(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Heartbeats, I finally put on 0.5kg. The only changes is the size of my tummy and breast. Hopefully my weight gain has gone to my baby.
Yes, Dr Loh checks my cervical length on every appt. I am also on aspirin since stimulation stage til now.

For packing hospital bags, I've added yet 2 more items to the original online list.

1) sample packs of mummy milk powder - gd to drink lotsa water and milk to stimulate bm
2) abdominal binder in case natural delivery turned into c section - this is very helpful to hold up c section wounds, makes it much less painful to move about

Tanny, you can check it out at Guardian Pharmacy, about $30+. The very good acclaimed brand is Osim but quite ex. My sis used this right after her c section. Took her 2 hrs to get outta her bed sigh...(fr lying to sitting to getting off the bed), then with the osim abdominal binder, managed to provide her with lotsa comfort, she said its a must-hv for c section mummies

Tanny, I personally prefer front opening dress PJ. I'm afraid if natural not successful n ended up c section *touchwood* the pants waist band may hinder the wound. But I'm bringing my yoga pants along, those no waistband kind to wear underneath my dress PJ if natural delivery.

In terms of cotton vs satin, I feel that cotton will absorb perspiration better.

But I know many doesn't wear their tops and bras during bf, so maybe don't hv to get too many PJs...??

Congrats on seeing hb Bruno, 1 hurdle cleared!!!

Heartbeats, so far I've not experienced belly button pain too. But it does look like pain can happen any where with the growing uterus lol...my ribs cage gets sore once in a while now. If you are concerned, can check with your dr. If its dr Loh, can always email him

Bbjourney, congrats on your weight gain. Slow and steady wins the race yah

Thanks Bruno and heartbeats!

Congrats to Bruno too for seeing ur bb's heartbeats!

heartbeats, the bellybutton pain shld be as u said, the tummy muscles making way for baby. Dun worry!

Tanny, better to get front button dresses type pjs for hosp use. Easier to put On and bf. Plus u will need to change pads and go to toilet to pee so pants type is no so convenient.
AT home, not so bad as u are on confinement so depends on what u feel like wearing.
For first days in hosp, not too bad so nursing bra actually just need 1 to last u as not much milk yet. Just for modesty sake in case visitors.

I used to prefer to wear nursing bras at home when I feeding coz if go braless, the milk leaks out sometimes and can be quite messy. Hehe

Luv, my doc never says if the spotting is caused by the empty sac. In fact, he didn't even bothered to investigate lor, saying is common but not normal to spot. Just only increase the support med for me nia.

I guess the empty sac was absorbed back by the body cos subsequent scan shows only the bb.

Kiki, I see. Thanks for sharing! Do u remember how many weeks u were when u saw that the empty sac was gone?

How far along are u now?

I went for my oscar scan yesterday, result is 1:3158, happy to know all scan normal. Doc even say 80% I am carrying a girl, very happy.

Luv, saw 2 sac at week 6. The empty one is smaller than the other one. At week 8, only can see 1. I'm now in week 11. Which week are you at now?

Congrats to Throll for the good Oscar results. Doing mine on next wed. Hope mine will be as good. When is your EDD?

Yes Luv, me & hb both hoping for girl as his side all boys & no girl. I really hoping the sex won't change @ 5 months.

Kiki, every scan the EDD keep changing. 1st it was 5th Jan, now it seems the report stated 1st Jan. I am really hoping for a 2013 baby.

Pierced thanks for the nursing bra tip during bf
Looks like it'll be messy everything from D day onwards lol.... No wonder I was told to get ready lotsa hankies, washcloths, towels, etc. Ok, I'll make sure I'll have a towel ready during bf

throll, u must be so thrilled!

Kiki, I'm just going into Week 7 now. Still saw two sacs yesterday. Will monitor in subsequent scans. Good luck for your OSCAR scan!

Tromso, if i'm not wrong, think Pierced means if u're wearing a bra, u can wear breast pads to absorb leaking milk.

I didn't wear any while i slept, and wld wake up to a wet t-shirt a number of times, hee...

Hi Bruno, Congrats on seeing baby's heartbeat.

Throll, great Oscar results!

Heartbeats, I don't have belly button pain. My bb movement still seems gentle like air popping feeling. Sometimes I can feel him moving his whole body maybe turning or something and I feel really happy.

Thanks Angelxuan. Actually I was not really good at the interpreting the result, even ask the nurse must I go for further test... She looked at me & said NO. Haha!

Tromso, i just find it strange that i m not gaining much weight as my 1st pregnancy i gained 10kg by 20weeks. Hehehe... but lesser weight gain is better for me since i m big size.

