(2012) Ivf/icsi Mommies Support Group

Bbliss, thanks for the clarification, yes, I often get confused by the car seat carrier and baby carrier. Btw I thought car seat carrier is call a bassinet...lol, so many terms... Do you guys buy a bassinet then upgrade to a toddler car seat or an all-in-1 infant to toddler car seat? If so, means the infant to toddler car seat needs to be able to adjust from flat to upright right?

I've booked a session with Mothercare, hope the nursery advisor can help solve all my confusions

Hi Sunbelle, thanks for the NLB tip
I've been thinking of getting a baby journal too but it's selling like $30+ outside, so been quite hesitant, good thing you mention.

I'm now making efforts to take more photos (actually quite sian to take photos cos no make up and getting plump hee...) so I can mark my journey to motherhood perhaps in a digital album, hope I'll be organized enough to see it through

Hi sunbelle,

My gynae didn't prescribe me any medications leh. my understanding is that adeyomoysis is similiar to endometrosis just tat the endometrosis instead of implanting in the ovaries, implant at our unterine walls thus making implantation tougher. Once we get preggy, our menses will stop, hence our endometrosis cysts will shrink so does sdeyomoysis. Cos few yrs back, i had hormones jabs to stop my period for 4mths to shrink my endo cysts but it didn't work very well, however my adeyomoysis was gone. And after 6mths it came back.

Hi Sunbelle,

I've being using NB disposable diapers, it depends on the size of your bb too. For us we bought only 1 pkt, cos they outgrown very fast. Then we used up those NB diapers from hampers as well. My gal is just 3 wks but she started to wear Size small disposable diapers liao.

Dear catherine,

i used to use liquid detergent baby wash which i bought from the bb fair at $5.00, loved the smell. Now using pigeon powder detergent after the former one ran out.

Hi hazel,

mY bb stuff i bought all from pigeon at one go cos my bil's customer working at pigeon last yr so we ordered everything at one go at staff discount. But for BB bath currently using johnson and johnson. Thinking of finishing the small bottles before switching to pigeon

Hi catherine,
of cos we understand how u feel, i also teared when i was going to see my gal soon during delivery altho i was under epi and dun feel anything. heehee my hb waited 6.5yrs ah.

Hi Joanne, not to worry, I'm sure can see nose bridge on your next scan
Hang in there.

Hi Sashamama, have not heard from you for a bit, cruising along well?

Chrisl, is Stokke stroller and cot less pricey there since it's the country of origin?

Sunbelle, my sister has also become more snappy and demanding since childbirth but she is 4 years younger, so temperament is still bearable. I think it may be a transition, like suddenly there is info overload, controls issue, trust and supports issues, finances, etc. I'm hoping with level of comfort increasing, she can start to feel better, I see my parents are helping unconditionally too. My SIL has been growing more papaya trees in preparation of number 3 (green papaya helps with milk production), but I know when her neighbors request for it, she won't give, even if she's not pregnant. So now I see my FIL's garden also has a new row of young papaya trees, but I wasn't sure if it's for me and don't dare to ask in case they belong to SIL (she has 2 boys now, very super a handful, so she can be quite moody, I'm quite scared of her sometimes hee...). All these just made me realize that motherhood is not easy at all, a mother's unconditionally love for her child may seems selfless but to others, unfortunately may appear selfish to their needs. It's just a lot of adjustments to make for everyone but can also understand why motherhood changes a person. So now, I'm assuming I'm not getting anything from my sis and SIL (quite afraid to step on land mines) but you are right, my friends who know about my pregnancy are more than happy to pass on their preloved items
Maybe less interactions with friends, hence fewer conflicts, so appears friendlier
Nonetheless, families are families, will have to continue to work on the relationship nonetheless. Hope with love and good supports from everyone, all young mothers can bloom with smiles

Hi hazel,

So far how's your CL? i headache, cos my CL says i don't rest often always sitting around and not lying down to rest and very back for my spine. My mil says the same thing but still nag at me during her every visit. Told me tat its my daughter and tat i must always try to carry her and so tat my gal will be close to me and that i muz always watch over my CL etc etc...Beitahan.. I told my hb last nite, tat i didn't rest well cos i've been watching over my gal tats why, hb say nevermind just rest, then i told him if i rest and i missed the change pamper or feeding etc then u all complained tat i didn't know wat is happening to my gal etc...and tat i shouldn't juz listen to wat CL says about bb to me.. Then finally hb told me to ignore his parent's comment. My in-laws don't trust my CL and the way my CL handles or carry my bb says it rough etc..aiyoyoyo i headache ah...Like just now while i was pumping milk then i went to bb's room i saw CL put my bb on the swing and rock. I quickly told her not to swing too high cos bb is small and tat their brain etc is still soft and she told me tat my bb likes it tat way. I quickly stopped the swing and rock it lightly instead. Please lah how will bb know anything...aiyaaa if my fil sees this sure scream!!! He acreamed before and nagged at me now my CL doing it again. CL keep saying my bb is big liao no need to worry, pls lor my bb haven't even full mth yet lor. faintz......

