(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Tromso, I made the request in the delivery room. They brought the baby out for a short while for weighing etc (DH went along with them) b4 bringing her back to me for suckling. My gynae and the nurses were very supportive then.
As for the request to cuddle baby first, maybe u can ask Dr Loh? Think it's up to the doc's discretion.

Tromoso, if we indicate total bf, TMC wun give bottles. Once bb is delivered, the nurse will carry the bb to you for bonding in the delivery suite after weighing, etc. U can try to start nursing. I did but belle did not know how to suckle! After a while, nurse will push bb u u to the ward together. After that bb is transferred to nursery on the floor your ward is at. Disclaimer: this is for natural delivery. C section I dunno.

Belle was weighed in the same delivery suite that I was in. My suite was huge! Much bigger than the birth room I saw during hospital tour.

Luv, so ur gal is also 2007? Hee same age as mi gal, mine was in Dec.

Tromso, should be able to, even in Kk, they put the bb after they clean her up in the delivery suite on me and suckle for a while, before they push her for tests and for me to go to the ward. Don't need me to request.

Pierced, she's at Columbia Academy in the west. I'm in a high school, haha... Cannot, unless she's a genius! ;) Actually I'll find it quite odd to b in same school as my kid.

I'll likely send her to my alma mater. How abt u? U teach in pri sch?

Luv, Ic, hee..yup im in a pri school but all boys. anyway same thing, i don't like to be teaching in the same school as my gal too, unless there's no choice.
I will also send her back to my alma mater instead but it's a bit far from my place, no choice.

Hi Pierced, yr gal is in kinderland ah. Cam share bit more on hw u find kinderland ? Wanna enrol her in kinderland half day playgrd but dunnoe gd or not.

Thx in advance

Bbliss, so far kinderland is quite good. My gal enjoys her time there. she goes for 3 hrs kindy. There's many different programmes they organise. but their school fees are not that cheap. they just raised their fees again.
My friend's gal goes to the one at CCK, and feedback is quite good.
My colleague's kids go to the one think near serangoon and she is quite happy with them too.
which kinderland u looking at?

Yippee!! Saw my bb's heartbeat today! Tho the image wasn't exactly very clear, can still make out the pulsation.

But got an unexpected piece of news today too. There's another sac! But it seems empty as of today. Has anyone heard of similar experiences?

mc, thanks! I'm happy and grateful that I have at least one healthy baby.

The other sac, can't even see the baby, not to mention heartbeat. So donno what's going on until we monitor for a while longer. Yeah, will be going for subsequent scans over the next few weeks. Hopefully can figure out what's going on.

Luv, congratz on seeing your baby's heartbeats. For the 2nd sac, is there any fetal pole? Did CARE test your bhcg again?

Bbjourney, thanks!

The 2nd sac is empty. Can't see anything leh. I last did my hCG test last Thu (reading was abt 14k). Actually i'm not very keen to take any more BTs cos I get bruises from the needles since I'm on aspirin. Wonder if i can just stop going tho they expect me to take 2 BTs a week!! But I'm thinking regular scans wld be more accurate, won't it?

Luv, i think scan is quite accurate but maybe Care more KS. Just monitor e 2nd sac. Rest well. Did u ask to extend your mc?

Bbjourney, yeah, I'm thinking scans shld be sufficient esp now that I've seen the heartbeats.

Well, all i can do now is wait and hope for the best. Yeah, managed to extend thankfully!

Luv, I had similar suitation as you. When I spotted at week 6, they see 2 sac but only one got bb inside. Then the doc says maybe too early. But based on hcg level, I guess it's most probably a singleton. By week 8, it's confirm a singleton when I spotted again. Don't worry, maybe it's different for you. Praying hard for you

Picered, I m looking at kinder land woodlands. Same as u, wanna send my gal to e few hrs playgrd...

Hw much is their fees ? Pay per term ?

Kiki, hope all is fine for you now!
Do u mind sharing what happened to the empty sac eventually? Did the doc say the spotting is due to the empty sac? You can PM me if u prefer. Thks!!

LuvNhope, empty sac is blighted ovum. since there Is another sac with fetal pole this empty sac will just be left alone. It will either be reabsorbed back into the body or come out during delivery. I had empty sac in my 2nd pregnancy, since only one sac, I had to remove the sac thru d&c

Hazel, thanks! Sorry to hear abt ur 2nd preg.