Throll, congratz on your Oscar scan results and carrying a baby girl.

Indeed Bbjourney, this lady I met in WBB class, she was slightly on the heavier side for at start and by week 27, she has only gained 2kg but baby was on target. Then in early 30+ weeks, her baby became too heavy as she started to gain momentum on her weight gain, so she's on semi diet now
I guess as long as our babies are on target, our actual weight gain should be not so much of concern

Look at our dear Joanne!! Haa...I'm constantly very envious of her very modest weight gain despite carrying twins...

Joanne, how are you now? Contractions getting more manageable?

Hopped in to town for lunch and decided to check out the Zara sale.

For those interested:

$79 and up: satin/ chiffon dresses
$69 and up : long sleeves satin/ chiffon blouses
$59 and up: short sleeves satin/ chiffon blouses
$50 - $70: jeans and pants
$29 - $39: cotton tops (cmi I feel)

I really love some of the dainty dresses but even on sale many are still about $100 range, so I'm gonna wait till further mark downs towards end of GSS, if I can still crawl down to town heee...

On separate note, those looking at getting plain spaghetti strips cotton tops, going for $5 at Forever 21....yeah!! Largest is size L but not the biggish kinda of L if you know what I mean....

Angelxuan, sorry didn't inform you of my window shopping trip today cos only planning to run errands in city then head home. Just gonna pop by Robinsons after lunch to get eye cream then Kinokuniya to check out this book then home sweet home

Have you started with prenatal yoga? How many sessions do you intend to sign up?

just had my bhcg bt yesterday and my reading was 2067.7
seems like all of you are preparing for the arrival of your little ones
those who are having twins... can i check which gynae are you with? anyone has any recommendations for gynaes who are experienced with twin pregnancies at kkh?

hope, thanks! good to "see" you

heartbeats, thanks! will keep her in mind. dr sadhana no longer take on preg cases... i will see how after my first appt and scan with her... see if really multiples

Heartbeats: yah..it's twins....think my frens and family r more excited to know the gender than I am...kept asking me...but gotta wait till end July then I'll know...4 more weeks....U have 龙凤胎right?

Congrats Eskimobaby
I remember your nick from the ttc ivf spreadsheet
Welcome.

Luv, you'll be in time for year end sale no worries
Just nice early 3rd trimester for you then right, should see better offers. I'm just afraid will be stuck at home with baby after delivery, so trying to cover more purchases now

Heartbeats, belly button pain? I don't get la.

Babyjourney, my detailed scan went well. Everything is fine. My bb weight is about 376g at 21 weeks 2 days. Sonographer said bb is a bit on small size. But my gynae did not say anything. I asked sonographer to check my cervice length also since I always hear from you girls about it and mine was never checked before. She asked why I worry about it. hehe. It is 4.5 cm and she said ok.

I gained about 4kg so far. I still can sleep well and eat well. So far so good. But I don't feel my bb's movement strongly yet. Just popping here and there. And my placenta position changes from anterior (oscar test) to posterior (detailed scan). Don't know it can be changed or sonographer's mistake.

I asked my gynae if she will be in SG during my delivery. She asked when my due date is and said she will be in Nov. My due date is 4 Nov. But she will be away for 2nd and 3rd week of Oct. It's a bit bothering me. cos delivery can be one or two weeks earlier than due date, right? Shud I change to another gynae? But I already signed up the package with her. Did you all sign up the package with your gynae?

Btw, I have paid for the fees for the child birth education course. Just to remind you for the payment.

Tromso, yup if u wear nursing bras, remember to put on the pads to absorb coz when u latch, the other side will start leaking coz let down is on both sides, can't control. Starting is a bit funny coz dunno what to expect, after a while, u'll be a pro at it. No need so many things on standby. Just remember cleansing wipes or a towel to clean first bef feeding. The NUK nipple wipes are exp!

Ya, look at some of the mummies weight gain here, so modest only. My 10 kg so far never go much to the lil one. Hopefully now she absorb better. guess really diff people have diff weight gain. Think most importantly, bb is healthy and doing fine no matter how much we put on.

Congrats throll on ur Oscar results!

Hi Eskimo baby, congrats! Yup I rem ur nick too!

Dr June Tan seems very experienced too. My gf due in end jul just came back from US to give birth here and no one in KK wanted to take her case except for Dr June Tan. Coz they don't want to accept above 26 wks preg cases. She said she's very experienced too and very cool.

Tromso, Zara sales , ooh but must wait till further mark downs then.
FYI, I managed to sneak out to vivocity giant this morn for shopping with my mum but I didn't manage to see any soft shell crabs there though.

