(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Luv, yup, already now I'm dealing with her whining and attention seeking these 2 wks. Enough to test my patience! ESP coz I just started her on a longer enrichment prog in sch and she started her whining on not wanting to go school last week and tearing. I feel so bad and she look so ke Lian.
Think after today's hol, she's going to start again tomorrow.

pierced, my gal also plays "deh" and says she doesn't wanna go to school sometimes. But we always stay firm and make her go as long as she's not sick. Can't give in to them as I'm sure u know, or else they'll really make a fuss every day, heheh..

I actually placed my gal in childcare when she was 2.5yo, thinking that when #2 comes, it'll be easier cos she'd have had enuf time to adjust and it'll be easier taking care of a baby at home rather than a baby AND a toddler. Who knew that #2 would take so long to come? My gal wld be out of preschool b4 #2 goes in! Anyway, no regrets abt sending my gal into CC earlier cos at least she gets social interaction with her peers there. Otherwise it's all adults at home.

Hee, Yup, won't give in to her, she's always like that at the start of something new. She was like that in nursery, beginning ok, started crying only 2nd wk, aft that settled in. Beginning of yr for K1 was ok, just that now mid yr I put her in extra class so she comes back later, start all over again. Have to wait for her to settle down again these few wks.
Was thinking better start bef #2 comes otherwise she will think we don't want her round anymore.

pierced, good move! Yeah, gotta handle the transition for #1 well too. I remember being jealous and even resentful of my little bro when he was first born, hahah...

Ya man that's why I gotta be zen-like and not lose patience with her now. But it's really diff esp she in the stage of testing ur limits now. I just really hope it's what they say the whiny stage when they know they are going to be sharing attention from now on. Worse than her terrible 2s and 3s I must say. Hehe

Serious about being jealous? That's why I was telling my my about getting gifts from her baby sis, involving her etc, my mum was surprised coz she said she didn't have any difficulty with me,when my little bro was born. I even went announcing to everyone etc.

pierced, how old were u when ur sibling was born?
I was five. Was used to being an only child and having all attention on me then. Well, my jealousy and resentment lasted for a grand total of one day or so lah... Saw that he was so cute and relented, hahah... Even became very protective of him in primary school!

Actually i'm not sure how much my gal understands that there's a baby on the way. She seems to understand at times but I really donno... hahah.. Think when my tummy shows then she might show more recognition and understanding.

Thanks Juvi!

Thanks Tromso for the sharing. Looks like after meals, your princess like to slowly enjoy! Mine enjoys when i eat chocolate cake after dinner.

Luv, I'm using P.S. I Love You photography. It's probably the cheapest amongst the pro maternity/ NB/ family photography service and fr what I can see fr various websites, P.S. does an equally great job. Indeed, cannot anyhow spend now... Actually I just wanted 2 pix to hang on wall (I know the poses I'm after) but no one wants to do it, so no choice, have to take package.

Pierced, scary how you said older kids are worse than terrible 2s and 3s....but it's never an easy job I guess, I guess will be equally or even more challenging when they reach teenage years. I was 'mothering' my younger sis, 4 yrs younger, when she enter college in Oz...toughest years of my life. Plus her then bf (now hubby) was there too, I was trying to play mother, sister and friend roles, treading on thin ice everyday. But nonetheless, we grew closer as a result, was so very glad I could finally hand her over to my parents after her uni grad lol...

My older sis is slightly less than 1.5yrs older than me and we got along just fine. But I dunno why kids these days have so much 'sibling rivalries' betw them. So it really makes gd sense to put in extra efforts to help them bond, I'm sure you are doing the right things

Luv, not that your gal is nonchalant about her baby pix but it's iPad...lol...!! During the parenting talk last Sat, this question was threw to the audience: What is the most important thing to a baby? There came the unanimous answer fr the floor: iPad

Heh...but correct answer is the parents faces.

You know each time I see my mum pointing out to niece the many family pix hung on the wall and asking her 'who is this, who is that' and niece answers proudly 'mummy, daddy, gong gong, etc...' those moments are just so heartwarming
Nevermind the kids don't appreciate these in the future, so long it helps warm our hearts each time we see them

Dear gals,
Thx for cheering me on n advising me on gripe water. Very happy to read such an active thread, learning a lot

Am gonna start looking thru Chinese dictionary for my preferred Chinese characters. That's this week's project! And of course need to start packing hospital bag n washing bb stuff!! Luckily my maid has still been performing great after 5 weeks

Oh yes, anyone still wanna join our FB secret group? PM me your FB email add and I will invite u ya?

Luv, I was four. So I'm very close to my brother since young. Even till when he was so big, very protective of hm too like u.
hee, that's not so bad, I heard of worst cases like sister biting and hitting her younger sis, my fren's fren! Omg!

