(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

So Tzac, hw yr bb progressing? Really fast ya..3+weeks more.

So hw yr preparation so far

According to gynae, she is ard 2.5/2.6 kg n everything is fine. I m glad to knw placenta not tat low as read tat there will b lots bleeding if placenta too low even though c-sec. Me shd b ard 34/35 wks now. Preparation wise guess hv bought all nec things though bag still not pack yet heehee

How abt urself? U will b going natural rite?

Summer, what no did u call to get an appointment? Must u pay?? I need an appt on 31 mar..i think I will scream too. Must b gd gal to stay at home now. Though I have to prepare for my gal full mth....ai ya dun think already.

Pink doll, she charges $380 I think.... My mum Also like her after seeing how she massage my gal and ask me to do another round of massage with her. Cos my tummy had not shrunk.my mum knows I m a bit vain lol.....

Hazel, Chris, and Neil, today we went to polyclinic to test on elis jaundice and she has a lot of rashes on her neck. Jaundice went down but rashes.. The doc wants to monitor though there is a cream but she is too young. Gg to c the doc on fri again. Din know bb less than 2mths got priority q.

Chris, I also kena uti. Painful when peeing.

Vann, yr gal will b like my princess. Big in size. Hope she is not a big eater if not u need to work doubly hard. Feel so happy for u... Make sure u rest well now and conserve the energy for the big push ... Kimmy u too. Dun shop too much.

Tzac, kimmy, bbliss and vann, since yesterday my little princess open her big eyes and sometimes she slap her hands on her forehead. She is a darling to watch. The only think I hope she improve on is smile more. I was v v v stress at work when I had her that's the side effect. Also she drinks v v v fast. Another problem that lies in me cos I eat v v v fast when I have her. U ladies (and also an advise to all who r still preggy) pls slow down and smile more.

One aunty at Lao ban niang told me if I want bb eyes to b big is to drink dried longan water. Probably I did cos I love dried longan and there is one dessert my mum make that has dried longan, I will eat up all. I also made myself dried longan and red dates water on some weekends at home. Now elis eye is v big... If she open eyes and smile .. I would cry cos that melt yr heart. So if u want yr bb to have big eyes, no harm trying if this old myth work....

Catherine, I wipe belle on her neck folds & face with cOol water after every feed, except in the middle of the night I will use pigeon wipes. Still, belle still hv rashes on her cheeks. I thereafter, i use avent magic cream (made of milk products) to apply on her body n face after shower in the morning and night after wiping her. Her rashes has subsided alot after a few days. Rashes r common in NB. Just that we heartache when we see it..

Hazel we also did. Doc said could b heat rash and she wants to monitor since we r gg to her for checks on fri. Ya v heart ache

Vann, dun b upset if yr gal dun like u to carry. I got over it now I know I can't handle her as well as my hub or mum but I m still trying v hard

Catherine, like tat cham liao, me quite bad tempered so hipe my gal dun b like me too. Ok will try drink longan red date drink. Ur gal very adorable leh, me cant wait to c my little princess too . Hope the elder one will not b jealous..

Hazel,

i went to yu guo tcm near your place for massage and when the sinseh saw my gal's rashes they said my gal is very heaty. So they asked if i got breastfeed etc and advices me to eat more vegetables, fruits and consume more water. Cos during confinement we eat alot of heaty food tats why bb drinks our milk and partly could be the FM they consume too. Anyway after the massage to clear her wind, colic surprisingly my gal's rashes went off. But still need to wipe her face, behind her ears and beneath the folds of her neck often or when the weather is hot this will help to reduce the redness and rashes. My fren says it is very common for bb to have rashes.

catherine, Vann

Sama sama, my gal prefers my hb and fil to carry her, she dun really like me to carry her. Hb says that i've to learn.

Catherine, thx for e sharing. Surely I will melt upon seeing such a lovable behaviour by bb

Tzac, mi brought all stuffs le but haven pack. Gotta force myself to get them readily pack by this weekend. Bb cot, clothes oso haven wash. This weekend gotta be busy le....

