(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Faithfully, yes, u r high risk of getting gestational diabetic (GD) given that both your parents are diabetic. It does not matter when they r diabetic. Anyhow, pregnant yea glucose level maybe higher but if our body can cope with 2 systems (bb & ours), the glucose level will still be within control.

For ladies with GD, they' hv to attend classes how to watch their diet, do daily exercises and to do daily glucose monitorIng a few times. Still not writhing control, hv to do insulin jabs.

Faithfully . I was told that glocuse check is common for pregnancies so u should not be too worried. 2 of my colleagues who were preggie were tested. I dunno it this test applies to everyone. Don't eat sooo sweet now?

I'm guilty of it, normally I don't. It this weekend I ate like 5 durian pancakes and 5 durian puffs! Just felt like eating durian stuff! I guess I'm high risk to GD too!

I also suddenly hv this onset of pain at my behind pelvis ( I think it's tha tailbone pain) - it come like 3min and disappears - happened twice yesterday, one of whichwhen I was seated down in the car.. Common for preggie? Also in my 24 weeks now.

Hi Gals, been so busy n missed all the posts n chats here. Hope everyone is doing fine.

For those just BFP n in first tri, big congrats! Take care n rest more.

For those in 2nd tri, Jia you Jia you....hope all of you have done or doing your shopping. It's the best time now.

For those mummies coping with NBs, you are all great mums! Got a lot to learn from you all.

Tanny, how big is your baby now? If it's too big, Dr will ask u to reduce on sweet stuff n durian especially. My baby is quite big. Tested for GD, n it's negative. Both families no history of diabetes at all. Basically, baby just in bigger size. But Dr still ask me to reduce sugar intake n don't eat durian which I never eat at all during preggie.

Oh Oh.. I dunno how big is my bb now. I go only once 5 weeks now.. my next one is in 2.5 weeks time.. Only my hubby parents both got diabetes - prob means I also belong to high risk group. That time dr only ask if parents got history of diabetes. After told him, he din say anything. How much is the test? The last time I measured the bb is normal range, not big.

Experienced mommies - which brand is good?
I'm looking at the Avent Electric Food Warmer n Electric Steam steriliser. They seems like quite neccessary.

Hi tronso,

touchwood so far my gal dun have constipation..ie hard stools. Her poo are all v normal just tat nowadays very irregular. hahaaa but her fart is damn smelly ah..hahaaaaa
6886944.gif

Hi tronso,

Being preggy doesn't mean home bound. heehe u can meet frens for shopping, join classes or catchup with frens etc.. I still go shopping when i preggy hahaha up to the day where i'm supposed to be admitted heehee. Do enjoy yourself while you can before u welcome motherhood. heehee
6886947.gif

Hopeful and hazel,

Thanks for the info on woodwards, yup i read the ingredients carefully before i gave clariss yesterday. Coz my eyesight not very good hahaaa but clearly didn't state alcohol so i told hb off yesterday for giving me wrong info.
6886953.gif

My sil gave to her bb when she was just a week old and she give daily.

Catherine,

get her a play gym, your gal will love it. My sil lend us one of her extra play gym (which she got as a gift) to let clariss try on it before we really decide to get one in the future. Play gym is useful before they learn to crawl ie 0-6mths. So sil told us no need buy la just used hers and return her when clariss 6mths old then she pass to her sil who is due then. Along the way we brought alot of toys, animals decorations tat can be hung on stroller bar, play gym, car, car seat bar etc to keep her entertained. Recently i just bought a toy (shaped like a cube) and every face of the cube as different designs, textures and along with it there's alot of other rings etc dangling from it and mirror as well. This is suitable for 3m+ and it helps to introduce them to the sensory " touch" cos bb can feel the different texture, train their motor skills and its very colorful. My gal loves it. It cost around $25 with discount of 20% it cost like 19++ i got it from Robinson on friday.
6886959.gif