Ya, maybe now when tummy not showing, she doesn't understand yet. Mine also didn't and I didn't really emphasise it to her at the beginning yet, only later on when 2nd tri, all just let her know there's bb inside, show her the scan photos, etc so to let her know and maybe she will be more receptive to bb.

Tromso, ya, not easy to handle but I'm sure we will all take one step at a time, and do our best.
h
How u wish they can just be little toddlers and kids all the time and not grow up.
Hee, so nice to have younger sis there too in oz. I always wanted a sis besides a brother too but too bad only 2 of us. At that time, it's tough but when u looked bad, it's an unforgettable experience.

Pierced yah, my gf's boy often gets bitten and scratched by the older gal. Everytime I meet gf and boy for lunch, will see new bruises
It's also due to their living arrangements, gal lives with in laws on weekdays and boy lives with gf's own mother on weekdays. Then family reunion on weekends. I guess many has tried similar arrangements and has proven it doesn't quite work well for the kids especially.

Thanks for your food and weaning tips. Gosh, can't believe I'm already thinking about it now...actually I've been observing my niece's developments quite closely, hoping can better assist when it's my turn. For some reason sometimes I almost feel I have a 1+ yr old kid too lol...especially when niece sleeps besides me during afternoon naps. Moments with kids are really magical
Hope it's all going to be good fun and relatively smooth when it comes my turn, for real.

Tromso, hahah... yeah, i think the draw of iPad played a role. She is quite happy to look at her own photos at other times.

Sashamama, i tot u were planning to get a feng shui master to help name ur baby?

pierced, hope ur gal has been receptive to #2 so far, and that she'll be a good jiejie in future! Do u know whether u're having a boy or girl yet?

Sashamama, I tried adding you as friend in FB but dun have the add friend button. I message you my FB acct via FB. Thanks

Faithfully, how do u know ur waterbag is leaking? Go to KK O&G 24h or TMC A&E. If u go TMC A&E, can ask them to page for your gynae. Dr Loh right?

I call TMC le they ask me to go dw they will assist me then page Dr M. I am not sure is leak or wa cos the cushion was wash before and not sure it totally dry or not. I just sit on it then there is a pool of water stain on it... I smell nothing le. I just worry it leaking but nw it stop. No leak.

But Faithfully, your pants wet? If not then maybe its cushion not dry. But in anycase, better safe than sorry, should make a trip down hospital now. Take care!

Hi faithfully
When my waterbag burst few days ago, i can feel something flow out fr virginal like menses flow.. And water keep flowing out when i go toilet..so i rush to tmc A&E on tt day.. Gd tt u go hospital tmc to check it out.. Just now my hb saw doc Loh waiting for Doc M at carpark around 6plus.. Maybe send her hm?

Hv a smooth delivery if is waterbag breaks..;)

R u all using nonwire nursing bra or wired one? Nurse say shd use no wire one but i no time to buy now due to confinement, can anyone advise where can i buy gd n online non wire bra within these few days? Thk u..

I was monitor with the bb heart bb and my contraction. No contraction bb heart beat normal. The nurse use her if her and poke rite into my V so painful... I so worry she poke my water bag. I intact I dnt wa my bb to come out so fast cos I am ONI in my 36 wks & 3 days. Nurse call Dr M and ask me to go home and monitor if there is leakage or nt, if hv then hv to bk dw again. Later I hv to go see Dr M with the graphs the nurse pass to me to show Dr M. As of now no leakage but nt sure why there is water stain on the cushion. Me and hub jump when we saw the water stain. Hope bb. An wait till later to pop.

Faithfully : hmm, maybe just a false alarm but good to know everything is ok. Ya I'm also in my week 36 now, day 1. Out timing is so close to each other. Yes hope bb stay inside and come out later, not so fast.. U rest well..

Joanne : Non wired better. I got mine from those bb fairs - Emma brand and the cheaper type is autumnz. U better buy online for them to deliver to yr home. Maybe u can take a look here : http://www.autumnz.com/

Rem Kimmy shared the LC contact details? Anyone has it to pm me?

Also from now onwards, I got to put lots of towel whenever I sit or on the bed when I sleep, for just in case... Anyone use those underpad before? For leakages of liquid. Useful a not?

Hi tanny,
I start to use since yest in case I leak again. I am using my dog those urine pad look like those wa hospital is using. So I can reuse for my dog if it nt wet. I bought from diaso.

Tanny, I have just emailed you Kimmy's LC contact.

Faithfully, hope that it is just a false alarm. I heard that 37 weeks considered full term already? If so, then you are almost there yah.. don't worry too much. You are in good hands.

Faithfully : orh, I saw watsons selling those blue underpad abt $6 for a few pcs...

Thanks angelxuan!

I'm craving for beef soup/ dry noodles. Anyone really nice ones, hopefully around town area. Tpy, Amk all these too far for me... Hock lam at purvis street so so only..

