(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Thanks Luv. My discomforts are mostly at night, nausea feeling around dinnertime, very slight breathlessness once every few days, rib cage soreness and just very recently, throat dryness sleeping in a/c at night. My first trimester throat dryness was very bad, couldn't stand being in a/c for more than 2 hrs, so had to place the air humidifier right next to my bed at night otherwise breathing will also become quite hard. If I'm in shopping centers, will hv to go outdoor and breathe in fresh air for 15 mins before entering shopping centers again lol... I don't have sinus before this, so it's very weird. Now this problem is slowly coming back sigh... blame it on the hormones

Trying to keep my stamina up too, so will be easier for D day, hence so long as I can still walk, I'll go jalan jalan...limiting my outdoor activities to max 3 hrs now.

Hope your ms will be gone by start of 2nd trimester, and doesn't come back after that
For me honey lemon drink helps, I get the squeeze bottle Capilano brand, honey lemon 2-in-1, just squeeze bottle and add water, plus 2 ice cubes heee.... who says a girl can't hv 2 ice cubes indulgence

Thanks Hazel for the tip
So much to know about everything...

Hi Joanne lol...dr Loh must be flattered about his popularity
When I said to him Ang's rates are quite high, he looked genuinely surprised and thanked us for informing him. I guess he's fine with positive feedback

For contractions, I only read that dehydration (even slight) can trigger them. So perhaps you can try to keep yourself hydrated all the time... Other than that, I've seriously no idea...

Tanny, GBS test dun hurt n will not be unconfortable like pap smear. I dun think he will do VE at 36w. Some ladies tummy r high till the day they deliver! So dun worry.

Tromso, thanks! Hope MS goes away by the end of 1st tri and doesn't come back! Yeah!
Perhaps now ur baby's taking up more space, and pushing against ur organs. Hence ur discomfort. Keep urself hydrated too!

Found my satin button pajamas but can't fit! Can't button the due to tummy. And I cant fit the pants. I will new to buy new pyjamas - Should I buy a size smaller or should I buy one to fit my size now? Does the tummy (swell) goes down a lot when bb is born?

Eskimobaby, congrats and welcome! Your bhcg is very high, I think at least a pair of twins!

Coolcool, congrats on your good detailed scan result! Thanks for the reminder to make payment for WBB's class.

Tromso, no worries. I was out shopping with my friend today. Bought lotsa pregnancy safe beauty care products for myself..hehe.. :p. Thinking of signing up 10 sessions with Como and starting next week.

Tromso, hee, just happened to do super market shopping so was looking around. Think maybe they dont carry it now or oos. Anyway, think u might be better off with chicken coz I was walking round the section and those seafood stuff are starting to smell fishy fishy to me again!

I didn't use those nipple wipes,coz its too costly to use. Think it's more for those mums who pump at work or on the go feeding. The worry or reason for those nipple wipes is coz if u put on breast pads and there's bm on it, it can also have bacteria on it, so must remember to change pads frequently if they are soaked with bm. Iotherwise at home, I use a wet face towel to clean ESP during confinement time, after that,I tend to have frequent baths so not so bad.

Hmm, my hubby ask me to choose whoever Dr Loh reco instead, ie Dr Ang, coz he say anything, at least she first one to be there.

Tanny, at the start, loose fitting pants is better coz u will still be sore down there,and there's stitches. tummy will go down but still have that flabby thingy there till it contracts. Better to wear the maternity pants sizing at first.

thank you all. first hurdle seeing and hearing the heartbeat ...more hurdles to come.

can i just check with all the sisters here, should i be wearing a nursing bra or just buy bigger normal bra. my old bras are all tight , even after using extension hoof.

Dear Eskimobaby,
WELCOME!!! Am always v happy to see graduates here!!!

Dear Bruno,
Gotta go for wireless bras so that the milk ducts are not pressed against by wired bras. Nursing bras are wireless. Long term I think nursing bras better cos after delivery still need to wear.

Dear Tromso,
I hv frequent urination (sure must pee every 2hrs), heartburn, nausea n with bb movements n hiccups, super hard to sleep well! Now down with slight flu. Blocked nose for a week. Dr Loh gave me Piriton today.

