(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

luv..gd to rest at home..i regretted not taking mc and suffered the xin ku in office.

cock cock...ending 1st tri soon..hope i will cross the next milestone...oscar scan

Dear Pierced,

Thanks for the information. Any idea if there are any website I can go to do some research? quite lost now....

Take care and rest well. I am sure your BB will gain weight with all the good food.

Bbjourney, to add on to Tromso comment, dr ong clinic is v v v cold!! His aircon make me shiver. But my gal loves it u wrap her up she pull it off. In his consultation rooms there r fish tank too. They also got a table and a little tikes house for bb to play.
Hmmmm we must ask him for group discount since we r gg to him!

Mc, in KKH u dun hv to worry too much. A large pool of pd specialising in different areas. At birth bbs will be checked by any pd. Normal checking any pd can do. Premature bbs will hv pd specialising in premature bbs tag to them with development milestones closely monitored. Other pd in other specialization if needed will also be tag to me. If all is well, after checked by normal pd, bb is charged. U can then decide which pd to use subsequently. When u r 30 over wis preg, ur nursr will ask u to have the necessary admission papers done. Is v systemstic in KKH as it follows a standard protocol. So dun worry.

Catherine, i love it cold... Hehehe..l agree we shd get a group discount from Dr Ong.

Hi MC, at TMC, we make our ward preference during the hospital tour via the Pre Admission form. I'm not too sure if it's the same procedure at KKH. But like what Hazel says, KKH system may take care of things well, so no worries

Catherine and Bbjourney, I think dr Ong's team know that he's getting quite a lot of accolades from forum, cos the moment I said to the staff I was recommended by a friend, she immediately asked if it's fr forum lol... Then I said to Dr Ong he is quite popular in the forum, as I've also checked up other threads about him. Funny how he jokingly said he doesn't wish to know too much about his forum popularity otherwise his head might swell...haa....funny guy

Just had my scan done at Dr Loh's, week 34 now and baby weighing 2.5kg, Dr Loh is happy with everything, so we are too

This is what I've clarified:

- why dr Loh uses Ang Ai Teng is because she is the in charge at TMC for ICU
- I've selected dr Ong WH as my PD upon delivery and dr Loh says if ICU *touchwood* can always switch to Ang since 'they are very good friends' lol...
- he says no issues with choosing PD outside TMC, he has worked with Dr Ong and says Ong is very diligent, no issues with any lacks
- for basin of saltwater, he says he will usually prescribe for patients with bad tears and reckons it doesn't really help (hmmm....) but more than happy to put in the request if we wish
- for squeezing more blood from the cord to baby before cutting, he says he can do that but may also worsen jaundice, if any (I've done some googling and indeed jaundice is caused by the transformation of blood into jaundice condition etc etc, can't recall exact explanation)

I've also requested for my medical records which will have to be brought to every scans fr now on for dr Loh's updates and subsequently presented to TMC during delivery.

Think I've covered all. Hope they are useful info

Just to share, if not NICU:

Those delivering at TMC, dr Ang Ai Tin's charges for attendance l checkup at deliverY is $800. She will update you daily in the morning while you are warded. If any issue, she will also update in evening. After discharged, you are obviously free to go to another PD. I am just sharing & neither recommending, nor discouraging

Her style is quick & clear and the clinic is packed. As she is head of NICU, she is v experienced if there are any serious issues.

Tromso, congrats on your baby' s good weight. Thanks for the detail updates. Only Dr Ang can handle baby in ICU? *touchwood*

Bbjourney, k I will mention to dr ong in 2 weeks time. U can love cold but not bb... They can catch a cold...

Tromso, ya dr Ong is v humble. Sometimes do u think he dun look like a doc? He dress so plainly.... Elis does not smile at him previously. Now she auto smile to him.... Can u tell me which nurse of dr ong said that to u? The Chinese lady?

Ron, i can't remember how much I was charged... If any of u want to know I can go find my gal bill.

Bbjourney, No la all pd can go in. I spoke to him b4 he told me there is only a handful of pd specializes in pre term and he is one of them. And they 'rotate'.

Hazel, I had a chat with my cousin aunty yesterday. Her son will b a pd soon.... I want the pd to inject elis not nurse. I will request for it. Next yr elis will b gg to kk.....

Catherine, thanks, pls update us after you talk to Dr Ong. i meant i will enjoy the aircon when i make a trip down to discuss my case with Dr Ong when i reach 3rd trim.
Then next time, I will make sure i wrap my baby like Bak-zhang when i bring baby there. Glad to know Dr Ong also specialise in pre-term. If you dont mind, can you share your gal's bill with me?