Catherine,

get her a play gym, your gal will love it. My sil lend us one of her extra play gym (which she got as a gift) to let clariss try on it before we really decide to get one in the future. Play gym is useful before they learn to crawl ie 0-6mths. So sil told us no need buy la just used hers and return her when clariss 6mths old then she pass to her sil who is due then. Along the way we brought alot of toys, animals decorations tat can be hung on stroller bar, play gym, car, car seat bar etc to keep her entertained. Recently i just bought a toy (shaped like a cube) and every face of the cube as different designs, textures and along with it there's alot of other rings etc dangling from it and mirror as well. This is suitable for 3m+ and it helps to introduce them to the sensory " touch" cos bb can feel the different texture, train their motor skills and its very colorful. My gal loves it. It cost around $25 with discount of 20% it cost like 19++ i got it from Robinson on friday. I hung it on her play gym. And now she'll try to reach for it and also laugh out loud like talking to her new toy.

Its the same brand as your play mat.

Sunbelle,

ya i also got the netting kind of bouncer passed over by my fren. like wat hazel says it has to be inclined to a small angle before u place bb in. I let my gal sleep on it after she passes 1mth.

I agree with Chris. I also went shopping in the morning b4 seeing gynae to find out I was 1.5-2cm dilated. it's v different being preggy and being a nb mum

Chris I scolded elis last night. Hb gave her last feed at 10.30pm then ask her to sleep but her eyes only close for like 5 mins. Then keep crying and leg and hands punch up in the sky. By 11.45, I beg her to follow me to bed as I m tired and need to sleep. Out of anger I hit my hand v hard on her cot and said shut up. She cried louder and milk came out from her nose. My hb picked her up and scolded me! asked my mum this morning If need to bring her c doc cos milk came out from her nose, I got scolded again by my mum. She asked how we look after her. Sigh if my gal is so obedient everytime ko like clariss life is so easy.

Faithfully,

me same case with you cos my dad's family all got diabetes, its inherit. Tats why eventho i didn't have drastic weight gain my gynae still schedule me for sugar test in 28wks its like a protocol. Anyway i passed the sugar test with flying colors heehee
Don't worry too much, just dun indulge too much in sweet stuff at the moment.

Chris, elIs has her play gym. She is supposed to pull the toys, hit the keyboard but she is only interested for 1 min then ignore or cry. I bought posters from popular hope to catch her attention and show her pictures of animals, numbers, alphabets. Wish robinsons has sales till next week. This week have so many frens coming by to c her.

catherine,

can understand your fustration.. clariss pattern changes daily..hahaa like you we need to anticipate wat she wants cos at times she may cry for her milk like 3hrs only whereby normally is 4hrs or at times she cries for sleep. wow u hit her cot ah? hahaha aiyo dun do it u might frighten elis especially she's still so young. My mil says if leg and hands punch up in the sky could be they wanna be carried le. She didn't KO yesterday afternoon, she keep waking up like 10 mins x 8times crying then hbs got to tap her to sleep. Both of us panda eyes cos wanna catch a short afternoon nap also can't. Nowadays at nite, she'll wake up around 4.30am and make alot of baby noises ah..very noisy how we sleep. She can be laughing and giggling away in the middle of the nite but we act blur ignore her cos if not she thought is playtime. At times, she'll cry for milk like last nite, hbs gave her last feed at 11.30pm, she ko till 5am make noise wants her milk, hbs went to tap her to sleep and gave her pacifier. Then she slept till 6.40am and this time she made noise again asking for milk so i fed her lor, then instead of sleeping she wanna play..made alot of giggling nose and kungfu panda kicks on her cot. I ignored her and i dozed off..till now she still KO with my hbs.

Tanny, your next scan is quite fast. Maybe you can check with Dr on the test. If I'm not wrong it's only $30+ something. Can't take it is only the fasting time, espc baby. Keep kicking because too hungry, can see the kicks some more.

Btw, I bought both warmer n steriliser.