Dear Joanne,
You confirmed ur c-sect date already? What time were u at dr Loh's? Cos I also brought up PD n I didn't even need to say the name n he knows!!! Lol. He says he'd try working with dr Ong n based on one previous experience, he says dr Ong took good care of a pair of twins he delivered so he's perfectly fine working with dr Ong too. I saw him at abt 4pm.

Dear gals,
My appt today went well. Though the first ctg I did at dr loh's was bad. I felt giddy, broke out in cold sweat n wanted to vomit when I lied down, I requested to sit up higher but still quite low n I felt faint throughout the 30mins. Ventilation wasn't very good in that small room n hubby tried to fan me gently. No contractions, reading was below 20 most of the time. When i tried sitting up, it shot up super high. Bb heartbeat around 150. But there were 2 parts where bb heartbeat couldn't be detected properly n reading dropped to lower than 100. So dr Loh asked me to do repeat ctg at the labor ward.

It was much better at the ward cos its a proper bed n enough space to lie sideways. And other than bb heartbeat n contractions, the machine also monitored bb movement. I was asked to press a blue button in my hand every time I felt movement. The chart shows constant bb movement n at the peaks were where I pressed too, at most parts. So even if doze off n never press, it's ok. Nurse just wanna see how much movement I can feel.

Luckily this 2nd ctg went well, costs $43 after FBI discount. Dr Loh is happy. He said his knife was ready for a c-sect based on my first ctg, lol. He was less busy n more relaxed today. He's happy with bb's growth. Over 2.4kg today at 33+ weeks. He says anytime bb decides to come out also oki liao n hope bb can stay til 23rd July for c-sect of cos. seeing him next fri with ctg done at labour ward from now on. Hehe.

I've yet to wash bb stuff, pack hospital bag, book full month restaurant for session 1 n catering for session 2, think abt Chinese name. Some stuff like front open pajamas, bath tub, breast pump, cord spirit, breast milk storage bags, binder, sterilized cotton wool, etc not bought yet!!!

Walking is v difficult for me. I need frequent rests. I'd better settle all shopping by coming week!

Posted on Thursday, June 28, 2012 - 11:28 pm:       

If any of ur friends or relatives still interested in drymama can purchase using the link below to get another 5% off with their current promo of get 1 pair free which is ending on 30 June. It is the special discount they offer to my friends and relatives and I just post it for sharing.

http://www.drymamaasia.com/?sourceCode=hazel1154&coupon=DMAB5CBOD

================================

Courtesy of my August thread friend Hazel Nutty. I bought 2 pairs, got 1 pair free. More economical than disposable ones. For those interested!!!

Hi Angelxuan, glad you enjoyed shopping ;) What sorta pregnancy safe skincare range did you purchase? Yes indeed it's go to start como since you are early 20+ weeks now right? Now that I've stopped, can def feel body is getting more lethargic, so trying to move about more

Btw if you take beef, I recommend Cedele at Wheelock place after your yoga session
The chunky beef stew soup is to
die for, with plenty of root veges like potatos, celeries, carrots, etc. It's tomato based soup hence very appetizing and the chunky beef pieces simply melts in your mouth. Comes with free flow bread that you choose and slice yourself. I usu get extremely full just on this alone, soup is full of ingredients and packed full of goodness nutrients

That branch also has great views of the orchard road with full length window all around, I love the natural light coming through and would usually stay for abt 1.5-2hrs, do some reading meanwhile. Great way to laze half the day away
Alrighty, hope you'll enjoy your yoga session and meal/ shopping after that

Pierced, thanks for your advice. Didn't know breastpad can potentially contain bacteria, ok, I'll def change them often and not be stingy

Sashamama, thanks for the detailed descriptions of ctg process, I was starting to get really curious about it
Your nausea sounds quite bad, hope can fast track to your D day soon and have these all put behind. btw just wondering if your baby will need to be put in NICU upon birth or you would have hit 37 weeks by then? Had your hubby completed his army exercise? Mine completed Wed just past, hooray!!

Don't worry too much about the remaining purchases, possible to dispatch your hubby to get them? For full month, can just call up restaurant and book during confinement, same goes for buffet, should be relatively easy. Remember to keep yourself hydrated at all times.