Catherine, I'm not sure the staff I spoke with is a nurse or not. I visited during their Thurs afternoon cleaning session and the lady was in 1 of the rooms. Malay I think, knows all the vaccination rates by hard and even wrote them down for me in the vaccination appointment card. I've tried calling other clinics, not easy getting costs info fr the staffs, they seem unsure. kkh is worse, I called for 2 days straight (the private PD hotline) and no 1 picks up the phone, fortunately this lady fr mainline helped in the end.

Thanks Ron for the info. Indeed looks like dr Ang has good credential, I guess that's why her charges are higher, seems justified then.

Bbjourney, I'm not sure for preterm which other PD is gd, I guess if that arises *touchwood* can go with Dr Loh's preference. What dr Loh said to me was, if no pre term, any PD is fine (he says any PD can do the job), so he's happy with my Dr Ong choice for now.

Tromso, dr ong has 2 Malay staff. The 'fat' Malay lady can speak mandarin and cantonese hor... Dun say her... Haha

Bbjourney, $214 for day 1 and day2 charge. Day 3 dr ong ek charge $74.90. When my gal was readmitted dr ong charge $321 for 3 days fees

wow...fees differs so much betw Ong EK and Ang...

Thanks for the info Catherine.

Dr Ong WH also PDs dr loh's patients. Last Thurs when I was at Ong WH's clinic, he said to me he just went see dr Loh's twins delivery at tmc. Hope everything can go smoothly for us and get to keep some spare change in our pockets too

Sisters, who r e popular n good pds around Punggol/sk or hougang area? How abt GPs who r good w babies?

A follow up link to Dr Karp's teaching is www.thehappiestbaby.com
Another good teaching to use is fr the baby whisperer, Tracy Hogg. She emphasizes on establishing a routine for e baby n this will eventually allow e baby to sleep thru e night at an early stage......a relief for parents waking up for night feeding

Here's e link : http://babywhisperer.info/baby-whisperer-method/

H ya, like hazel and the rest mentioned, concern abt pd being available there at birth of bb. Now I'm beings inning to wonder too.
Tromso, do let us know what dr Loh says. I'm also so used to KKH style for my #1 so never thought of these.

Mc 007, for KKh , no need worry coz they got in house team, I delivered my 1st gal there and everything is done for u. my gal came out at 8 am and they will clean her up, bring her for the necess tests and then back to nursery and ur ward. They don't particularly assign one to u bef u give birth but they have one there already. After checking out, there is an option for u to choose the KK private clinic for their package vaccinations and growth assess by a senior consultant. Everything all in place.

Mc, for KK, no need bk delivery suite, they will ask u ur preference before hand on which package u want and how many bedder, Kk only has 1 bedder and 4 bedders. No 2 bedders. Under private, very Gd service, so u pay upfront deposit plus fill up some forms. When u deliver, u check into the delivery suites where they will ward u and give u ur delivery room. Very nice just like normal ward with 1 bed.

Tromso, haha didn't read all, congrats on achieving a Gd weight for ur bb. Just hope everything goes smoothly for everyone here.
So u mean ur medical records u requested is from dr Loh and u bring it home? Really not used to private haha! Coz Kk has it all in the records.
Oh ya, do we need to sign up ourselves at Tmc hosp or Dr Loh's clinic will do it? I keep hearing others in my sep thread mentioning they filling up forms and making preferences at their hospital of choice.

Hi Pierced, dr Loh's comment is per my post above at abt 8pm plus.

Bbjourney or you may also like to update us on dr Loh's response next time you see him, thanks

Juvi, thanks for the link. Was reading the What To Expect book this afternoon and it also mentions that carrying baby in that downwards manner can be comforting as it adds pressure to their stomach. Also says the shh-shh sound helps to hynoptise the baby heh...so true...been waking up a bit at nights these days, maybe I should record the shh-shh sound and try hynoptise myself too lol...

I have the business cards of the popular Punggol SK PDs at my mum's place, will let you know when I visit on Thurs. Meanwhile lets see what others sistas suggest

Pierced, indeed, quite a bit of asking around for private as compared to kkh it seems

For the medical records, you can enquire with Dr Loh during your consultation but better if it's later so don't have to keep remembering to bring it back for updates for subsequent visits. For Dr Loh, it's hand written. He looked up my medical history in his computer and started scribbling, he has our kkh records fortunately

Remember to bring proof of your gynae consultation charges $450 worth of receipts, upon admission, so as to further claim
from medisave, on top of $2,100 etc. if I'm not wrong. Otherwise can submit receipts within 1 mth too, if I remember correctly. Should also be asked to sign the medisave authorization form at the same time. IC needed too.