Tzac, my gal had her feed at 8 and was smiling in her cot as I talk and sing to her. This kind really warm yr heart.. Too bad I cant b a sahm.

Chris, how to learn, elis is gg to b 4kg. I hardly can manage her kicks. I plan to send her to yu GUo in April at least after I finish confinement, b more daring like Neil to drive my gal to kembangan

Chris, belle rashes on her cheeks r from our kisses! Haha! Anyway, the magic cream works wonder! No more rashes anymore!

hazel,catherine

so far after the massage clariss has become less cranky. heehee Hope this will lasts. Today is 3rd day she still hasn't poo poo..will monitor and see if she does tomorrow.

Hi faithfully
Had went for my ds today at 19th wk too.. Both bbies weigh 333g and 328g.. Doc Loh oso say bbies r on heavy side.. Think due to my hb tall.. My boy is born 3.8kg.. I remember ur edd is one wk ahead of me... But i am glad both r growing well and abt same weight..;) tummy now looks like 6th mth pregnant...cant walk too long as very tiring...

Hi all sisters
Need ur advise desperately.. I just receive a bill fr kkh to continue storage my 6 embroyes or not? I did my ivf last year April so 1 yr up now... Cost $300plus and i am in total delimma now... Shd i continue the storage for another year or stop since after current pregnancy will close shop le?? If u will me, will u continue the storage?? Pls advise me... Thk u all...

Dear Faithfully,
Congrats on having a princess!!! I also agree boy or girl also ok, so long as healthy!

Dear vann, Bbliss, Kimmy & Tzac
You gals are next to deliver!!! Must be very excited? Hehe...

Dear Joanne,
I replied you on the other thread, I think just pay the money to store for 1 more year? Just in case you still wanna give birth! Hehe, you'll never know! So your babies cooperative during the scan? You know the genders already? Interesting to know if BB, GG or BG twins!

Hazel - avent magic cream can be used as moisturizer? I always wanted what that product was about whenever I buy the bottom balm.

Catherine - ahah yah I cut down on shopping already. Doing online shopping for myself these days :p But I feel too energized so I need at least one walk a day cuz I can't seem to stay at home all day. I really hoping for a fast & smooth one.

Vann,tzac, bbliss - soon it will be us! Hooray!

Sashamama - indeed, very excited!

Kimmy, yes it can be used as moisturer too. So I apply it In belle twice daily. Avent bottom balm i apply on belle on every change of diaPers. but the last change at night I will use destin diaper cream which is much thicker n give longer protection Coz I dun change the diaper durIng the night.

Hazel , belle will not CRy if I dun change at night? Elis will cry badly!!!! Juz like now. I Leave it to my hubby cos I need to pump milk soon.

Summer, some parts on my breast is v hard no matter how I have been massaging it does not work. I m still getting my 90ml milk flow and sometimes more but I hate that heavy feeling so thought of seeing lc to clear it out.

Kimmy, u r like me. Can't stay at home. Like now I m out for at least 10 times none of it is to do my things most like bringing elis to docs, buy her things... Hope u will not b like me too...

I juz realise most of our babies r commented that they r heavy. Hmmm something that we ate? Or this is the year for big bb?

Catherine, Chris, v common for babies to have rashes. My ger has it too. Try apply a layer of breast milk on her face, let it dry then 15 mins later. Wipe it off w water. I did that n the rashes disappear. BM is a safest moisturizer and it won't block pores.

Catherine, for the hard lumps. I used my mom in law's method. Put warm water (as hot as u can take but don't burn your skin) into small bottle (I use the Medela small bottle) then use it like rolling pin to roll on the blog ducts from the outside towards the nipple direction. Then follow by finger massage then express out the milk.

Chris, did you try to massage the baby after bathing her? I tried to but she not v cooperative.

Ladies, had a super busy day. Only return to the hotel at 11:30pm. Out since 2pm today. HK really not a pram frenly place. So difficult to get around alone w bb in pram cos got problem w the stairs. Most irritating ones are those 3 to 4 steps kind in the malls. So far managed to get the security to help me lift the pram. Luckily my pram only 6.5kg. Must must go buy the 3.6kg one if I manage to go Japan next month. Tomorrow will go out with my sling pouch. My poor back n shoulder....