Coolcool, i checked Babycenter's chart, the average baby's weight at 21weeks is 360g, your baby is ard there mah. Nvm if your gynea nv say anything then dont hv to worry too much. Your cervical length looks good. As for the position of the placenta, i m not sure if it will change.

You may want to check w your gynea who will be covering her during her absence. I also signed package w Dr Loh. How muchis your package? Thanks for the reminder on the course. Will make payment soon. :p

babyjourney, *wave!*

hazel, i did medicated fet

hi tromso!

hi pierced! sounds like dr june tan is very experienced. good good
actually, i would have loved to go back to my former gynae benjamin tham or dr loh but they have both left kkh... i'm more comfortable with kkh.

Tromso, thks for the reminder on year end sales. Will prob need to take stock of what i lack in the next few months so that i'll know what to purchase.

coolcool, usually the docs will have a colleague to cover them if they're away. Have u checked with ur doc who'll be covering her in case she's away?

Babyjourney, my antenatal package is $ 642. It's for consultant.

This package includes:

All clinic consultations with your obstetricians from the 20th week of your pregnancy till the birth of your baby.
2 ultrasound / obstetric scans (at 22 and 32 weeks) to monitor the growth of your baby.
Up to 2 CTG sessions to monitor your baby's heartbeat and movements.
1 postnatal consultation.

Yeah.. she has another lady doctor covering for her. But when I asked about c-section, she said c-section is usually done 1 week earlier than EDD. So she would be here and gave me her prefer date. Which is Oct 25. She said I can also choose my perfer date within that week.

Hi Pierced, thanks for helping me check out the softshell crabs
My backup plan is teriyaki chicken rice paper roll lol...should have no probs getting chicken n sauce

Indeed Zara sale not too great, most just browse and stand around. I think right now only 30% off...

btw for cleaning nipples before bf, normal baby wipes will do the trick or nipple wipes are beta? Never heard of nipple wipes until now... Since our nipples are clean except for perspiration, neccessary to use those baby wipes which usually have this and that added to it...safe for baby? Can instead use the sterilized cotton wool balls?

Luv, soon you'll have ample energy to shop/ organise things, after this awful puking stage

Getting any better?

I think I'm quite unlucky, I'm getting some first trimester symptoms now, but much lesser intensity but growing number of slight discomforts...have to endure. MTBs boleh!!

Tromso, rest more if u feel unwell! You just have a few more weeks to go!

Heh, dun think it's much better for me today. Think i really need to get some anti-vomit meds from doc liao.

Congrat to bruno and luv for seeing ur darling hb..;)

Congrat to cool to gd detail scan result..;)

Congrat to eskimo , i know n heard of ur name before too.. So glad u join us here too.. 2000 is huge figure.. U r at dpt what day when so ur bt? Think urs most probably is twins..;)

Hi tromso
When is ur edd? Really admire u tt u still can walk around..;)
Regarding abt weight gain.. No need envy me as long as bbies r growing well, i dun mind any weight gain as we can slim down during breastfeeding, right ? ;)
Just been for checkup, Doc Loh asks me to stop all prevent contraction pills (nifilat) n ustrogen 3 days before the c sect.. But my braxton hicks quite strong this wk so i feels n worry my contraction will be intense if no take medicine.. Wonder how? But thank god tt Both bbies r weighing at 2.9kg & 2.6kg now..;) but he no asks me do ctg, only say do one more ctg in my next checkup.. Am glad tt i can deliver in tmc under him..;)

Hi sasha
Hows ur ctg today n bb weight at checkup today?

I hv been feeling crampy last night n has still been taking nifilat which to control contraction so worry if bbies want come out but will this medicine stop my contraction till i dun even know.. Will it endanger bbies? Any other advise ladies on how contraction feel? Crampy feel? I am feeling abit scare due to last night cramp.. Thk god today feel better..

Thks Hazel, catherine and Tromso on the admission thingy..
When i tell doc Loh on the pd i want, he laugh n say i am oso one of the forum siao as most of us want same pd.. ;p

Tromso, there is no need to wipe ur nipples with all these. Ur BM is the best lubricant n cleanser. Wipes can cause crack nipples

My colleague says my tummy is high still. Wanna deliver the tummy will drop down? Need to wash the clothes n stuff this weekend. Bought a durian cake - yummy!

I'm doing my next checkup at 36 weeks - scared doc loh do VE. Can don't do? He will ask if he need to do right? Im also expecting a strep b test? How is strep b tested? Like a pap smear?

Haha prob I also use same PD - just follow..