Fatihfully, leaking of water bag is v obvious one. Your underwear n panty liner will all be wet. N it wun stop! It will keep leaking n u can feel it!. N it has no amnonia (ie urine) smell. U dun need an underpad to tell. I dun think u r leaking water bag yesterday leh.. If not u wun be sent home! Pls dun anyhow scare yourself leh.. Only stress the bb unnecessary

Faithfully, my hubby colleague told him to put old towels in the car in case my waterbag burst. We did and have towels in the house too in case... Hazel is right dun stress. See my water bag din burst at all. I dun know whether it's right to say u will feel warm water gushing out if water bag is burst. I felt it when I delivered. Dun stress ok... U and bb Will b fine

Hazel the far east beef noodles has no consistency! Sometimes I feel it's nice sometimes so so...

Hi Faithfully, good to hear its false alarm, I'm sure your baby will hang on till 37 weeks.

I got my hospital waterproof sheets for bed fr Kiddy Palace.

Actually for my cousin, when water bag broke, the leaking was so minimal she didn't realise it, thought urine leak and continued to sleep till nxt morning. She's a nurse herself, also unsure how she can miss that too. I guess if in doubt, best to seek help especially we are so close already.

Btw Hazel, how does the amniotic fluid smells like. Hubby says he read that it smells like rotten egg, true?

Tromso, is colorless n no smell! So is easily differentiate fr urine which has a strong amnomia smell. I had watery discharge a couple of times then, is so watery until like liquid. I smelt it (yucks!), no urine smell. So I did worry if is amnotic liquid then. But hor.. It didn't keep leaking! Amniotic fluid will keep on leaking. Anyhow, no need to worry. Plenty of time to go hospital. Imagine, when dr burst the water bag, all the fluid rushes out.. Then labour starts and can be as long as 12 hrs! So leaking of fluid wun cause harm to bb even of we r unsure At first leak. Just monitor. If leaked, it will keep leaking! Then go shower, wash up, change n calmly make your way to hospital.

I see, thanks Hazel, will take note.

Actually what I read is that, when leaking a lot, the out flowing of fluid may cause the umbilical cord to wrap around the baby in unfavourable position (as cord may be near to bb's neck then) and may be life threatening. Sorry, not trying to scare anyone here, I also did confirm this with dr Loh earlier. So if this happens, best to go to delivery suite ASAP. But if leaking not a lot, perhaps can slowly proceed to Hosp, like shower at home first, etc.

Food for thot...

Umbilical cord risk is there all the time. Regardless the water bag is leaking or has broken or intact. I was v worried on this risk in final tri. But dr Loh told me my bb was gaining weight well & so the risk is miminal. Other than cord risk, another risk is bb can poo poo inside the womb when water bag starts to leak or broke! That will cause bb to b distress.. The risks r endless until maybe is born! So dun let the mind wonder. In most instances things fall in place smoothly.

Hmm, thats why closer to delivery, checkups become more frequent?

But i wonder how is it when bb gaining weight well less risk than smaller bb, wont smaller bb has more room around for the cord not to go around the neck?

Ladies who are taking / took an tai yao, how did u manage to get the medicine down even with MS? I haven't taken my an tai yao cos of my MS. Scared I'll waste the an tai yao by puking it up.

Heartbeat, when bb is gaining gd weight means the cord is working well as there is how bb gets the nutrients. If cord is entangled or round bb's neck, nutrients n blood flow will be affected..

Faithfully, if water bag burst, will have more water.mif leaking like what happened to me for #1, it will be continuously throughout the day but very little. Fluid sometimes clear, but will turn pinkish. So u just monitor. At least u go and check rather than silly me previously just thought it was normal discharge and show, and waited for a long time bef going to hosp.

Luv, i can tahan my an tai yao even thou i hv MS. Maybe u can hold ur breath when u drink n quickly wash down w water or take a sweet.

Enjoying my siew mai n spring roll now. Yummy... :p

Far east - beef noodle so so nia...

Wan to eat fried crab tang hoon... and shiok beef noodles.... Wahhhaaaaa.. Tanjong Pagar no rice food leh.

Baby journey, haha, sound so tempting the way u describe what u are eating.

Me stuck at home now wondering what to eat. I'm sick of ba Chang in my fridge already. Think I eat some more look like ba Chang.

Luv, I managed to take an tai med in earlier weeks. I always standby 1 sweet or a chocolate. After taking the med, I will pop it in. Not sure if can take sweet or chocolate immediately aft med or not, but it sure helps.

Luv, for me I found my an tai yao's smell too strong although it has a fruity taste. Thus I have to dilute it with lotsa lukewarm water and sip slowly while holding my breath.

Pierced, it's raining quite heavily in our area. Are there coffee shops near your place? Be careful if you are going out to buy lunch. I drove through McDonald, grabbed a 6 pcs nuggets meal + cheese burger. :p