Hi Hazel,

Yup at times she leave behind milk of 10-20ml and CL will coax her to finish as much as possible telling bb not to waste as it's mummy's milk.
In the middle of the nite, i won't know cos CL handles all the nitefeeds and sleep with bb in another room and she closed the door.

Hi hazel,

I'm very tired and having aches at my left back..how to fully rest when i need to "monitor" my CL and bb ah?????? i envy you at least your mum around can help to look around. My in-law here only 1-2hrs and nags. Feel like telling my mil she so "clever" then she take over looking after my gal la..then i can rest fully.

hazel,

My mil keep saying tat my niece (2mths+) old is very closed to my sil cos she looks after her and carries her etc.. And tat i should be like tat if not my gal will not be close to me etc..aiyoyoyo if everything i "snatch" to do then why do i have a CL to help me and CL always dun let me feed my bb. hiaz......And i can feel my bb more close to CL cos she recognises the person who feeds her ah and my CL loves to hold my gal close to her breast says bb loves it....

Happy birthday Hazel

You are promoted to mummy on your birthday hehehe
this birthday is so special with your gal with you.

J03, same as you, to me health is most important. i have also waited for 4 years to get this baby. went thru lotsa of tins so like all, we tend to treasure this pregancy very muchie. let's us continue to be healthy and also bring happiness to babies.... hehee

Hi Tromoso,

the baby journal is hard cover somemore. my hubby say wow so nice heheee
they do not put it outside for people to take anyhow.... yeah so you can request from the recep hehee

Hi Cat,

unlikely my sis in law keeping for 3rd child cos she has MS all the way for two pregnancies so she dun wan to go thru it anymore lor hehee

hi Chris,

thank you very much for sharing on the adeymosis ..yes gynae say likely to return so keep asking us to continue give birth if possible... hahahah
true guess depending on the size of the newborn, better dun buy so muchie first heheee

Gals, thanks for your well wishes.

Chris, ignore them. Do what you feel like doing. No one dare to nag at me, coz will get scolded by me. Mil did ask me to rest when belle was in hospital.. if not, back will ache next time. I asked her "how to rest when my daughter is still in hospital? No need go see her?". She shut up!

I dun nap in the day too.. Coz belle is always with me in my room.. Unless feeding time, I ask CL to take over.. Coz my pumping also around same timing... When she naps, I do my own thing, eg submit insurance claims, buy hospitalisation insurance for her, do invite list for her full month, etc etc.

CL will not tell me do this or dun do that also. Guess agent warn her already. So, no conflict between us. Even feeding time, (other than night time), she will ask me if can give belle milk if she fusses n the time is not up. She will ask me on most things n wun make her own decision. Even when belle dun finish her milk, I told her if hit 1 hr feeding time, then stop feeding.. The milk is stale already. Throw away.

At night, she will leave the door slightly ajar with a door stopper. I will peek if I wake up to go toilet.. Every morning, I will ask, if belle finishes her milk for the night feeds n if she auto wake up for milk or cL has to wake her up..

I wun leave CL alone at home (if we bring belle for jabs/check up) or with belle alone. Next weekend, I need to go buy something for belle's full mth. I already told my sis to be home n jaga the CL.

Chris, when is your bb full mth? Next wkend or this wk end? You settle your caterer & cakes? I settle the cakes already, except bengawan solo vouchers for colleagues which I will buy later.. Caterer I leave it to Hub to do.

Sunbelle, your problem will be resolved after delivery. quickly try for no 2 naturally of you wan another kid before the condition recur again.

Tromso
Haha....it does take a while to familiarize all the terms. My initial plan was to get a modular stroller (e.g. Peg Perego, Stokke, Quinny Buzz) that has a bassinet/carry cot (sold separately). The bassinet is useful during the 1st couple of months since baby can sleep in it and can be attached to the stroller without carrying/waking baby up. Some of those bassinet/carry cot are rather expensive. Therefore, since baby will only be using the bassinet for a short period of time and won't be going out much except for routine doctor's visit, I've decided to get a normal stroller and infant car seat (Maxi Cosi) instead. There are no infant car seats in the market that enables you to adjust them flat (horizontally) and upright as you described. Unlike the bassinet it is advisable not to placed infant car seat longer than 2 hours. There are some strollers in the market which are suitable for newborns (seats can be fully reclined - Quinny buzz, quinny zap xtra, Jooltz, Bugaboo Cameleon). So you need to do more research and decide what will suit you best

happy birthday hazel. Indeed you have the best birthday present. haha. Tromso, looks like 3 of us are Feb babes :p Mine was last week and though husband cldnt take entire day off to celebrate with me - I had the best present celebrating with me in the tummy via his kung-fu kicks. SsssshioKkk.