For me, ever since 2nd trimester, I'll bring a flask of warm water to bed each night, take a sip after my pee breaks and 2 full glasses before I get outta bed. Helps a lot with hydrating the body, especially pass motion in the morning
I guess it's increasingly more impt now we are approaching D day. You rest well and stay happy

Sashamama, looks like Dr Ong is relatively new to working with Dr Loh too...no wonder Dr Ong's team seems very eager when I mention I'm choosing Dr Ong as my PD post delivery. I guess everyone wishes to be associated with dr Loh these days...heee.... Def hope Dr Ong is a meticulous dr with keen eyes and good decision making skills

Will be looking forward to you mummies feedback about Dr Ong, post deliveries
Thanks in advance!!

Pierced, you are right, I also trust Dr Loh's judgment. I'll go with Dr Ang if dr Loh insists/ shows preference at last

Tromso,
I like the wheelock cedele also. Nice cosy place. Recently I discovered they have very nice pancakes too.

J03 n tromso,
Do you know the estimated cost of delivering twins at tmc? As long as babies above 3kg they don't have to go nicu rite?

Hi Eskimo, I only know the singleton rate, for dr Loh it's $1,200 and up.

Pancake is nice? Heee...I have sweet tooth recently, will chk it out 1 day. btw hv u tried the cooked breakfast? good? Been wanting to go for brunch on weekends but the carpark rates in Wheelock is exorbitant!! We usually go Riders Cafe for brunch, bukit timah saddle club, away fr the city crowd and relaxing ambiance
Wonder how lifestyle will chg with a bb...sigh...

luv...the anti vomit med that dr tan gave me can,cause fatigue.. if u still on mc, den its ok or else dun think u can tahan the tiredness at work with the med..i gave up taking in wkday..

wk12 for me and still vomiting...hope it will get better soon..

eskimobaby...welcome :-D

Esikmobaby, Tromso only told u dr loh's fees for delivery. There is still ward n other charges that TMC charge. Eg epidural, delivery suite, medical supplies, etc. we paid $7k including dr loh's fees of $1.8k. I stay in single premier n natural delivery. Belle's 1 wk cost in NICU cost us more than $10k.

Twins usu c section. So delivery cost will be more ex. N c section may need to stay 1 night more. As long as bb is more than 2 kg n healthy. No need NICU.

Yes before medisave. If I didn't remember wrongly. Abt 2500-3k fr medisave.

The medical supplies that TM charges r v expensive. Also, everything is charged to us. Even hand sanitizer (every bb has one bottle). Companion fees is $75 a day if hubby stays over in single room though sofa bed is already there. KKH does not charge these for single bedded

Sasha, what's cord spirit? Breast milk storage bag u can buy from gmarket

Mc, dun worry yr ms will go away. FYI I puke till week 20. Told my staff one colleague was preggy and not feeling well juz like me. She ask, got meh? U look v healthy. I laugh and said looks are deceiving.

Tromso, what's life after bb? V different. Cant do as much as we want in the past.... Like yesterday we want to go great world city, the moment I put her in the car seat she cried. I thought I din make her sit properly adjusted her many times still cry... End up went home and let her sleep.

Hazel, I only can claim 2.1k... But I do agree the extra things r vv v v v v v ex!!!

Hazel,
Thanks. I think I'll prefer to stay with kkh... Moreover, kkh is more convenient for us in terms of location... n don't have to make claims for the consultations.. They'll auto submit all these claims when you deliver... Hopefully, can find a good gynae.

Catherine,
Cord spirit is used to clean the umbilical cord before it drops off but I didn't use any. I just let it dry off n drop off on its own for my first born.

I hv pop today morning..;) my waterbag burst at 4plus am n i feel water gush out.. 7am do c sect.. All happens so fast n my bbies r deliver at 35wks 3days with boy weight 2.6kg n gal at 2.4kg.. Thank god no need nicu..;) i cry upon hearing their crying as doing half c sect.. What a touching moment as hv thru so much to have them.. Now i pray hard all their test are ok and i can put my heavy stone down which carry with me for 8yrs plus.

