(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Congrats Joanne, on the birth of ur twins! So exciting to read about the birth.

Tromso, I like riders cafe too, Nice brunch, and my gal can see roses after that. Cedele is good too, haven't tried their pancakes before, now I know. I like the one at greenwich now coz nearby. Hee...
Another place for pancakes or brunch is food for though. Nice!
Pity my hub is more of a cheena person, he prefers his local coffee shop/ hawker centre delights to western. He say boring plus pay so much. So end up sometimes I cook my own brunch at home.

only once in a while. We will go for western brunches.

Still can go out after bb, but of course lifestyles do tend to change a bit. Once u settled down with bb, can try out again, perhaps when slightly bigger coz I didn't go out much during the initial mths too, KS to let her catch germs. Then also no much freedom to go out whole day, timing all depends on bb, nap times, etc.

Oh Babyjourney, you were there too! Yea, saw him shuttling in and out. He also attended to all my queries though i can tell he is rushed today and went thru KKH's detail scan report reassuring me report is good. I complained alot of things to him, he say i imagine too much and is scaring him anyhow, haha

Hazel, my choice has always been Dr Loh to deliver but i am considered high risk especially after all that spotting and hospitalization episodes at KKH in earlier months so i am still staying with Dr Tan HH now (in case ward at KKH again). Kinda double threading now. Plus KKH is giving me very close follow up scans now which is a benefit (not that Dr Loh cant do the same, just that KKH one is more detailed with all the measurements). When i am past 30 weeks and more stable, will then stay with Dr Loh till birth.

Thks all gals for ur wishes..;)

Hi Catherine
My bb sex change when we go for detail scan..;)
To me, healthy most impt.. ;)

Hi eve
Their service ok but abit slow n blur..

Wonder is it really necessary to take the metabolic screening test of bbies by testing their blood.. Do u take the test?

Also, for c sect, do u encourage bbies to start try breastfeeding on first day or do it only on 2nd day? I am in delimma now.. Wonder how frequent nurse will carry bbies to room for breastfeeding? Every 3 hourly too? Thk u all for ur any advise..

I am oso confuse on when can i discharge as they say today is consider operation day and tomorow then consider first day stay so if 4days 3 nights means discharge on mon or Tues or wed? Quite fed up with tmc nurse as they r blur too.. all say different stories.. Zzzzz...

Congrats Jo3!! You must be elated! Glad to know u and babies are doing good!
How does your wound feel? If u feel up to it, can try bfg for a short while and see? But even if u dun latch on, try to pump?

coolcool, i've tried nursing with normal pillows b4 but i found them too soft to provide the elevation and support needed. So i find nursing pillows more useful. But try it out for yourself b4 deciding!

mc, yeah, the doc was telling me the anti-vomit med will cause fatigue. But i guess it's better than nausea!! Still on MC so will try it out first. Does it really work tho??

Tromso, i've been to Riders Cafe twice. Indeed very nice ambience! But it's usually fully reserved on weekends!

Joanne, my fren did a c section. Mon c section, thurs discharge. She bf from day 1. Her milk came v fast... Lucky her. for the meta test, they did on my gal the day she was dischaRge and it's a Sunday so must pay more. Depending on what room u stay. My fren stayed in 2 bedded nurse send her bb in every 3 hrs even at night. I stayed in 1 bedded my gal was with us throughout only go to nursery at night, when we want to zzzz and in the afternoon for jabs.

Tromso, who is dr ong bh? My gal powder was given by her pd when she went for day 5 checkup

Tromso, my gal was cranky yesterday. I din let her rest in the day. She wanted to sleep after her 11am milk feed but I had lunch appt and I juz brought her out. Likewise when she wants to sleep at 2pm, my car polisher came again carry her out. It was v disrupting for her. By 7, she was sleeping soundly but I had to fetch hubby from work again carry her out of cos she make noise. Same for this morning we wanted to go library after breakfast but she wants to sleep and refuse to sit in pram... Hubby had to carry her till she fall asleep. My gal used to b v v v prompt when it comes to milk feed. Now she dun care about her milk. All she wants is zzzzz like now she has missed her 4pm milk feed... She is happy sleeping I m happy lazing on my bed too. Bb do change and we as adult must adapt. Some can say y I let my gal control my life. I feel it's a give and take. If we r tired and keep gg out as adults we will have bad mood too. Likewise for her I rather she rest well if not she will b cranky which is embarrassing for us too right?