Ladies, anyone know place for aquanatal exercise beside KKH? The earliest class at KKH is in July, n it's my due date already. Search online, can't find it anywhere else beside KKH.

Baby, I know delta swimming complex has but not sure who is the organizer.

Chris, elis kick her legs and hands everytime but i cant b carrying her. Not gd practice. Ya my hb says frightened her which was y he scolded me! Same lor many Times she make noise at 4. I had to start preparing milk if not when she cries terror happens!! Now she is making noise, stretching herself .. I m ignoring her. I rather she sleep a bit more so that hb can bring her out when my part time maid and an insurance agent comes in the afternoon

Baby,

Only KK has the aqua aerobics classes. You can call them up to enquire on the next slot. Actually if u can go swimming better. i attended one of their classes find it so so only not worth the price. For tat price u can sign up yoga classes at updog at big splash. Furthermore, the facilities at KK aqua classes quite old just tat the water is warm cos the set it at a certain temperature. The toilet only has 2-3 rooms to bath and each class got around 6-7 people.

Catherine, Baby

Alot of places has aqua aerobic classes like sengkang sports hall but the intensity of the exercises might not be suitable for preggy ladies cos i went to ask the organiser there so is still safer to go bk to KK as its tailored for preggy ladies.

Clariss, also kick her legs and hands everytime in mid air, think is cos i read in books tat babies still haven't develop their motor skills yet and they still don't know how to control their hands and feet movement. Is good to let them touch and feel different textures etc to introduce it to them young, atho they might not be able to gasp it yet. The book says to show and let them tough from the side and not at the centre. When they are able to gain more control of their hands and leg movements probably around 4 mths then is easier for them to gasp things.

Catherine n Chris, thanks for the info. I called KKH one, n next slot is in July. That's why a bit too late for me. Yeah, most probably will just go swimming.

Sisters, i have delivered close to abt 1.5 weeks le. But till nw, still no milk supply. Izit by nw if there still no milk mean condemn Liao ie. no nid to try stimulate milk le since aft 1.5 wks still no milk.

My confinement lady n mil has been telling mi aft 3 days no milk mean no milk le. Dun haf to waste time pumping.

As a 1st time mummy, I really hope to give my gal BM. But till nw no results plus all e discouraging words fr CL n mil, m thinking shld I really give up ?

Very vexed n upset abt this....

Bbliss, did u use hot towel to massage as I taught u? Is yr breast full and hard? If not call the tmc breastfeeding hotline. I have the no with me u want? Cl can say whatever they want but u need to exhaust yr options.

Chris, u r right. Will have to go next week. Thinking of bringing her to library as my part time maid clean house but scare she can't control herself

hi Bbliss, did you call n check with parentcraft huh? maybe they can advise you huh?

Hi Hazel n Chris baby, thank you very much for your information. Now busy collecting tins from frens cos afraid later getting more n more tired liao.

Oh yes, IVF centre at novena is having its official ceremony on 12 march afternoon. Guess might have some press coverage hehee

Do u all experiencing tightening of stomach huh? I know is Braxton hicks but last night feel tightening of stomach when awake in middle of night. yeah will check with dr Loh when see him.

Catherine, yup. Did wat u taught. My boobs initially feel full n hard at e 1st few days aft discharge.

Subelle n Catherine, I made an appt wif LC last thur n they said I have some lumps tat block e milk ducts. Managed to c boi boi tat day too n she recap e massage techniques wif mi n ask mi to take frenugreek n c hw. Aft tat consultation, I come hm follow e instructions n massage, managed to see some drops of milk out. Till nw, stil drops of milk. Very minimal. Unlike u gals, water flow type.

N becz till nw not much improvement, I dunnoe wat shld I do nex....

I just merlion, real badly
happened about half an hour after taking an tai yao. The gross sour taste is still lingering in my throat..very disgusting. Choked up my sink some more as didn't managed to dash to toilet bowl to vomit. DH has to clear the pipe later..sigh.
Is it my body telling me to stop an tai yao already? Can only call Dr Zhao tmr to check. Still have another dose tonight..don't know to take it or not?