Thks sasha.. Yes, thk u for ur advise.. And yes, my bbies are very cooperative.. Though they say need 1 and a half hr but we r done after only abt 40mins..;) twin 2 at first dun want show sex so she shake the device on my tummy asks bb to open leg n glad bb really open to show us..;) u r right.. Healthy most impt.. I go taka shop yesterday as i think i can only walk n shop around this mth.. Hows ur tummy? Big too? Enjoy ur scan tomorow..;)

Catherine, what brand of diapers do u use for the night? I use mamapoko. It is thicker & can last thru out the entire night without causing any discomfort. During the day, I use pampers. After I wipe belle & clean up for bed time at night, I will change her diapers to mamapoko & the next change will be abt 12 hrs later the next morning before I shower her after her first morning feed.

Nell,

Yup i applied breastmilk on clariss for 15mins before and then wash it off, its very useful especially last week when her rashes was really severe cos even her chest, body also has. And the rashes cleared off. heehee

Nell,
Clariss will start crying after i pull her out from her bath and onto the changing mat to wipe her dry. She'll cry all the way till i finish clothing her and massaging her tummy with ru yi oil. If hb around he'll entertain her and then she'll not cry. I've to be super fast to put on her clothes lor... stress ah.

I massage her only when in the late afternoon or evening when we give her another thorough wipe through the whole body or when i change diapers for her as she less cranky then.

Hi hazel, catherine, nell

I'm now using huggies ultra for new born for my gal in the day and night i use medium cos still got alot of newborn diapers left. what brand are you all using?

I'm thinking of getting a pram for clariss, any good recommendations? I'm actually considering peg perego P3 classico compact (8.6kg) or Peg perego SI (7kg). Have looked at combi miracle turn premier (less than 7kg). Loved the combi stroller cos can turn to face bb and its 4 wheel drive. For Peg perego series, i loved that the wheels are sturdy and design except the weight. hahaa

Congrats Faithfully and Joanne on successful detailed scan
wow...both of you having girls, Joanne is yours both princesses? Have noticed more baby girls in this forum too hee...

Btw during my Oscar scan weeks ago, sonagrapher did mention that IVF babies are on the larger side normally, so it's fine

All the best to your detailed scan today Sashamama!!

Nowadays very difficult to bath clariss cos once she's her bath, she keeps moving and kicking around and wants to stand up ah... so when i tried to let her sit on her bath she tries to stand up and its very slippery to hold her till i nearly lost my hold of her... faintz...

Hi Chris, this happened to my baby niece too, when my sis bath her, she'll struggle a lot but if my mum does it, baby would be ok. Maybe takes more time and practice? Can try singing to her or play soothing music? For my baby niece, techno music works lol...maybe cos takes away her attention.

Recently my baby niece started to struggle a lot when my mum takes her out from the bath, she wouldn't want to lie down to get dressed but fortunately it only lasted for about a month and niece is back to guai guai shower routine again, perhaps passing phase

Hope you'll master Clariss's 'patterns' soon

Joanne,

i've also recieved the annual storage letter from KK, i still have 2 eggs with them. Still considering whether to renew.. Might not eventually cos SF loh is no longer there and i heard its very costly to transfer to TMC.

Chris, stroller depends on individual preference. I like peg prego but hubs said it is too heavy. Some friends bought a one hand can open n close stroller coz they foresee bringing bb out alone often.

Fed belle at 11 plus pm.she finally slept at 11 plus close to 1am. WOke up at 5am for the next feed followed by 9am!

Isetan sale starts tomorrow!!

Hi tromso
Oh.. Sasha going to see doc Loh for normal scan.. I think not detail scan yet n shd be after u hv done urs..;)
As for ivf will produce big bbies, dun think so for my case as my hb tall so i think due to genes, our bbies will be heavier too.. Anyway, i just want them to grow n grow healtily.. I am fine with any weight..;) when is ur detail scan? Think due to twins, my next appointment will be after 3wks too.. Yeah!!