Joanne, congratulations!! Feel v happy & excited for you!
How's half c sec like?

Tromso, the pregnancy safe beauty care products that I bought are from my facial place. Bought the basic care pdts like cleanser, moisturizer, sun block, makeup remover, bb cream, etc. Very pleased with their moisturer as it heals my 2 red, peeling & itchy patches on my cheeks immediately after application. Now, feels v smooth..hehe. I don't normally use moisturizer, at the most just hydrating smoothing gel but realized that now I need one with more moisturing power.

As for Como pre natal yoga, yup I also think I should start soon. By the time I complete 10 sessions (1 per wk), I would be aound week 32, so I think it's just nice. Will try the Cedele beef stew at Wheelock. Sounds yummy and I always love tomato base stew. Think the location of Como is great! After yoga, I can go shopping in Orchard or go to Raffles Place to meet my friends for lunch.

Joanne, congratulations! Enjoy ur babies!

Biggly, yeay. I don't know baby's gender yet. Hopefully by nx week's scan
For me, MS is subsiding. But experiencing some backache. How abt u?

Catherine, I agree giving baby enough rest is more important, don't have to bother about what others' comments cos when baby is cranky fr insufficient rest, it's the parents who feel like pulling their hairs out, not others

Joanne, do you have colostrum now? Try and see if babies can latch well, but if really bo bian, you can check with PD if
it'll help to get the Medela special bottles for pre terms, heard much easier for sucking. To avoid nipple confusion, can also consider feeding bb with milk using the special spatula (dunno what's the name, no sucking for this, just feeding milk like using a spoon).

Pierced, we also do our own American breakfast at home mostly, quite easy to make scramble eggs, toasts, roast tomatoes, bacon, mushroom etc. All except eggs can be done in the oven, minimal cooking
But we love love love eggs benedict's, too lazy to learn how to make it ourselves, so usu will take the opportunity to indulge at Riders Cafe
Are there roses? Where do you see them? Your girl must be thrilled to see the horses too
I heard the Cedele at Greenwich has quite nice ambiance too, alright will try it out nxt time

Luv, sadly weekends have to queue, unless reservations. If we do go on weekends, will usu make reservations esp the table at the veranda
But I'm thinking with bb, can only visit during cooler mths otherwise bb may fuss...lol...

Any other nice western brunch eateries outside town area?

We've tried this Habitat Cafe at Upper Thomson Rd, very nice place to chill out but sadly, the American breakfast is not yummy

Cool: thank god..I didn't really have ms so far...no craving for anything either....recently have backaches too when I stand or sit too long...my feet also can't tahan standing for more than 15mins...oh I've gained 3kg so far...a bit too much I think...=P

J03, congrats to u. Feel so happy for you! How's the bf session? Which PD have u decided to use? Rest well.

I hv checked my pre-admission again today. I hv submitted it during hospital tour, it's like 3 mths ago. And surprisingly they didn't key-in my particular in the system. So fed up. Two weeks ago I checked. One of the staff said confirmed already in the system. Today I checked, the other one said not in the system. Gosh.. Their system is so messy. Made a fuss at that guy, and he kept saying sorry. And told me he just keyed-in. And now confirmed already. I asked him if I will receive anything by post. He said MAYBE. I told him no such thing as maybe. Either yes or no. Then he apologized n said will check again. At the end, he said nothing by post anymore. It's already confirmed n gave me the registration number.

Heartbeats, I'm also currently seeing 2 gynae too. Am not sure when to decide which one to go. KKH is not giving me a close monitoring as in your case so am not sure if I shld switch earlier to the other gynae.
Another concern is the neonatal insurance that we got from KKH, is coverage only for delivery in KKH or any other hospital?

Kikigal, if your pregnancy is smooth and no major problems kind, its easy to decide when and whether to just follow pte gynae. My case higher risk so maybe thats why KKH monitor me very closely. Maybe you can discuss with your KKH dr whether is that the plan for you too.