Over the weekend, I just passed over to my hubby 10+ contacts ranging fr TMC, PDs to post natal massage to fengshui Chinese name, etc. Really quite some admin work to cover...

oh Pierced forgotten to mention the medical records is just 1 sheet, so no worries about carrying bulk
He just scribbles and summarizes the content.

Tromso, ya u will b doing confinement at ur mom's pl which is beside my block right?
As for e sh sound, some call it white noise or the womb sound. U can find some of this on you tube. I dunno abt u but I dun find it conducive to sleep....but babies do haha.

Tromso, did you sign up for the FBI card? If yes, remember to bring the card or remind the recep when you register as there will be discount given for delivery too.

Tromso, yup, now I'm starting to wake up since better start prepping as also dunno if this time bb will be earlier.
So used to everything under one roof inckuding medical files that I didn't consider that now it's so different. Luckily have u gals as a source of info too!

Ya must start throwing all the stuff to hubby to do as well. Gonna have to do one last round of shopping for bb stuff as well as the laundry first.

Tromso, haha, ok one sheet that's Gd.

As for sk/punggol pds, I think there's one more at rivervale mall the kid's clinic. Not in sk. But nearby will be another recommended one in hougang. My sil brings my nieces there. Saw baby and child clinic at hougang ave 8.

For me, I didn't really had to use much pds for #1. She was practically quite healthy and didn't fall Ill thankfully except for a scare of salmonella when she was around 6 mths. I only brought her then to SBCC at AMK near the courts. The pds there are Gd and experienced. Other than that, was only Kk for jabs and assess.

Hi Pierced,

Thanks for the information. Do you know of any website that we can use to check on available enrichment in Singapore? I seem to be quite lost. Not sure where to start.

With proper rest and good food, I am sure your BB will catch up on weight soon.

Jude, u can try reading from the forum kiasu parents. They discuss a lot of enrichment programmes as well as schools etc. quite a good source of info to help u decide.

Hi there mommies. I was just wondering if your baby sleeps on a waterproof mat to prevent leakages from staining the bed. I was thinking of getting one but worried it might be too hot for baby.

Hi morning,

Would like to ask since my delivery will be in 2 weeks time, do I hv to go anymore detailed scan? Cos my doc nv mentioned anything to me.

Tromso, thanks for checking the CL contact!

Hmm... I dun remember having to bring any medical record for delivery at TMC previously leh? Now need to meh? Or maybe it's Dr Loh's practice?

thanks hazel and pierced on yr advice on kk pd and delivery suite...feel more at ease now since all will be taken care of..

Hi Bbjourney, thanks for the FBI card reminder, I actually didn't hv this in my list...lucky you mentioned
I think can get $100 discounts off single bed ward, yeah!!

Juvi, yes, confinement near your home
Actually Punggol that cluster is now very hot, I think at least 1-2 degrees warmer than my place due to the sun's changing direction (minimal wind now too), but will be cooler than my place come year end due to the cooler wind coming in fr the sea, not sure if you have realised. My parents' place faces the sea, unblocked now, so gets very hot in the arvo especially. Hope I can survive confinement hmm...

btw I think there is white noise near yours and my parents home leh...the constructions at the park ahead!! It's in full swing now, but great entertainment for my niece as my dad introduces her to the various trucks, machines etc lol...

I've bought a few baby CDs, maybe will be useful when baby gets cranky. But like you mentioned, will def check out YouTube/ google for more especially those that mimics our uterine 'noise'
My gf has 5 musical mobiles cos her bb can only be calmed down by 1 of them...sigh, why so picky. So we better be prepared to fight a tough battle too

Hi Pierced, indeed, gd to start packing early, esp already in 3rd trimester. I find it quite hard to get up fr the floor now and it's really easier to throw everythg on the floor and sort them out.

Luv, I'm not sure if the medical records is essential but also supposed to list if you are allergic to any drugs, etc. esp if needing painkiller post delivery. My sis eyes swelled like a goldfish then, cos didnt know she's allergic to this certain painkiller. I guess more info for dr/ nurses is better than none. You may also like to check with your gynae about it

btw I also complained to hubby there is lotsa little things to tie up with private hosp and he says this is the 'privilege' with private, you get to choose!! hmm...positive thinking, ok
I feel since dr Loh's clinic is still quite new, maybe that's why some of these paperworks procedures are not firmly in place yet.

Hi Sue, there is breathable mattress protector, waterproof but breathable. Meaning water droplets are too huge to pass thru but perspirations droplets are small enough to get through, aka breathable
Hence technically shouldn't be too warm for baby. I have a ski jacket that works this way and it keeps me dry inside despite sweating tonnes whilst skiing but protects me fr getting wet fr the falling snow and blizzards, it's a great invention

faithfully, u mean to see your gynae? what kind of detailed scan? i remembered when i near due date, i see gynae weekly and then i popped.