Bbliss, same here as in my milk ss osso v low. Every 3 hr pump yield oni 30 ml or less. Only once i get 60ml n i m so hapy but subsequently, back to 30ml again...sigh

Gals, dun get upset over the low supply. I was on supplements given by dr Loh also low supply of BM. Is not time efficient for me to pump 3-4 hourly also n the whole sterilization process requires time! Belle is v demanding n always wan to be carried. Single handedly, I can't pump m stetilise at all. I m letting BM run dry naturally. I only pump 2x a day now.

I agree with hazel. No point getting so upset. Having a lot is not great too. ESP when I want to stop. Now I only have 50ml sometimes 80ml. I m happy. Imagine the pain I went thru last week. No thx!!

Tzac, remember this, slow and steady win the race! Bbliss, did they massage the blocked ducts for u?? U may want to call their hotline again

Bliss - if you really want to continue BF, maybe should go back & see LC/wbb again since after their tips on thur got a few drops. Did they also check if bb was latching correctly?

I haven't delivered but just tot of giving you moral support since your CL is so negative!! <jia> &amp; dun let the CL talk you out of at least giving it your best try siince you want to try to BF.

thanks hazel n catherine for the sharing. My problem is i dun think i latch on correctly so my breasts v pain n bleed. One not supposed to feel pain when bb suckle, rite? I dun seem to get it rite :-(

i noted tat if bb suckle, there will b more bm when u pump afterward. So now trying to let bb suckle if not too painful. Will try n call kk n c whether can meet up w LC for advice. Me never tot of requesting to c LC when in hospital as tot they will come by default but look like i m wrong.

Catherine, is Elis total bf? How many times she poo per day? Hows the stool like? Yellowish n waterish? Pardon for being gross but juz wonder is stool ok as my #1 not on bm

Angel, u only merlion when u take an tai yao? Take care okie. I seeing Dr Zhao tomorrow afternoon. Let me know if u need me to ask her anything okie.

Angel, how many weeks r u? Could it be just normal pregnancy vomitting? Hope it's not reaction to the an Tai Yao.

Dear hopeful, Tanny,
Thx for info on insurance! Will wait for tanny's update on Axa! Thanks in advance!

Dear Chris,
Sad to hear abt ur dogs
hoping my dog can stay healthy for as long as possible!

Bbjourney, I think it's due to the an tai yao as I had my food abt 2 hrs before drinking it. Strange as i was fine taking it for the past 3 weeks after Dr Zhao taught me to dilute the herbs to drink. I will call her early tmr morning. Thanks for offering to help. I feel much better now after a nap.

Ron, I am almost 10 wks. Actually I don't have normal pregnancy vomiting so far. Now I feel nauseous just thinking about the an tai yao..yucks! My DH wants me to try to finish tonight's dose..no way!

May I ask...
Why is the top of my stomach (so above my belly button up to my rib cage) feels really tight. Like the muscles are feeling tight. It's not painful at all, but just a bit weird and uncomfortable.

Has anyone else had this? I don't think it's braxton hicks, as i'm sure this would be lower down (this feels more like my stomach).

Hi Angel, yiikkkeeesss.. Ur merliin sounds like d same as wat I had when I had food poisoning.. So maybe better stop for tonite b ask dr Zou tmrw. Maybe it's cux d an tai Yao did not go well with d food u ate earlier.

Angel, if you cannot drink the an tai yao, think u better stop and call DR Zhao tomorrow mrng. I think i cannot drink lemonade, i had LS and abit of reflux. Now slightly better after going to the toilet for 3-4 times.