I also like the detailed scans at KKH cos alot of info given on bb measurements (head cir, chest cir, arm, leg length, estimated weight, amniotic fluid index etc) which gives me assurance whether bb growing well. Buts thats just me, some people dont need these details. Dr Loh cannot afford to measure all that for me (else he no need see other patients liao).

Another reason for my double threading KKH and Dr Loh is also i was worried what if preterm. Preterm facilities is better and cheaper in KKH. So thats why for me, i will double thread till at least 3rd tri.

Hi Angel
Half c sect is go thru epidural to numb ur lower half body so tt ur hb can witness the birth of both bbies..;)

Hi tromso and baby
Ya, i didnt bring my pump along as i try let bbies to stimulate which is better.. Just now LC come n help me start breastfeeding by lying down since wound still raw.. N is great n easy since is lying on bed to do bf.. She has help me clear my ducts n bb gal is suckling well on one of my breast for the colostrum.. Baby boy is too sleepy so only suckle abit of my the other breast for the colostrum.. Hope i can do full bf tomorow by sitting up.. I drink more water n hope they can help to stimulate my breast.. Ya, i choose doc Ong for bbies pd..

Hi Luv n hope
My wound no feeling yet.. Maybe still got anthestastic on.. But they say half body c sect will recover faster than full body GA c sect so i hope is true.. I already try to latch my bbies on..;)

Hi catherine
Thks for ur feedback on the stay.. I hope can stay till Tuesday (4days 3nights)so tt my bbies got the best care for one more day since they r consider small still..

Btw mummies who has given birth at tmc, did u gals sign up the bb studio package? Me considering as my boy last time oso got take such photo shoot under peter pan but i forget the pricing.. Me considering premier package so tt they can take for both twins at same price which is more worthwhile.. Just curious abt the quality n whether is it justify for the quality.. Any advise for those who took up the package? Thk u..

Tromso. Hee, not roses, realised I type wrongly. Horses I mean. Ya, actually really cheaper to make ur own at home. Eggs ben is more Mafan, so must go out and eat but now cannot coz the eggs not fully cooked.

I realised lots of western brunch places all either around town or near west side. Very troublesome to go al, the way there. Spruce is another nice place, think barracks is good too but far for me. Plus now my gal starts having classes on wkends so it's a no go for brunch since no time. Hee...

I heard about this Thomson cafe little pancakes that just opened, but I think it's only pancakes. Seems highly reco by my friends.

Joanne, what makes u sure that bb has the best care in tmc? Home is still better.

Tromso, it really depend on how u want to bring up a kid. Like me no weekend support we bring my gal everywhere we go so she knows our habits. We no longer scare she cry cos hubby can handle and now at 4 mths plus she is so much better than b4. My fren on the other hand never bring bb out at night b4. In the past if she goes out her maid or parents will tag along to help.. Now bb is too close to maid they only dare to venture out on their own once. Thankfully she can handle. Her bb on the other hand is too spoilt and they let bb play stuff toy and no educational toy. V v v different from my gal. Till today her bb cannot b left alone cos they worried and bb sure wake up at night. Whereas my gal she is the opposite. Hubby is training her to sleep on her own once she is in her cot. So far quite successful

Hi Joanne, big congrats on ur 2 bb. How the c-sec like? Is it painful, can walk around? Is it scarily to be in the Opt theater?

Dear Joanne,
CONGRATS on your smooth delivery of your twins!!! Must b very very happy n relieved!!! Do rest well n enjoy this new phase of motherhood! Your 8-year long dream has finally come true!!!

Dear Tromso,
I'd be 36w5d by c-sect date. Doubt I'd need to put bb at nicu. Bb already over 2kg n dr Loh gonna give jab to help mature bb lungs I think. Anyway, dr Loh says from now anytime also can deliver n I'm so so relieved! I'm hoping my day comes ASAP too, been married 6.5 years, multiple surgeries, 1 m/c, endometriosis, adenomyosis, NUH telling me to adopt, TCM saying there's nothing they can do n even dr Loh also didn't expect I'd be Preggie in the first place. All of us hv gone thru our trials n it's only most reassuring when bb is healthily delivered. Though after that is child care!!! But we'd overcome anything for our babies.

Re: cord spirit
I see that on the shopping list template so I thought need to get. I guess I don't have to now! Yeah! Thanks for all ur advice!