Chris baby - I know its tough...all the pressure you get from outside but end of day, you just have to tell yourself that you've done your best for yourself & your girl... My MIL used to keep asking me why I want to hire CL to be closer to baby instead of myself...so I told her anyway CL will be sleeping with me in the same room. End of day, I have to be firm on what I want. I rather hire a CL that can I've seen at work before (since she took care of my friends and relatives babies too) then if my mil handle then if got conflict I can't voice out.

catherine - medication can claim...but usually its compiled together under gynae visit total bill right? Thing is from now to labour looks like I may only see Dr Loh 1-2 times, so might not even be able to hit a minimum spend of $400 by then? alamak, I wanna claim! ahhahaha

tromso - for 2nd tri, he also saw me every 4 weeks. Until I was 29 weeks then when he asked 3 or 4 weeks, I said 3 weeks. I thought it'd be 2 weeks after week 31/32. LOL. But since he insist 3 weeks is fine...

Just read in another link.. TMC is running out of single beds, seems like there is an average of about 60+ babies born per day for the past few days.......

Hazel - yeah I heard about that situation too. Sigh. Hopefully when we go in, there will be available beds...gosh.

Thanks for the advance birthday wishes Msmiele
I just said to hubby I'm happy enough to have Tonkichi on my birthday, can't stand healthy food anymore...arghhh!!

Thanks for your explanations on bassinet and car seat, makes more sense now, shall visit the shops to suss out more
I think for pram, I'll just go for Combi, seems like a popular option and reasonable pricing.

Thanks for informing us about como shambala open house, I've called to ask if can get free trial session on other days as I prefer to start a bit later. Answer was yes. But I think if sign up for 10 classes on open house day, can get 3 free classes. I think I'll just go for 5 sessions for a start and practise at home myself. Quite afraid ms will persist and gets inconvenient to go out.

Gals, drink more bird nest.. Even bottled ones r good.. Massage lady asked me if I drink alot.. COz belle is v rosy from face till whole body.. I told her I drink half cup of coffee daily also!!!

Sunbelle, hardcover somemore heee...great, will get it tomorrow when I visit the Lao Ban Niang for bird nests. Planning to get cordyceps too, heard pricing has gone up again before cny, sigh... How are you getting on with the Ban Choon Chan herbs?

Kimmy, happy belated birthday
I also don't wish hubby to take leave for birthday, so can preserve leaves. But I suspect hubby is trying to make special efforts now (don't know what he is organizing) cos he hasn't been reading up on pregnancy and childbirth lol...I passed him the What to Expect book last week, so hope he can get up to speed soon, otherwise I'm always the only one yakking away about pregnancy and childbirth, its very 'lonely'. Yesterday he asked me if I prefer C section or natural birth, and I turned the question back at him hee...I think he is a bit clueless and hoping I can supply all the answers!! But it's been 4 months already, no more excuses from him...grrr....

I wonder how the others gear up your hubbies for pregnancy and childbirth info....books? Thanks so much for sharing.

After reading e posts here, may not stock up too much, newborn disposable diapers. Maybe juz get a pack of newborn den get small since most of e posts shared that NB diapers wun be excessively used.

Haha... Wonder when u discharged, does hosp give u any milk or diapers samples ?

Tromso - thanks!
Yeah I also rather he preserve his leave. He took 1/2 day leave in the end, felt bad for making me wait so long and then went with me to look at bb stuff. Haha! For me, my husband is lazy in reading up and he's been taking care of his 4 nephews/nieces so he has an idea on care-taking but one thing Im thankful for is WBB class where he pays attention. So i take it as a 'crash course' for him on all that he needs to know

Bbliss - I rem. someone saying that they will give you diapers or something upon discharge :p

Ha... tromso, my hb dun read any pregancy books eventho I haf a few at hm. This is e usual him coz since Uni days, asking him to read lect notes was like a torture to him but yet he can still get gd grades for exams. Argh... So jealous wif him last time. Haha....