Btw for gals who does c sect at tmc, U start to walk around at 2nd day n lie on bed whole day on first day? Usually we stay how long for c sect in hospital? Btw, do all mummies take the metabolic screening test for bbies? I only took the hearing test first, u gals take tt too? Thk u..

Esikmobaby, check if a/p John tee is still accepting patients. Ur delivery is next yr? Maybe still ok. Heard this yr he is not taking in any more O&G cases also. He had tps clinic too, q quite ok. He is dr loh's cover for delivery when dr Loh is away last time in KKH. He is my previous gynae before referring me dr Loh for fertility treatment. V nice guy n has gd bed side manners.

Joanne, Angle.. Thanks.
Luv, I am thinking for c-sec bec of my advanced age (40) and first child. I feel that I have no energy to push bb out.
And I also worry that I try for natural first then take long time and bb in distress and ended up with emergency c-sec. It happened for 2-3 friends of mine. Even though they were about 35 at that time. But I haven't discuss about it with my gynae. I just asked her availability just in case I need it.

Coolangel: yea..I rem u..think u did ET 1 day after me...how r u? Know the gender already?

Joanne: congrats! Ur babies weigh well!

Sasha, tmc will give u alcohol swabs. R u seeing dr ong? He recommend a powder. Elis apply 2 days and it drop off

Joanne i thought u have 2 gals?? Anyway congrats and rest well

Many congrats Joanne!!! Feel so so so happy for u! Well done! I wish I can be like you! This is really an amazing feeling! Take care n rest well

Hazel,
Yeah I'm keeping John tee in mind but I dunno if he's still accepting any more cases. My colleague just delivered under him. Will ask her more about him when I see her after her maternity leave.

Congrats Joanne!!!

Congrats Joanne, as per your greatest wish, you've hung on to 35 weeks, well done mummy

Hope your recovery will be speedy and babies will latch on very well.

Oh Joanne! Congrats!!! So exciting to see you popped! It feels as if i popped, haha. Well done mummy! Rest well! Today, Dr Loh looks very cheerful, maybe he very happy with your twins' birth! He also told me today i may need to c-sect, faint ah~

CockCock, you are the next twin mummy to pop if i am not wrong! Hee! I am waiting to celebrate your popping too!

Eskimobaby, when i found out i was having twins, i also shortlisted Prof John Tee but he is no longer accepting new patients. Guess he is now busier as he is also sitting in the Fetal Medicine team with Prof Yeo so maybe thats why. My 2nd choice was Dr June Tan which i heard many good reviews for multiples.

Btw Eskimobaby, if yours is twins, good to stay with KKH even if you have a pte gynae outside, like me. Cos KKH very structured, they arrange all sorts of scans very carefully and very timely so it helps us get more close follow ups which is important for higher risk pregnancies.

So far i have been getting detailed scans every 2-3 weeks since week 18 then i bring the reports to Dr Loh. KKH provide the expertise and Dr Loh provides the close monitoring, best of both worlds!

Joanne, Congratz on the birth of your prince n princess. Very happy for you.

Heartbeats, you are at Dr Loh's this morning too? I was there too. He was shuffling between his n Dr M's room to finish seeing his patients as he is rushing off to some public forum this afternoon. Dr Loh said he is exercising today. Hahaha... But he still takes time to scan, show me where is baby etc, let me heard baby's heartbeat, answer me questions and requests.

Regarding applying cord spirit, I've read that some bb may develop skin irritations to the solution, especially if applied onto the surrounding skin. Proper way to do it is to only apply to the base of the cord stump.

Catherine, the powder was provided by dr Ong EK not Ong BH is it?

Catherine..thks for yr encouragement...i will endure..

Joanne...gratz on yr smooth delivery and healthy babies...take care...

Catherine, thanks for sharing. Indeed, I see many parents preferring to stay home than heading out with kid/s in tow. My niece went through couple of mths of fussing when put into car childseat, now, my sis will distract her with reading flashcards in the car and she's perfectly ok with car rides now, even ok with sitting alone at the back. I guess all will become passing phase and hopefully will get easier as time goes by.

I've been observing couples dining out with 2 young tods, all peaceful and well. Yet some parents can't quite handle even with maid around, sigh... Hope we'll all master the art of effective calming/ entertaining kids