What abt gripe water? How to use n where to get?

Jo3, glad to hear u're recovering well, and that u can already BF ur babies. Now u can officially "close shop" liao. Unless u still want more?! Hahah...
Yeah, I'm also curious to find out whether u had to request for the LC? How did she clear your ducts?

Sashamama, very soon it'll be ur turn to see your little one! Your story is very inspirational, esp to the ladies who're still TTCing!
Regarding gripe water, I didn't get for my #1. Personally i feel it's optional. But up to your comfort level.

coolcool, can understand ur concerns. Actually, there is also assistance available even for natural delivery. E.g. vacuum or forcep delivery. So the doc can still help u even if u feel u dun have enuf energy to push baby out. My #1 was also delivered with the help of the vacuum.

Went for my bi-weekly appt yesterday, bb has put on weight already! From 1.7kg to 2.4kg within 2 weeks. Bb's head is quite low too. I extended my hospital leave for another week, then back to work till I deliver.

Congratz Joanne!!

Sashamama, yup, finally ur turn to deliver!
As for gripe water, u dont have to get it now. It's given to relieve wind in babies. I only got it when my #1 had colic so I tried feeding her some of that to help with the colic. If so, just feed a little each time, less than a teaspoon if i didnt remember wrongly.

Miracle happens, wow, good to hear that. what did u feed ur bb to put on so much? Share share!
Hopefully mine will too asap.

My bb legs are kicking my sides these few days, think lying sideways.... can feel the pain when she stretches...

Thanks heartbeat for your insight. I think I will wait till my Oscar results then decide bah.

Sashamama, glad everything is going well for you. Jia you ^^

pierced, I ate 3-4seeds of durians per day for about 10days during my 14-day rest.. Drank plenty of water too. Every morning, I'll drink chicken essence. I snack in between meals too..eat chocolate,ice cream,biscuits, bubble tea, curry puff etc
Plus plenty of rest..

Coolcool, just to share with u, I was asking myself how if i gave up half way when I was pushing.. I felt a big "poo" stuck down there! But the nurses n mid wife were v encouraging.. N kept telling me I m doing well when I didn't even feel that bb was moving thru! But I guess she did if not they wun call dr Loh.. Gynae is only called when the bb's head is crowned or when there is emergency.

The only thing u need to ask gynae is how gd are ur chances for natural delivery.. Ir ur cervix must dilate to 10cm.. If not naturally delivery wun happen.. So Dun even talk abt pushing.. U are asked to push only when the cervix is fully dilated to 10cm.. If cervix dub dilate to 10cm within 11 hrs after water bag burst it will be emergency c section. I trusted dr Loh n he was quite confident that I shld hv no problem, bearing unforeseen circumstances lah

Miracle happens, thanks, hee I been doing almost the same too, eating durians, snacking, even drinking milk and eating at nite, except for the chicken essence. Hmm, maybe I shall try that too.

Eu Yan Sen having 20% discount in July for VIP member on Bird Nest (concentrated- for whole month) n chicken essence (up to 8 July). Think there other items on discount but i only focus on these 2. :p

Hazel, will Dr Loh check our pelvic bones whether broad enuff for natural? I mean he checked yours? I dont know if thats important consideration but i have been told by my ex-bf mom long ago that my pelvic looked small. Myth you think? I thinking ask him when i nearer to term and if i qualify for natural, now as it is, he tells me mine will be c-sect. Scared~

I asked doc loh if he need to check pelvic bone since my Frn gynae says hers is too small. He just tell me other gynae like to do c-s so that they can go back n play golf, hehhee. ermmm means he is confident that I dont need c-s. errm, how do doc checkthe pelvic bone structure? Will he know by the usual ultra scan?

Heartbeat, I was told I hv small n narrow pelvic bones too by friends n they said natural delivery may be tough for me! Hey, I told dr loh that leh n asked him if there is any issue for natural delivery. He told me he dun think i will hv any problem. Well, I must say he is right! Anyhow, pelvic bone size is relative to bb's size. If the proportion is out, the cervix will not dilate to 10cm. I dunno if he checks or not, but I know an experienced gynae shld be able To tell the success rate of a natural delivery - cervix will dilate. If after dilation, pushing is tough, there is always assisted delivery - vacuum or forceps (of course more ex). Why he said urs is c section? Coz of bb's position? Or? Did u ask him?