Mc, no prob, it's much easier at KKH coz everything is in place.

Tromso, hot hor...these few days i spend at home it's super duper humid and hot! unbearable... my air-con turned on like free...plus temp lower down to very low yet still feel hot.

yes, I starting my list again using the time i have at home now when I don;t go back to school. really easier to do things on the floor to pack but really hard to get up now.
hee... plus hubby just got the ikea cabinets for kids fixed up so that I can pack both girl's stuff inside so more packing!

Ur hubby is very optimistic like Luv said, very good!

hmm...my hubby is optimistic cos I'm doing all the legwork mah...lol...

Luv, I've just pm you.

Pierced, try turning on a fan together with the air con, can lower the temperature down and saves electricity

These days, I'll keep the bedroom door closed in the morning to 'preserve' the remains of air con after I've turned it off. Then by 11am plus I'll head into the bedroom to enjoy the cooler environment, sometimes eat lunch in bedroom too lol...then by 2pm, will be forced to turn on air con again
and I'll hv 2 fans turned on at the same time, 1 pointed at me, the other to regular the air con around the room, big operation haa...With this I can usually survive on 24-25 degrees.

Really looking forward to change of climate...

Tromso, hee, I did that too, in the morning closed the doors to preserve the cool air. Luckily today not so sunny so think the noon sun will not shine on my rooms, but still totally humid.
I think my air con needs servicing, been calling my air con uncle but he not free to service yet, that's explains why I need to lower the temp. Will bring in the fans too like u. Keke...

I do miss the cooler climate, these are the times when I missed staying in Munich, super shiok weather even in summer, was telling my hubby if only I was there right now like last yr.

Pierced, I love Munich too, very lovely city, heee especially the extremely spacious shopping streets
Close proximities to so many picturesque countries too. How long did you live there for?

Every Jun, I would secretly wish that I'm in Australia where it's winter and could hit the slopes for skiing. Just other day, sis bf mentioned he is planning a trip to Japan or Korea next Feb for skiing, I'm really hoping I can join them. Baby should be about 6-7 mths then, not sure if ok for travel or can leave with my parents, haaa....evil mummy me... But it certainly helps to have a goal ahead, be it achievable or not, keeping the dreams alive

Shopping in Tangs now, quite some good bargains, getting some clothes for postnatal wear, mostly 50% off and more, cheap thrills
Definitely savouring every 'me' moments now, as I'd expect it to be quite hectic for the nxt couple of months to come. So ladies having your break from work now, njoy your real freedom before the little rascals come visiting soon

Tromso, yup, so nice there and we will always plan to drive somewhere nearby for the weekends when hubs is not working. I was there for close to a yr when hub was attached there. . so close to Switzerland,Austria, Italy, etc...no need to fly.
Ya, I also want to go to Oz! My colleague just came back from skiing there, frend also ent there for hols. So enjoyable.
Should be able to bring bb there if abt 6-7 mths. I brought my gal to Brisbane and sydney too around that time. just that it's cold so must prep more warm clothings etc.

So nice to shop! I want to go shopping too but can't so must wait first. Any other places still having sales? Need to get all my bb stuff for the last round. Heard taka bb fair coming up in jul.

Pierced, outta the countries you mentioned, I like Switzerland most
Very beautiful landscape, many exquisite towns along the great lakes too. We did the Glacier Express then, 1 of the best train experience I've had
Actually Austria Salzburg is very pretty too, esp in winter. Can only rely on these memories now... Def hope to be able to travel next year, fingers crossed!!

Tangs GSS finishing this Sunday. Otherwise I think GSS officially ends 3rd week Jul.

Have Baby Expo on 20 Jul too but less varieties, though can get the good n inexpensive nursing bras fr Autumnz, Carter's rompers, etc. I think Baby Expo attracts less of the big brands but can still get small items
Indeed, good to get the baby items outta the way asap, too many little mind boggling items heh....

Reporting from Pumpkin Patch Vivo...

max 50% off boys fashion
max 40% off girls fashion
max 30% off newborn n baby fashion

The simple baby dresses/ blouse pants set are about $50 before discount. Rompers about $24 before discount.

Why is it I almost feel that Carter's is better, can get 5 colorful rompers for $15 at expo. PP quite pricey

Nonetheless FYI ladies...

Hi Tromso,

Sounds like you are everywhere shopping! I have done my rounds at PP Vivo too. Bought a few bb clothes and accessories that I really like. Fnd PP quite pricey even after the discount compared to Carter's and Baby Gap.