Tzac, bbliss,

If you still have low milk supply and milk not coming in, call the lactation consultant and get their professional help to massage your breasts and it helps to clear block milk ducts. If not asked the post natal massage ladies to do it, experienced ones know how to massage and help you to clear the blocked ducts. I remember posting one of the contacts called mdm rokiah in my earler posts. She's specialised in this area on helping breastfeeding mums. You might wanna give it a try to get either LC or massage lady to help you massage 1st before you give up. Drink more liquid such as soup, papaya fish soup, fish soup, milk and take fenugreek. All these helps, very impt to consume more liquid as milk comes from there. Once you milk ducts are cleared you can start pumping or latch on to stimulate milk supply, if your nipples are sore due to poor latching, then stop latching for a while let it recover, use pump instead. For sore nipples, use milk to apply over the sore areas 10x let it air dry it will recover by itself, i tried this method taught by LC. Another important factor is to have sufficient rest as insufficient rest will affect supply too. I got a fren her milk supply really came in near to a mth cos she didn't know how to start the milk coming till later she called the LC for help and they came over to her place and taught her. She has being feeding her baby breastmilk + FM for a year now.
6888770.gif

Tzac,
When bb suckle, you will feel pain cos they suck hard. The 1st time my bb suckle i scream cos not prepared mentally..after a few tries okie..but nowadays i feed EBM no time for bb to suckle.

catherine, hazel

just came back from vivo city heehee.. Baby Gap got promo, i went in and bought 3 printed t-shirts for my gal, each pc $19. Initially i bought only 1 pc then the cashier told me is buy 2 get 1 free so i went bk and chose another 2 heehee paid $38 ie works out to be 1pc 12.66+. I chose sizes like 12-18mths cos find their t-shirts very small. Think my gal can wear some of them liao cos tat abit loose only.
6888803.gif

Hi Bbliss and Tzac, which brand of breastpump are you using huh? are u taking the fenugreek huh? hrd from people is good. some of the ladies also ordered the sacred tea from the spree to increase the milkflow. not sure whether do you wan to try that huh?

hi catherine, is the breast feeding hotline same as parentcraft huh? oh yes, wanna ask those whom have given birth in TMC ...only mount alvernia provide bath tub rite?

Hi Sunbelle,

It at the upper abdomen like near the gastric. Above my belly button. Feel uncomfy and I hv to sit upright to make it feel better.

Hi sisters, re: BM... Upon e last appt wif LC last thur, boi boi was telling mi if by next week still unable to pump out at least 30ml of milk, asked mi to call her. So guess I would nid to call coz dun say 30ml, 2ml oso dun haf ah. ONI a few droplets....

Started taking frenugreek last week aft seeing boi boi. Chris, maybe I maybe affected by stress n I realized I nt taking enuff water n rest. Hardly drink up to 3 glass of water per day.... Dun noe y but juz dun feel like drinking coz like nt thirsty leh.

Soup wise, every meal been drinking either fish soup if nt den papaya wif ngor fish soup.

Tat time boi boi did mention to mi can take some dunnoe hormone med to stimulate e brain to trigger e boobs to produce milk but such med gotta seek approval fr gynae. Does anyone of u noe wat med is tat ?

Sunbelle, m using medela dual pumps. E BF hotline is e same as parentcraft hotline nos.

TMC no provide bathtub.. They ONI give u a free hosp bag tat consist of a bottle of sanitizer (which din use finish during our stay in e hosp), unfinished bb wipes, TMC hooded towel n body suit. Including one motherhood goodies bag n 1 more bag consisting a few mag n phamplets. Tat's it.

Faithfully, if u feel any discomfort, email Dr loh (if u r his patient). His reply to email r quite prompt.

Btw, hazel, hw r u n belle nw ? When will u be getting belle's results ?

Hi Fatefully,

U try lying on the side when that happen. It will help for me.

Hi Bbliss,

Jus to assure u are not the only one facing this problem. If you read the march thread a lot of ladies are having Breastfeeding issues on no milk or littie milk. yeah guess as long as u done your best is good enuff. Dun give yourself too muchie stress.