Catherine, have u bought play mat and/or play yard? I just placed an order for LG play yard, 18mm thickness. Play yard I will wait n see again when belle can really crawls. Delivery is quite fast anyway, only 3 days. Play mat so that belle can hv more space to roll n creep instead of doing on our bed now. Bought too many things already for her.. N cost alot of money.. The LG play yard is ex.. Wat to do, 一分钱一分货....

Hazel, Tanny, i also dont know how doc check pelvic bone maybe by look and feel and by experience? I shall ask him next time and he is going to laugh it off i think.

Hazel, vacuum or forceps sound scary and painful (for bb)! He told me mine might be c-sect cos one of the placenta covers my cervix. My placenta was just low a few check ups back and now its covering. So he say be prepared if it doesnt move up.

Thks gals for all the wishes.. Feel so sleepy now after bf.. But is really a great moment..

Hi pierced n luvnhope
Not sure r they LC, i call them by nursery nurse n they do help me to latch bbies on.. She just help me remove my black patch clod on my nipples.. Nit sure is tt call ducts.. Anyway, glad got breast milk today n as they suck.. My womb pain too as i think it is shrinking.. Ouch..

Hi gals who do breastfeeding, how long u latch ur bbies on each side? If they r still sucking, will u pull ur nipples out after exceed ur plan time to do bf? Thk u..

Jo3, once u get used to BFg, u shld be able to tell if they're drinking or if they're just suckling for comfort. With a singleton, I wld let baby drink till he/she's satisfied on one side b4 moving to the next. If u stop baby too early on, then he/she may not get the hind milk that comes later on and which provides the fats necessary for growth.

Not sure how twin mummies do it tho. One baby each side maybe? Can ask the LC for advice?

Heartbeats, if your placenta is v low then it could be placenta previa. Delivery by c-section helps to prevent complication like heavy bleeding. You might want to google more on this or check w Dr Loh.

Joanne, happy that your milk flow is smooth. Has the nurse ask you to start walking? Are you staying in one bedder?.

Heartbeat, u having twins? Placenta prévia needs c section. Also, pls lie down flat as far as possible when u tummy gets bigger. My gf who has placenta prévia with twins bled like mad at 31 wks or so. Bbs hv to be delivered via c section n hence Pre mature. Even Sitting down add gravity to the placenta. Ask dr Loh for HL n rest at home.

J03, ask the LC all the qns u hv!! None of use here r as experienced as the LC! U r really one weird gal. LC and dr r within reach in the hospital. U can still ask qns which r better answered by LC or dr Loh. Eg, how many nights u need to stay, ask dr Loh who will check on u everyday. If u r fine he will sign to discharge u, if not, the nurse says u can go home tomorrow u also can't go home. That's common sense right? :p

Babyjourney, Hazel, yes i googled and mine indeed seems placenta previa though that term was not formally mentioned to me by both Dr Loh and Dr Tan. And the birth method recommended is indeed c-sect. Thats why when Dr Loh mention c-sect, i wasnt surprised but just all the more scared cos my fear came true. When i was bleeding in earlier weeks, Dr Tan also said likely the low placenta issue. Dr Loh also said rest as common complication from previa is bleeding so i am on bedrest now. Very scared~

But bedrest is so difficult. I cant sleep on my sides without feeling the strain. And to change sides also difficult moving the tummy. Yet i know sleep on sides is better for blood flow to the womb. So dilemma~

How you ladies sleep on your sides ah? I have like 2 pillows, 1 bolster, 1 cushion and still cant prop up to a comfortable position. Sigh~

heartbeats, have u asked Dr Loh or Dr Tan b4 abt which sleeping position would be best for u and babies given ur low placenta? Better to seek their professional opinion.

Heartbeats, i m also on bedrest n i understand how u feel. I just keep changing sides and even sleep on my back when my sides feel sore. I hv 3 pillows, one to support my head, one to elevate my legs n one to hug n i also hv one bloster to kiap between my legs. :p i try to find e most comfortable spot n drift off to lalaland. As for turning from side to side,i will use my hands to support my tummy when i turn.