Hi chris
U want to discard ur embroye? Wun it be too wasted? U not going to hv one more bb to accompany ur gal?

Hazel and Chris I m using drypers now gg to start huggies and mamy poko soon... Elis use diapers like drinking water. We need more than 10 pcs per day. Lucky mamy poko has sales this week.

Neil, thx will try yr method now!!!!

Chris, think baby cold that's why cry till u put on her clothes. Same for my gal. So I normally put towel on my lap, bring her out from tub, wrap her n hug her close to my body till she feel warmer n more secured. Then put her down on the changing mat, the place another dry towel to cover her while I put on her diaper n massage her w oil. She don't cry but move n stretch a lot when u massage her.

My girl also like to stand n refuse to sit when I turn her over. My CL says be patient let her stand a while then will sit down, don't force n hurry her to sit, she will struggle more. That is what happen when my hb bathe her that day n her head drop into the tub n drink water. Then cry cry cry.

I use aprica pram. Cos it is light n single hand operation. Key concern for me is weight n ease of operation, cos I normally out alone w my baby. I use aprica pram for my boy also, one hand carry baby n one hand operate the pram. Using the pran for 2 years, then bought a stroller n use it for another 2 years. Gave them away after that.
This one that I have now is also Aprica, is the heavy duty in range for newborn, it is 6.5kg imagine with baby will be another 4kg. Heavy. Saw this model Aprica Karoon in JP last year, good for new born but we din buy thinking HK or SG will have but don't have so end up bought the Aprica Laura 700 4 wheel drive. The Karoon is only 3.6kg so super light n it has 3D wheels to negotiate the uneven ground. I saw Taka selling 2 months ago, wanted to get for my sis baby but sold out liao. Just check their JP website, they just launch Karoo plus. So, we will be getting that when we go JP next month if possible.

Chris, you have to consider your life style n places you will go. Big wheels good for outdoor but dangerous when u go on escalator, cos the wheel might be too big for the escalator step. N you might not be able to get into lift if too crowded. So if u r urban gal, then you probably don't need big wheels w suspension cos the floor v smooth alr. But if u always go easy cos jogging w pram then probably u will need one that is more sturdy n w better wheel support. I intend to buy a outdoor pram later this year once I start my jogging n roller blading. I intend to continue my 10km SCB run w my girl this year. Only do 5km last december with my ger inside my tummy. My hb 21km n my son kids dash. It has become our family sports day for the past few year. My mom, bro n sis also join me last year.

Neil, I tried yr mil method... It's excellent!! Now I feel so relaxed! Thx a lot... Now I no need to c lc!! Haha

On the pram, I have no pref. my hubby bought one from babies babies for my gal and it's heavy about 8.5kg!!

Catherine, Neil & Chris, I can't take it anymore.. Taking care of bb plus housework daily.. Washing, sterilizing, hanging clothes, etc (something which a part time maid can't do daily) n expressing milk.. Though I can let my parents bb sit when I need to do housework n express or completely out source taking care of belle during the day to my parents but I feel that my time shld be spent on bb instead.. I have no time of my own now.. No time to read magazine, surf net, watch tv drama, etc.. Even reading n posting forum I do it while carry belle in my arm using my iPhone!

I told Hub we need a live in maid to do all the chores while my parents take care of belle during the day. I dun wan everyday I end up feeling so tired & grouchy.. It will be worse after I return bk to work!

Hazel, I understand! Don't talk about time for yourself. Don't even have time to sleep lor, where got time for all the "luxury" past time. i only get time to go online while feeding her.

My ex-boss called when saw my fb status that i m in hk. She keep me company from lunch till now so that i can at least have a decent lunch, cofffee, dessert n good catch up. She just walk me back to my hotel while she head home to take care of her daughter. Now at the lobby waiting for my hb to pick us up then head home. This is when my true official fly-in-maid life begins.