But nonetheless, eventho he dun read, he will listen n ask ard from his guys frds who's wives have given birth and den he will share wif mi wat he heard or adviced on

I dun force him to read such books coz u noe la, guys where got read such stuff except we mummies more Yong xin

Seeing my hb preparing e hm to be children friendly (we juz moved into our new Hse nt long ago n during e Reno stage, all of his priority r children friendly), keep buying n nagging mi to eat fish etc, all these little actions I very happy le. Haha.

Hi Sisters, under TmC website on e fees n charges for rm, there a col stating e maxi medisave claims for hosp n doctors.

When say Maximum, meaning not all can claim e full amt as stated in e website ah? Any terms n conditions they look at before they decide hw much u can claim ? Thx.

Bbliss, we nv know how they compute. It does not matter right? The cost regardless claimable from medisave or cash is still our money. Need to incur this cost n can't be saved. Pardon me, dun keep worrying abt this.. U keep thinking abt this bill thing so many times already.. U nv know how much is deductible from medisave and the exact total bill Amt until the day u r discharged. No one bill is the same. so, just look forward to the arrival of your bb.. Money can be earn back one..

This is a pte hospital, we r charged every single thing.. When u look at the itemized items in the bill after you r discharged u will know wat I mean.. There r so many pages' A cotton wool also charge and at least $1. By choosing to deliver in a pte hospital is like this one.. T hub finished the toiletries (they fun replenish daily.. Not even towels!!) he used those I packed for him.. Ask for more, they will charge to us.. Even hand sanitizer, the nurses use, every bb has one bottle n is charged to us! Anyway, watever thing cannot finish just bring home.. Coz we paid for them.. A bit difference to KKH where I stayed before also..

Companion is charged $65 a day, where breakfast is provided. all 3 meals, $75 a day. Min still must pay $65. Cannot say dun wan.. KKH nv has this companion charge! But wat can we do? Who ask dr Loh to go TMC?! Must hammer him!! I told him TMC charges me every single thing n it's NICU is super ex! He said KKH NICU also not cheap. I said yea, but not as ex as TMC still.. Then he went... He does not know how much charges and the pD charges... Kekekeke

Hazel, happy bday. Wow u gals wrote a lot today. Will go home digest. U hor dun scare me on the bed crunch. I will explode if I sleep on the corridor hahahaha...

Sunbelle where do I get the bb thing from library?

Kimmy, u need me to help u hit the target? Heehee Teach u la juz buy more fish oil and Calcium. U need to eat after delivery. Trust me u can hit. ESP if u have false alarms

K back to work cos I need to go off at 5+. Had a super long meeting with my big boss on my boss today. Catch up with u ladies later

Hazel, Happy Birthday to U!!!
Thanks for recommending the massage lady. I started my massage with Nadia this week. Love her massage, very relaxing, except the breast part, quite painful. Btw, u delivered on 24/1 or 25/1? Mine on 27/1. How much is Belle drinking now? Mine average 80ml EBM, every 2.5hrs.

Chris, understand ur frustrations. Just 'tong' for 1 more wk. Btw, I take care of my girl at night, do laundry, wash & sterilise milk bottles myself. My mum cook, sweep & mop floor.

Kimmy, glad that u had recovered. Just a few more wks, u can hold ur bb in ur arm le.

Summer, I delivered on 25 jan. belle drinks 75ml ebm/fm every 3hrs plus minus half an hour. Just up to 90ml today coz PD said she should be drinking 90ml every 3 hourly for 2 wks plus bb wor.. Anyway, will ur bb finish every feed? Mine wun.. N she is a slow drinker! Can take up to an hr coz she will sleep during feed...

How long do u take to feed bb? Wow.. U hv enough ebm for every feed ah? So gd!

Kimmy and Bbliss, thanks for the hubby tips
ok, will look forward to prenatal classes. Hubby can finish off 2 novels a week, quite a speed reader. I'm sure the What To Expect book will not falter him lol...hope I can sense some enthusiasm from him soon
He is very considerate mostly, just so far only limited actions, ok, I'll be patient
Thanks for sharing!

Hazel,
Most of the time my bb can finish her milk. She can finish in 8-12 mins. In fact, I hv enough EBM for every feed but I lazy to warm up EBM at night so I gv her FM instead (2 feeds). Am gg to buy the bottle n food warmer, see whether can speed up the warming process.
I dun know my bb weight, so cant use the milk intake formula.

Summer, milk intake per pD is based on how many wks old bb is! Yea, u reminded me shld be based on weight! Thanks babe! Is easy to find out abt bb's weight. U hv a weighing Machine at home? Carry her & weigh, then u weigh yourself n take the difference..

Hi Hazel,

you are right, it will be good to have one more baby after one hahhaha
have to see the amount of support and help available too...yeah so hard even to find a baby sitter here....

what are your plans after you all go back to work huh?