for delivery only. So works out to be abt $17 each I guess. If you are interested or Pierced or anyone, lmk

Pierced, can get foc husks fr bean seller? sweet
Any wet market bean seller will have husks?

Heartbeats, due to hygiene reason, I'm gonna try out natural latex beanie (latex pellets inside). I've bought 2 fr Robinsons Babysafe brand, $30+ before discount. For my sis, she has switched fr husks beanie to styroform ones. She bought styroform for beanbags use and got my mum to make into beanies. Another consideration we had was beads then.

This is because we are afraid when kid is sick, the saliva on husks beanies may recycle the germs whilsts say for natural latex pellets, it's anti bacteria nature should prevent this. Cos at 1 stage when niece was sick for a while, we had to wash all toys, beddings and thought the most personal item for her is husks beanie, unsure if it's breeding germs/ bacteria, passing illness back to her and slowing down her recovery. Hence our extra efforts are just precautionary measures, not sure if indeed better than husks beanies. Just another option out there...FYI.

Heartbeats, for nursing bras, my breast only increased in size once in first trimester, fr B to C, so I'm still using the bras I've bought then. I bought a few Wacoal firm cup wireless bra for wearing outdoors, unfortunately largest is 85C and I still put extensions cos I can't stand it tight. I also bought 4 nursing bras, slightly larger than current size to cater for further breast 'growth' during bf, all wireless.

If you buy during expo fairs, can try the fit, I feel it's safer than buying online as the cup size may differ with brands. Once you are happy with that brand, then can order online. I got mine fr Autumnz at expo, they sell online too. The one that Pierced (link) looks very good too

Hi Bruno and Heartbeats, I've been wearing dress type sleeping wear for very long now. To prevent 'exposure' like 1 of you say (lol...I agree esp in hospital), I wear my non-waistband 3 quarter yoga pants to sleep too. Cos otherwise with the bolster, the dress will come right up to the waist and exposure the back and tummy to coldness. I further put towel to my tummy to keep it warm and to help keep dress in place...

But it's true that it's warming with additional pants on

Catherine, sure Dr Ong remembers me? wow, he has good memories then. Ok, nxt time I see him, will also tease him
about group discounts heee...I guess if he doesn't yield, at least he may think twice before rising his prices in the future...maybe?? lol...

Juvi, Oh u have tried that pizza place already. ok, that's the next one I will have on my list to try out. and it's nearby our places too.

Cheap diaper shop at fernvale point? probably the medical hall there. their stuff are quite cheap for some things. Havent really check out yet since not needing any diapers yet. hee...

Tromso, think Juvi is talking about the pizza place i was mentioning earlier, it's at Jalan Riang, called La Pizzaiola, it's at serangoon park just behind Nex.
There's a few eateries there now. if you like desserts and chocs, can try out Wimbly Lu. Nice place.

Yup, can get it free from the seller. My mum just went to the market to ask and he gave her a very big bag full of it. Only thing is if u DIY, gotta pick out the bean sprouts from it too coz it's not exactly just husks. Then after that, my mum put it in the sun to dry it plus use fan to air it.
so they have latex beanies too? nice. but anyway, my beanie pillow is normally just for the beginning to put on the tummy. I don't really use the pillow otherwise. Didnt encourage my #1 to sleep with pillows, bolsters from the start coz was afraid she might suffocate.