Ladies, my using the usual pampers for day n home use. And using the premium pampers for night n going out. We love th premium pampers, it is thiner, light, v soft but absorb well like the usual pampers and the net surface keeps the bottom dry n the poop off. This is slightly more ex than the usual pampers. We love this version and will be using this going forward just that now have to use up the remaining normal version that my hb bought earlier. This is imported one. Made in Japan. Any of you want?

Neil, I hv not seen premium pampers in SG! Btw, belle always get startled in the middle of her sleep. She will suddenly raise her hand n jump though there may not be any sound.. Why huh? Beanie bag on her tummy already.. can be coz I move lying next to her or I tidy her blanket properly, etc

Dear Joanne,
Happy for you that your scan went well and babies were co-operative! When is your next scan? My tummy not very big la, though it is howing, especially cos I have a thick thick layer of fats la. Hehe.

Dear Tromso,
Thanks for your well wishes! My normal scan is tmr and I am worried baby is in same position as 2 weeks ago, indicating my adenomyosis causing my uterus to be so thick until baby really no space. At week 16, baby just looked rather awkward facing downwards and arms and legs spread out and didn't move much. I bought the package to see Dr Loh at 10 times at $700 inclusive of the urine test, consultation and scan. So difficult to convince the recep to let me buy the package, she kept dissuading. I counted if I see Dr Loh once every 2 weeks, i surely exceed 10 times, so will be more worth it.

Dear Hazel,
I agree if can't cope and wanna spend more quality time with BB with a bit of time for self and eventually for work, would need a maid. I haven't go source for mine yet. Need her to come in June. You have any agency in mind?

Hazel, i share yr sentiments. I dun know how I m going to cope without anyone to help me too, I will b like a mad woman. My mum said she will come over b4 work to help me bathe elis. Then after work she will come over to check on us make sure I have dinner b4 gg home. Luckily my mum work place and my office is 2 bus stop away. I dun want a live in maid I want my privacy leh.... Sigh

Sashamama, there r a few agencies near my Plc. The nearest is just downstairs!

Catherine, I also wan my privacy! But then, who is going to do the chores? Like now, I m patting belle to sleep in my arms. She is v grouchy now coz she is tired n wan to sleep.. Later I still need to express then she will wake up again.. Where got time to do chores? Certain things can wait for part time maid n do once a wk.. Some cannot.. Eg her laundry needs to be cleared daily, hang & fold away.. Her bottles need to be sterilise after each use. After your confinement is over, u will understand better wat I mean.. If u send Elis to infant care, there will even be more chores to do..

Hi Nell,

i did it the same way, ie covered her with towel and hold it close to me when i brought her out from the bath, however once i lay her down with the towel still covering her and trying to dry her up she starts crying. Today however she siao siao only cry abit then stopped after i keep playing with her ah..faintz....Then i quickly put on her clothes and apply ru yi oil on her..

Hi hazel,
i understand how you feel cos that's wat i'm experiencing daily hahaha my hair are all bun up like auntie ah until tat day i let my hair down and brought my gal out shopping with hbs, my gal looks at me with big eyes, hahaha cos in her mind her mummy is auntie with hair bun up. She muz be wondering who am i. hahahaaaa

Today left bb with in-laws and went to tampines ocbc to open CDA account and then went for a pedicure to relax....finally after so many mths cos during preggy i daren't do pedi and mani.

HI HAZEL,

MY CLARiss also same as belle raise her hand n jump though there may not be any sound cos they get startled easily. My in-laws and sil taught me a way ie to let her sleep on her tummy. It works better than sarong cos clariss also gets startled when she wakes up and finds herself in the sarong and will start crying. Now i let her sleep on her tummy, but very impt is tat she has to sleep on hard surfaces such as our bed. Then slowly pat her backside and she'll doze off. Remember to turn her head to face the other direction every hourly to prevent stiff neck and if bb is sleeping on their tummy u need to constantly check on them. However they can sleep longer hrs and won't get startled easily.

Hi sasha
My scan will be 3wks later.. Hv pm u.. Enjoy ur scan tomorow n hope ur uterus no longer so swollen when scan tomorow..;)