I'm just wondering abt the chances of the empty sac affecting the baby. When u say come out during delivery, I'm imagining the empty sac growing in size too?? Hope not!

Luv, congrats on seeing bb's hb! Just take care now and rest since mc has been extended.

Bbliss, ic, u might want to check more out on the Kinderland there first. I don't know anyone sending their kids there so can't judge. But normally each of them operate separately. I'm paying $1.5 per term for 3hrs kindy 1 starting from this term.

Bbliss, oh ya, diff Kinderland charges are different so the woodlands one might be cheaper coz my fren's gal in cck branch has lower school fees.

Luv: I'm ok..preparing the to-buy list now...quite a job to do....trying to get as much hand me downs as possible too...lol....

LuvNhope, yes it will grow in size but v little after a while the body will know there is no bb inside. Basically, the embyro inplanted but didnt proceed on to grow till it is visible under scan n to form fetal pole. So dun worry. I nv spotted too. So spotting may not be caused by the empty sac. It can be due to low hormones level so up your support med!

I have belle only after 2 failed pregnancies. The first one was a bb girl too which died in my womb & I had to deliver her at 5 mths plus. So, belle is v precious for us. Dr Loh watched my pregnancy like a hawk the 3x. He knows I cannot afford to lose another bb again. So he induced me the moment I hv slight spotting at 36w though my cervix was still closed.

Hazel, can see that Belle is definitely very precious to u and ur DH...

I dun have spotting so far other than the false alarm at 5wks plus. *touch wood!* Am keeping up with all the support meds.

Going on to 17th week...a bit kiasu...hee...but there's a baby expo in July and I'm scared I can't move ard much come 3rd tri...so try to settle things during 2nd tri

Hazel: Sorry to hear abt ur loss..quite alarmed too given that u were already at 5mths for the 1st one...

Really hope everyone here will have smooth deliveries...

luv: congrats . saw my bb hearbeat today and confirm is singleton.

can i know wat s an oscar test and on which week do we do the test?

Congrats Bruno! U can see here : http://www.thomsonmedical.com/diagnostic_ctr.htm

Wanna ask abt those front opening pyjamas - is cotton or satin better? One pc like a dress or 2 pc with top n bottom (quarter pants/ long pants type) - which is better for nursing in hospital/ home?

Then pple say get a binder after birth to let the tummy flatten or let the womb contract back.. What kind of binder r they referring to? I have a maternity binder cum support belt. Not this one right?

Congrats Luv and Bruno for seeing your bb heartbeats! Rest well!

Biggly, you having twins too? Saw you at the twins 2012 thread. Looking forward to detailed scan to find out bb gender?

Hazel, were you on baby aspirin during your 1st pregnancy? I remember you said nothing was wrong with your gal.

Babyjourney, Angel, CoolCool, CockCock, do you gals get bellybutton pain? I am having it now. They say its the tummy muscle splitting due to uterus expansion. Still, i am worried.

Heartbeats, i do not hv belly button pain. But my baby is v active when i sleep... Faintz... Btw, hv u put on weight?

Bruno, congratz on seeing baby's heartbeats. Oscar scan is normally done between 11-13 weeks. Enjoy.

Coolcool, hows ur detail scan?

Heartbeat, only on aspirins in 3rd pregnancy. Yes, dr Loh did genetic kyrotyping test on Gwen's placenta & she is perfectly normal.

Tanny, go mothercare store n ask the sales folk there to show u wats a tummy wrap post pregnancy. For natural delivery, it helps to shrink bk the tummy. For c section, it helps to contain the pain so that is not so painful moving around.

Babyjourney, i have put on 2 kg but still 3 kg lighter than pre-pregnancy. Hopefully the 2 kg gained has not all gone to myself. Mine also active at nights (like daddy)! Sleep is starting to become a prob, starting to have difficulty moving my tummy to sleep sideways.

Are you checking your cervical length frequently? My boy is lying just above my bladder, sometimes he kick so hard, it feels like he using my cervix as a trampoline, so scared that will shorten my cervix.

Hazel, thanks for sharing. Looks like bb aspirin can be live saver. I stopped when i was spotting earlier on but Dr Tan HH said to continue, said can prevent miscarriages. I finally found courage to continue this month.